DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendments received on 08/19/2026. Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-13, 19 and 21-30 were previously pending. Claims 5 and 11-12 have been amended, claims 19, 24, 27 and 29 canceled and new claims 31-34 added. A complete action on the merits of claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-13, 21-23, 25-26, 28 and 30-34 follows below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 05/20/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6, 11-12, 21, 26 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Each of claims 5 and 11 recite the limitation “the processor is further configured to: determine whether a distance between a smart energy device and the smart grasper is below a threshold; based on a determination that the distance between the smart energy device and the smart grasper is below the threshold and based on the virtual boundary, determine a safety adjustment that is configured to control the surgical device to operate autonomously; receive a first placement data associated with a first trocar and a second placement data associated with a second trocar, wherein the first trocar is associated with the smart grasper and the second trocar is associated with the smart energy device; and determine a first location data associated with the smart grasper based on the first placement data and a second location data associated with the smart energy device based on the second placement data”. It is at most unclear how these claims relate to independent claims 1 and 8 on which they depend on. It is unclear if these limitations are further limiting claim 1 in the sense that the obstruction is being defined as the smart energy device and the step of “determine a first location data associated with the smart grasper based on the first placement data and a second location data associated with the smart energy device based on the second placement data” is further defining the step of “a virtual movement boundary to reposition the obstruction and gain access to the treatment site” of claim 1 and 8 or if claims 5 and 11 are defining a separate step of the procedure in addition to the repositioning of the obstruction and gaining access to the treatment site of claim 1. Furthermore, it is unclear how the first trocar and the second trocar relate to “surgical device” and “the obstruction”. Clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected due to dependency over claims 5 and 11.
Each of claims 21 and 26 recite the limitation “patient location information and surgical instrument information associated with the plurality of surgical steps”. It is unclear what “patient location” and “surgical instrument information associated with the plurality of surgical steps” are related to. Clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 32 recites the limitation “send an indication to grasp or clamp a tissue via a first rate of closure; determine a first tissue compression pressure measurement associated with the tissue; send, based on the first tissue compression pressure measurement and a tissue compression pressure limit, an indication to pause the grasping or clamping; determine a second tissue compression pressure measurement associated with the tissue, wherein the second tissue compression pressure measurement is performed after the first tissue compression pressure measurement is performed; and send, based on the second tissue compression pressure measurement being below a tissue compression pressure threshold, an indication to grasp or clamp the tissue via a second rate of closure”. It is noted that this claim depends on claim 1, which only introduces “a surgical device”. It is therefore unclear if the surgical device is sent “an indication to grasp or clamp a tissue via a first rate of closure” or another instrument/the obstruction. It is further unclear how the surgical instrument is grasping tissue without introducing any grasping mechanisms associated with the device. Furthermore, without introducing any sensing mechanism associated with the surgical device, it is unclear how it determines “a first tissue compression pressure measurement associated with the tissue”.
Claim 33 recites the limitation “wherein being configured to send an indication to pause the grasping or clamping comprises being configured to alter or halt a signal”. First, it is unclear what element is “being configured to …”. Furthermore, this claim depends on claim 1 which does not introduce any grasping or clamping; therefore, it is unclear what “the grasping and clamping” is referred to and/or how this claim further limits claim 1. In addition, it is unclear what is meant by “a signal” in an indication to pause the grasping or clamping comprises being configured to alter or halt a signal and how the signal relates to the invention of claim 1. Clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claims 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 31 recites the limitation “wherein the current surgical step is one of the plurality of surgical steps”. It is noted that claim 1 on which claim 31 depends on already claims “a plurality of surgical steps” and “determine an obstruction exists in a treatment site for a current surgical step”; therefore, it is unclear how this claim is further limiting claim 1.
