DETAILED ACTION
Response to amendments
The amendments filed 09/25/2025 have been entered, the prior 112 rejections and claim objections have been overcome. New 112a and new prior art rejections under 103 remain for claims 1-12 and 14-20.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant firstly argues (page 5-8):
Regarding amendment features, however newly cited reference Byeong makes the arguments moot.
Applicant secondly argues (page 8-9):
“Applicant further writes separately to address any alleged combination of Muto in view of Mersch to reject amended claims 1 and 17, for the sake of expediency. Muto, as explained herein, only teaches where heated water is used to generate the humidity by spraying the heated water into the tank using the pump and spray nozzles. Mersch teaches a steam cycle where the heating element is energized such that "a sufficient aera of the heating element becomes exposed... and that there is sufficient wash fluid in the chamber to be vaporized."Mersch [0028]. First, Muto does not teach heating wash fluid for generating humidity, but rather fresh water. Second, Muto does not teach heating fluid, while energizing a heating element where a "sufficient area" of the heating element is exposed, to vaporize the wash fluid.
If anything, the use of the heating element, including its exposure of a "sufficient area" to vaporize the wash fluid teaches away from generating humidity in the tank by spraying heating water (not vapor or vaporized liquid) into the air of the tank because to combine Mersch with Muto one must fundamentally redesign the references because of the different fundamental operations of the heating element, the wash fluid, and the spray system used in Muto. Any forced combination of Mersch with Muto would result in a different design than what is claimed.
As the Examiner is no doubt aware, MPEP §2143(VI) states that "[i]f the proposed modification or combination of the prior art would change the principle of operation of the prior art invention being modified, then the teachings of the references are not sufficient to render the claims prima facie obvious" (Quoting In re Ratti, 270 F.2d 810, 813, 123 USPQ 349, 352
(CCPA 1959)). Applicant asserts that any alleged combination of Mersch and Muto would fail to be prima facie obvious, as demonstrated by MPEP §2143(VI). For at least this reason, any hypothetical rejection based on an alleged combination of Mersch with Muto must fail.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because the modifying Muto with Mersch does not do away with the structure of Muto using the heating element 63 for the wash cycle in combination to the spray nozzle system, and as the structure of Muto already exists alone, the heating element must inherently by structure provide a degree of humidification directly from water at the bottom of the dish washer tank 7 “The heater 63 is arranged at the bottom of the water storage unit 71. The heater 63 heats the water stored in the water storage unit 71 or the air in the washing tank 7.” (page 4, last paragraph, see figure R1a having heating element submerged and open to wash chamber via 58b). Mersch as modifying provides obviousness/advantage to enhanced efficiency of humidification of water through exposure/partial exposure of the heating element to water (see prior rejection of claim 13). Additionally Mersch is not used in the present rejection of claim 1 and 17, the present amendments thereof do not directly correspond to the canceled feature of claim 13.
Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 17 as amended recite “the generation of the moisture-laden air within the treating chamber does not recirculate liquid by way of a spray system of the dishwasher” however the specifications state “The implementation of humidifying cycle of operation does not permit the simultaneous implementation of the dish treating cycle of operation. The humidifying cycle of operation and the dish treating cycle of operation can operate serially. The term "serially" as used herein means one after the other, successive, and not concurrent or together. The humidifying cycle of operation and the dish treating cycle of operation do not run at the same time. That is, the dishwasher 10 implements the humidifying cycle without the simultaneous implementation of the dish treating cycle of operation.” [0077-0078] and is silent therefrom in indicating that the spray system is inactive necessarily during humidification operation.
