DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments regarding the Gaspard-Boulinc reference with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered.
Applicant argues that Gaspard-Boulinc “fails to teach an energy consumption profiled for an itinerary comprising journey segments and tasks”. Referring to applicant specification ¶0040 pg 9 starting with line 15 “A task may comprise the electric vehicle 102 traveling from a first location to a second location. Alternatively, a task may comprise utilizing at least one vehicle accessory for a duration of time”, where a task as defined by the applicant includes travelling from a first location to a second location which would be equivalent to a journey segment. Thereby through the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language having an energy consumption profile for an itinerary comprising two or more journey segments would satisfy this requirement. Gaspard-Boulinc FIG. 1 teaches an energy consumption profile for an itinerary comprising two or more journey segments. The energy consumption profile is further details in ¶0041 “a mission consisting of a list of activities, Activity 1, 110, Activity 2, 120, Activity 3, 130, Activity 4, 140, Activity 5, 150, is planned, the total predicted energy consumption… current state-of-charge (SoC) is 95% and the activities will consume a percentage of 95%, displayed at area 560, of the available energy, excluding reserve, 170”.
Applicant further argues that Gaspard-Boulinc “fails to disclose charging a vehicle accessory from the battery of the electric vehicle”. Referring to applicant specification ¶0040 pg 9 “A vehicle accessory may part of the electric vehicle 102 (such as, but not limited to, air conditioning (AC) and heating systems, interior lighting, navigation systems, and Hi-Fi systems) or may be a gadget/tool plugged into the vehicle 102 (such as, but not limited to power drills, electric saws, nail guns, and camping equipment such as electric refrigerators)”. Gaspard-Boulinc FIG. 3 demonstrates a vehicle energy management computer 340 which is onboard an electric vehicle. Energy management computer 340 further consists of Navigation unit 322, which would qualify as a vehicle accessory as defined by the applicant specification. The navigation unit 322 would necessarily be powered by the vehicle battery, and thereby have enough charge to perform the task, due to the fact that the vehicle is fully electric.
Applicant's arguments filed 17 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10-11, 13-15, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gaspard-Boulinc et al (US 20180188051 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle, the method comprising: determining, using electric vehicle data, an energy consumption profile for an itinerary comprising one or more journey segments and one or more tasks, (¶0041 “[FIG 1] Activity 1, 110, Activity 2, 120, Activity 3, 130, Activity 4, 140, Activity 5, 150, is planned, the total predicted energy consumption (based on specific parameters depending on any of the vehicle, the route or the pilot/driver) is displayed”)
wherein the energy consumption profile comprises an amount of energy for traveling between locations associated with the one or more journey segments, (¶0091 “FIG. 4 illustrates a simulation of a variation of a number of travel parameters”, ¶0093 “The gauge of FIG. 2 is represented on FIG. 4 integrated in a dashboard of a vehicle”)
and a minimum amount of energy for utilizing at least one vehicle accessory associated with performing the one or more tasks; (¶0074 “A system data repository 320 stores and updates data which are necessary or useful to enable the system of the invention to deliver its outputs. Notably, the system data will comprise energy consumption parameters, 321”, FIG 3 depicts navigation unit 322 as being integrated into system data 320 making the amount of energy consumed by the navigation unit 322 a parameter by which the system data repository 320 determines the energy consumption profile)
updating a charging profile that defines a minimum amount of charge required by the electric vehicle to perform the itinerary based on the determined energy consumption profile; (¶0074 “A system data repository 320 stores and updates data which are necessary or useful to enable the system of the invention to deliver its outputs. Notably, the system data will comprise energy consumption parameters, 321”)
and supplying, based on the charging profile, the electric vehicle with the minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary from a charging station, and the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge required for use during the one or more tasks from a battery of the electric vehicle (¶0072 “an energy consumption mode (313) is associated with a segment… Energy consumption modes may also be defined by a continuous variable, between a minimum percentage of total power level to a maximum power level”).
Gaspard-Boulinc FIG. 3 demonstrates a vehicle energy management computer 340 which is onboard an electric vehicle. Energy management computer 340 further consists of Navigation unit 322, which would qualify as a vehicle accessory as defined by the applicant specification. The navigation unit 322 would necessarily be powered by the vehicle battery, and thereby have enough charge to perform the task, due to the fact that the vehicle is fully electric.
Similarly as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle in Claim 11.
Regarding claim 3, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein the energy consumption profile is determined based on the habits of a driver of the vehicle (¶0132 “the system will integrate other data, such as Refueling/Recharging Stations (RS), highway tolls, accommodation, food and/or leisure activities possibly associated to the RS, driving and meteorological conditions (coming from external systems), and the driver's choices on the driving mode”).
Similarly as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle in Claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein the a plurality of contextual factors further comprises at least one of: a vehicle use pattern; (¶0041 “system data repository 320 stores and updates data which are necessary or useful to enable the system of the invention to deliver its outputs. Notably, the system data will comprise energy consumption parameters, 321”, FIG 4 system data 320 containing history of travels 323)
a vehicle accessory use pattern; (¶0041 “system data repository 320 stores and updates data which are necessary or useful to enable the system of the invention to deliver its outputs. Notably, the system data will comprise energy consumption parameters, 321”, FIG 4 system data 320 containing navigation unit 322)
and a charge profile of at least one vehicle accessory associated with the vehicle requiring charge during each task of the itinerary (¶0085 “Vehicle Energy Management computer calculates a number of outputs 350 which are made available to the user in a dynamic and integrated way”, ¶0086 “ Energy consumption per route segment per activity, 351, is calculated based on the energy consumption parameters, the energy consumption mode, and the environmental parameters captured by the sensors”).
