DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 11, and 13, cancelled claims 2, 9, 12, and 19, and introduced new claims 22-27.
Applicant has amended specification ¶0040 and ¶0045 to correct a typographical error, examiner withdraws objection to specification.
Regarding Gaspard-Boulinc, applicant argues “Gaspard-Boulinc is fundamentally directed to predicting and displaying energy consumption for route planning” and “does not teach charging anything, let alone charging a vehicle accessory from the vehicle battery”. Independent claim(s) 1 and 11 state the limitation “an amount of energy for utilizing at least one vehicle accessory associated with performing the one or more tasks”, where under broadest reasonable interpretation “an amount of energy for utilizing at least one vehicle accessory” does not necessitate the accessory to be charging. Gaspard-Boulinc’s system data 320 collects energy consumption parameters, including energy consumption by an accessory device such as the navigation unit, and processes that information through vehicle energy management computer 340 to predict energy consumption along a planned itinerary.
Applicant further asserts “Gaspard-Boulinc is fundamentally directed to predicting and displaying energy consumption for route planning” further indicating the present invention has “two distinct concepts: powering an integrated navigation component during vehicle operation and charging a vehicle accessory from the vehicle battery”. The applicant’s own specification ¶0040 discloses “A vehicle accessory may part of the electric vehicle 102 (such as, but not limited to, air conditioning (AC) and heating systems, interior lighting, navigation systems, and Hi-Fi systems) or may be a gadget/tool plugged into the vehicle 102 (such as, but not limited to power drills, electric saws, nail guns, and camping equipment such as electric refrigerators)”, explicitly including a navigation system as a vehicle accessory.
Gaspard-Boulinc FIG 1 depicts an energy gauge for future energy consumption from a list of planned activities, the energy consumption of these activities is estimated by the vehicle energy management computer 340 using energy consumption parameters 321, history of travels 323, and other pertinent parameters.
Applicant argues “claim 1 as amended recites an itinerary comprising “one or more journey segments and one or more tasks” – these are distinct concepts connected by “and””. Applicant specification ¶0040 discloses “a task may comprise the electric vehicle 102 traveling from a first location to a second location”, allowing the one or more tasks to be a journey segment. Thereby under broadest reasonable interpretation the limitation “one or more journey segments and one or more tasks” would be satisfied by a first journey segment and a second journey segment.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10-11, 13-15, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaspard-Boulinc et al (US 20180188051 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle, the method comprising: updating a charging profile that defines a minimum amount of charge required by the electric vehicle to perform an itinerary based on an energy consumption profile for the itinerary, (¶0041 "[FIG 1] Activity 1, 110, Activity 2, 120, Activity 3, 130, Activity 4, 140, Activity 5, 150, is planned, the total predicted energy consumption (based on specific parameters depending on any of the vehicle, the route or the pilot/driver) is displayed")
wherein the itinerary comprises one or more journey segments and one or more tasks, (¶0045 “vehicle is an aircraft, activity 211 may be take-off, activity 212 may be travelling a leg, activity 213 may be holding above a waypoint, activity 214 being travelling another leg”)
and wherein the energy consumption profile comprises an amount of energy for traveling between locations associated with the one or more journey segments, (¶0091 "FIG. 4 illustrates a simulation of a variation of a number of travel parameters", ¶0093 "The gauge of FIG. 2 is represented on FIG. 4 integrated in a dashboard of a vehicle")
and an amount of energy for utilizing at least one vehicle accessory associated with performing the one or more tasks; (¶0074 "A system data repository 320 stores and updates data which are necessary or useful to enable the system of the invention to deliver its outputs. Notably, the system data will comprise energy consumption parameters, 321", FIG 3 depicts navigation unit 322 as being integrated into system data 320 making the amount of energy consumed by the navigation unit 322 a parameter by which the system data repository 320 determines the energy consumption profile)
and supplying, based on the charging profile, the electric vehicle with the minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary from a charging station, and the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge required for use during the one or more tasks from a battery of the electric vehicle. (¶0072 "an energy consumption mode (313) is associated with a segment. Energy consumption modes may also be defined by a continuous variable, between a minimum percentage of total power level to a maximum power level")
Similarly for claim 11 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle. (¶0120 “FIG. 6 represents a functional architecture of a vehicle energy management system”)
Regarding claim 3, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches wherein the energy consumption profile is determined based on habits of a driver of the vehicle. (¶0132 "the system will integrate other data, such as Refueling/Recharging Stations (RS), highway tolls, accommodation, food and/or leisure activities possibly associated to the RS, driving and meteorological conditions (coming from external systems), and the driver's choices on the driving mode")
Similarly for claim 13 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system for charging an electric vehicle of claim 11.
