DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirks [U.S. Patent No. 4975671] in view of Lee et al [U.S. Patent No. 10141107B2].
Regarding claim 1, Dirks discloses a body (e.g., 8 of bridge member 3, column 5, lines 6-14, Fig. 2-3 and 8) including a first surface (e.g., left side of body 8, shown in Fig. 3) and a second surface (e.g., right side of body 8) opposing each other in a first direction (e.g., horizontal direction in a cross-section of body 8 shown in Fig. 3), and a third surface (e.g., bottom portion of body 8 where pads 5 are disposed, column 4, lines 47-50, Figure 3) and a fourth surface (e.g., top surface of body 8, see Fig. 3 and 8) connected to the first surface and the second surface and opposing each other in a second direction (e.g., vertical direction of Fig. 3);
a first conductor (e.g., horizontal portion of first conductor 7, see Fig. 3 and 8) disposed in the body 8 and extending in the first direction (e.g., horizontal direction);
a second conductor (e.g., horizontal portion of another one of conductor 7 next to the first, Fig. 8) disposed adjacent to the first conductor in the body 8 and extending in the first direction;
a first pad (e.g., 19a of terminal 5, column 5, lines 5-14, Fig. 8) and a second pad (e.g., 19b on right side, Fig. 8) disposed on the third surface of the body (e.g., bottom surface of body 8);
a first conductive via (e.g., left vertical portion of first conductor 7) extending in the second direction (e.g., vertical direction in body 8 shown in Fig. 3) and connecting the first conductor and the first pad (e.g., 19a on left bottom surface of body 8, see Fig. 8); and a second conductive via (e.g., left vertical portion of second conductor 7, Fig. 8) extending in the second direction (e.g., vertical) and connecting the second conductor and the second pad (e.g., 19c, see Fig. 8).
Dirks discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the second conductor is disposed to be shifted with respect to the first conductor in the first direction.
Lee discloses second conductor (e.g., second conductor strip 134, third from bottom of staggered arrangement of conductor 134 that are via-connected on both ends for winding 130a, see annotated Fig 1C) is disposed to be shifted with respect to first conductor (e.g., first conductor strip 134 of the staggered arrangement, which is also via-connected on both ends) in a first direction (e.g. left to right direction of Fig. 1C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second conductor disposed to be shifted with respect to the first conductor in the first direction as taught by Lee to the plurality of conductors of Dirks to provide the conductors of Dirks with reduced spacing to allow for lesser space occupied by the inductive device.
Regarding claim 2, Dirks discloses wherein the first and second conductors (e.g., portions of conductor 7 in horizontal position, Fig. 8) are provided as a plurality of first conductors and a plurality of second conductors, respectively, and the plurality of first conductors and the plurality of second conductors are alternately disposed in one direction (e.g., longitudinal direction or axial direction of coil segment 17 or 18 in Fig. 1 and 8).
Lee further discloses the first and second conductors (e.g., strips of conductor 134 in horizontal position, Fig. 1C) are provided as a plurality of first conductors and a plurality of second conductors, respectively, and the plurality of first conductors and the plurality of second conductors are alternately disposed in one direction (e.g., longitudinal direction or axial direction of the coil 130a, Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 3, Dirk discloses wherein the one direction (e.g., longitudinal direction or axial direction of coil segment 17 or 18 in Fig. 1 and 8) is a third direction, perpendicular to the first (e.g., horizontal direction of portion 7 conductor, Fig. 3) and second directions (e.g., vertical direction of via or vertical conductor portion of conductor 7).
Lee further discloses wherein the one direction (e.g., longitudinal direction or axial direction of the coil 130a, Fig. 1C) is a third direction, perpendicular to the first (e.g., horizontal direction of strip conductor 134, Fig. 1C) and second directions (e.g., vertical direction of via that extends in through hole 136, Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses wherein, when a direction (e.g., longitudinal direction or axial direction of the coil 130a, Fig. 1C) perpendicular to the first (e.g., horizontal direction of strip conductor 134, Fig. 1C) and second (e.g., vertical direction of via that extends in through hole 136, Fig. 1B) directions is a third direction, the first and second conductors (e.g., staggered strips of conductors 134) are disposed to be shifted with respect to each other in the first direction in a range in which the first and second conductors partially overlap in the third direction.
