DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 September 2025 have been fully considered. Applicant has amended claims 1, 13-15, and 20 which overcome the existing art of record. New grounds of rejection are presented herein as necessitated by the amended limitation “wherein the tongue is configured to support the housing when inserted into the hitch receiver”, which is supported by applicant specification ¶0033 and ¶0046 as detailed in applicant arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 10-15, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Hadi et al (US 20200254892 A1) modified by Smith et al (US 20080265844 A1) as further supported by Hegazy, Omar, Joeri Van Mierlo, and Philippe Lataire. "Control and analysis of an integrated bidirectional DC/AC and DC/DC converters for plug-in hybrid electric vehicle applications." Journal of power electronics 11.4 (2011): 408-417.
Regarding claim 1, Hadi teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger (¶0045 “FIG. 2, an example system 200 includes vehicles 204-1, 204-2, . . . , and 204-n, referred to collectively as vehicles 204”),
comprising: a housing (¶0045 “[FIG 2] vehicles 204-2 . . . 204-n function as lag vehicles”),
comprising; a combustion engine (¶0054 “In examples where the vehicle 204-2 is a hybrid vehicle or non-hybrid vehicle that includes an internal combustion engine, the vehicle 204-2 may further include a refueling control module 236 and fuel tank 240”);
and a rectifier configured to convert the alternating current to direct current (¶0054 “In examples where the vehicle 204-2 is a hybrid vehicle or non-hybrid vehicle that includes an internal combustion engine, the vehicle 204-2 may further include a refueling control module 236 and fuel tank 240”, please see below for further explanation);
and a tongue extending from the housing and configured to insert into a hitch receiver of an electric vehicle (¶0047 “FIGS. 3A and 3B, an example configuration of a front hitch 300 and a rear hitch 304 are shown in a top-down and front view… the connection interface 308 of the front hitch 300 may be configured as a receptacle and the connection interface 312 of the rear hitch 304 may be configured as a plug”),
the tongue comprising a plurality of electrical contacts and wires for transmitting the direct current to charge batteries of the electric vehicle (¶0050 “ the front hitch 300 and rear hitch 304 include one or more complementary contact terminals 324 arranged to allow electrical connections (e.g., both data and charging power) between the vehicles”),
and wherein the tongue is configured to support the housing when inserted into the hitch receiver (¶0060 “ FIGS. 5 and 6, the rear hitch 212 of vehicle 204-1 receives the front hitch 208 of vehicle 204-2 to form the soft physical connection. Once connected, the vehicles 204 may travel as a platoon and/or charge one another in the event an electrical charge of a battery is below a threshold”).
The vehicles 204-n as taught by Hadi are capable of travelling together, indicating that the connection between rear hitch 212 of vehicle 204-1 and the front hitch 208 of vehicle 204-2 is weight-bearing and able to support the housing when inserted into the hitch receiver. Hadi does not explicitly teach a rectifier configured to convert the alternating current to direct current; however, it is well known in the art of electric and hybrid vehicles to incorporate a rectifier to convert alternating current to direct current. This is further supported by NPL page 409 “AC/DC rectifier, Mode2, which transfers the power from motor to DC-link” which describes power transfer in a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV). Hadi contains a hybrid electric vehicle which plugs in to charge and be charged by a separate thing, making it a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle, and thereby would have the necessary structure of an AC/DC rectifier for charging on-board battery 220. Hadi does not explicitly teach an electric motor coupled to the combustion engine, wherein the electric motor is configured to start the combustion engine and then be driven by the combustion engine to generate alternating current.
Smith teaches an electric motor coupled to the combustion engine, wherein the electric motor is configured to start the combustion engine and then be driven by the combustion engine to generate alternating current (¶0038 “Providing low current to starter solenoid 34 turns on starter motor 32, thereby turning IC engine 14… IC engine 14 is running it turns alternator 36, which creates an output voltage usable to provide AC power at outlet 22”).
It is well known in the art of hybrid vehicles to incorporate an electric starter configured to start the combustion engine, thereby it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the removably attachable vehicle battery charger as taught by Hadi wherein the electric motor is configured to start the combustion engine and then be driven by the combustion engine to generate alternating current as taught by Smith for the purpose of improving fuel economy and reducing vehicle maintenance.
