DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claim
Claims 1, 5, 10, 13-14 and 16 are pending in this application and are under examination. Any objections or rejections not repeated below have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 10, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evelich et al. (US 2021/0078765 cited on IDS filed January 17, 2023) in view of Bourigault (US 2003/0066490), Tsuchida et al. (WO 2020045309), Kiel et al. (US 2003/0155362) and Ichihashi et al. (US 2016/0128361).
Regarding claim 1, Evelich teaches a cat food product (packaged food product 100, food product 200 is a single serving of a wet pet food; Figure 2, [0016]) comprising:
a container (container 205; Figure 3, [0017]) comprising:
a housing (storage area 305; Figure 3, [0017]) containing a wet snack food (food product 200 is a single serving of a wet pet food; Figure 2 [0016]).
As noted in the specification in [0002], the term “snack” is a pet food intended to be given in a limited amount aiming at training, exercise, and rewards for pets. However, the claim recitation of “snack” throughout the claim, is merely directed at the intended use of the product. There is no patentable distinction by its intended use of a “snack” or result unless some difference is imposed by the use or result on the material recited in the claim. The intended use does not impose any limit on the interpretation of the claim. Therefore, said recitation does not further limit the claim.
Evelich teaches a food container further comprising:
a bottom (bottom wall 300; Figure 3, [0017]); and
a peripheral wall (sidewall 210; Figure 4, [0016]) extending upward from an outer peripheral edge of the bottom and surrounding the bottom (sidewall 210 being shown to have an annular wall extending upward from an outer peripheral edge of the bottom 300; Figure 3; the annular wall surrounding the bottom wall 300; Figure 4, [0016]-[0017]); and
a holder: including an edge portion having a smooth, wavy contour in plan view, protruding outward from the peripheral wall (a tool portion 400 of rim 105 extends outward beyond sidewall 210, where the tool portion 400 is formed with a plurality of tines, which creates a smooth wavy contour in plan view; [0020], Figures 3 and 4).
Evelich teaches a holder (tool portion 400) having a length of 2 cm or more (Figure 4, [0020]), which overlaps the claimed range of 20 mm or more and 40 mm or less.
Evelich does not teach the housing having a depth of 18 mm or less.
Bourigault teaches a disposable pet food bowl ([0001]; Figure 2) wherein the small bowl has an inner height of 2 cm allowing the animal to seize the pieces contained in the bowl laterally between its teeth [0012] and is particularly adapted to small animals [0015], [0040] (Figure 2; [0040]). This is near the claimed range of housing depth of 18 mm or less. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Further, if the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions and a product having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art product, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art product. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evelich to further incorporate the teachings of Bourigault by adjusting the pet food bowl inner height to the height within the claimed range, which would allow the animal to seize the pieces contained in the bowl laterally between its teeth [0012] and is particularly adapted to small animals [0015], [0040] as recognized by Bourigault. Furthermore, a change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Evelich does not teach the housing having an opening diameter between 20 mm and 40 mm.
Tsuchida teaches a container 20 (Figure 1) with a center point C, at the center of the housing 16 (storage portion 16), which is defined as the center of a circle that is virtually drawn so as to circumscribe the outer edge of the housing 16 in plain view (Figure 1, pg. 3 [0019]). A diameter is a straight line passing through the center of a circle or sphere and meeting the circumference or surface at each end. Tsuchida teaches a small-capacity container 20, the storage section 16 having a size in plain view of 60 mm or less and more preferably 40 mm or less (Figure 1, pg. 4, [0022]). This encompasses the claimed range of an opening diameter between 20 mm and 40 mm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
See the solid lines in Modified Figure 1 below defining the diameter of storage section 16 in plan view, which is within the claimed range of the housing opening diameter.
Modified Figure 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evelich in view of Bourigault and Tsuchida by adjusting the housing opening diameter to be between 20 mm and 40 mm, because such a dimension allows for a small-capacity (pg. 4, [0022]), and is a portion container or portion cup, meant to contain just one portion or serving size (pg. 1, [0003]).
Furthermore, a change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Evelich does not teach the bottom has a circular shape in plan view.
Kiel teaches a pet food product (a tray pack 10 for pet foods, Figure 1, [0014]), wherein the bottom has a circular shape in plan view ([0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evelich in view of Bourigault and Tsuchida to further incorporate the teachings of Kiel by adjusting the shape of the container to be circular in shape because Kiel teaches that the tray packs can have any conceivable geometric shape, including circular in shape [0014]. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Evelich does not teach the viscosity of the wet cat snack food measured by a Bostwick viscometer is 5 mm/min and 60 mm/min.
Ichihashi teaches a wet type pet food [0024] wherein the viscosity of the pet food measured by a Bostwick viscometer is in a range of 0.1 cm/min to 5.0 cm/min (or 1 mm/min to 50 mm/min; [0010]), which overlaps with the claimed range of a viscosity of the wet cat snack food measured by a Bostwick viscometer between 5 mm/min and 60 mm/min. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evelich in view of Bourigault, Tsuchida and Kiel to further incorporate the teachings of Ichihashi by adjusting the viscosity of the wet pet food to be in within the claimed range because doing so would allow the wet pet food to be easily mixed with dry type pet food and unlikely to make a container dirty [0022], as recognized by Ichihashi.