In an effort to further prosecution Examiner has added reference Byeong providing steam generation independent to nozzles spraying water for enhanced humidification quality and or detection and or control.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6-10,16,17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muto (JP 2022074720 A) in view of Byeong (KR 100859035 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Muto discloses a method of operating a dishwasher as a humidifier (“Further, the dishwasher 1 executes a humidifying operation for leading the humidified air to the indoor space R1A outside the dishwasher 1 separately from the washing operation.” (page 3, second paragraph)), the method comprising:
in response to an input indicating a humidifying cycle of operation (see control panel 40 in figures 3 and 4 having humidification operation button 45, input for operation of humidifying cycle -“the user presses the humidification operation button 45 to select the humidification operation, sets the operation conditions of the humidification operation by the setting button 43, the addition button 46A and the subtraction button 46B, and then presses the start button 42 to control the control unit. After acquiring the setting information of the humidifying operation, C1 executes the humidifying operation separately from the washing operation by the humidifying operation program shown in FIG.4” (page 6, paragraph 10)), implementing the humidifying cycle of operation by generating moisture-laden air within a treating chamber (washing tank 7 with water storage portion 71, heater 63 within water storage portion 71, see figure 1, “The water supply pipe P1 supplies water into the washing tank 7 from a water supply source (not shown) provided outside the dishwasher 1. The water supply solenoid valve 69 opens and closes the water supply pipe P1 to switch between supplying and stopping water into the cleaning tank 7. The water supply pipe P1 and the water supply solenoid valve 69 are examples of the "water supply means" of the present invention. The water supplied into the washing tank 7 by the water supply pipe P1 and the water supply solenoid valve 69 is used as washing water in the washing operation and as humidifying water in the humidifying operation. The drain pipe P2 discharges the washing water and the humidifying water in the washing tank 7 to the outside of the dishwasher 1.” (page 3, paragraph 5)) of the dishwasher, and
emitting the generated moisture-laden air to an exterior surrounding the dishwasher (indoor space R1A humidified as disclosed above, (see page 3, second paragraph)), without the simultaneous implementation of a dish treating cycle of operation (as disclosed above, (page 3, second paragraph));
wherein the generation of the moisture-laden air within the treating chamber does not recirculate liquid by way of a spray system of the dishwasher (humidification and regular operation of dishwasher are independent by user selection “The humidification operation is executed through the air lead-out paths 51, 52, independently of the washing operation.” (abstract)).
Additionally Byeong teaches wherein the generation of the moisture-laden air within the treating chamber does not recirculate liquid by way of a spray system of the dishwasher (steam/humidification is generated independent of nozzle spray systems (14/15) “a steam generator 20 placed below the tub 18 to generate steam, and steam generated by the steam generator 20 is connected to the tub 18.” (page 5, 3 paragraph)).
The advantage of wherein the generation of the moisture-laden air within the treating chamber does not recirculate liquid by way of a spray system of the dishwasher, is to sense and generate/control the amount of humidity “the tub 18 is provided with a predetermined steam sensing unit for sensing the amount of steam supplied into the tub, for example, the light emitting unit 25 formed on any one side of the tub 18, It is the light-receiving part 26 formed in the other side of the said tub 18. According to the configuration described above, it is possible to determine the concentration of steam accommodated in the tub 18 according to the degree of the light emitted from the light emitting portion 25 is received by the light receiving portion 26. This is because the more steam, the light emitted from the light emitting unit 25 will be detected by the light receiving unit 26 with a smaller amount.” (page 4, last paragraph) and quality thereof “the amount or state of the steam supplied to the inside of the tub 18 is sensed by the steam detecting unit consisting of the light emitting unit 25 and the light receiving unit 26 can be used to control the steam generator 20.” (page 5, 11th paragraph) where water from nozzles could interfere with detection “Subsequently, it is determined whether the supply amount of steam reaches a set value (S22), where the determination of the supply amount of steam may be determined by the steam detecting unit. In the steam supply amount determining step (S22), when it is determined that the steam has reached the set value, and it is determined that sufficient washing water is supplied, the subsequent steps continue.” (page 6, 3rd paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Muto and Byeong before him or her, to modify the water spraying jet involved humidity generator of Muto to include the humidity only generator with humidity detection/control of Byeong because providing only humidity without sprayed liquid water enables an enhanced detection and control over humidity quantity/quality, the jet/spray humidification may additionally cause interference.
Regarding claim 2, Muto discloses the method of claim 1, Muto further discloses wherein the input indicating the humidifying cycle of operation comprises a user selection on a user interface of the dishwasher (buttons of user interface “the user presses the humidification operation button 45 to select the humidification operation, sets the operation conditions of the humidification operation by the setting button 43, the addition button 46A and the subtraction button 46B, and then presses the start button 42 to control the control unit. After acquiring the setting information of the humidifying operation, C1 executes the humidifying operation separately from the washing operation by the humidifying operation program shown in FIG.” (page 6, 10th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 3, Muto discloses the method of claim 2, Muto further discloses wherein the user selection is made between at least one of the humidifying cycle of operation and the dish treating cycle of operation (washing operation and humidifying operation selectable from interface “the user presses the washing operation button 44 to select the washing operation, sets the operation conditions of the washing operation by the setting button 43, the addition button 46A, and the subtraction button 46B, and then presses the start button 42 to press the control unit. C1 executes the washing operation after acquiring the setting information of the washing operation.
