DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted 5/18/2022, 6/16/2022, 9/14/2023, 11/5/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to for the following informality: In line 2, "include controlling" should read, "includes controlling." Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to for the following informality: In line 2, "include controlling" should read, "includes controlling." Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to for the following informality: In line 2, "include controlling" should read, "includes controlling." Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to for the following informality: In line 2, "include controlling" should read, "includes controlling." Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohta (United States Patent Publication No. 20080236363 A1, October 2, 2008), hereinafter Ohta.
Regarding claim 1, Ohta discloses a sound production control apparatus for a keyboard musical instrument including a key (Ohta ¶0103: "the user fingers a piece of music on the keyboard 1 a, and the electronic tones are to be produced in response to the fingering on the keyboard 1 a"), the sound production control apparatus comprising: a position detector (Ohta ¶0088: "The array of key position sensors 26 is provided under the front portions of black keys 1 b and the front portions of white keys 1 c") configured to detect, in accordance with a playing operation of the key, a position of the key that is displaceable within a movement range from a start position to an end position (Ohta ¶0093: "In other words, the black key 1 b or white key 1 c reciprocally travels over the full keystroke between the rest position L and the end position E, and the full keystroke is equal to the distance between the rest position L and the end position E. Three key positions K1, K2 and K3 are determined on the full keystroke so that the full keystroke is divided into four sections, i.e., the first section from L to K1, the second section from K1 to K2, the third section from K2 to K3 and the fourth section from K3 to E."), the movement range including: a sounding range including a sounding position (¶0106: "When the depressed key 1 b or 1 c passes through the key position K3, the answer at step S1 is changed to affirmative 'Yes'"; ¶0107: "Subsequently, the central processing unit produces the note-on key event data code expressing the regular tone to be produced, and transfers the note-on key event data code to the electronic tone generating system 25 as by step S3."); and a setting range that is closer to the start position than the sounding range (Ohta ¶0095: "The third section K2 to K3 is used for calculating the velocity of key 1 b or 1 c."); one or more memories for storing instructions; and one or more processors communicatively connected to the one or more memories that execute the stored instructions (Ohta ¶0066: "The controller 11 includes an information processing system 11 a, which in turn has a central processing unit, peripheral processors, a program memory, a working memory") to cause a played sound associated with the key to be produced upon the detected position of the key reaching the sounding position (¶0106: "When the depressed key 1 b or 1 c passes through the key position K3, the answer at step S1 is changed to affirmative 'Yes'”; ¶0107: "Subsequently, the central processing unit produces the note-on key event data code expressing the regular tone to be produced, and transfers the note-on key event data code to the electronic tone generating system 25 as by step S3."), while controlling a characteristic of the played sound (Ohta ¶0078: "it is possible to control the loudness of tones by imparting the key velocity at the reference point to the depressed keys 1 b and 1 c") depending on a displacement characteristic of the key within the setting range before the key is positioned in the sounding range (Ohta ¶0095: "The third section K2 to K3 is used for calculating the velocity of key 1 b or 1 c.").
Regarding claim 2, Ohta discloses a sound production control apparatus comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ohta further discloses that the one or more processors, in causing the played sound to be produced, responsive to a movement of the position of the key from the setting range to the sounding range (Ohta ¶0095: "The third section K2 to K3 is used for calculating the velocity of key 1 b or 1 c."), control the characteristic of the played sound produced depending on the displacement characteristic (Ohta ¶0078: "it is possible to control the loudness of tones by imparting the key velocity at the reference point to the depressed keys 1 b and 1 c").
Regarding claim 3, Ohta discloses a sound production control apparatus comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ohta further discloses that the one or more processors, in causing the played sound to be produced, further control a characteristic related to a playing technique of the played sound (Ohta abstract: "a controller of the electronic system makes the acoustic piano and an electronic tone generating system produce the after-tones alone or together with the regular tones depending upon user's instruction so that the users can perform or reproduce music tunes in various renditions such as, for example, tremolo, syncopation and vibrato.").
Regarding claim 4, Ohta discloses a sound production control apparatus comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ohta further discloses that the controlling of the characteristic of the played sound includes controlling an attack section in the played sound (Ohta ¶0096: "The regular tone RT is produced at time TE, at which the depressed key 1 b or 1 c reaches the end position, and is decayed at T2, at which the released key 1 b or 1 c passes through the key position K2." The regular tone RT that is produced at the time TE comprises an attack section in the played sound.).
