DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 3rd, 2026, has been entered.
Claims 9, 19, and 23 have been canceled.
Claims 24 and 25 have been added.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, 13-18, 20-21, and 24-25 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 11, 13-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaChapelle (US 10,802,120 B1), in view of Kawai (US 2005/0200832 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LaChapelle teaches a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device ([Col. 2, lines 56-57] an example light detection and ranging (lidar) system 100) comprising:
a laser light irradiator configured to irradiate a laser light toward an object (Fig.1; [Col. 3, lines 2-3] The light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125);
a laser light receiver configured to output a laser reflection light signal by detecting the laser light reflected from the object ([Col. 3, lines 44-46] receiver 140 may receive or detect photons from input beam 135 and produce one or more representative signals.);
a signal analyzer configured to measure a pulse width corresponding to a period in which the laser reflection light signal is saturated ([Col. 3, lines 52-55] A controller 150 may be configured to analyze one or more characteristics of the electrical signal 145 from the receiver 140 to determine one or more characteristics of the target 130;); and
a processor configured to: change at least one of a laser light intensity at which the laser light is irradiated by the laser light irradiator or a gain of an amplifier based on the pulse width ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150; [Col. 11, lines 7-12] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering, signal conditioning, analog-to-digital conversion, time-to-digital conversion, pulse detection, threshold detection, rising-edge detection, or falling-edge detection.), and
control at least one of the laser light irradiator to irradiate an adjusted laser light based on the changed laser light intensity or the amplifier to amplify the laser reflection light signal with the changed gain ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150;)
wherein the signal analyzer comprises: a comparator configured to compare the laser reflection light signal with a reference signal ([Col. 24, lines 51-55] The pulse-detection circuit includes N comparators (comparators 370-1, 370-2, . . . , 370-N), and each comparator is supplied with a particular threshold or reference voltage (V.sub.T1, V.sub.T2, . . . , V.sub.TN).), and
wherein the reference level is set to detect a saturation condition of the laser reflection light signal ([Col. 45, line 26-31] If a receiver 140 receives an input optical signal (e.g., combined beam 422) that exceeds an optical-power saturation value of the detector 340, then the detector 340 may saturate or produce a photocurrent i that is different from or distorted with respect to the input optical signal), and
a time-to-digital converter (TDC) configured to measure the pulse width corresponding to the period in which the laser reflection light signal is saturated by counting a time of a period in which the laser reflection light signal exceeds the reference level based on a comparison result from the comparator ([Col. 25, lines 3-14]A comparator may provide an electrical-edge signal to a corresponding TDC, and the TDC may act as a timer that produces an electrical output signal (e.g., a digital signal, a digital word, or a digital value) that represents a time when the edge signal is received from the comparator. For example, if the voltage signal 360 rises above the threshold voltage V.sub.T1, then the comparator 370-1 may produce a rising-edge signal that is supplied to the input of TDC 380-1, and the TDC 380-1 may produce a digital time value corresponding to a time when the edge signal was received by TDC 380-1...[Col. 25, lines 18-23] Additionally, if the voltage signal 360 subsequently falls below the threshold voltage V.sub.T1, then the comparator 370-1 may produce a falling-edge signal that is supplied to the input of TDC 380-1, and the TDC 380-1 may produce a digital time value corresponding to a time when the edge signal was received by TDC 380-1.),
wherein the processor is further configured to change the at least one of the laser light intensity or the gain of the amplifier based on the pulse width measured by the time-to-digital converter ([Col. 11, lines 7-9] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering,; [Col. 27, line 24-30] In particular embodiments, an optical characteristic of a received pulse of light 410 may be determined from a pulse-detection output signal provided by one or more TDCs 380 of a pulse-detection circuit 365 (e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 7), or an optical characteristic may be determined from a pulse-detection output signal provided by one or more ADCs of a pulse-detection circuit 365.; [Col. 27, lines 37-39] The controller 150 may use a formula or lookup table that correlates a peak voltage of the voltage signal 360 with a value for the peak optical power;), and
wherein the laser light intensity or the gain is decreased as the measured pulse width increases and is increased as the measured pulse width decreases ([Col. 45, lines 38 - 47] To prevent saturation of the detector 340 or amplifier 350, the optical power of the input beam 135 or of the LO light 430 may be selected to be below a saturation power of the receiver 140. For example, a detector 340 may saturate with an input optical power of 10 mW, and to prevent the detector 340 from saturating, the optical power of a combined beam 422 may be limited to less than 10 mW. In particular embodiments, a limit may be applied to the average power of the LO light 430 to prevent saturation.).
