DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-8 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,338,313 (‘313 hereinafter) in view of Hudson et al. (US 2006/0013709. Hudson hereinafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions have the features an applicator comprising: a housing, a pump, an electric motor, a power source, a trigger, a wand, a nozzle coupled and a liquid conduit. ‘313 fails to disclose the container is coupled to the housing by the liquid conduit such that the container remains external to and separate from the housing.
However, Hudson teaches an applicator (1 in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising a housing (25), a pump (9), an electric motor (3), a power source (2), a trigger (5), a foldable wand (19), a nozzle (11), a liquid conduit (12 exterior of housing) having a proximal end in fluid communication with the pump and a distal end (after 13) that extends externally from the housing, the distal end is configured to (capable of) connect(ing) to a container (24), wherein the container remains external to and separate from the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teaching of a container remains external to and separate from the housing, as taught by Hudson, to ‘313’s applicator, in order to provide adjustability to the spray system (Paragraph [0031] and Fig. 8).
‘313 and Hudson fail to disclose wherein the hinge conduit, the wand conduit, and the housing conduit form one continuous monolithic conduit. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the hinge conduit, the wand conduit, and the housing conduit form in one continuous monolithic conduit, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Application Claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,338,313
1
1
6
6
7
7
8
8
10
10
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,022,742 (‘742 hereinafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions have the features an applicator comprising: a housing, a pump, an electric motor, a power source, a trigger, a wand, a nozzle coupled and a liquid conduit and the container is coupled to the housing by the liquid conduit such that the container remains external to and separate from the housing.
‘742 fails to disclose wherein the hinge conduit, the wand conduit, and the housing conduit form one continuous monolithic conduit. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the hinge conduit, the wand conduit, and the housing conduit form in one continuous monolithic conduit, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Application Claims
U.S. Patent No. 10,022,742
1
1
6
6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 11, 16, 18 and 20-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hudson et al. (US 2006/0013709. Hudson hereafter) in view of Bochmann (US 3,901,449).
With respect to claim 11, Hudson discloses an applicator (1 in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising:
a housing (19 and 25), comprising:
a pump (9);
an electric motor (3) for driving the pump; and
a power source (2) for providing power to the electric motor, wherein the pump, electronic motor, and power source are enclosed within the housing;
a trigger (5) for controlling operation of the electric motor, wherein the trigger provides manual selective control over the pump such that when the trigger is depressed, the pump is actuated and when the trigger is released, the pump ceases operation;
a wand (tube upstream of 11 and downstream of 9) connected to the housing (indirectly) via a hinge (at pivot 21) that is configured to (capable of) allow the wand to be collapsed against the housing in a first position (downward position. Fig. 6) and extended away from the housing in a second position (upward position. Fig. 5), the hinge having a hinge conduit (hose 12 interior of 19 connected to 9) in fluid communication with the pump, and the wand further comprising a wand conduit (fluid passage formed by the tube upstream of 11 and downstream of 9) in fluid communication with the hinge conduit (via 9);
a nozzle (opening of 11) coupled to the wand for (capable of) discharging liquid from the applicator, wherein the nozzle is in fluid communication with the wand conduit and the pump; and
a liquid conduit (conduit in the main body 25 upstream of pump 9) having a proximal (left) end in fluid communication with the pump and a distal (right) end that extends externally from the housing, the distal end is configured to (capable of) connect to a container (24) that is external to and separate from the housing such that when the distal end of the liquid conduit is connected to the container, the container is coupled to the housing by the liquid conduit such that the container remains external to and separate from the housing.
Hudson fails to disclose a foldable wand pivotally connected to the housing, the foldable wand connected to the housing via a hinge that is configured to allow the wand to be collapsed against the housing in a first folded position and extended away from the housing in a second extended position, wherein at least a portion of the hinge is external to the housing and extends in a direction substantially parallel to the housing when the wand is in the first folded position, and the wand further comprising a wand conduit in fluid communication with the pump.
However, Bochmann teaches an applicator (10. Figs. 1-6) comprising: a housing (14) and a foldable wand (38) pivotally connected to the housing (at 42), the housing comprising: a pump (20); an electric motor (22) for driving the pump; and a power source (24) for providing power to the electric motor, wherein the pump, electronic motor, and power source are enclosed within the housing; a trigger (switch 30) in electronic communication with the power source and the electric motor; the foldable wand connected to the housing via a hinge (42) that is configured to allow the foldable wand to be collapsed against the housing in a first folded position (solid line of 38 in Fig. 1) and extended away from the housing in a second extended position (phantom line of 38 in Fig. 1), wherein at least a portion of the hinge is external to the housing and extends in a direction substantially parallel to the housing when the foldable wand is in the first folded position, and the foldable wand further comprising a wand conduit (in 38) in fluid communication with the pump; a nozzle (40) coupled to the foldable wand for discharging liquid from the applicator, wherein the nozzle is in fluid communication with the wand conduit; and a liquid conduit (56) having a proximal (upper) end in fluid communication with the pump and a distal (lower) end with a liquid conduit cap (70) that extends externally from the housing (into tank 12), the liquid conduit cap is configured to connect to a container (12) that is external to and separate from the housing such that when the distal end of the liquid conduit is connected to the container, the container is coupled to the housing by the liquid conduit such that the container remains external to and separate from the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a foldable wand, as taught by Bochmann, to Hudson’s applicator, in order to provide a convenient, portable (Col. 1, lines 12-14), adjustable sprayer (Fig. 1) with safety features (Abstract, lines 13-19).