Regarding claim 5, Dirks discloses wherein the body 8 is free of an additional conductor connecting the first and second conductors (e.g., horizontal and vertical portions of conductors 7 are not connected within body 8).
Regarding claim 6, Dirk discloses wherein the first pad (e.g., 19a of terminal 5 on left bottom portion of body 8, Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 8) and the first conductive via (e.g., left vertical conductor portion of first strip conductor 7) are provided as a pair of first pads (e.g., 19a as the left pad, 19b as the right pad, annotated Fig. 8) and a pair of first conductive vias (e.g., vertical via connected to 19a and vertical via connected to 19b), respectively, and the pair of first conductive vias (e.g., vertical via connected to 19a and vertical via connected to 19b, Fig. 8) are connected to one end and the other end of the first conductor (e.g., horizontal conductive portion of first conductor 7), respectively.
Regarding claim 7, Dirk discloses wherein the second pad (e.g., 19c of terminal 5 on left bottom portion of body 8, Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 8 below) and the second conductive via (e.g., left vertical conductor portion of second strip conductor 7) are provided as a pair of second pads (e.g., 19c as the left side pad, another pad opposite 19c as the right side pad in annotated Fig. 8) and a pair of second conductive vias (e.g., left vertical via connected to 19c and right vertical via on opposite side of body 8 in first direction), respectively, and the pair of second conductive vias (e.g., pair of vertical vias shown in annotated Fig. 8) are connected to one end and the other end of the second conductor (e.g., horizontal conductive portion of next to the first conductor 7, see annotated Figure 8), respectively.
Regarding claim 17, Dirks discloses a body (e.g., 8 of bridge member 3, column 5, lines 6-14, Fig. 2-3 and 8) including a first surface (e.g., left side of body 8, shown in Fig. 3) and a second surface (e.g., right side of body 8) opposing each other in a first direction (e.g., horizontal direction in a cross-section of body 8 shown in Fig. 3), and a third surface (e.g., bottom portion of body 8 where pads 5 are disposed, column 4, lines 47-50, Figure 3) and a fourth surface (e.g., top surface of body 8, see Fig. 3 and 8) connected to the first surface and the second surface and opposing each other in a second direction (e.g., vertical direction of Fig. 3);
a first conductor (e.g., horizontal portion of first conductor 7, see Fig. 3 and 8) disposed in the body 8 and extending in the first direction (e.g., horizontal direction);
a second conductor (e.g., horizontal portion of another one of conductor 7 next to the first, Fig. 8) disposed adjacent to the first conductor in the body 8 and extending in the first direction;
a first pad (e.g., 19a of terminal 5, column 5, lines 5-14, Fig. 8) and a second pad (e.g., 19b on right side, Fig. 8) disposed on the third surface of the body (e.g., bottom surface of body 8);
a first conductive via (e.g., left vertical portion of first conductor 7) extending in the second direction (e.g., vertical direction in body 8 shown in Fig. 3) and connecting the first conductor and the first pad (e.g., 19a on left bottom surface of body 8, see Fig. 8); and a second conductive via (e.g., left vertical portion of second conductor 7, Fig. 8) extending in the second direction (e.g., vertical) and connecting the second conductor and the second pad (e.g., 19c, see Fig. 8).
Dirks discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein, in the first direction, the first conductor is closer to the second surface of the body than the second conductor, and the second conductor is closer to the first surface of the body than the first conductor.
Lee discloses a first conductor (e.g., first conductor strip of conductors 134 which are via-connected on both ends and are in staggered arrangement of coil 130b, see annotated Fig. 1C) in a first direction (e.g. left to right direction base on Fig. 1C) and second conductor (e.g., second conductor strip 134, third from bottom of staggered arrangement of conductor 134 that are via-connected on both ends for winding 130b, see annotated Fig 1C).