Regarding claim 4, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches wherein a plurality of contextual factors further comprises at least one of: a vehicle use pattern; (¶0041 "system data repository 320 stores and updates data which are necessary or useful to enable the system of the invention to deliver its outputs. Notably, the system data will comprise energy consumption parameters, 321", FIG 4 system data 320 containing history of travels 323)
a vehicle accessory use pattern; (¶0041 "system data repository 320 stores and updates data which are necessary or useful to enable the system of the invention to deliver its outputs. Notably, the system data will comprise energy consumption parameters, 321", FIG 4 system data 320 containing navigation unit 322)
and a charge profile of at least one vehicle accessory associated with the vehicle requiring charge during each task of the itinerary. (¶0085 "Vehicle Energy Management computer calculates a number of outputs 350 which are made available to the user in a dynamic and integrated way", ¶0086 " Energy consumption per route segment per activity, 351, is calculated based on the energy consumption parameters, the energy consumption mode, and the environmental parameters captured by the sensor
Similarly for claim 14 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system for charging an electric vehicle of claim 11.
Regarding claim 5, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches wherein determining the energy consumption profile further comprises determining a threshold amount of energy required for a specific itinerary carried out by a specific driver using a vehicle having assigned accessories. (¶0080 "Sensors also comprise an energy level gauge, 332, which delivers an absolute level of the remaining energy")
Similarly for claim 15 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system for charging an electric vehicle of claim 11.
Regarding claim 10, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further comprising: determining a state of charge of a vehicle battery and/or a vehicle accessory during the itinerary; (¶0086 “Energy consumption per route segment per activity, 351, is calculated based on the energy consumption parameters, the energy consumption mode, and the environmental parameters captured by the sensors”, ¶0040 “FIG. 1 displays an energy gauge with allocation of future energy consumption to a set of activities of a vehicle”)
and updating the charging profile during the itinerary based on the determined state of charge of the vehicle battery and/or the vehicle accessory. (¶0085 “Vehicle Energy Management computer calculates a number of outputs 350 which are made available to the user in a dynamic and integrated way”)
Regarding claim 20, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 11. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches wherein the processor is further operable to: determine a state of charge of a vehicle battery and/or a vehicle accessory during the itinerary; (¶0124 "The sensors will capture vehicle position, fuel quantity (or State of Charge, SoC, for an electrical vehicle) and actual environmental conditions, for instance wind, rain, road surface, and/or slope")
and update the charging profile during the itinerary based on the determined state of charge of the vehicle battery and/or the vehicle accessory. (¶0074 "A system data repository 320 stores and updates data which are necessary or useful to enable the system of the invention to deliver its outputs. Notably, the system data will comprise energy consumption parameters, 321")
Regarding claim 21, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 11. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches a vehicle comprising a system. (¶0040 "FIG. 1 displays an energy gauge with allocation of future energy consumption to a set of activities of a vehicle")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaspard-Boulinc and further in view of Villa et al (US 20220147664 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc does not teach wherein determining the energy consumption profile further comprises implementing machine learning to dynamically update the determined energy consumption profile.
Villa teaches wherein determining the energy consumption profile further comprises implementing machine learning to dynamically update the determined energy consumption profile. (¶0133 "The candidate model 730 can include one or more machine-learned models. The candidate model 730 can be configured to determine a respective plurality of candidate flight itineraries 740 for one or more time steps throughout the one or more operational time periods")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Gaspard-Boulinc wherein determining the energy consumption profile further comprises implementing machine learning to dynamically update the determined energy consumption profile as taught by Villa. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve the energy consumption profile over time thereby minimizing the total aggregate energy supplied to the vehicles on a routine basis.
Similarly for claim 16 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system for charging an electric vehicle of claim 11.
Regarding claim 7, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc does not teach wherein updating the charging profile comprises: determining an itinerary starting time when the electric vehicle is required to start performing the itinerary; determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the electric vehicle with the minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary; and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the electric vehicle with the minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary before the itinerary starting time.
Villa teaches wherein updating the charging profile comprises: determining an itinerary starting time when the electric vehicle is required to start performing the itinerary; (¶0025 "the subsequent destination of the aircraft can be used to determine the required range of the aircraft and corresponding battery charge level required")
determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the electric vehicle with the minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary; (¶0025 "the subsequent destination of the aircraft can be used to determine the required range of the aircraft and corresponding battery charge level required")
and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the electric vehicle with the minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary before the itinerary starting time. (¶0021 "robotic charging devices can be assigned to or paired with the aircraft based on a variety of factors and/or data associated with the aircraft. Such intelligent pairing of robotic charging devices and aircraft can reduce aircraft downtime, reduce passenger delay, and/or improve safety")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Gaspard-Boulinc to update the charging profile, determine an itinerary , and schedule a charging start time as taught by Villa. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize available charging infrastructure using a smart scheduling method.