LaChapelle fails to teach the device wherein the saturation corresponds to the laser reflection light signal exceeding a dynamic range of the laser light receiver;
However, Kawai teaches the device wherein the saturation corresponds to the laser reflection light signal exceeding a dynamic range of the laser light receiver ([0030] A large amplitude of the amplified output signal shown with dotted lines in FIG. 3, however, saturates at a certain level when it reaches the certain level, because the dynamic range of the amplifier circuit 6 b is limited);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of LaChapelle to comprise the saturation detection scheme similar to Kawai, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of preventing measurement errors and distorted data is ignored in the environmental scan.
Regarding claim 3, LaChapelle teaches the LiDAR device of claim 2, wherein the laser light irradiator is further configured to irradiate the adjusted laser light based on the changed laser light intensity toward the object, and the laser light receiver is further configured to output an adjusted laser reflection light signal by detecting the laser light reflected from the object by the adjusted laser light ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150; [Col. 11, lines 7-12] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering, signal conditioning, analog-to-digital conversion, time-to-digital conversion, pulse detection, threshold detection, rising-edge detection, or falling-edge detection.),
wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a distance to the object, based on a time of flight (ToF) from the LiDAR device to the object measured, by using the adjusted laser reflection light signal ([Col. 11, lines 1-7] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may be coupled to light source 110 and receiver 140, and controller 150 may determine a time-of-flight value for an optical pulse based on timing information associated with when the pulse was emitted by light source 110 and when a portion of the pulse (e.g., input beam 135) was detected or received by receiver 140.).
Regarding claim 4, LaChapelle teaches the LiDAR device of claim 3, wherein the TDC is further configured to measure the ToF by counting a time between irradiation of the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity and detection of the reflected laser light ([Col. 26, lines 4-7] In FIG. 7, when TDC 380-1 receives an edge signal from comparator 370-1, the TDC 380-1 may produce a digital signal that represents the time interval between emission of the pulse of light 400 and receipt of the edge signal.).
Regarding claim 5, LaChapelle teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to perform the change such that the laser light irradiator irradiates the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity corresponding to the measured pulse width, based on a lookup table in which laser light intensities corresponding to respective pulse widths are mapped ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150; [Col. 27, lines 37-39] The controller 150 may use a formula or lookup table that correlates a peak voltage of the voltage signal 360 with a value for the peak optical power.).
Regarding claim 6, LaChapelle teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to perform the change such that the amplifier amplifies a signal by the changed gain corresponding to the measured pulse width, based on a lookup table in which gains of the amplifier corresponding to respective pulse widths are mapped ([Col. 11, lines 7-9] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering,; [Col. 27, lines 37-39] The controller 150 may use a formula or lookup table that correlates a peak voltage of the voltage signal 360 with a value for the peak optical power.).
Regarding claim 7, LaChapelle teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein the laser light irradiator comprises a plurality of laser light sources, wherein a first laser light source among the plurality of laser light sources is configured to irradiate the laser light (Fig. 6), and
wherein the plurality of laser light sources are each configured to irradiate the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity toward the object based on the change by the processor ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150;).