In addition, claim 33 recites the limitation “wherein being configured to send an indication to pause the grasping or clamping comprises being configured to alter or halt a signal”. It is noted that this claim depends on claim 1, which only introduces “a surgical device”. It is therefore unclear if the surgical device is being claimed to be a grasper configured to grasp and clamp [a tissue] or if a different surgical instrument is being further limited here. Furthermore, since it is unclear what “a signal” relates to, it is unclear how this claim further limits claim 1 on which it depends on.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-13, 21-22, 26 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US Pub. No. 2022/0409301).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a computing device 300 (Figs. 1, 3), the computing device comprising:
a processor 302 configured to: receive surgical procedure data (“system 300 may include, without limitation, a processing facility 302 and a storage facility 304 ” [0043] and “storage facility 304 may store instructions 306 that may be executed by processing facility 302 to perform any of the operations described herein” [0044]), wherein the surgical procedure data comprises a plurality of surgical steps ([0026]-[0027], [0043]-[0046] and Figs. 10-12);
based on the surgical procedure data, determine whether an obstruction exists in a treatment site for a current surgical step (such as instrument 204-2 obstructing motion path of instrument 204-3 [0131]-[0133]); based on a determination that the obstruction exists in the treatment site for the current surgical step, determine a virtual boundary associated with a surgical device to reposition the obstruction and to gain access to the treatment site; and control the surgical device to operate autonomously within the virtual boundary, wherein the virtual boundary is associated with a virtual movement boundary to reposition the obstruction and gain access to the treatment site (“automatically perform an operation to remove an obstruction from a motion path. For example, system 300 may automatically reposition robotic instrument 204-2 within the surgical space such that robotic instrument 204-2 no longer obstructs a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3” [0133], “no-fly zone may correspond to an area of the surgical space where a robotic instrument is not allowed to travel” [0134] and “move robotic instrument 204-2 to a different location within the surgical space that does not obstruct the motion path” [0135] and [0136]-[0137]).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu teaches wherein the computing device is a robotic system (Fig. 1 and [0004]-[0006], [0027] and [0131]-[0140]).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu teaches wherein the surgical device comprises a smart grasper (“robotic instrument 204-3 is shown as a grasping-type robotic instrument” [0038]), and wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether a distance between a smart energy device and the smart grasper is below a threshold (please note that the claim is directed to a processor being configured to detect a distance between a device (such as a smart grasper) is less than a threshold. Based on the teachings of Liu and in view of the 112 rejection, as best understood and given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Liu teaches “system 300 may determine that there is an obstruction in a motion path. Such an obstruction may correspond to any object that may block a robotic instrument from following a motion path. For example, an obstruction may include anatomy, another robotic instrument, and/or any other object in the surgical space” [0131], since a smart grasper is being functionally claimed “another robotic instrument and/or other object” is being interpreted to be the smart grasper and the limitation of “below a threshold” is being interpreted to be less than an amount that would constitute being called an obstruction blocking the view); based on a determination that the distance between the smart energy device and the smart grasper is below the threshold and based on the virtual boundary (being considered an obstruction and blocking the field of view in the surgical space), determine a safety adjustment that is configured to control the surgical device to operate autonomously (“system 300 may automatically perform an operation to remove an obstruction from a motion path. For example, system 300 may automatically reposition robotic instrument 204-2 within the surgical space such that robotic instrument 204-2 no longer obstructs a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3” [0133]); receive a first placement data associated with a first trocar and a second placement data associated with a second trocar (“automatically reposition robotic instrument 204-2 within the surgical space such that robotic instrument 204-2 no longer obstructs a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3” [0133]), wherein the first trocar is associated with the smart grasper and the second trocar is associated with the smart energy device; and determine a first location data associated with the smart grasper based on the first placement data and a second location data associated with the smart energy device based on the second placement data (in view of the 112 rejection above and as best understood although a first trocar associated with the smart grasper and a second trocar associated with the obstruction (smart energy device) are not specifically introduced, examiner takes the position that these limitations are functional recitations of the robotic instrument and the obstruction that are configured to have trocars associated with them. The “automatically reposition robotic instrument 204-2 within the surgical space such that robotic instrument 204-2 no longer obstructs a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3” [0133] is interpreted to be repositioning robotic instrument 204-2 to a first location based on a first placement data and a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3 is here interpreted to be a second location data associated with the smart energy device based on the second placement data “system 300 may take into consideration the no-fly zone when determining an optimal motion path for a robotic instrument to follow to assume a pose” [0134] to perform the treatment procedure, see generally [0131]-[0140]).