Regarding claim 2, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a charge controller (¶0042 “AVCM 104 may selectively control systems of the vehicle 100 via respective control modules, including, but not limited to, an engine control module 128, a transmission control module 132, a braking control module 136, and a steering control module 140”, “motor control module 148 may also be responsive to and/or provide commands and data to the engine control module 128, the AVCM 104, among others”).
Regarding claim 4, Hadi teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a fuel tank (FIG 2 vehicle 204-2 containing Fuel Tank 240).
Regarding claim 5, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a gear box coupling the combustion engine to the electric motor (¶0043 “hybrid or non-hybrid electric vehicle, the motor 126 is mechanically coupled to the transmission 116 (via a shaft). A motor control module 148 controls functions related to applying power to the motor 126 from a battery 152 to cause the motor 126 to output torque for vehicle propulsion, selectively providing power from the motor 126 and/or other sources to charge the battery 152”).
Regarding claim 6, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a radiator and cooling fan (¶0054 “In examples where the vehicle 204-2 is a hybrid vehicle or non-hybrid vehicle”).
It is an inherent property of a hybrid vehicle to have a radiator and a cooling fan, thereby the vehicle 204-2 as taught by Hadi contains the necessary structure to further comprise a radiator and a cooling fan.
Regarding claim 7, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising exhaust configured as stacks (¶0054 “In examples where the vehicle 204-2 is a hybrid vehicle or non-hybrid vehicle).
it is inherent to any vehicle with a combustion engine, including an HEV, to have an exhaust, the exhaust headers form an exhaust stack. Thereby the vehicle 204-2 as taught by Hadi contains the necessary structure to further have an exhaust, the exhaust headers form an exhaust stack.
Regarding claim 10, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising one or more electrical outlets on the housing configured to supply alternating current, direct current, or both (¶0046 “relevant components of vehicle 204 including, but not limited to, the AVCM 216, the battery 220, a motor control module 228 that is similar to the motor control module 146, and a communication module 250”, ¶0046 “ the soft hitch module 213 is configured to acquire data from other vehicles via the front hitch 208 and the rear hitch 212, performing a charge control operation based on an electric charge of a battery of another vehicle or its own battery 220”).
Regarding claim 11, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi does not explicitly teach a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a scissor-lift.
Hadi teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger incorporating vehicle 204-2 as the battery charger, and it is well known in the art of personal vehicles to include a scissor lift jack onboard the vehicle for roadside emergencies. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hadi to have a scissor lift jack for the purpose of enabling the operator to change a flat tire.
Regarding claim 12, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a dolly bracket coupled to the bottom of the housing (FIG 2 vehicles 204-2 through 204-n).
Hybrid electric vehicles are inherently load-bearing frames comprising wheels, which functionally constitutes a dolly bracket.
Regarding claim 13, Hadi teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger (¶0045 “FIG. 2, an example system 200 includes vehicles 204-1, 204-2, . . . , and 204-n, referred to collectively as vehicles 204”),
comprising: a housing (¶0045 “[FIG 2] vehicles 204-2 . . . 204-n function as lag vehicles”);
comprising: a combustion engine (¶0054 “In examples where the vehicle 204-2 is a hybrid vehicle or non-hybrid vehicle that includes an internal combustion engine, the vehicle 204-2 may further include a refueling control module 236 and fuel tank 240”);
a rectifier configured to convert alternating current received from the electric motor to direct current (¶0054 “In examples where the vehicle 204-2 is a hybrid vehicle or non-hybrid vehicle that includes an internal combustion engine, the vehicle 204-2 may further include a refueling control module 236 and fuel tank 240”, please see below for further explanation);
and a tongue extending from the housing and configured to insert into a hitch receiver (¶0047 “FIGS. 3A and 3B, an example configuration of a front hitch 300 and a rear hitch 304 are shown in a top-down and front view… the connection interface 308 of the front hitch 300 may be configured as a receptacle and the connection interface 312 of the rear hitch 304 may be configured as a plug”),
the tongue comprising a plurality of electrical contacts and wires for transmitting the direct current to the electric vehicle (¶0050 “ the front hitch 300 and rear hitch 304 include one or more complementary contact terminals 324 arranged to allow electrical connections (e.g., both data and charging power) between the vehicles”);
and wherein the tongue is configured to support the housing when inserted into the hitch receiver (¶0060 “ FIGS. 5 and 6, the rear hitch 212 of vehicle 204-1 receives the front hitch 208 of vehicle 204-2 to form the soft physical connection. Once connected, the vehicles 204 may travel as a platoon and/or charge one another in the event an electrical charge of a battery is below a threshold”).