Regarding claim 11, LaChapelle teaches an operating method of a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device ([Col. 2, lines 56-57] an example light detection and ranging (lidar) system 100), the method comprising:
irradiating, by a laser light irradiator, a laser light toward an object (Fig.1; [Col. 3, lines 2-3] The light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125);
outputting, by a laser light receiver, a laser reflection light signal by detecting the laser light reflected from the object ([Col. 3, lines 44-46] receiver 140 may receive or detect photons from input beam 135 and produce one or more representative signals.);
measuring a pulse width corresponding to a period in which the laser reflection light signal is saturated from the laser reflection light signal ([Col. 3, lines 52-55] A controller 150 may be configured to analyze one or more characteristics of the electrical signal 145 from the receiver 140 to determine one or more characteristics of the target 130;);
changing at least one of a laser light intensity at which the laser light is irradiated by the laser light irradiator or a gain of an amplifier based on the pulse width ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150; [Col. 11, lines 7-12] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering, signal conditioning, analog-to-digital conversion, time-to-digital conversion, pulse detection, threshold detection, rising-edge detection, or falling-edge detection.); and
controlling at least one of the laser light irradiator to irradiate an adjusted laser light based on the changed laser light intensity or the amplifier to amplify the laser reflection light signal with the changed gain ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150;),
wherein the measuring comprises measuring, by using a time-to-digital converter (TDC) the pulse width corresponding to the period in which the laser reflection light signal is saturated by counting a time of a period in which the laser reflection light signal exceeds a reference level ([Col. 25, lines 3-14]A comparator may provide an electrical-edge signal to a corresponding TDC, and the TDC may act as a timer that produces an electrical output signal (e.g., a digital signal, a digital word, or a digital value) that represents a time when the edge signal is received from the comparator. For example, if the voltage signal 360 rises above the threshold voltage V.sub.T1, then the comparator 370-1 may produce a rising-edge signal that is supplied to the input of TDC 380-1, and the TDC 380-1 may produce a digital time value corresponding to a time when the edge signal was received by TDC 380-1...[Col. 25, lines 18-23] Additionally, if the voltage signal 360 subsequently falls below the threshold voltage V.sub.T1, then the comparator 370-1 may produce a falling-edge signal that is supplied to the input of TDC 380-1, and the TDC 380-1 may produce a digital time value corresponding to a time when the edge signal was received by TDC 380-1.).
wherein the reference level is set to detect a saturation condition of the laser reflection light signal ([Col. 45, line 26-31] If a receiver 140 receives an input optical signal (e.g., combined beam 422) that exceeds an optical-power saturation value of the detector 340, then the detector 340 may saturate or produce a photocurrent i that is different from or distorted with respect to the input optical signal),
wherein the at least one of the laser light intensity or the gain of the amplifier is changed based on the pulse width measured by the time-to-digital converter ([Col. 11, lines 7-9] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering,; [Col. 27, line 24-30] In particular embodiments, an optical characteristic of a received pulse of light 410 may be determined from a pulse-detection output signal provided by one or more TDCs 380 of a pulse-detection circuit 365 (e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 7), or an optical characteristic may be determined from a pulse-detection output signal provided by one or more ADCs of a pulse-detection circuit 365.; [Col. 27, lines 37-39] The controller 150 may use a formula or lookup table that correlates a peak voltage of the voltage signal 360 with a value for the peak optical power;), and
wherein the laser light intensity or the gain is decreased as the measured pulse width increases and is increased as the measured pulse width decreases ([Col. 45, lines 38 - 47] To prevent saturation of the detector 340 or amplifier 350, the optical power of the input beam 135 or of the LO light 430 may be selected to be below a saturation power of the receiver 140. For example, a detector 340 may saturate with an input optical power of 10 mW, and to prevent the detector 340 from saturating, the optical power of a combined beam 422 may be limited to less than 10 mW. In particular embodiments, a limit may be applied to the average power of the LO light 430 to prevent saturation.).
LaChapelle fails to teach the device wherein the saturation corresponds to the laser reflection light signal exceeding a dynamic range of the laser light receiver;
However, Kawai teaches the device wherein the saturation corresponds to the laser reflection light signal exceeding a dynamic range of the laser light receiver ([0030] A large amplitude of the amplified output signal shown with dotted lines in FIG. 3, however, saturates at a certain level when it reaches the certain level, because the dynamic range of the amplifier circuit 6 b is limited);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of LaChapelle to comprise the saturation detection scheme similar to Kawai, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of preventing measurement errors and distorted data is ignored in the environmental scan.
Regarding claim 13, LaChapelle teaches the operating method of claim 12, further comprising calculating a distance of the object, based on a time of flight (ToF) from the LiDAR device to the object measured using the laser reflection light signal ([Col. 11, lines 1-7] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may be coupled to light source 110 and receiver 140, and controller 150 may determine a time-of-flight value for an optical pulse based on timing information associated with when the pulse was emitted by light source 110 and when a portion of the pulse (e.g., input beam 135) was detected or received by receiver 140.).
