DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant Amendment on 12/30/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of “wherein the elastic connecting-portion comprises at least three elongated beam structures respectively defied by at least three through holes on at least three sides of the vibrating-portion in the area where the patterned first device material layer overlaps the cavity” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 6 – 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (CN 112033526 A, machine translation merged to document) in view of Je (US 2014/0084394).
Regarding claim 1, He et al. teaches a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) vibration sensor, comprising (Figure 4, corresponding to pages 7 – 9 of machine translation):
a substrate 100 (with dielectric layer as shown in Fig. 8b), comprising a first supporting-portion (portion of substrate 100 overlapping with area 230) and a cavity (the cavity under layer 200 between areas 230); and
a sensing-device disposed on the substrate, comprising:
a first sensing-unit 210, comprising:
a second supporting-portion 230, disposed on the first supporting-portion and connected to the first supporting-portion via a first dielectric material (sacrificial layer between substrate 100 and layer 200); and
a vibrating-portion 210, disposed on the cavity, and connected to the second supporting-portion 230 via an elastic connecting-portion 220;
a second sensing-unit 310, comprising:
a sensing-portion 310, disposed on the vibrating-portion 210, wherein a gap is forming between the sensing-portion 310 and the vibrating-portion 210; and
a third supporting-portion (portion of layer 300 overlapping area 230), disposed on the second supporting-portion 230, connected to the sensing-portion 310, and connected to the second supporting- portion 230 via a second dielectric material (sacrificial layer between layer 300 and 200);
a first metal pad 520, disposed on the third supporting-portion and electrically coupled with the first sensing-unit 210; and
a second metal pad 510, disposed on the third supporting-portion and electrically coupled with the second sensing-unit 310,
wherein the first sensing-unit 210 is included in a patterned first device material layer 200,
wherein the elastic connecting-portion 220 comprises at least two elongated beam structures (occurs on both sides, also it is believed the present application is describing a spring structure where the “beam structure” is elongated by the meandering shape of a spring) respectively defined by at least two through holes on at least two sides of the vibrating-portion 210 (adjacent 220) where the patterned first device material layer overlaps the cavity; one end of each of the at least two elongated beam structures 220 extends from the second supporting-portion 230 laterally to above of the cavity (cavity extends under layer 200; portions 220 connect second supporting-portion 230 to 210); and the other end of each of the at least two the elongated beam structures 220 is connected to the vibrating-portion 210.
He et al. teaches at least two elongated beam structures 220 (occurs on both sides of Figure 4), but does not appear to teach at least three elongated beam structures. Je teaches (Figure 3, Paragraph 0032) that vibrating portion 26 can be connected by four spring structures 24b defined by at least four through holes on at least four sides of the vibrating-portion 26. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of He et al. to have at least three elongated beam structures (spring structures) respectively defined by at least three through holes on at least three sides of the vibrating-portion in the manner as taught by Je (instead of two as cited above) since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Regarding claim 2, He et al. teaches that the second sensing-unit 310 is included in a patterned second device material layer 300.
Regarding claim 6, He et al. teaches that the second sensing-unit 310 comprises a plurality of through holes 311 connecting to the gap.
Regarding claim 7, He et al. further teaches a mass-block 400 disposed in the cavity, connected to the vibrating-portion 210 via a third dielectric material (sacrificial material between layer 200 and layer 400), and shifts within a limited range in the cavity in conjunction with actions of the first sensing-unit 210.
Regarding claim 8, He et al. teaches that the mass-block 400 and the first supporting-portion (portion of substrate in area 230) are made of the same material (third paragraph of 7th page); and the third dielectric material and the first dielectric material are made of the same material (sacrificial material).
Regarding claim 9, He et al. teaches that the third supporting-portion (portion of layer 300 in area 230) includes a first part and a second part that are electrically isolated from each other (on both sides); the first metal pad 520 is disposed on the first part; and the second metal pad 510 is disposed on the second part.
Regarding claim 10, He et al. teaches that the second dielectric material and the first dielectric material are made of the same material (both of sacrificial layer of Figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, He et al. further teaches a plurality of dimples/bumps 301 disposed between the second sensing-unit 310 and the first sensing-unit 200.
Regarding claim 12, He et al. teaches a protection layer 303 formed on a first surface (bottom) of the second sensing-unit facing 310 the first sensing-unit 210 or on a second surface (top) of the second sensing-unit 310 away from the first sensing-unit 210.
Regarding claim 14, He et al. teaches that the first sensing-unit 210 further comprises a second elastic connecting-portion 220 (element 220 is on both sides) connecting second supporting-portion 230 and the vibrating-portion 210.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (CN 112033526 A, machine translation merged to document) in view of Je (US 2014/0084394) as applied to claim 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Barzen et al. (US 2016/0192086).
Regarding claim 3, He et al. teaches that the patterned first device material layer 200 comprises a semiconductor material (polysilicon, pp. 7). He et al. does not teach that the patterned first device material layer comprises both metal and a semiconductor material. Barzen et al. teaches that a patterned first device material layer (membrane, Paragraph 0069) can be comprised of silicide, which is an alloy of a metal and silicon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use silicide for the patterned first device material layer 200 of He et al. in the manner as taught by Barzen et al. since silicide is a well known conductor used for MEMS membranes. Furthermore, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), also see In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, (1960)). Please also see MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 5, He et al. teaches that the patterned second device material layer 300 comprises a semiconductor material (polysilicon, pp. 7). He et al. does not teach that the patterned second device material layer 300 comprises both metal and a semiconductor material. Barzen et al. teaches that a patterned second device material layer (backplate, Paragraph 0069) can be comprised of silicide, which is an alloy of a metal and silicon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use silicide for the patterned second device material layer 200 of He et al. in the manner as taught by Barzen et al. since silicide is a well known conductor used for MEMS backplates. Furthermore, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), also see In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, (1960)). Please also see MPEP §2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUN MI KIM KING/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813