DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11 (and 17), the claim is two sentences: “different than the second reliable transport protocol. receive a request to transmit data…of the data to a receiver”. The limitation to receive a request to transmit data limitation appears to be restated twice. Same issue for claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-11, 13, 14, 17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 2021/0344781, hereinafter Zhang) and in view of Dawes et al (US 2020/0296009, hereinafter Dawes), in view of Marolia et al (US 2021/0112003, hereinafter Marolia) and in view of Zou et al (US 2020/0250129, hereinafter Zou).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus (gateway device, Fig. 1) comprising: a network interface device (network interface, Para [0215]) comprising: network interface and device interface (wired interface and wireless interface, Para [0215]) circuitry to: receive a request to transmit data, based on a first transport protocol, from a host system via the device interface, and cause the data to be transmitted in at least one packet, based on a second transport protocol, to a destination device (receiving data packet in second (i.e. “first”) protocol format and transmitting data packet in first (i.e. “second”) protocol format to a RE1 device, Para [0189-190], TE1 sends packet to TE2, where TE1 is a network device and is considered a host); and receive at least one packet, from a sender device, based on the second transport protocol and indicate receipt of the at least one packet, based on the first transport protocol, wherein the first transport protocol is different than the second transport protocol (RE device sends acknowledgement frame in first (i.e. “second”) protocol format to TE1 device, Para [0191] and TE1 device sends acknowledgement/receipt in first (i.e. “second”) protocol format to TE2 device, Para [0192], first and second protocols are different, Para [0024]); wherein the network interface device comprises an endpoint to initiate transmission of the data to a receiver (gateway has network interface, Para [0215] and can be considered an endpoint, where gateway/TE1 transmits data to receiver RE1, Para [0190]); but is not explicit the first and second protocol are reliable protocols. Dawes discloses transmitting and receiving data using first and second protocols, where the first and second protocol can comprise different reliable protocols, claims 1-3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Dawes in the system of Zhang in order to more easily interface and control existing proprietary security technologies; and does not disclose direct memory access (DMA) circuitry. Marolia discloses direct memory access (DMA) engine, Para [0047], DMA controller, Para [0048]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Marolia in the system of Zhang in view with Dawes in order to better route packets in heterogeneous computing environments; nor discloses the request to transmit data comprises a call to a remote direct memory access (RDMA) Verbs application program interface (API) nor causing data to be transmitted based on call to RDMA Verbs API. Marolia discloses application can request establishment of RDMA data transfer, can use verbs API to enable RDMA writes, Para [0036]. Zou discloses sending end may call an RDMA application interface (verbs API) to send a data sending command, encapsulating a packet and transmitting to receiving end, Para [0037]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Zou in the system of Zhang in view with Dawes and Marolia in order to ensure integrity of data when transmitting compressed data.
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 19, Zhang discloses the apparatus/medium/method of claim 1/11/17, wherein the first reliable transport protocol comprises one or more of: InfiniBand, Internet Wide Area remote direct memory access (RDMA) Protocol (iWARP), RDMA over Converged Ethernet (RoCE), Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), User Datagram Protocol (UDP), or quick UDP Internet Connections (QUIC) (the second (i.e. “first”) protocol can be TCP, Para [0024]).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 20, Zhang discloses the apparatus/medium/method of claim 1/11/17, wherein the second reliable transport protocol comprises one or more of: a cloud service provider (CSP) proprietary protocol, resilient reliable protocol, InfiniBand, Internet Wide Area remote direct memory access (RDMA) Protocol (iWARP), RDMA over Converged Ethernet (RoCE), Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), routable RDMA over Converged Ethernet (RoCE), User Datagram Protocol (UDP), or quick UDP Internet Connections (QUIC). Marolia discloses supporting transmissions based on RoCE or iWARP, Para [0041]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Marolia in the system of Zhang in view with Dawes in order to better route packets in heterogeneous computing environments.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but not wherein the circuitry is to permit a process to transmit and receive data using application program interfaces (API) semantics of the first reliable transport protocol and the network interface device to use the second reliable transport protocol to transmit and receive data with a destination device. Marolia discloses transferring data on heterogenous platforms and protocols such as RDMA and verbs application program interface, Para [0036], RDMA verbs, Para [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Marolia in the system of Zhang in view with Dawes in order to better route packets in heterogeneous computing environments.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the network interface device includes one or more of: a network interface controller (NIC), a remote direct memory access (RDMA)-enabled NIC, SmartNIC, data processing unit (DPU), infrastructure processing unit (IPU), router, switch, or network-attached appliance (routers and switches, Para [0219], NIC is well known in the art).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but comprising a server comprising at least one processor and at least one memory device, wherein the at least one processor is to execute a process to request to transmit data stored in the at least one memory device and receive indication of receipt of the at least one packet from the network interface device (network device can be a server, Para [0027], where processor and memory are obvious to one of ordinary skill).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 9, comprising a second server comprising at least one processor and at least one memory device, wherein the second server comprises the destination device (network device can be a server, Para [0027], where processor and memory are obvious to one of ordinary skill).