Regarding claim 14, LaChapelle teaches the operating method of claim 13, wherein the ToF is measured by counting a time between irradiation of the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity and detection of the reflected laser light by using the TDC ([Col. 26, lines 4-7] In FIG. 7, when TDC 380-1 receives an edge signal from comparator 370-1, the TDC 380-1 may produce a digital signal that represents the time interval between emission of the pulse of light 400 and receipt of the edge signal.).
Regarding claim 15, LaChapelle teaches the operating method of claim 11, wherein the changing comprises performing the changing such that the laser light irradiator irradiates the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity corresponding to the measured pulse width, based on a lookup table in which laser light intensities corresponding to respective pulse widths are mapped ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150; [Col. 27, lines 37-39] The controller 150 may use a formula or lookup table that correlates a peak voltage of the voltage signal 360 with a value for the peak optical power.).
Regarding claim 16, LaChapelle teaches the operating method of claim 11, wherein the changing further comprises performing the changing such that the amplifier amplifies a signal by the changed gain corresponding to the measured pulse width, based on a lookup table in which gains of the amplifier corresponding to respective pulse widths are previously mapped ([Col. 11, lines 7-9] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering,; [Col. 27, lines 37-39] The controller 150 may use a formula or lookup table that correlates a peak voltage of the voltage signal 360 with a value for the peak optical power.).
Regarding claim 17, LaChapelle teaches the operating method of claim 11, further comprising: irradiating the laser light using a first laser light source among a plurality of laser light sources provided in the laser light irradiator (Fig. 6); and
irradiating the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity toward the object using the plurality of laser light sources ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150;).
Regarding claim 21, LaChapelle teaches an apparatus comprising:
a memory storing one or more instructions; and a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions ([Col. 90, lines 56 - 62] As illustrated in the example of FIG. 37, computer system 3700 may include a processor 3710, memory 3720, storage 3730, an input/output (I/O) interface 3740, a communication interface 3750, or a bus 3760. Computer system 3700 may include any suitable number of any suitable components in any suitable arrangement.) to:
receive, from a laser light receiver, the laser reflection light signal ([Col. 3, lines 44-46] receiver 140 may receive or detect photons from input beam 135 and produce one or more representative signals.);
output a signal to a laser light irradiator to emit a laser light (Fig.1; [Col. 3, lines 2-3] The light source 110 emits an output beam of light 125);
measure, by using a time-to-digital converter (TDC) a pulse width corresponding to a period in which a laser reflection light signal is saturated, by counting a time of a period in which the laser reflection light signal exceeds a reference level, the laser reflection light signal corresponding to the laser reflected by an object ([Col. 25, lines 3-14]A comparator may provide an electrical-edge signal to a corresponding TDC, and the TDC may act as a timer that produces an electrical output signal (e.g., a digital signal, a digital word, or a digital value) that represents a time when the edge signal is received from the comparator. For example, if the voltage signal 360 rises above the threshold voltage V.sub.T1, then the comparator 370-1 may produce a rising-edge signal that is supplied to the input of TDC 380-1, and the TDC 380-1 may produce a digital time value corresponding to a time when the edge signal was received by TDC 380-1...[Col. 25, lines 18-23] Additionally, if the voltage signal 360 subsequently falls below the threshold voltage V.sub.T1, then the comparator 370-1 may produce a falling-edge signal that is supplied to the input of TDC 380-1, and the TDC 380-1 may produce a digital time value corresponding to a time when the edge signal was received by TDC 380-1.);
determine whether the laser reflection light signal is saturated ([Col. 3, lines 52-55] A controller 150 may be configured to analyze one or more characteristics of the electrical signal 145 from the receiver 140 to determine one or more characteristics of the target 130;);
change at least one of a laser light intensity at which the laser light is emitted by the laser light irradiator or a gain of an amplifier which receives the laser reflection light signal ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150; [Col. 11, lines 7-12] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering, signal conditioning, analog-to-digital conversion, time-to-digital conversion, pulse detection, threshold detection, rising-edge detection, or falling-edge detection.); and
control at least one of the laser light irradiator to irradiate the laser light based on the changed laser light intensity or the amplifier to amplify the laser reflection light signal with the changed gain ([Col. 10, line 64 - Col. 11 line 1] In particular embodiments, the frequency, period, duration, pulse energy, peak power, average power, or wavelength of the optical pulses produced by light source 110 may be adjusted based on instructions, a control signal, or trigger pulses provided by controller 150;).