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu teaches wherein the safety adjustment is a movement adjustment of the smart grasper based at least on the first location data and the second location data ([0131]-[0134]).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu teaches wherein the virtual boundary further comprises a field of view defined by a scope device (“imaging device (e.g., an endoscope)” [0027], imaging device 202 Fig. 2, field of view [0039]-[0041], [0130] and [0157]).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu teaches a method comprising: receiving surgical procedure data (“system 300 may include, without limitation, a processing facility 302 and a storage facility 304 ” [0043] and “storage facility 304 may store instructions 306 that may be executed by processing facility 302 to perform any of the operations described herein” [0044]), wherein the surgical procedure data comprises a plurality of surgical steps ([0026]-[0027], [0043]-[0046] and Figs. 10-12);
based on the surgical procedure data, determining whether an obstruction exists in a treatment site for a current surgical step (such as instrument 204-2 obstructing motion path of instrument 204-3, [0131]-[0133]); based on a determination that the obstruction exists in the treatment site for the current surgical step, determining a virtual boundary associated with a surgical device; and controlling the surgical device to operate autonomously within the virtual boundary, wherein the virtual boundary is associated with a virtual movement boundary to reposition the obstruction and to gain access to the treatment site. associated with a surgical task (“automatically perform an operation to remove an obstruction from a motion path. For example, system 300 may automatically reposition robotic instrument 204-2 within the surgical space such that robotic instrument 204-2 no longer obstructs a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3” [0133], “no-fly zone may correspond to an area of the surgical space where a robotic instrument is not allowed to travel” [0134] and “move robotic instrument 204-2 to a different location within the surgical space that does not obstruct the motion path” [0135] and [0136]-[0137]).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu teaches wherein the surgical device comprises a smart grasper (“robotic instrument 204-3 is shown as a grasping-type robotic instrument” [0038]) and wherein the method further comprising: determining whether a distance between a smart energy device and the smart grasper is below a threshold (please note that the claim is directed to a processor being configured to detect a distance between a device (such as a smart grasper) is less than a threshold. Based on the teachings of Liu and in view of the 112 rejection, as best understood and given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Liu teaches “system 300 may determine that there is an obstruction in a motion path. Such an obstruction may correspond to any object that may block a robotic instrument from following a motion path. For example, an obstruction may include anatomy, another robotic instrument, and/or any other object in the surgical space” [0131], since a smart grasper is being functionally claimed “another robotic instrument and/or other object” is being interpreted to be the smart grasper and the limitation of “below a threshold” is being interpreted to be less than an amount that would constitute being called an obstruction blocking the view); based on a determination that the distance between the smart energy device and the smart grasper is below the threshold and based on the virtual boundary (being considered an obstruction and blocking the field of view in the surgical space), determine a safety adjustment that is configured to control the surgical device to operate autonomously (“system 300 may automatically perform an operation to remove an obstruction from a motion path. For example, system 300 may automatically reposition robotic instrument 204-2 within the surgical space such that robotic instrument 204-2 no longer obstructs a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3” [0133]); receiving a first placement data associated with a first trocar and a second placement data associated with a second trocar (“automatically reposition robotic instrument 204-2 within the surgical space such that robotic instrument 204-2 no longer obstructs a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3” [0133]), wherein the first trocar is associated with the smart grasper and the second trocar is associated with the smart energy device; and determine a first location data associated with the smart grasper based on the first placement data and a second location data associated with the smart energy device based on the second placement data (in view of the 112 rejection above and as best understood although a first trocar associated with the smart grasper and a second trocar associated with the obstruction (smart energy device) are not specifically introduced, examiner takes the position that these limitations are functional recitations of the robotic instrument and the obstruction that are configured to have trocars associated with them. The “automatically reposition robotic instrument 204-2 within the surgical space such that robotic instrument 204-2 no longer obstructs a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3” [0133] is interpreted to be repositioning robotic instrument 204-2 to a first location based on a first placement data and a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3 is here interpreted to be a second location data associated with the smart energy device based on the second placement data “system 300 may take into consideration the no-fly zone when determining an optimal motion path for a robotic instrument to follow to assume a pose” [0134] to perform the treatment procedure, see generally [0131]-[0140]).
