DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to claims 1 and 8 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. No new matter has been introduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendment made to claim 1, see pgs. 9-11 and 14, filed 06/02/2025, with respect to claims 1-7 and 11-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 with respect to claims 1-7 and 11-14 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 14-15, filed 06/02/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-14 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over copending Application No. 17/749,899 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amended claims 1 and 8. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection, as necessitated by the amendment of claim 8, is made in view of instant claims 8-10 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over copending Application No. 17/749,899 (as further explained below).
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 14-15, filed 06/02/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-14 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over copending Application No. 17/734,772 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, claims 1-14 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over copending Application No. 17/734,772 (see rejection below).
Applicant's arguments, see pgs. 11-14, filed 06/02/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 8-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 8-10 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated over Kanna et al. (US 7214467 B2), as further explained below. Applicant argues Kanna et al. teaches “photoacid generators in the form of salts that include cations and anions” (pg.12) while the applicant claims the “acid themselves…not salts or photoacid generators” (pg.13). However, claims 8-10, as written, use comprising language regarding the mixture of sulfonic and carboxylic acid compounds wherein the mixture comprises a compound by Chemical Formula 3 and a compound represented by Chemical Formula 4:
. Claim 10 further specifies the compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 and Chemical Formula 4 as selected from compounds of Group II or Group III, respectively:
. MPEP 2111.03(I) states: “The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004)”. As pointed out by Applicant, Kanna et al. teaches a mixture of at least two compounds selected from (B1) to (B3) as the photoacid generators, which generate the acid upon irradiation, wherein (B1) generates a sulfonic acid compound substituted with at least one fluorine atom and (B3) generates a carboxylic acid substituted with at least one fluorine atom (col. 80, line 51 – col. 81, line 10). Specifically, Kanna et al. teaches examples (VII-4):
and (II-4f):
used in photosensitive resin compositions in Table 2 (column 134) wherein the weight ratio of (VII-4) to (II-4f) is 1:0.25 (column 134, lines 36-38). VII-4 and II-4f clearly depicts the deprotonated acids in which upon irradiation of the photoacid generator salt, the protonated acid would be generated, as claimed above in claim 10. Therefore, claims 8-10 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and the rejection has been amended as necessitated by the amendments to claims 1 and 8.
Double Patenting
Claims 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of copending Application No. 17/749,899 (pre-grant publication number: US 20230028244 A1) and in view of Yagi et al. (US 20200192220 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/749,899 and instant claim 8 claim a resist composition comprising an acrylic polymer comprising a structural unit comprising a hydroxy group and a fluorine, at least one acid compound selected from a sulfonic acid compound comprising at least one fluorine and a carboxylic acid compound comprising at least one fluorine, and a solvent. Further, claim 9 of copending Application No. 17/749,899 claims identical compounds to instant claim 10. However, Application No. 17/749,899 does not claim the two acids being a weight ratio of about 1:0.1 to about 1:50 (claim 1 of instant application).
Yagi et al. teaches a radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising of a polymer (resin) containing a hydroxy and fluorine group (section 10, upper right examples) and two acids (photoacids). Yagi et al. teaches a resist composition (section 53-54, table 3) where the resin is 10g, first photoacid generator is 1 g and the second photoacid generator is 0.2 g, therefore the ratio of polymer to the acid mixture is 10:1.2 or about 8.3:1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to have combined the claimed resist composition of copending Application No. 17/749,899 to include the weight ratio of the acid mixture of Yagi et al. because “the results shown in table 3...the resist composition of the embodiment of the present invention provides a pattern having excellent LER performance” (section 54, paragraph 728). See MPEP § 2143, rationales (A, B, and E). See also KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-14 of copending Application No. 17/734,772 (pre-grant publication number: US 20230026721 A1) and in view of Kanna et al. (US 7214467 B2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim 1 of Application No. 17/734,772 and instant claim 1 claim a resist topcoat composition comprising an acrylic polymer comprising a structural unit comprising a hydroxy group and a fluorine; a mixture comprising two acids, both comprising a fluorine, where the first acid is a sulfonic acid compound and the two acids are in a weight ratio of about 1:0.1 to about 1:50; and a solvent. Furthermore, the remaining content claimed in claims 2-14 of copending Application No. 17/734,772 are identical to the instant application. However, Application No. 17/734,772 does not claim a carboxylic acid compound as the second acid.
Kanna et al. teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising a resin (A) and at least two kinds of compounds capable of generating an acid upon irradiation of which one is a sulfonic acid substituted with at least one fluorine atom (B1) and one is a carboxylic acid substituted with at least one fluorine atom (B3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to have swapped the sulfonimide compound of Application No. 17/734,772 with the carboxylic acid of Kanna et al. to improve “the problems of line edge roughness, development time dependence and footing formation” (column 146, lines 39-42). See MPEP § 2143, rationales (A, B, and E). See also KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of 1:5 to about 1:50 for the weight ratio from the claimed range of 1:0.1 to about 1:50 as disclosed by copending Application No. 17/734,772 because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I. In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanna et al. (US 7214467 B2).
Kanna et al. teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising a resin (A) represented by the general formula (Z):
wherein R50 to R55 are the same or different and represent a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, or an alkyl group, and at least one of R50 to R55 represents a fluorine atom, a compound capable of generating an acid upon irradiation which includes at least two kinds of compounds (B1), (B2), (B3), and (B4) of which (B1) is a sulfonic acid substituted with at least one fluorine atom and (B3) is a carboxylic acid substituted with at least one fluorine atom, a solvent (C), and a surfactant (D) (column 2, lines 51-67 through column 3, lines 1-30). Resin (A) comprises of repeat units that are represented by general formula (IIA) and (VIA):
wherein the substituents are defined in column 15, lines 36-58 and includes (F-54) as a specific example:
(column 70, lines 1-13). Examples of the sulfonic acid substituted with at least one fluorine atom (B1) include: (VI-1), (V1-4), (VI-13), (VI-15), (VI-19), (VII-1), (VII-4), (VII-22), (VII-23), (VII-24), (VII-30), (VII-33), (VII-36), and (VII-45) (columns 83-91) and examples of the carboxylic acid substituted with at least one fluorine atom (B3) include: (I-2f), (I-4f), (I-13), (I-15), (I-17f), (I-21f), (II-2f), (II-3f), (II-4f), (II-24f), (II-30f), (II-36f), and (II-45f) (columns 105-113). Specifically, examples (VII-4):
and (II-4f):
are shown and used in photosensitive resin compositions in Table 2 (column 134), particularly example 1-7 which comprises of a ratio of 1:0.25 (VII-4) to (II-4f) (column 134, lines 36-38).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE CURIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737