wherein the reference level is set to detect a saturation condition of the laser reflection light signal (wherein the reference level is set to detect a saturation condition of the laser reflection light signal.),
wherein the proessor is further configured to change the at least one of the laser light intensity or the gain of the amplifier based on the pulse width measured by the time-to-digital converter ([Col. 11, lines 7-9] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering,; [Col. 27, lines 37-39] The controller 150 may use a formula or lookup table that correlates a peak voltage of the voltage signal 360 with a value for the peak optical power.), and
wherein the laser light intensity or the gain is decreased as the measured pulse width increases and is increased as the measured pulse width decreases ([Col. 45, lines 38 - 47] To prevent saturation of the detector 340 or amplifier 350, the optical power of the input beam 135 or of the LO light 430 may be selected to be below a saturation power of the receiver 140. For example, a detector 340 may saturate with an input optical power of 10 mW, and to prevent the detector 340 from saturating, the optical power of a combined beam 422 may be limited to less than 10 mW. In particular embodiments, a limit may be applied to the average power of the LO light 430 to prevent saturation.).
LaChapelle fails to teach the device wherein the saturation corresponds to the laser reflection light signal exceeding a dynamic range of the laser light receiver;
However, Kawai teaches the device wherein the saturation corresponds to the laser reflection light signal exceeding a dynamic range of the laser light receiver ([0030] A large amplitude of the amplified output signal shown with dotted lines in FIG. 3, however, saturates at a certain level when it reaches the certain level, because the dynamic range of the amplifier circuit 6 b is limited);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of LaChapelle to comprise the saturation detection scheme similar to Kawai, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of preventing measurement errors and distorted data is ignored in the environmental scan.
Regarding claim 23, LaChapelle teaches the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the processor is further configured to: change the at least one of a laser light intensity or the gain of the amplifier based on the pulse width ([Col. 11, lines 7-9] In particular embodiments, controller 150 may include circuitry that performs signal amplification, sampling, filtering,; [Col. 27, lines 37-39] The controller 150 may use a formula or lookup table that correlates a peak voltage of the voltage signal 360 with a value for the peak optical power.).
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaChapelle (US 10,802,120 B1), in view of Kawai (US 2005/0200832 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2021/0156998 A1).
Regarding claim 24, LaChapelle teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1,
LaChapelle fails to teach the device wherein the processor is further configured to: change the at least one of the laser light intensity or the gain of the amplifier in an adjustment period, without calculating a distance to the object in the adjustment period; and calculate the distance to the object in a distance measurement period subsequent to the adjustment period, based on a time of flight (ToF) measured using an adjusted laser reflection light signal output by the laser light receiver by detecting the adjusted laser light reflected from the object, wherein the adjusted laser reflection light signal is not saturated.
However, Kim teaches the device wherein the processor is further configured to: change the at least one of the laser light intensity or the gain of the amplifier in an adjustment period, without calculating a distance to the object in the adjustment period ([fig. 4]; [0057] The signal processing unit 230 may include the first amplifier 140. The signal processing unit 230 may adjust a gain of the first amplifier 140 according to a voltage level Vth of the saturation signal. The signal processing unit 230 may change the intensity of the laser light reflection signal through the adjustment of the gain of the first amplifier 140.); and
calculate the distance to the object in a distance measurement period subsequent to the adjustment period, based on a time of flight (ToF) measured using an adjusted laser reflection light signal output by the laser light receiver by detecting the adjusted laser light reflected from the object, wherein the adjusted laser reflection light signal is not saturated ([0061]The TDC 250 may calculate a plurality of TOF values according to the transmission/reception time points of the laser light emission signal and the laser light reflection signal. The TDC 250 may store the plurality of TOF values in the memory unit 220.; [0071] In operation S470, the MCU 210 may calculate an average value of the plurality of TOF values. The MCU 210 may calculate a valid TOF value through the TOF average value. Herein, the valid TOF value may be calculated according to a completion of one cycle from operation S410 to operation S470.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of LaChapelle to comprise the adjustment and measurement periods outlined similar to Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of troubleshooting the intensity at which saturation might occur in a method that requires little to no direct intervention, automating the adjustment process.