The vehicles 204-n as taught by Hadi are capable of travelling together, indicating that the connection between rear hitch 212 of vehicle 204-1 and the front hitch 208 of vehicle 204-2 is weight-bearing and able to support the housing when inserted into the hitch receiver. Hadi does not explicitly teach a rectifier configured to convert the alternating current to direct current; however, it is well known in the art of electric and hybrid vehicles to incorporate a rectifier to convert alternating current to direct current. This is further supported by NPL page 409 “AC/DC rectifier, Mode2, which transfers the power from motor to DC-link” which describes power transfer in a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV). Hadi contains a hybrid electric vehicle which plugs in to charge and be charged by a separate thing, making it a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle, and thereby would have the necessary structure of an AC/DC rectifier for charging on-board battery 220. Hadi does not explicitly teach an electric motor coupled to the combustion engine, wherein the electric motor is configured to start the combustion engine and then be driven by the combustion engine to generate alternating current.
Smith teaches an electric motor coupled to the combustion engine, wherein the electric motor is configured to start the combustion engine and then be driven by the combustion engine to generate alternating current (¶0038 “Providing low current to starter solenoid 34 turns on starter motor 32, thereby turning IC engine 14… IC engine 14 is running it turns alternator 36, which creates an output voltage usable to provide AC power at outlet 22”).
It is well known in the art of hybrid vehicles to incorporate an electric starter configured to start the combustion engine, thereby it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the removably attachable vehicle battery charger as taught by Hadi wherein the electric motor is configured to start the combustion engine and then be driven by the combustion engine to generate alternating current as taught by Smith for the purpose of improving fuel economy and reducing vehicle maintenance.
Regarding claim 14, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 13. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger wherein the hitch receiver is located on a trailer (¶0050 “the front hitch 300 and rear hitch 304 include one or more complementary contact terminals 324 arranged to allow electrical connections (e.g., both data and charging power) between the vehicles”).
Regarding claim 15, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 13. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger wherein the hitch receiver is located on an electric vehicle (¶0060 “ FIGS. 5 and 6, the rear hitch 212 of vehicle 204-1 receives the front hitch 208 of vehicle 204-2 to form the soft physical connection. Once connected, the vehicles 204 may travel as a platoon and/or charge one another in the event an electrical charge of a battery is below a threshold”).
Regarding claim 17, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 13. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a gear box coupling the combustion engine to the electric motor (¶0046 “relevant components of vehicle 204 including, but not limited to, the AVCM 216, the battery 220, a motor control module 228 that is similar to the motor control module 146, and a communication module 250”).
Regarding claim 19, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 13. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising one or more electrical outlets on the housing configured to supply alternating current, direct current, or both (¶0046 “relevant components of vehicle 204 including, but not limited to, the AVCM 216, the battery 220, a motor control module 228 that is similar to the motor control module 146, and a communication module 250”, ¶0046 “ the soft hitch module 213 is configured to acquire data from other vehicles via the front hitch 208 and the rear hitch 212, performing a charge control operation based on an electric charge of a battery of another vehicle or its own battery 220”).
Regarding claim 20, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 13. Hadi further teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger. Hadi further teaches a method of extending the range of an electric vehicle using a removably attachable vehicle battery charger wherein the method comprises: inserting the tongue into the hitch receiver, the electrical contacts of the tongue making an electrical connection with a plurality of electrical contacts in the hitch receiver (¶0050 “the front hitch 300 and rear hitch 304 include one or more complementary contact terminals 324 arranged to allow electrical connections (e.g., both data and charging power) between the vehicles”);
starting the combustion engine using the electric motor (¶0054 “In examples where the vehicle 204-2 is a hybrid vehicle or non-hybrid vehicle that includes an internal combustion engine, the vehicle 204-2 may further include a refueling control module 236 and fuel tank 240”);
driving the electric motor using the combustion engine, the electric motor generating alternating current (¶0046 “relevant components of vehicle 204 including, but not limited to, the AVCM 216, the battery 220, a motor control module 228 that is similar to the motor control module 146, and a communication module 250”);
converting the alternating current to direct current using a rectifier (¶0054 “In examples where the vehicle 204-2 is a hybrid vehicle or non-hybrid vehicle that includes an internal combustion engine, the vehicle 204-2 may further include a refueling control module 236 and fuel tank 240”);
and supplying the direct current to the plurality of electrical contacts within the tongue, the direct current flowing to the electric vehicle to charge one or more batteries via the plurality of electrical contacts in the hitch receiver (¶0046 “soft hitch module 213 is configured to acquire data from other vehicles via the front hitch 208 and the rear hitch 212, performing a charge control operation based on an electric charge of a battery of another vehicle or its own battery 220”).