Regarding claim 5, Ohta discloses a sound production control apparatus comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ohta further discloses that the controlling of the characteristic of the played sound includes controlling a volume of the played sound (Ohta ¶0078: "it is possible to control the loudness of tones by imparting the key velocity at the reference point to the depressed keys 1 b and 1 c").
Regarding claim 6, Ohta discloses a keyboard musical instrument comprising: a music keyboard including a key displaceable within a movement range from a start position to an end position (Ohta ¶0093: "In other words, the black key 1 b or white key 1 c reciprocally travels over the full keystroke between the rest position L and the end position E, and the full keystroke is equal to the distance between the rest position L and the end position E. Three key positions K1, K2 and K3 are determined on the full keystroke so that the full keystroke is divided into four sections, i.e., the first section from L to K1, the second section from K1 to K2, the third section from K2 to K3 and the fourth section from K3 to E.") responsive to a playing operation (Ohta ¶0103: "the user fingers a piece of music on the keyboard 1 a, and the electronic tones are to be produced in response to the fingering on the keyboard 1 a"), the movement range including: a sounding range including a sounding position (¶0106: "When the depressed key 1 b or 1 c passes through the key position K3, the answer at step S1 is changed to affirmative 'Yes'"; ¶0107: "Subsequently, the central processing unit produces the note-on key event data code expressing the regular tone to be produced, and transfers the note-on key event data code to the electronic tone generating system 25 as by step S3."); and a setting range that is closer to the start position than the sounding range (Ohta ¶0095: "The third section K2 to K3 is used for calculating the velocity of key 1 b or 1 c."); a position detector configured to detect a position of the key within the movement range (Ohta ¶0088: "The array of key position sensors 26 is provided under the front portions of black keys 1 b and the front portions of white keys 1 c"); one or more memories for storing instructions; and one or more processors communicatively connected to the one or more memories that execute the stored instructions to cause a played sound associated with the key to be produced upon the detected position of the key reaching the sounding position (Ohta ¶0066: "The controller 11 includes an information processing system 11 a, which in turn has a central processing unit, peripheral processors, a program memory, a working memory"), while controlling a characteristic of the played sound (Ohta ¶0078: "it is possible to control the loudness of tones by imparting the key velocity at the reference point to the depressed keys 1 b and 1 c") depending on a displacement characteristic of the key within the setting range before the key is positioned in the sounding range (Ohta ¶0095: "The third section K2 to K3 is used for calculating the velocity of key 1 b or 1 c.").
Regarding claim 7, Ohta discloses a keyboard musical instrument comprising the features of claim 6 as disclosed above.
Ohta further discloses that the one or more processors, in causing the played sound to be produced, responsive to a movement of the position of the key from the setting range to the sounding range (Ohta ¶0095: "The third section K2 to K3 is used for calculating the velocity of key 1 b or 1 c."), control the characteristic of the played sound produced depending on the displacement characteristic (Ohta ¶0078: "it is possible to control the loudness of tones by imparting the key velocity at the reference point to the depressed keys 1 b and 1 c").
Regarding claim 8, Ohta discloses a keyboard musical instrument comprising the features of claim 6 as disclosed above.
Ohta further discloses that the one or more processors, in causing the played sound to be produced, further control a characteristic related to a playing technique of the played sound (Ohta abstract: "a controller of the electronic system makes the acoustic piano and an electronic tone generating system produce the after-tones alone or together with the regular tones depending upon user's instruction so that the users can perform or reproduce music tunes in various renditions such as, for example, tremolo, syncopation and vibrato.").
Regarding claim 9, Ohta discloses a keyboard musical instrument comprising the features of claim 6 as disclosed above.
Ohta further discloses that the controlling of the characteristic of the played sound includes controlling an attack section in the played sound (Ohta ¶0096: "The regular tone RT is produced at time TE, at which the depressed key 1 b or 1 c reaches the end position, and is decayed at T2, at which the released key 1 b or 1 c passes through the key position K2." The regular tone RT that is produced at the time TE comprises an attack section in the played sound.).