Regarding Claim 12, Liu teaches wherein the safety adjustment is a movement adjustment of the smart grasper based at least on the first location data and the second location data ([0131]-[0134]).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu teaches wherein the virtual boundary further comprises a field of view defined by a scope device (“imaging device (e.g., an endoscope)” [0027], imaging device 202 Fig. 2, field of view [0039]-[0041], [0130] and [0157]).
Regarding Claim 21, Liu teaches wherein the surgical procedure data further comprises patient location information and surgical instrument information associated with the plurality of surgical steps (in view of the 112 rejection above and it being unclear what the limitation of “patient location information” means, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Liu teaches “a surgical space in which a non-robotic instrument 702 and robotic instrument 204-3 are provided in relation to a kidney 704 of a patient (e.g., patient 108)” in [0077] where the kidney is here interpreted to be a patient location information and the surgical instrument in relation to the kidney is here interpreted to be surgical instrument information associated with the plurality of surgical steps).
Regarding Claim 22, Liu teaches wherein the treatment site is in a body cavity of a patient (the surgical space within the body of the patient is here interpreted to be a body cavity of a patient “a minimally invasive surgical procedure being performed on tissue internal to a patient, the surgical space may include the tissue, anatomy underlying the tissue, as well as space around the tissue where, for example, robotic instruments and/or other instruments being used to perform the surgical procedure are located” [0031], also see [0077] and [0103]).
Regarding Claim 26, Liu teaches wherein the surgical procedure data further comprises patient location information and surgical instrument information associated with the plurality of surgical steps (in view of the 112 rejection above and it being unclear what the claim is directed to, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Liu teaches “a surgical space in which a non-robotic instrument 702 and robotic instrument 204-3 are provided in relation to a kidney 704 of a patient (e.g., patient 108)” in [0077] where the kidney is here interpreted to be a patient location information and the surgical instrument in relation to the kidney is here interpreted to be surgical instrument information associated with the plurality of surgical steps).
Regarding Claim 31, Liu teaches wherein the current surgical step is one of the plurality of surgical steps (Figs. 4-20 generally show a number of steps associated with the procedure, during at least one of the steps (here interpreted to be a current step of the plurality of steps) “system 300 may determine that there is an obstruction in a motion path” and removing the obstruction to continue with the procedure as disclosed in [0131]-[0134]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 25, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied above in view of Gormley (US Pub. No. 2021/0059607).
Regarding Claims 23 and 28, Liu teaches wherein to control the surgical device to operate autonomously within the virtual boundary and control the surgical device to operate autonomously to move the obstruction ([0131]-[0140]); however, does not teach the processor being further configured to: receive an artificial intelligence model based on the surgical procedure data; based on the artificial intelligence model, determine a body cavity position of a patient and a surgical device position in the treatment site.
In the same field of robotic surgical procedures, Gormley teaches automatically driving a surgical device to a target location based on receiving an artificial intelligence model based on the surgical procedure data (“One or more artificial intelligence (AI) models may be implemented by the processing circuitry of the RCDC. The AI model (s) may include one or more trained machine learning neural networks, which operate on image data received from the imaging device of the catheter tube via the transceiver to determine the direction in which the robotic control engine will drive the articulated stylet and catheter tube” [0082], also see [0061], [0100]-[0107] and [0119]-[0128] and Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to use AI modeling and machine learning for a processor to automatically position the surgical instrument of a robotic control device to a target location within a body of patient in order to allow better, faster and more accurate positioning of the instrument for the surgical procedure.
Regarding Claims 25 and 30, Liu in view of Gormley teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an image of the treatment site based on at least one of a vision system or an imaging system 202 ([0038]-[0041]) and identifying a targeted area in the treatment site based, in part, on an artificial intelligence model and the image (“a computer memory of the remote device for simultaneous interpretation by AI models/algorithms or for later interpretation of the captured image data by qualified personnel for identification of abnormal tissue in the enteral cavity” [0094], also see [0099] and [0022] of Gormley).
Claims 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied above in view of Shelton (US Pub. No. 2019/0125455).