With respect to claim 16, Hudson’s applicator modified by Bochmann’s foldable wand, Bochmann further teaches wherein the foldable wand is rotatable via the wand hinge about a 180-degree arc between the first folded position and the second extended position (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 18, Hudson’s applicator modified by Bochmann’s foldable wand, Hudson further discloses the applicator further comprising: a liquid conduit cap (conduit 12 outside of the main body 25 upstream of 14), that is configured to (capable of) be connected to the liquid conduit, for (capable of) providing a sealing interface (claim 23 of Hudson) between the container and the liquid conduit to facilitate fluid communication between the container and the pump.
With respect to claim 20, Hudson’s applicator modified by Bochmann’s foldable wand, Hudson further discloses wherein the housing further comprises a liquid input (input opening of the pump); and wherein the pump is in fluid communication with the liquid conduit via the liquid input.
With respect to claim 21, Hudson’s applicator modified by Bochmann’s foldable wand, Hudson further discloses the applicator further comprising the container, wherein the container comprises a container opening (covered by the cap. Claim 23 of Hudson) configured to (capable of) sealingly engage with the liquid conduit cap and provide fluid communication of the pump with a liquid within the container via the liquid conduit.
With respect to claim 22, Hudson’s applicator modified by Bochmann’s foldable wand, Bochmann further teaches wherein at least a portion of the hinge is external to the housing and (the wand) extends in a direction substantially parallel to the housing when the foldable wand is in the first folded position.
With respect to claim 23, Hudson’s applicator modified by Bochmann’s foldable wand, Hudson further discloses the applicator further comprising the container with a compartment therein, wherein the container comprises a container opening (covered by the cap. Claim 23 of Hudson) configured to (capable of) provide fluid communication between the liquid conduit and the compartment.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hudson in view of Bochmann and further in view of Gansebom (US 2008/0061167).
With respect to claim 12, Hudson’s applicator modified by Bochmann’s wand, Hudson and Bochmann fail to disclose wherein the nozzle further comprises a first nozzle portion having a first nozzle conduit; and a second nozzle portion having several second nozzle conduits; wherein the second nozzle portion is rotatable relative to the first nozzle portion and wherein one or more of the several second nozzle conduits align with the first nozzle conduit depending upon the position of the second nozzle portion relative to the first nozzle portion.
However Gansebom teaches a washer wand having a nozzle selector, wherein the nozzle further comprises a first nozzle portion having a first nozzle conduit (62); and a second nozzle portion have several second nozzle conduits (42a-42f); wherein the second nozzle portion is rotatable relative to the first nozzle portion and wherein one or more of the several second nozzle conduits align with the first nozzle conduit depending upon the position of the second nozzle portion relative to the first nozzle portion (paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teaching of a nozzle selector, as taught by Gansebom, to Hudson’s nozzle in order to provide a changeable spray pattern to the applicator (Abstract, line 2).
With respect to claim 13, Hudson’s applicator modified by Bochmann’s wand and Gansebom’s nozzle selector, Gansebom further discloses wherein a configuration of the several second nozzle conduits creates a variety of liquid spray patterns depending upon the position of the second nozzle portion (Fig. 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection, the Applicant argues that amendments to claim 1 rendering the previous rejection moot. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See revised nonstatutory double patenting rejection elaborated above.
With respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejections, the Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not then reasonably seek to further modify Hudson to include the pivotable wand of Bochmann. Such a modification would add needless complexity and/or result in the sprayer of Hudson being unfit for its intended purpose.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As carefully elaborated in the rejections above, Hudson disclose the claimed invention except for a foldable wand pivotally connected to the housing, the foldable wand connected to the housing via a hinge that is configured to allow the wand to be collapsed against the housing in a first folded position and extended away from the housing in a second extended position, wherein at least a portion of the hinge is external to the housing and extends in a direction substantially parallel to the housing when the wand is in the first folded position, and the wand further comprising a wand conduit in fluid communication with the pump. Bochmann’s foldable wand is added to Hudson’s applicator, in order to provide a convenient, portable (Col. 1, lines 12-14), adjustable sprayer (Fig. 1) with safety features (Abstract, lines 13-19).
Conclusion
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 June 10, 2026