The vehicles 204-n as taught by Hadi are capable of travelling together, indicating that the connection between rear hitch 212 of vehicle 204-1 and the front hitch 208 of vehicle 204-2 is weight-bearing and able to support the housing when inserted into the hitch receiver. It is well known in the art of electric and hybrid vehicles to incorporate a rectifier to convert alternating current to direct current. This is further supported by NPL page 409 “AC/DC rectifier, Mode2, which transfers the power from motor to DC-link” which describes power transfer in a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV). Hadi contains a hybrid electric vehicle which plugs in to charge and be charged by a separate thing, making it a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle, and thereby would have the necessary structure of an AC/DC rectifier for charging on-board battery 220.
Claim(s) 3, 8, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadi modified by Smith Matsumoto et al (US 20190232945 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi as modified by does not teach a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a boost motor and a supercharger.
Matsumoto teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a boost motor and a supercharger (¶0029 “FIG. 1 is an intake device with a supercharging device. A turbocharger 32 for supercharging air is disposed in an intake passage 30 through which air taken into the engine 4 flows”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Hadi as modified by Smith using the Hybrid vehicle boost motor and supercharger, as taught by Matsumoto, for the purpose of increasing power/torque of the combustion engine and producing a stable charging current from vehicle 204-2 to vehicle 204-1.
Regarding claim 8, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi as modified by Smith does not teach a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising water hoses configured to couple to the electric vehicle to provide water thereto.
Matsumoto teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising water hoses configured to couple to the electric vehicle to provide water thereto (¶0036 “change the temperature of the EGR gas recirculated to the engine 4 by changing the temperature of the cooling water of the EGR cooler 44”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the removably attached charger of claim 1 as taught by Hadi as modified by Smith using water hoses configured to couple to the electric vehicle to provide water thereto, as taught by Matsumoto, for the purpose preventing overheating and reducing the fire risk.
Regarding claim 16, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 13. Hadi as modified by Smith does not teach a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a boost motor and a supercharger.
Matsumoto teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a boost motor and a supercharger (¶0029 “FIG. 1 is an intake device with a supercharging device. A turbocharger 32 for supercharging air is disposed in an intake passage 30 through which air taken into the engine 4 flows”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the removably attachable vehicle battery charger as taught by Hadi as modified by Smith using the Hybrid vehicle boost motor and supercharger, as taught by Matsumoto, for the purpose of increasing power/torque of the combustion engine and producing a stable charging current from vehicle 204-2 to vehicle 204-1.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadi modified by Smith and Kydd et al (US 20070169970 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 1. Hadi as modified by Smith does not teach a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a variable frequency drive.
Kydd teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a variable frequency drive (¶0027 "Electric motor 60 is mounted to the existing frame of the vehicle 32 by mounting 30, and may be either a variable speed AC or DC motor").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the removably attached charger of claim 1 as taught by Hadi as modified by Smith, using the Hybrid vehicle, as taught by Kydd, for the purpose of more precisely controlling the speed of the electric motor for improved driving experience.
Regarding claim 18. Hadi as modified by Smith teaches the removably attachable vehicle battery charger of claim 13. Hadi as modified by Smith does not teach a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a variable frequency drive.
Kydd teaches a removably attachable vehicle battery charger further comprising a variable frequency drive (¶0027 "Electric motor 60 is mounted to the existing frame of the vehicle 32 by mounting 30, and may be either a variable speed AC or DC motor").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the removably attached charger of claim 1 as taught by Hadi as modified by Smith, using the Hybrid vehicle, as taught by Kydd, for the purpose of more precisely controlling the speed of the electric motor for improved driving experience.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859