Regarding Claim 32, Liu teaches the invention as applied above and although teaches “robotic instrument 204-3 is shown as a grasping-type robotic instrument” in [0038] and “one or more of the robotic instruments may include force-sensing and/or other sensing capabilities” in [0027], does not specifically teach wherein the processor is further configured to: send an indication to grasp or clamp a tissue via a first rate of closure; determine a first tissue compression pressure measurement associated with the tissue; send, based on the first tissue compression pressure measurement and a tissue compression pressure limit, an indication to pause the grasping or clamping; determine a second tissue compression pressure measurement associated with the tissue, wherein the second tissue compression pressure measurement is performed after the first tissue compression pressure measurement is performed; and send, based on the second tissue compression pressure measurement being below a tissue compression pressure threshold, an indication to grasp or clamp the tissue via a second rate of closure.
In the same field of invention, Shelton teaches “the jaws are driven by a jaw drive system including an electric drive motor, the speed of which is adjustable to adjust the closure rate and/or opening rate of the jaws. Referring to the graph 128400 of FIG. 358, the control system of the surgical system is configured to monitor the loading, or shear, force on the jaws 128740 and 128750 as the jaws 128740 and 128750 are being closed and adaptively slow down the drive motor when large forces, or forces above a threshold Fc, are experienced by the jaws 128740 and 128750. Such large forces often occur when the tissue T being cut by the jaws 128740 and 128750 is thick, for example … the control system can be configured to measure the jaw loading force directly by one or more load cells and/or strain gauges, for example. Once the loading force experienced by the jaws 128740 and 128750 drops below the force threshold Fc, the control system can adaptively speed up the jaw closure rate. Alternatively, the control system can maintain the lower closure rate of the jaws 128740 and 128750 even though the force threshold is no longer being exceeded” in [2347] (also see [2118]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to allow the controller to determine the force applied to the jaws and control the rate of closure of the jaws based on the determined force/pressure as Shelton teaches.
Regarding Claim 33, Liu in view of Shelton teaches wherein being configured to send an indication to pause the grasping or clamping comprises being configured to alter or halt a signal (please see the 112 rejection above as it is unclear how a grasping and clamping is being paused without ever claiming it in claim 1 on which this claim depends on; furthermore, it is unclear what “alter or halt a signal” is referring to. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Shelton teaches adjusting the grasping/clamping of the tissue as well as “the processor 622 can signal the motor driver 626 to stop and/or disable a motor that is coupled to the common control module 610” in [0641]).
Regarding Claim 34, Liu in view of Shelton teaches, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an indication from a user of the surgical device to override at least a portion of the autonomous operation; and perform the override (“control program update may or may not permit the user to override the control program's control of the particular function” [1600] and “the robotic surgical system can permit a manual override mode 13153. For example, upon activation of the manual override input 13160, such as by a clinician, the surgical system can exit the automatic activation mode 13151 at step 13162 depicted in FIG. 246” [1908] of Shelton). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to allow the user to override the automatic operation in order to manually control the procedure as needed during the procedure in view of the teachings of Shelton.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s request for an interview is acknowledged. Multiple attempts to contact the applicant was made, but were unsuccessful. Applicant is encouraged to call the examiner to schedule the interview at a date and time that works for both in order to discuss the case further.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112 rejections, Applicant argues that the disclosure provides full support for the claimed limitations. Examiner acknowledges that the specification meets the 112a requirements; however, the rejection was based on 112b as applied above. Limitations in claims 5, 11, 21 and 26 are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. For example, claim 1 is directed to “a processor configured to: receive surgical procedure data, wherein the surgical procedure data comprises a plurality of surgical steps; based on the surgical procedure data, determine whether an obstruction exists in a treatment site for a current surgical step; based on a determination that the obstruction exists in the treatment site for the current surgical step, determine a virtual boundary associated with a surgical device to reposition the obstruction and to gain access to the treatment site; and control the surgical device to operate autonomously within the virtual boundary, wherein the virtual boundary is associated with a virtual movement boundary to reposition the obstruction and gain access to the treatment site”. Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the surgical device comprises a smart grasper, and wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether a distance between a smart energy device and the smart grasper is below a threshold; based on a determination that the distance between the smart energy device and the smart grasper is below the threshold and based on the virtual boundary, determine a safety adjustment that is configured to control the surgical device to operate autonomously; receive a first placement data associated with a first trocar and a second placement data associated with a second trocar, wherein the first trocar is associated with the smart grasper and the second trocar is associated with the smart energy device; and determine a first location data associated with the smart grasper based on the first placement data and a second location data associated with the smart energy device based on the second placement data”. The issue with the 112 rejection was that it was unclear if this claim was further limiting claim 1 in the sense that the obstruction is being defined as the smart energy device and the step of “determine a first location data associated with the smart grasper based on the first placement data and a second location data associated with the smart energy device based on the second placement data” is further defining the step of “a virtual movement boundary to reposition the obstruction and gain access to the treatment site” of claim 1 or if claim 5 is defining a separate step of the procedure in addition to the repositioning of the obstruction and gaining access to the treatment site of claim 1. This issue needs to be clarified in the response. Furthermore, claims 21 and 26 recite the limitation “wherein the surgical procedure data further comprises patient location information and surgical instrument information associated with the plurality of surgical steps”. Although the disclosure is taken into consideration, the claims are examined based on the what is claimed. In this case however, no “patient location” is found in the disclosure, so it is unclear what is meant by patient location. It is further unclear what is meant by “surgical instrument information associated with the plurality of surgical steps”. It is suggested to amend the claims to further define what is meant by these limitations. Moreover, new claim 31 is also being rejected on the grounds that claim 1 already claims “a plurality of surgical steps” and “determine an obstruction exists in a treatment site for a current surgical step”; therefore, it is unclear how this claim is further limiting claim 1. Clarification and/or appropriate correction to these issues are required.
Regarding the art rejection, applicant’s arguments are on the grounds that Liu does not teach the limitation of "obstruction [that] exists in a treatment site for a current surgical step," as recited by independent claims 1 and 8. Applicant argues that “Liu at paras. [0131]-[0134], describes determining that a first instrument obstructs a second instrument, and moving the first instrument. However, there is no description of any relationship of the determination of the obstruction being related to a current surgical step as claimed. Indeed, the Office Action nowhere cites to anything in Liu that corresponds to this feature.1 Accordingly, Liu nowhere discloses "based on the surgical procedure data, determine whether an obstruction exists in a treatment site for a current surgical step," as claimed or the other claim limitations using this feature”.
Examiner does not find these arguments persuasive since the step performed in the procedure as described in [0131]-[0134] is here interpreted to be “the current step”. Examiner interprets the step of “system 300 may determine that there is an obstruction in a motion path. Such an obstruction may correspond to any object that may block a robotic instrument from following a motion path” to be the current step as claimed since applicant does not require any special functionality or planning or any specific requirement defined to be “the current step” besides “determine whether an obstruction exists in a treatment site for a current surgical step” which Liu clearly teaches.
Furthermore, applicant argues that Liu does not teach the claimed limitation of "a virtual boundary associated with a surgical device to reposition the obstruction and to gain access to the treatment site," as recited by independent claims 1 and 8. Applicant argues that “para. [0134] of Liu describes that "a no-fly zone may correspond to an area of the surgical space where a robotic instrument is not allowed to travel." However, there is no disclosure in para. [0134] or other sections of Liu that describes that the no-fly zone is determined "to reposition the obstruction," as claimed. Accordingly, Liu nowhere discloses "wherein the virtual boundary is associated with a virtual movement boundary to reposition the obstruction and gain access to the treatment site," as claimed.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that Liu teaches “Accordingly, system 300 may perform an operation to prevent robotic instrument 204-2 from obstructing the motion path. For example, system 300 may instruct a user (e.g., surgeon 110-1), in any suitable manner, to move robotic instrument 204-2 to a different location within the surgical space that does not obstruct the motion path” in [0132] as well as “system 300 may automatically perform an operation to remove an obstruction from a motion path. For example, system 300 may automatically reposition robotic instrument 204-2 within the surgical space such that robotic instrument 204-2 no longer obstructs a motion path associated with robotic instrument 204-3”. In [0133]. Therefore, the system 300 is clearly configured to “based on a determination that the obstruction exists in the treatment site for the current surgical step, determine a virtual boundary associated with a surgical device to reposition the obstruction and to gain access to the treatment site; and control the surgical device to operate autonomously within the virtual boundary, wherein the virtual boundary is associated with a virtual movement boundary to reposition the obstruction and gain access to the treatment site” as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHADIJEH A VAHDAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794