DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 12, 13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawate et al. (2018/0104955) in view of Ison et al. (6,652,083), Lee et al. (2007/0046739) and Katsuki (11,141,986).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Kawate teaches a liquid container and liquid conveyance member arranged inside a liquid containing bag, comprising:
a liquid containing bag (fig. 6, item 60) configured to contain liquid (fig. 7, item LQ); and
a liquid conveyance member (fig. 7, item 91) attached to the liquid containing bag and configured to lead liquid out of the liquid containing bag (see figs. 5-12),
wherein the liquid conveyance member comprises a liquid lead-out member (fig. 12, item 66) configured to lead the liquid out of the liquid containing bag to a liquid ejection apparatus (see fig. 1), and a liquid introduction member (fig. 12, item 91) coupled to the liquid lead-out member and configured to introduce the liquid to the liquid lead-out member (see figs. 5-12), and a first flow path (fig. 12, item 82) coupling the first spacer unit to the liquid lead-out member and forming a passage through which the liquid is taken from the first liquid intake port is delivered to the liquid lead-out member (see fig. 12), and a second flow path (fig. 12, item 81) coupling the second spacer unit to the liquid lead-out member and forming a passage through which the liquid taken from the second liquid intake port is delivered to the liquid lead-out member (see fig. 12),
wherein the first introduction member comprises a first split body (figs. 12-14, item 98/81) and a second split body (figs. 5-12, item 97/81) joined so as to face each other (see figs. 12-14, Note that portions 97, 98 of second and first split bodies, respectively, adjoin to face each other),
wherein the first split body includes a first spacer unit (figs. 12-14, inclined surface of top one of items 91) comprising a first liquid intake port (figs. 12-14, item 92) configured to take the liquid from above in a direction of gravity in a state in which the liquid container is used (note that this could mean anything), and a first coupling unit (figs. 12-14, item 81) being coupled to the first spacer unit (see figs. 12-14),
wherein the second split body includes a second spacer unit (figs. 12-14, inclined surface of bottom one of items 91) comprising a second liquid intake port (figs. 12-14, item 93) configured to take the liquid from below in a direction of gravity in a state in which the liquid container is used (note that this could mean anything), and a second coupling unit (figs. 12-14, item 81) being coupled to the second spacer unit (see figs. 12-14),
Kawate in view of Ninagawa does not teach wherein the liquid conveyance member is a manifold arrangement. Ison teaches this (Ison, see figs. 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a manifold arrangement, as disclosed by Ison, for the liquid conveyance member disclosed by Kawate in view of Ninagawa because doing so would amount to the simple substitution of one known liquid conveyance arrangement for another to obtain predictable results.
Kawate in view Ninagawa and Ison does not teach wherein the manifold arrangement of the liquid conveyance member comprises a first split body and a second split body joined so as to face each other, wherein the first split body comprises a plate-shaped first coupling unit and having a first groove formed over a length of the first coupling unit in a flat surface of the first coupling unit which and the second split body comprises a plate-shaped second coupling unit and having a second groove formed over a length of the second coupling unit which extends in a flat surface of the second coupling unit,
wherein in a state where the first split body and the second split body are joined so that the flat surface of the plate-shaped first coupling unit on which the first groove is formed and the flat surface of the plate-shaped second coupling unit on which the second groove is formed contact to each other, the first groove defines the first flow path through which liquid is taken from an input to an out, and the second groove defines the second flow path through which the liquid is taken from an input to an output. Lee teaches this (Lee, see fig. 8, Note liquid conveyance member 130 with first 131 and second 140 split bodies, joined to each other at flat plate-shaped surfaces, each with a groove 134c and 141b forming flow paths).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the specific split-body manifold arrangement disclosed by Lee as the manifold of the combination disclosed by Kawate in view of Ninagawa and Ison because doing so would amount to applying a known manifold design with to a liquid manifold to obtain predictable results.
Kawate in view of Ninagawa and Ison does not teach first and second liquid storage spaces configured to store liquid that has been provided from the first and second grooves, formed between the first and second grooves and the liquid lead-out member, having a flow path width wider that their respective grooves, wherein the storage spaces are joined together, defining a liquid storage space to mix and store liquid that has passed through the first and second flow paths. Katsuki teaches this (Katsuki, see figs. 7, 18, Note first and second flow paths 81, 82 leading to first and second storage spaces downstream of ports 131, 132 and inside 100, wherein the storage space has liquid from both of the first and second flow paths mix. Note that portion of 100 just downstream of ports 131, 132 is wider than ports 131, 132 and the flow paths in the tubes 81, 82). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the filter chamber disclosed by Katsuki to the device disclosed by Kawate in view of Ison and Lee because doing so would allow for filtering of all liquid fed from either flow path.
Regarding claim 2, Kawate in view of Ison, Lee and Katsuki teaches the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the first flow path is formed by the first groove comprised in the first coupling unit and a third groove comprised in the second coupling unit, and wherein the second flow path is formed by the second groove comprised in the second coupling unit and a fourth groove comprised in the first coupling unit (Lee, fig. 8, Note first through fourth grooves in two central flow channels meeting the limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Kawate in view of Ison, Lee and Katsuki teaches the liquid container according to claim 1 further comprising the liquid lead-out unit,
wherein the liquid lead-out unit has a space for storing liquid which is taken from the first liquid intake port and the second liquid intake port and has flown through the first coupling unit and the second coupling unit (Kawate, see figs. 5-12, Note that lead-out unit 66 necessarily has a space between ports 92b, 93b and 52 in which liquid exists).
Regarding claim 13, Kawate in view of Ison, Lee and Katsuki teaches the liquid container according to claim 2, wherein in a state in which the first split body and the second split body are adjoined so as to face each other, the first groove faces the third groove and the second groove faces the fourth groove (Note that, upon application of the manifold arrangement disclosed Lee to the flow paths of Kawate, the resultant device would meet the limitations).
Regarding claims 16, 17, 18, Kawate in view of Ison, Lee and Katsuki teaches the liquid container according to claims 1, 12 and 14, respectively, wherein a width of the first liquid intake port and a width of the second liquid intake port are different, and the width of the second liquid intake port is wider than the width of the first intake port (Kawate, see fig. 13, Note second intake port 92 wide than first intake port 93).
Regarding claim 19, Kawate in view of Ison, Lee and Katsuki teaches the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein a flow path length of the first flow path and a flow path length of the second flow path are the same (Kawate, see fig. 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853