Regarding claim 5, Evelich in view of Bourigault, Tsuchida, Kiel and Ichihashi renders the invention of claim 1 obvious. Evelich does not teach the housing having a depth of 10 mm or more.
Bourigault teaches a disposable pet food bowl ([0001]; Figure 2) wherein the small bowl has an inner height of 2 cm ([0040]), which is near the claimed range of housing depth of 10 mm or more. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Further, if the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions and a product having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art product, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art product. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding claim 10, Evelich in view of Bourigault, Tsuchida, Kiel and Ichihashi renders the invention of claim 1 obvious. Evelich teaches an angle between 45° and 90° is formed by the holder and an axis orthogonal to a horizontal plane of the bottom (the square box labeled with an “x” shows the 90° angel that is formed by the tool portion 400 and an axis orthogonal, denoted by the solid line, to the horizontal plane of the bottom which is denoted by a dotted line; see Modified Figure 4 below).
Modified Figure 4
Regarding claim 13, Evelich in view of Bourigault, Tsuchida, Kiel and Ichihashi renders the invention of claim 1 obvious. Evelich teaches a lid that is removably joined to an opening edge of the peripheral wall (a lid 110 in sealing contact with rim 105; Figure 2, [0015]; rim 105 is associated with and extends away from sidewall 210; Figure 2, [0016]).
Regarding claim 14, Evelich in view of Bourigault, Tsuchida, Kiel and Ichihashi renders the invention of claim 13 obvious. Further, Evelich teaches said lid has a detachable part disposed on a holder side of the pet food product (lid 110 peeled partially away from rim 105; Figure 2 [0016]; Figure 2 shows lid 105 peeled partially away with a part still attached to tool portion 400 [0020]; Figure 5 shows lid 110 [0016] completely removed from tool portion 400, and so the lid 110 has a “detachable part” as claimed).
Regarding claim 16, Evelich in view of Bourigault, Tsuchida, Kiel and Ichihashi renders the invention of claim 1 obvious. Evelich does not teach the housing having a depth of 10 mm or less.
Bourigault teaches a disposable pet food bowl ([0001]; Figure 2) wherein the small bowl has an inner height of 2 cm allowing the animal to seize the pieces contained in the bowl laterally between its teeth [0012] and is particularly adapted to small animals [0015], [0040] (Figure 2; [0040]). This is near the claimed range of housing depth of 10 mm or less. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Further, if the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions and a product having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art product, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art product. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Evelich does not teach the housing having an opening diameter between 20 mm and 39 mm.
Tsuchida teaches a small-capacity container 20, the storage section 16 having a size in plan view of 60 mm or less and more preferably 40 mm or less (Figure 1, pg. 4, [0022]). This encompasses the claimed range of an opening diameter between 20 mm and 39 mm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant argues, on pgs. 5-7 of their remarks, that the cited references do not render obvious the limitations of amended claim 1. Applicant states that the examiner acknowledges that Evelich does not teach the holder having an edge portion with a smooth wavy contour in plan view, which necessarily follows that Evelich is silent about this limitation. Applicant contends that the rejection dated 02/25/2026 relies on Amazon for the amended limitation including an edge portion having a smooth, wavy contour in plan view. Applicant argues that there is no evidence to suggest that a POSITA would have combined and modified the cited references, specifically Evelich in view of Amazon, in a way that arrives at the claimed invention. However, the Office disagrees for the following reasons.
The previous claims dated 09/02/2025 included an amendment to claim 1, which stated a holder having “no tines on an edge portion thereof.” The non-final rejection for claim 1, dated 02/25/2026, relied on an alternative embodiment of Evelich, which stated that the tool portion 400 can alternatively have a straight or tapered edge, instead of the preferred embodiment of a plurality of tines [0020], to teach the limitation of the holder having no tines. The rejection for claim 17 in the non-final office action, which claim depended from claim 1 and relied on the alternative embodiment of Evelich of having a straight or tapered edge for the limitation that required an edge with no tines from claim 1, was modified with the Amazon reference for an edge portion having a smooth, wavy contour in plan view (see pg. 13 paragraphs 33-36 of non-final rejection dated 02/25/2026).
However, since claim 1 has been amended and the limitation of “having no tines on an edge portion thereof” has been removed, the alternative embodiment of Evelich, which stated that the tool portion 400 can alternatively have a straight or tapered edge, is no longer replied upon in the rejection. Instead, the preferred embodiment of Evelich, where the tool portion 400 is preferably formed with a plurality of tines is now relied upon in the rejection, since the claim no longer has a limitation where there are “no tines on an edge portion thereof.” As shown in the rejection above, the limitation “a holder: including an edge portion having a smooth, wavy contour in plan view, protruding outward from the peripheral wall,” reads on Evelich’s tool portion 400 of rim 105 extends outward beyond sidewall 210, where the tool portion 400 is formed with a plurality of tines, which creates a smooth wavy contour in plan view; [0020], Figures 3 and 4. Therefore, the tool portion 400 formed with a plurality of tines, is viewed as the edge portion having a smooth, wavy contour in plan view, since the limitation in claim 1 that excluded tines from the edge portion has been removed and the tines are a smooth wavy contour shape in plan view. Thus, this embodiment of Evelich does teach the holder having an edge portion with a smooth wavy contour in plan view, and the cat food product recited in claim 1 is rendered obvious by modified Evelich.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759