Further, the user presses the humidification operation button 45 to select the humidification operation, sets the operation conditions of the humidification operation by the setting button 43, the addition button 46A and the subtraction button 46B, and then presses the start button 42 to control the control unit. After acquiring the setting information of the humidifying operation, C1 executes the humidifying operation separately from the washing operation by the humidifying operation program shown in FIG.” (page 6, 9-10th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 6, Muto discloses the method of claim 1, Muto further discloses wherein the input indicating the humidifying cycle of operation is an output from a humidity sensor (humidity sensor 35 controls signal for operation of humidifier feature “Next, the control unit C1 proceeds to step S108, and determines whether or not the humidity of the indoor space R1A detected by the indoor humidity sensor 35 is equal to or higher than the set humidity. If "No" in step S108, the process returns to step S106, and steps S106 to S108 are repeated until "Yes" is obtained in step S108.” (page 7, 9th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 7, Muto discloses the method of claim 1, Muto further discloses wherein the generating moisture-laden air comprises heating liquid within the dishwasher (see heater 63 within dishwasher figure 1, heater is used in humidifying operation “the dishwasher 1 is provided with a heater 63, and the heater 63 is also used in the washing operation and the humidifying operation.” (page 8, 7th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 8, Muto discloses the method of claim 7, Muto further discloses wherein the heating liquid within the dishwasher comprises at least one of flowing liquid through an inline heater within the dishwasher or heating liquid within a sump of the dishwasher (sump/pump 62 recirculates water used for humidification “the nozzle 61 and the pump 62 humidify the air sent into the washing tank 7 with humidified water to obtain humidified air. The humidified air is sent out from the washing tank 7 by the wind pressure of the blower fan 68. Then, the humidified air passes through at least one of the air lead-out paths 51 and 52 communicating with the inside of the cleaning tank 7 and is led out to the indoor space R1A.” (page 5, 7th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 9, Muto discloses the method of claim 7, Muto further discloses wherein the emitting the generated moisture-laden air comprises venting the generated moisture-laden air from the treating chamber of the dishwasher (water recirculation through washing tank / treating chamber, blower 68 vents/emits humidity to exterior of dishwasher/humidifier (the nozzle 61 and the pump 62 humidify the air sent into the washing tank 7 with humidified water to obtain humidified air. The humidified air is sent out from the washing tank 7 by the wind pressure of the blower fan 68. Then, the humidified air passes through at least one of the air lead-out paths 51 and 52 communicating with the inside of the cleaning tank 7 and is led out to the indoor space R1A.” (page 5, 7th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 10, Muto discloses the method of claim 9, Muto further discloses wherein the venting the generated moisture-laden air from the treating chamber comprises operating an exhaust fan in the dishwasher (exhaust fan 68 “the humidified air is sent out from the washing tank 7 by the wind pressure of the blower fan 68” (page 5, 7th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 16, Muto discloses the method of claim 1, Muto further discloses wherein the implementing of the humidifying cycle of operation is terminated in response to a humidity signal received by the dishwasher (humidity sensor 35 controls signals for operation of humidifier feature relative to humidity levels “Next, the control unit C1 proceeds to step S108, and determines whether or not the humidity of the indoor space R1A detected by the indoor humidity sensor 35 is equal to or higher than the set humidity. If "No" in step S108, the process returns to step S106, and steps S106 to S108 are repeated until "Yes" is obtained in step S108.” (page 7, 9th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 17, Muto discloses a dishwasher for treating dishes according to a dish treating cycle of operation, the dishwasher comprising:
a tub (7/71) at least partially defining a treating chamber (as shown in figure 1);
a door assembly (8) for selectively closing the treating chamber (as shown in figure 1);
a water supply system (water supply p1) fluidly coupling a household water supply to the treating chamber (“The water supply pipe P1 supplies water into the washing tank 7 from a water supply source (not shown) provided outside the dishwasher 1.” (page 3, 5th paragraph));
a spray system (system of cleaning nozzle 61) configured for spraying liquid in the treating chamber (nature cleaning nozzle);