Regarding claim 25, LaChapelle teaches the LiDAR device of claim 24,
LaChapelle fails to teach the device wherein the processor is further configured to maintain the laser light intensity and the gain of the amplifier without change in the adjustment period when the laser reflection light signal is determined not to be saturated.
However, Kim teaches the device wherein the processor is further configured to maintain the laser light intensity and the gain of the amplifier without change in the adjustment period when the laser reflection light signal is determined not to be saturated ([0068] In operation S440, when the maximum laser light reflection signal is equal to or smaller than the saturation signal Vth in operation S430, the parameter setting unit 190 may determine whether the maximum laser light reflection signal exceeds a threshold Vth2. When the maximum laser light reflection signal is equal to or smaller than the threshold Vth2, the method returns to operation S410 and the parameter setting unit 190 emits a laser light signal through the laser diode 110 in order to obtain information about the object at the maximum distance.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of LaChapelle to comprise the light intensity maintenance similar to Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring that a valid light intensity is selected and unchanged once configured correctly.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaChapelle (US 10,802,120 B1), in view of Kawai (US 2005/0200832 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Mettenleiter (US 2006/0109536 A1).
Regarding claim 8, LaChapelle teaches the LiDAR device of claim 7
LaChapelle fails to teach the device wherein irradiation of the laser light and irradiation of the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity are performed in units of 1 pixel of an image of the object.
However, Mettenleiter teaches the device wherein irradiation of the laser light and irradiation of the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity are performed in units of 1 pixel of an image of the object ([0026] At the beginning of the automatic measurement, as a rule initially the maximum laser power ("output power P.sub.max") is set, and depending on this the maximum output power the required safety distance D.sub.min is set. Subsequently the scanning "Scan" takes place, wherein a comparison with the minimum distance D.sub.min is performed for the measurement object distance D.sub.mess of each pixel... if the minimum distance is not observed, the measurement is terminated immediately, and the laser power P.sub.out is reduced so as to be lower than the previously set maximum laser power P.sub.max.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of LaChapelle to comprise the laser light adjustment based on the single pixel unit similar to Mettenleiter, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing for laser power alteration on a pixel by pixel basis to generate a more refined image of an environment.
Regarding claim 18, LaChapelle teaches the operating method of claim 17,
LaChapelle fails to teach the method wherein the irradiating of the laser light and the irradiating of the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity are performed in units of 1 pixel of an image of the object.
However, Mettenleiter teaches the method wherein the irradiating of the laser light and the irradiating of the adjusted laser light with the changed laser light intensity are performed in units of 1 pixel of an image of the object ([0026] At the beginning of the automatic measurement, as a rule initially the maximum laser power ("output power P.sub.max") is set, and depending on this the maximum output power the required safety distance D.sub.min is set. Subsequently the scanning "Scan" takes place, wherein a comparison with the minimum distance D.sub.min is performed for the measurement object distance D.sub.mess of each pixel... if the minimum distance is not observed, the measurement is terminated immediately, and the laser power P.sub.out is reduced so as to be lower than the previously set maximum laser power P.sub.max.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of LaChapelle to comprise the laser light adjustment based on the single pixel unit similar to Mettenleiter, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing for laser power alteration on a pixel by pixel basis to generate a more refined image of an environment.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaChapelle (US 10,802,120 B1), in view of Kawai (US 2005/0200832 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view Subasingha (US 11,681,029 B2).
Regarding claim 10, LaChapelle teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1,
LaChapelle fails to teach a device wherein the processor is further configured to change the laser light intensity according to an equation as follows: LD Power=0.0002*Width2−0.025*Width+1.2179, wherein, LD Power is the laser light intensity, and Width denotes the measured pulse width.