Therefore, using the strip conductors 134, of coil 130b, in staggered arrangement of Lee (see annotated Fig. 1C above) to the body 8 of Dirks results in having the first conductor 134 (see Fig. 1C above) closer to the second surface of the body 8 of Dirks (e.g., right side surface of body 8, see Fig. 3 of Dirks) than the second conductor (refer to annotated Fig. 1C above), and the second conductor is closer to the first surface (e.g., left side surface of body 8, shown in Fig. 3) of the body 8 than the first conductor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first conductor be closer to the second surface of the body than the second conductor, and the second conductor is closer to the first surface of the body than the first conductor in the first direction as taught by Lee to the plurality of conductors of arranged within the body of Dirks to provide the structure with reduced spacing among conductors to allow for lesser space occupied by the inductive device.
Regarding claim 18, Dirks discloses wherein the first conductor and the second conductor are separated from each other in the body 8 (see annotated Fig. 8 above).
Regarding claim 19, Dirks discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the first pad does not overlap the second pad in any direction among the first direction, the second direction, and a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions.
Lee discloses a first conductor (e.g., first conductor strip of conductors 134 which are via-connected on both ends and are in staggered arrangement of coil 130b, see annotated Fig. 1C above) in a first direction (e.g. left to right direction base on Fig. 1C) and second conductor (e.g., second conductor strip 134, third from bottom of staggered arrangement of conductor 134 that are via-connected on both ends for winding 130b, see annotated Fig 1C). Conductive strips 134 have pads 136 on both ends and the pads do not overlap in any direction among the first direction, a second direction (e.g., vertical direction of via connections as shown in Fig. 1B), and a third direction (e.g., axial axis direction of coil 130b) perpendicular to the first and second directions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first pad does not overlap the second pad in any direction among the first direction, the second direction, and a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions as taught by Lee to the body and conductor arrangement of Dirks to provide the structure of Dirks with reduced spacing among conductors to allow for lesser space occupied by the inductive device.
Regarding claim 20, Dirk discloses wherein the first pad (e.g., 19a of terminal 5 on left bottom portion of body 8, Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 8 above) and the first conductive via (e.g., left vertical conductor portion of first strip conductor 7) are provided as a pair of first pads (e.g., 19a as the left pad, 19b as the right pad, annotated Fig. 8) and a pair of first conductive vias (e.g., vertical via connected to 19a and vertical via connected to 19b), respectively, and the pair of first conductive vias (e.g., vertical via connected to 19a and vertical via connected to 19b, Fig. 8) are connected to one end and the other end of the first conductor (e.g., horizontal conductive portion of first conductor 7), respectively, and
the second pad (e.g., 19c of terminal 5 on left bottom portion of body 8, Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 8 below) and the second conductive via (e.g., left vertical conductor portion of second strip conductor 7) are provided as a pair of second pads (e.g., 19c as the left side pad, another pad opposite 19c as the right side pad in annotated Fig. 8) and a pair of second conductive vias (e.g., left vertical via connected to 19c and right vertical via on opposite side of body 8 in first direction), respectively, and the pair of second conductive vias (e.g., pair of vertical vias shown in annotated Fig. 8) are connected to one end and the other end of the second conductor (e.g., horizontal conductive portion of next to the first conductor 7, see annotated Figure 8), respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the terminal 5 of prior art Dirks merely a portion of the conductor 7 which extends from the body as illustrated in FIG. 1 of Dirks (see annotated Fig. above). Thus, the terminal 5 of Dirks is not disposed on a surface of the bridge 3 or the core 2. According to the applicant Dirks fails to disclose "a first and a second pad disposed on the third surface of the body" as set forth in the claims.
The Examiner disagrees. The first and second pads disposed on the surface of the body, as recited in claim 1, are extended electrical connections of the first and second conductors inside the body. Similar to Dirks’ first and second pads (e.g., terminal 5) which are extended electrical connections of the first and second conductors 7 disposed inside the body 8. The first and second pads or terminal 5 of Dirks are located or disposed outside the surface of the component body. There is no particular structural limitation in the claim that makes the pad different from Dirks’.
Therefore, Dirks teaches the requirement of claim 1 which recites "a first and a second pad disposed on the third surface of the body".
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837