a ventilation system (fan 68 and inlet outlets therefrom) for exhausting moisture-laden air from the treating chamber (air exits treating chamber 7/71 to exterior of dishwasher “The dishwasher 1 further includes an air introduction path 58 and a blower fan 68. The air introduction path 58 is a passage for introducing air from the indoor space R1A into the cleaning tank 7.” (page 4, 6th paragraph));
a controller (control unit C1) located within the dishwasher (as shown in figure 1),
wherein the controller includes information related to a humidifying cycle of operation and the dish treating cycle of operation (controller operates washing and humidifying operations “The memory of the control unit C1 stores various programs such as a washing operation program executed by the control unit C1 to operate the dishwasher 1, and the memory of the control unit C1 is a humidification operation shown in FIG. I remember the program. Further, the memory of the control unit C1 stores various information such as setting information of the dishwasher 1 and initial setting information for executing various programs at any time.” (page 5, 13th paragraph)); and
a receiver (interface of controller to humidity sensor “Next, the control unit C1 proceeds to step S107, and detects the humidity of the indoor space R1A by the indoor humidity sensor 35.” (page 7, 8th paragraph)) located within the dishwasher (controller C1 in housing, see figure 1) and in communication with the controller (as disclosed above), wherein the receiver receives a humidity signal indicative of a humidity level of an environment exterior of the dishwasher (as disclosed above);
wherein the controller selectively operates the humidifying cycle of operating of the dishwasher in response to the humidity signal received by the receiver and communicated to the controller (operation of humidifier dependent to detected humidity level “Next, the control unit C1 proceeds to step S108, and determines whether or not the humidity of the indoor space R1A detected by the indoor humidity sensor 35 is equal to or higher than the set humidity. If "No" in step S108, the process returns to step S106, and steps S106 to S108 are repeated until "Yes" is obtained in step S108.
Then, when it becomes "Yes" in step S108, the control unit C1 shifts to step S109 and performs the end operation of the humidification operation. Specifically, the control unit C1 ends the power supply to the heater 63 and stops the blower fan 68.” (page 7, 9-10th paragraph)), and
wherein the generation of the moisture-laden air within the treating chamber does not recirculate liquid by way of a spray system of the dishwasher (humidification and regular operation of dishwasher are independent by user selection “The humidification operation is executed through the air lead-out paths 51, 52, independently of the washing operation.” (abstract)).
Additionally Byeong teaches wherein the generation of the moisture-laden air within the treating chamber does not recirculate liquid by way of a spray system of the dishwasher (steam/humidification is generated independent of nozzle spray systems (14/15) “a steam generator 20 placed below the tub 18 to generate steam, and steam generated by the steam generator 20 is connected to the tub 18.” (page 5, 3 paragraph)).
The advantage of wherein the generation of the moisture-laden air within the treating chamber does not recirculate liquid by way of a spray system of the dishwasher, is to sense and generate/control the amount of humidity “the tub 18 is provided with a predetermined steam sensing unit for sensing the amount of steam supplied into the tub, for example, the light emitting unit 25 formed on any one side of the tub 18, It is the light-receiving part 26 formed in the other side of the said tub 18. According to the configuration described above, it is possible to determine the concentration of steam accommodated in the tub 18 according to the degree of the light emitted from the light emitting portion 25 is received by the light receiving portion 26. This is because the more steam, the light emitted from the light emitting unit 25 will be detected by the light receiving unit 26 with a smaller amount.” (page 4, last paragraph) and quality thereof “the amount or state of the steam supplied to the inside of the tub 18 is sensed by the steam detecting unit consisting of the light emitting unit 25 and the light receiving unit 26 can be used to control the steam generator 20.” (page 5, 11th paragraph) where water from nozzles could interfere with detection “Subsequently, it is determined whether the supply amount of steam reaches a set value (S22), where the determination of the supply amount of steam may be determined by the steam detecting unit. In the steam supply amount determining step (S22), when it is determined that the steam has reached the set value, and it is determined that sufficient washing water is supplied, the subsequent steps continue.” (page 6, 3rd paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Muto and Byeong before him or her, to modify the water spraying jet involved humidity generator of Muto to include the humidity only generator with humidity detection/control of Byeong because providing only humidity without sprayed liquid water enables an enhanced detection and control over humidity quantity/quality, the jet/spray humidification may additionally cause interference.