Regarding claim 10, Ohta discloses a keyboard musical instrument comprising the features of claim 6 as disclosed above.
Ohta further discloses that the controlling of the characteristic of the played sound includes controlling a volume of the played sound (Ohta ¶0078: "it is possible to control the loudness of tones by imparting the key velocity at the reference point to the depressed keys 1 b and 1 c").
Regarding claim 11, Ohta discloses a sound production control method implemented by a computer of a sound production apparatus including a keyboard with a key (Ohta ¶0103: "the user fingers a piece of music on the keyboard 1 a, and the electronic tones are to be produced in response to the fingering on the keyboard 1 a") that is displaceable within a movement range from a start position and an end position (Ohta ¶0093: "In other words, the black key 1 b or white key 1 c reciprocally travels over the full keystroke between the rest position L and the end position E, and the full keystroke is equal to the distance between the rest position L and the end position E. Three key positions K1, K2 and K3 are determined on the full keystroke so that the full keystroke is divided into four sections, i.e., the first section from L to K1, the second section from K1 to K2, the third section from K2 to K3 and the fourth section from K3 to E."), and a position detector that detects, in accordance with a playing operation of the key, a position of the key (Ohta ¶0088: "The array of key position sensors 26 is provided under the front portions of black keys 1 b and the front portions of white keys 1 c"), the movement range including a sounding range that includes a sounding position (¶0106: "When the depressed key 1 b or 1 c passes through the key position K3, the answer at step S1 is changed to affirmative 'Yes'" ¶0107: "Subsequently, the central processing unit produces the note-on key event data code expressing the regular tone to be produced, and transfers the note-on key event data code to the electronic tone generating system 25 as by step S3.") and a setting range that is closer to the start position than the sounding range (Ohta ¶0095: "The third section K2 to K3 is used for calculating the velocity of key 1 b or 1 c."), the method comprising: obtaining the detected position of the key from the position detector (Ohta ¶0106: "When the depressed key 1 b or 1 c passes through the key position K3, the answer at step S1 is changed to affirmative 'Yes'"); and causing a played sound associated with the key to be produced upon the detected position of the key reaching the sounding position (Ohta ¶0107: "Subsequently, the central processing unit produces the note-on key event data code expressing the regular tone to be produced, and transfers the note-on key event data code to the electronic tone generating system 25 as by step S3."), while controlling a characteristic of the played sound depending on a displacement characteristic of the key within the setting range before the key is positioned in the sounding range (Ohta ¶0095: "The third section K2 to K3 is used for calculating the velocity of key 1 b or 1 c.").
Regarding claim 12, Ohta discloses a sound production control method comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Ohta further discloses that the causing of the played sound to be produced, responsive to a movement of the position of the key from the setting range to the sounding range (Ohta ¶0095: "The third section K2 to K3 is used for calculating the velocity of key 1 b or 1 c."), controls the characteristic of the played sound produced depending on the displacement characteristic (Ohta ¶0078: "it is possible to control the loudness of tones by imparting the key velocity at the reference point to the depressed keys 1 b and 1 c").
Regarding claim 13, Ohta discloses a sound production control method comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Ohta further discloses that the causing of the played sound to be produced further controls a characteristic related to a playing technique of the played sound (Ohta abstract: "a controller of the electronic system makes the acoustic piano and an electronic tone generating system produce the after-tones alone or together with the regular tones depending upon user's instruction so that the users can perform or reproduce music tunes in various renditions such as, for example, tremolo, syncopation and vibrato.").
Regarding claim 14, Ohta discloses a sound production control method comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Ohta further discloses that the controlling of the characteristic of the played sound controls an attack section in the played sound (Ohta ¶0096: "The regular tone RT is produced at time TE, at which the depressed key 1 b or 1 c reaches the end position, and is decayed at T2, at which the released key 1 b or 1 c passes through the key position K2." The regular tone RT that is produced at the time TE comprises an attack section in the played sound.).
Regarding claim 15, Ohta discloses a sound production control method comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Ohta further discloses that the controlling of the characteristic of the played sound controls a volume of the played sound (Ohta ¶0078: "it is possible to control the loudness of tones by imparting the key velocity at the reference point to the depressed keys 1 b and 1 c").
Conclusion
/PHILIP G SCOLES/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/DEDEI K HAMMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837