DETAILED ACTION
Remark
Applicant’s response and amendment filed on 11.24.2025 are noticed and entered. Claims 8 and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-26 are pending. Claims 1-7 and 14-26 were withdrawn from considered. Claims 8-18 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Moot) The rejection of Claims 8 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (J. Virol. 2005, Mar;79(5):2678-88. doi: 10.1128/JVI.79.5.2678-2688.2005) and Zhu et al. Immunol Lett, 2004 Apr 15;92(3):237-43. doi: 10.1016/j.imlet.2004.01.001.is moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by Applicants’ amendment.
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiuppes et al. (Nature Communications , published on November, 30, 2020, number: 6121, pages 1-16) and further in view of US Patent No. 11,498,949A and US Patent No. 10,973, 909).
Chiuooesi et al. teach a method for making a SARS-Cov2 vaccine using a Modified Vaccinia Ankara (MVA) a highly attenuated poxvirus vector that is widely used to develop vaccines for infectious diseases and cancer. They demonstrate in a very detail the construction of a vaccine platform based on a unique three-plasmid system to efficiently generate recombinant MVA vectors from chemically synthesized DNA. In response to the ongoing global pandemic caused by SARS coronavirus-2 (SARS-CoV-2), they use this vaccine platform to rapidly produce fully synthetic MVA (sMVA) vectors co-expressing SARS-CoV-2 spike and nucleocapsid (NP) antigens, two immunodominant antigens implicated in protective immunity. They show that mice immunized with these sMVA vectors develop robust SARS-CoV-2 antigen-specific humoral and cellular immune responses, including potent neutralizing antibodies. These results demonstrate the potential of a vaccine platform based on synthetic DNA to efficiently generate recombinant MVA vectors and to rapidly develop a multi-antigenic poxvirus-based SARS-CoV-2 vaccine candidate (Pleases see the Abstract and Materials and Methods, e.g. construction of sMVA SARS-CoV-2 vaccine vectors and Figs. 1-7).
Chiuooesi et al. do not disclosure any molecular structure of the S and N antigenic proteins.
US Patent 11,498,944 (“944”) disclosed a Spike Protein set forth in SEQ ID NO: 122 with 100% identity to the claims SEQ ID NO: 1 as well as its corresponding nucleic acid sequence encoding the same cited in claims 11 . Furthermore, Patent “944” also teach that said S protein or its fragment there can be used for an DNA vaccine delivered by a expression vector including the MVA. For instance, “944” summarized that their invention relates to immunogenic compositions and vaccines containing a coronavirus (e.g., Wuhan coronavirus (2019-nCoV; also referred to as SARS-CoV-2)) protein or a polynucleotide encoding a coronavirus (e.g., Wuhan coronavirus (2019-nCoV; SARS-CoV-2)) protein and uses thereof. The invention also provides methods of treating and/or preventing a coronavirus (e.g., Wuhan coronavirus (2019-nCoV; SARS-CoV-2)) infection by administering an immunogenic composition or vaccine to a subject (e.g., a human). The invention also provides methods of detecting and/or monitoring a protective anti-coronavirus (e.g., Wuhan coronavirus (2019-nCoV; SARS-CoV-2)) antibody response (e.g., anti-coronavirus antibody response, e.g., anti-2019-nCoV antibody response, e.g., anti-Spike antibody response, e.g., anti-Spike neutralizing antibody response). The present invention relates to isolated nucleic and/or recombinant nucleic acid encoding a coronavirus S protein, in particular a SARS-CoV-2 S protein, and to the coronavirus S proteins, as well as to the use of the nucleic acids and/or proteins thereof in vaccines. Further, the cited reference also teach that Another aspect features a composition comprising the nucleic acid molecule, the polypeptide, the vectors or the antibody. In some embodiments, the composition further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient, or diluent. In some embodiments, the composition further comprises an adjuvant or an immunostimulatory agent., For example, they teach that “Optionally, the compositions may be formulated to include for co-administration, or sequential administration with, an adjuvant and/or an immunostimulatory agent, (e.g., a protein), such as receptor molecules, nucleic acids, immunogenic proteins, pharmaceuticals, chemotherapy agents, and accessory cytokines. For example, interleukin-3 (IL-3), interleukin-4 (IL-4), interleukin-5 (IL-5), interleukin-7 (IL-7), interleukin-8 (IL-8), interleukin-10 (IL-10), interleukin-11 (IL-11), interleukin-12 (IL-12), interleukin-13 (IL-13), lipid A, phospholipase A2, endotoxins, staphylococcal enterotoxin B, Type I interferon, Type II interferon, transforming growth factor-β (TGF-β), lymphotoxin migration inhibition factor, granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor (CSF), monocyte-macrophage CSF, granulocyte CSF, vascular epithelial growth factor (VEGF), angiogenin, transforming growth factor (TGF-α), heat shock proteins (HSPs), carbohydrate moieties of blood groups, Rh factors, fibroblast growth factors, nucleotides” (Column 69).
US Patent 10,973,909 teach disclosed a nucleocapsid protein (N) set forth in SEQ ID NO: 123 with 100% identity to the claims SEQ ID NO: 3 and its corresponding nucleic acid sequence encoding the same cited in claim 13 .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with an ordinary skill in the art to be motivated by the cited two prior documents to make the claimed method by just coming the teachings from the tree references with a reasonable expectation of successfulness.
As there are no unexpected results have been provided, hence the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious absence unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(Moot) The rejection of Claims 8-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph has been moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by Applicants’ amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In the instant case, the independed claim 8 requires the composition comprising both Nucleoprotein (N) and spike protein (S) of SARS-Cov-2 . However, claims 10 and 11 fails to contain this limitaiton requirement since it requires one amino acid sequence of one protein. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 and 12-13 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the response, Applicants trave the rejection and submitted since claim 8 is amended to N and S protein of SARS-Cov-2 , the rejection should be removed.
In the instant case, the claims are drawn to a genus of protein having amino acid sequence homology from 90% to 100% capable of having the same tumor specific promoter activity of SEQ ID NO: 1.
Because the claimed method drawn to use many amino acid sequences with identity from 90% to 100% to SEQ ID NO: 1, such that the specification might reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. While it seems as if Applicant has one species of N protein and one of S protein that are deemed capable of directing transcription, and no other information provided, one skilled in the art could not immediately recognize or distinguish members of the genus of claimed antigenic proteins that are deemed to be capable of exhibiting the same tumor activity as claims drafted. One of ordinary skill in the art could not immediately recognize or distinguish members of the genus of uncharacterized and undefined multiple antigenic sequences.
MPEP § 2163.02 states, "[a] n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is “does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed’ ". The courts have decided: The purpose of the "written description" requirement is broader than to merely explain how to "make and use"; the applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention.
The invention is, for purposes of the "written description" inquiry, whatever is now claimed. See Vas-Cathy, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991). Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC § 112 is severable from its enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. The Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 1, "'Written Description” Requirement (66 FR 1099-1111, January 5, 2001) states, "possession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing the invention was 'ready for patenting' such as by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention" (Id. at 1104).
Moreover, because the claims encompass a genus of variant species, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was "ready for patenting" by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Therefore, absent a detailed and particular description of a representative number, or at least a substantial number of the members of the genus of nucleic acid molecules, the skilled artisan could not immediately recognize or distinguish members of the claimed genus of amino acid sequences. There is insufficient support the generic claims as provided by the Interim Written Description Guidelines published in the June 15, 1998 Federal Register at Volume 63, Number 114, pages 32639-32645.
The full breadth of the claims does not meet the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO Q. LI
Examiner
Art Unit 1671
/BAO Q LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671