Similarly for claim 17 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system for charging an electric vehicle of claim 11.
Regarding claim 8, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches wherein the charging profile comprises: determining when the at least one vehicle accessory of the electric vehicle is required for use during the itinerary; (¶0041 "systemdata repository 320 stores and updates data", ¶0095 "It is also possible to simulate the impact of a change of a route 431 into a new route 432 by moving a waypoint at position 433 to a position 434", if the vehicle route changes then the system repository 320 will need to use the navigation unit 322 in order to update the energy consumption profile)
[determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the at least one vehicle accessory with a minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary;
and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary.]
Gaspard-Boulinc does not teach determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the at least one vehicle accessory with a minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary;
and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary.
Villa teaches determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the at least one vehicle accessory with a minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary; (¶0025 "the subsequent destination of the aircraft can be used to determine the required range of the aircraft and corresponding battery charge level required")
and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary. (¶0021 "robotic charging devices can be assigned to or paired with the aircraft based on a variety of factors and/or data associated with the aircraft. Such intelligent pairing of robotic charging devices and aircraft can reduce aircraft downtime, reduce passenger delay, and/or improve safety")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Gaspard-Boulinc to determine a threshold charging duration required to supply the at least one vehicle accessory with a minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary and schedule a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary as taught by Villa. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize available charging infrastructure using a smart scheduling method.
Similarly for claim 18 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system for charging an electric vehicle of claim 11.
Claim(s) 22-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaspard-Boulinc modified by Wang et al (US 20200070679 A1)
Regarding claim 22, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc does not teach wherein the at least one vehicle accessory comprises a tool plugged into the electric vehicle.
Wang teaches wherein the at least one vehicle accessory comprises a tool plugged into the electric vehicle. (¶0038 “Total vehicle energy consumption may also account for auxiliary device energy needed to power peripheral electronics operated over the duration of the designated route at process block 115. Such auxiliary “non-vehicle-propulsion” equipment may include a DC-DC converter for converting high voltage power from the traction battery pack to a low voltage power for running various electrical components in the vehicle, such as a radio, a center console display, an electronic instrument cluster, etc”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Gaspard-Boulinc wherein the at least one vehicle accessory comprises a tool plugged into the electric vehicle as taught by Wang. Both Baspard-Boulinc and Wang disclose a method of battery management for operating a vehicle accessory during a vehicle itinerary. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize available charging infrastructure using a smart scheduling method.
Similarly for claim 23 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system for charging an electric vehicle of claim 11.
Regarding claim 24, Gaspard-Boulinc modified by Wang teaches the method of claim 22. Gaspard-Boulinc modified by Wang wherein the tool comprises at least one of a power drill, an electric saw, a nail gun, or an electric refrigerator. (Wang ¶0038 “Total vehicle energy consumption may also account for auxiliary device energy needed to power peripheral electronics operated over the duration of the designated route at process block 115. Such auxiliary “non-vehicle-propulsion” equipment may include a DC-DC converter for converting high voltage power from the traction battery pack to a low voltage power for running various electrical components in the vehicle, such as a radio, a center console display, an electronic instrument cluster, etc”)
Similarly for claim 25 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system for charging an electric vehicle of claim 23.
Regarding claim 26, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc wherein the at least one vehicle accessory comprises a rechargeable battery, and wherein supplying the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge comprises charging the rechargeable battery from the battery of the electric vehicle. (¶0038 “Total vehicle energy consumption may also account for auxiliary device energy needed to power peripheral electronics operated over the duration of the designated route at process block 115. Such auxiliary “non-vehicle-propulsion” equipment may include a DC-DC converter for converting high voltage power from the traction battery pack to a low voltage power for running various electrical components in the vehicle, such as a radio, a center console display, an electronic instrument cluster, etc”)
Similarly for claim 27 as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system for charging an electric vehicle of claim 11.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Kato et al (US 20100121590 A1) discloses a travel support system for a vehicle which determines a required power amount in a rechargeable battery required for travel of a predetermined route.
Books et al (US 20200384864 A1) discloses a method of charging an external vehicle accessory during a charge event at a charging station for use during a vehicle itinerary.
Sood et al (US 20250001899 A1) discloses a vehicle charging scheduler which incorporates historical driving patterns and accessory usage as part of the charge estimation model. Sood has a priority date of 06/29/2023 which is after that of the present application.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859