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a computer-readable medium (computer readable medium, Para [0086]), comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: configure a network interface (network interface, Para [0215]) device to: receive a request to transmit data, based on a first transport protocol from a host system via the device interface, and cause the data to be transmitted in at least one packet, based on a second transport protocol, to a destination device (receiving data packet in second (i.e. “first”) protocol format and transmitting data packet in first (i.e. “second”) protocol format to a RE1 device, Para [0189-190] ], TE1 sends packet to TE2, where TE1 is a network device and is considered a host); and receive at least one packet, from a sender device, based on the second transport protocol and indicate receipt of the at least one packet, based on the first transport protocol, wherein the first transport protocol is different than the second transport protocol (RE device sends acknowledgement frame in first (i.e. “second”) protocol format to TE1 device, Para [0191] and TE1 device sends acknowledgement/receipt in first (i.e. “second”) protocol format to TE2 device, Para [0192], first and second protocols are different, Para [0024]); wherein the network interface device comprises an endpoint to initiate transmission of the data to a receiver (gateway has network interface, Para [0215] and can be considered an endpoint, where gateway/TE1 transmits data to receiver RE1, Para [0190]); but is not explicit the first and second protocol are reliable protocols. Dawes discloses transmitting and receiving data using first and second protocols, where the first and second protocol can comprise different reliable protocols, claims 1-3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Dawes in the system of Zhang in order to more easily interface and control existing proprietary security technologies; nor discloses the request to transmit data comprises a call to a remote direct memory access (RDMA) Verbs application program interface (API) nor causing data to be transmitted based on call to RDMA Verbs API. Marolia discloses application can request establishment of RDMA data transfer, can use verbs API to enable RDMA writes, Para [0036]. Zou discloses sending end may call an RDMA application interface (verbs API) to send a data sending command, encapsulating a packet and transmitting to receiving end, Para [0037]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Zou in the system of Zhang in view with Dawes and Marolia in order to ensure integrity of data when transmitting compressed data.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses a method comprising: a network interface (network interface, Para [0215]) device receiving a request to transmit data, based on a first transport protocol from a host system via the device interface, and cause the data to be transmitted in at least one packet, based on a second transport protocol, to a destination device (receiving data packet in second (i.e. “first”) protocol format and transmitting data packet in first (i.e. “second”) protocol format to a RE1 device, Para [0189-190], TE1 sends packet to TE2, where TE1 is a network device and is considered a host); and the network interface device receiving at least one packet, from a sender device, based on the second transport protocol and indicate receipt of the at least one packet, based on the first transport protocol, wherein the first transport protocol is different than the second transport protocol (RE device sends acknowledgement frame in first (i.e. “second”) protocol format to TE1 device, Para [0191] and TE1 device sends acknowledgement/receipt in first (i.e. “second”) protocol format to TE2 device, Para [0192], first and second protocols are different, Para [0024]); wherein the network interface device comprises an endpoint to initiate transmission of the data to a receiver (gateway has network interface, Para [0215] and can be considered an endpoint, where gateway/TE1 transmits data to receiver RE1, Para [0190]); but is not explicit the first and second protocol are reliable protocols. Dawes discloses transmitting and receiving data using first and second protocols, where the first and second protocol can comprise different reliable protocols, claims 1-3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Dawes in the system of Zhang in order to more easily interface and control existing proprietary security technologies; nor discloses the request to transmit data comprises a call to a remote direct memory access (RDMA) Verbs application program interface (API) nor causing data to be transmitted based on call to RDMA Verbs API. Marolia discloses application can request establishment of RDMA data transfer, can use verbs API to enable RDMA writes, Para [0036]. Zou discloses sending end may call an RDMA application interface (verbs API) to send a data sending command, encapsulating a packet and transmitting to receiving end, Para [0037]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Zou in the system of Zhang in view with Dawes and Marolia in order to ensure integrity of data when transmitting compressed data.
Regarding claim 21, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but not fully wherein the first reliable transport protocol comprises one or more of: a remote direct memory access (RDMA) over Converged Ethernet (RoCE) and wherein the second reliable transport protocol comprises one or more of: InfiniBand, Internet Wide Area remote direct memory access (RDMA) Protocol (iWARP), RDMA over Converged Ethernet (RoCE), Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), User Datagram Protocol (UDP), or quick UDP Internet Connections (QUIC). Zhang discloses the second (i.e. “first”) protocol can be TCP, Para [0024]. Marolia discloses supporting transmissions based on RoCE or iWARP, Para [0041]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Marolia in the system of Zhang in view with Dawes in order to better route packets in heterogeneous computing environments.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Dawes, in view of Marolia, in view of Zou and in view of Asnaashari et al (US 2012/0204018, hereinafter Asnaashari).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but not wherein the network interface device is associated with different levels of memory access rights for different confidential computing environments. Asnaashari discloses a controller can permit access to different partitions in memory depending on the level of access that is granted, Para [0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Asnaashari in the system of Zhang in view with Marolia, Zou and Dawes in order to provide protection for data stored in memory.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 11, but not comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: grant the network interface device different levels of memory access rights for different confidential computing environments. Asnaashari discloses a controller can permit access to different partitions in memory depending on the level of access that is granted, Para [0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Asnaashari in the system of Zhang in view with Marolia, Zou and Dawes in order to provide protection for data stored in memory.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 16 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Zou teaches calling an RDMA Verbs API to send data to an RDMA device but does not disclose data to be transmitted based on second reliable transport protocol, not the first reliable transport protocol. Applicant argues TE1 and RE1 are intermediary device and not “endpoints”. In response, Zou is not used to disclose protocol translation but RDMA Verbs API, which Applicant admits to. Zhang discloses transmitting data based on second reliable transport protocol. Applicant argues Zhang does not disclose TE1 and RE1 as endpoints. Applicant’s own specification only mentions endpoints two times with no explanation. Zhang discloses TE1 is a transmitting end, so it can be considered an “endpoint”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461