However, Subasingha teaches a device wherein the processor is further configured to change the laser light intensity according to an equation as follows: LD Power=0.0002*Width2−0.025*Width+1.2179, wherein, LD Power is the laser light intensity, and Width denotes the measured pulse width ([Col. 13, line 63 - Col. 14, line 5] In some examples, the calibrator 428 may include a lookup table that maps experimental transmit power and experimental received height and/or width of the received signal to a distance offset determined by taking the difference of the measured distance to a test object and the estimated distance based on the received signal. In some examples, to determine the offset distance online, the calibrator 428 may conduct a bilinear and/or bicubic interpolation of the actual transmit power and the received signal height and/or width to determine the distance offset.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of LaChapelle to comprise the relationship between power and pulse width similar to Subasingha, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a formulaic relationship to map the desired pattern of power required based on the pulse width of a signal, so as to adjust accordingly.
Regarding claim 20, LaChapelle teaches the operating method of claim 11,
LaChapelle fails to teach the method wherein the changing comprises changing the laser light intensity according to an equation as follows: LD Power=0.0002*Width2−0.025*Width+1.2179, wherein, LD Power is the laser light intensity, and Width is the measured pulse width.
However, Subasingha teaches the method wherein the changing comprises changing the laser light intensity according to an equation as follows: LD Power=0.0002*Width2−0.025*Width+1.2179, wherein, LD Power is the laser light intensity, and Width is the measured pulse width ([Col. 13, line 63 - Col. 14, line 5] In some examples, the calibrator 428 may include a lookup table that maps experimental transmit power and experimental received height and/or width of the received signal to a distance offset determined by taking the difference of the measured distance to a test object and the estimated distance based on the received signal. In some examples, to determine the offset distance online, the calibrator 428 may conduct a bilinear and/or bicubic interpolation of the actual transmit power and the received signal height and/or width to determine the distance offset.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of LaChapelle to comprise the relationship between power and pulse width similar to Subasingha, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a formulaic relationship to map the desired pattern of power required based on the pulse width of a signal, so as to adjust accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 3rd, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument on page 12 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks regarding the argument that LaChapelle fails to teach the signal analyzer described, or the comparator as described, the examiner notes that while LaChapelle aims to avoid the saturation of the receiver, it nevertheless teaches that the sensor can detect and monitor the saturation, as evidenced by the text in which a photocurrent i can be monitored for saturation levels. This is outlined by the description in the above and previously mentioned rejection citations, which have outlined the specific lines of LaChapelle which outline the structure claimed in the immediate application.
Regarding the specific arguments outlined on page 13 of the applicant’s arguments, which are outlined i-iii, the examiner notes a response here. Regarding argument i, that LaChapelle is directed to prevent saturation instead of measuring it, the examiner notes that while the ultimate objective of the prior art is to prevent saturation, as is the objective of the immediate application, the prior art nevertheless still teaches, by necessity, that to avoid saturation, a saturation level must first be measured. Further, regarding argument ii, that LaChapelle’s TDC measures only ordinary and not saturated signals, the examiner again notes that while this is true in a situation in which saturation is not present, by necessity it must also perform this in a saturation condition, as outlined by further text in the LaChapelle description. Finally, regarding argument iii, that LaChapelle’s generic statement of adjusting fails to teach closing the feedback loop of the immediate application, the examiner notes that this is not found in the claim limitation, as argued, and that the claims appear broader in scope than the applicant argues. The claims are examined under the broadest reasonable interpretation to one of ordinary skill in the art and it is under this criteria that the claims have been rejected and remain rejected in this Final Office Action.
Following this, the argument on page 13 that Kawai fails to teach the comparator described is moot, given that the prior art of LaChapelle teaches this claim limitation and the prior art may not be evaluated on their own when combined in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as above. Further, the prior art’s obviousness to combine, argued against by the applicant as being directed towards contradictory endeavors, is evident when considering that both are ultimately directed toward preventing saturation levels, not merely in stopping at the measurement of a saturation signal.
Finally, the newly amended claims have been rejected under the prior art of record of Kim, amended in as necessitated by the amendments made to the claims and reasons for obviousness to combine have been provided above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645