Similarly as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle in Claim 14.
Regarding claim 5, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein determining the energy consumption profile further comprises determining a threshold amount of energy required for a specific itinerary carried out by a specific driver using a vehicle having assigned accessories (¶0080 “Sensors also comprise an energy level gauge, 332, which delivers an absolute level of the remaining energy”).
Similarly as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle in Claim 15.
Regarding claim 20, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein the processor is further operable to: determine a state of charge of a vehicle battery and/or a vehicle accessory during the itinerary; (¶0124 “The sensors will capture vehicle position, fuel quantity (or State of Charge, SoC, for an electrical vehicle) and actual environmental conditions, for instance wind, rain, road surface, and/or slope”)
and update the charging profile during the itinerary based on the determined state of charge of the vehicle battery and/or the vehicle accessory. (¶0074 “A system data repository 320 stores and updates data which are necessary or useful to enable the system of the invention to deliver its outputs. Notably, the system data will comprise energy consumption parameters, 321”)
Regarding claim 21, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the system of charging an electric vehicle of claim 11. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches a vehicle comprising a system of charging an electric vehicle. (¶0040 “FIG. 1 displays an energy gauge with allocation of future energy consumption to a set of activities of a vehicle”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaspard-Boulinc modified by Villa et al (US 20220147664 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc does not teach a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein predicting determining the energy consumption profile further comprises implementing machine learning to dynamically update the determined energy consumption profile.
Villa teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein predicting determining the energy consumption profile further comprises implementing machine learning to dynamically update the determined energy consumption profile. (¶0133 “The candidate model 730 can include one or more machine-learned models. The candidate model 730 can be configured to determine a respective plurality of candidate flight itineraries 740 for one or more time steps throughout the one or more operational time periods”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of charging an electric vehicle as taught by Gaspard-Boulinc to further comprise implementing machine learning to dynamically update the determined energy consumption profile as taught by Villa for the purpose of improving the energy consumption profile to make charging cycle more efficient thereby improving battery health and extending battery lifespan.
Similarly as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle in Claim 16.
Regarding claim 7, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc does not teach a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein updating the charging profile comprises: determining an itinerary starting time when the electric vehicle is required to start performing the itinerary; determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the electric vehicle with the determined minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary; and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the electric vehicle with the minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary before the itinerary starting time.
Villa teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein updating the charging profile comprises: determining an itinerary starting time when the electric vehicle is required to start performing the itinerary; (¶0025 “the subsequent destination of the aircraft can be used to determine the required range of the aircraft and corresponding battery charge level required”)
determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the electric vehicle with the determined minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary; (¶0025 “the subsequent destination of the aircraft can be used to determine the required range of the aircraft and corresponding battery charge level required”)
and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the electric vehicle with the minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary before the itinerary starting time. (¶0021 “robotic charging devices can be assigned to or paired with the aircraft based on a variety of factors and/or data associated with the aircraft. Such intelligent pairing of robotic charging devices and aircraft can reduce aircraft downtime, reduce passenger delay, and/or improve safety”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of charging an electric vehicle as taught by Gaspard-Boulinc wherein updating the charging profile comprises: determining an itinerary starting time when the electric vehicle is required to start performing the itinerary and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the electric vehicle with the minimum amount of charge required to perform the itinerary before the itinerary starting time as taught by Villa for the purpose of optimizing available charging infrastructure using a smart scheduling method.
Similarly as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle in Claim 17.
Regarding claim 8, Gaspard-Boulinc teaches the method of claim 1. Gaspard-Boulinc further teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein the charging profile comprises: determining when the at least one vehicle accessory of the electric vehicle is required for use during the itinerary; (¶0041 “system data repository 320 stores and updates data”, ¶0095 “It is also possible to simulate the impact of a change of a route 431 into a new route 432 by moving a waypoint at position 433 to a position 434”, if the vehicle route changes then the system repository 320 will need to use the navigation unit 322 in order to update the energy consumption profile)
Gaspard-Boulinc does not teach a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein the charging profile comprises: determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the at least one vehicle accessory with a minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary; and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary.
Villa teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle wherein the charging profile comprises: determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the at least one vehicle accessory with a minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary; (¶0025 “the subsequent destination of the aircraft can be used to determine the required range of the aircraft and corresponding battery charge level required”)
and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary. (¶0021 “robotic charging devices can be assigned to or paired with the aircraft based on a variety of factors and/or data associated with the aircraft. Such intelligent pairing of robotic charging devices and aircraft can reduce aircraft downtime, reduce passenger delay, and/or improve safety”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of charging an electric vehicle as taught by Gaspard-Boulinc wherein determining a threshold charging duration required to supply the at least one vehicle accessory with a minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary and scheduling a charging start time and/or finishing time for supplying the at least one vehicle accessory with the minimum amount of charge required for use during the itinerary as taught by Villa for the purpose of optimizing available charging infrastructure using a smart scheduling method.
Similarly as applied to a system for charging an electric vehicle in Claim 18.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Grammatical error: ¶0040 and ¶0055 “A vehicle accessory may part of the electric vehicle 102”
Appropriate correction is required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Chopra et al (US 20230137357 A1) which teaches a method of scheduling when to charge an electric vehicle based on an itinerary.
Liu et al (US 20200082352 A1) which teaches an apparatus for scheduling charging a fleet of electric vehicles based on a prediction for usage pattern.
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859