Regarding claim 19, Muto discloses the dishwasher of claim 17, Muto further discloses further comprising an inline heater upstream of the treating chamber or a submersible heater to heat liquid to generate the moisture-laden air within the treating chamber (heater 63 heats water at bottom of 7/71 “the control unit C1 proceeds to step S105 and starts the humidification operation. Specifically, water is supplied into the cleaning tank 7 by the water supply pipe P1 and the water supply solenoid valve 69 to make humidified water, and the humidified water is heated by the heater 63.” (page 7, 6th paragraph), see figure 1 providing location of heater 63 relative to treating chamber/water).
Claims 4, 5, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muto in view of Byeong and in further view of Dean (US 2013/0226352).
Regarding claim 4, Muto discloses the method of claim 1, Muto is silent regarding wherein the input indicating the humidifying cycle of operation comprises a wirelessly transmitted signal received by the dishwasher.
However Dean teaches wherein the input indicating the humidifying cycle of operation comprises a wirelessly transmitted signal received by the dishwasher (wireless communication to components 6 of HVAC system “The HVAC controller(s) 18 may be configured to control the HVAC component(s) 6 via a wired or wireless communication link 20.” [0013], components 6 to include humidifier “The one or more HVAC components 6 may include, but are not limited to, a furnace, a heat pump, an electric heat pump, a geothermal heat pump, an electric heating unit, an air conditioning unit, a ventilation unit, a humidifier, a dehumidifier, an air exchanger, an air cleaner, a damper, a valve, and/or the like.” [0012]).
The advantage of wherein the input indicating the humidifying cycle of operation comprises a wirelessly transmitted signal received by the dishwasher, is to provide remotely locating of sensing and or interface components of the climate altering features “When provided, the equipment interface module 34 may be configured to communicate with the HVAC controller 18 via, for example, a wired or wireless communication link 42. In other cases, the equipment interface module 34 may be incorporated or combined with the HVAC controller 18. In either cases, the equipment interface module 34 may communicate, relay or otherwise transmit data regarding the selected parameter (e.g. temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) to the HVAC controller 18.” [0023].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Muto and Dean before him or her, to modify the wired humidity sensor and or controller of Muto to be the wireless interface/sensors of Dean because wireless communication of sensors/interface devices enhances ability to remotely locating said devices relative to user and environment sensed.
Regarding claim 5, Muto as modified teaches the method of claim 4, Muto as already modified teaches wherein the wirelessly transmitted signal is generated from a humidity sensor remote from the dishwasher (remote/wireless sensors as already provided by Dean, humidity sensor of Dean or humidity sensor 35 of Muto).
Regarding claim 15, Muto discloses the method of claim 1, Muto is silent regarding wherein the implementing of the humidifying cycle of operation is terminated after a predetermined amount of time.
However Dean teaches wherein the implementing of the humidifying cycle of operation is terminated after a predetermined amount of time. (run time of humidifier may be predetermined “screen 200 may include a user prompt 204 that may prompt a user to select one or more time periods of a programmable operating schedule in which humidification may be turned off and a humidifier unit will not operate. A user may desire to turn off humidification or operate a humidification unit at a reduced level for energy conservation during certain periods due to noise of operation, energy costs during peak demand times, and/or according to user preference. As shown, screen 200 may include a one or more individually selectable options 208a-208d, each option 208a-208d corresponding to a time period of an operating schedule of the HVAC system 4 stored in the controller memory 52 of HVAC controller 18.” [0039]).
The advantage of wherein the implementing of the humidifying cycle of operation is terminated after a predetermined amount of time, is to avoid noise of operation, energy costs during peak demand times, and/or according to user preference “A user may desire to turn off humidification or operate a humidification unit at a reduced level for energy conservation during certain periods due to noise of operation, energy costs during peak demand times, and/or according to user preference. As shown, screen 200 may include a one or more individually selectable options 208a-208d, each option 208a-208d corresponding to a time period of an operating schedule of the HVAC system 4 stored in the controller memory 52 of HVAC controller 18.” [0039].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Muto and Dean before him or her, to add to the humidity level based humidifier operation of Muto, the set time based humidifier operation of Dean, because time based operation of the humidifier provides avoidance of noisy operation, reduction to energy costs during peak demand times, and/or provide operation according to user preference.
Regarding claim 18, Muto discloses the dishwasher of claim 17, Muto is silent regarding wherein the receiver is a wireless receiver and receives the humidity signal from a humidity sensor remote of the dishwasher.
However Dean teaches wherein the receiver is a wireless receiver and receives the humidity signal from a humidity sensor remote of the dishwasher (wireless communication to components 6 of HVAC system “The HVAC controller(s) 18 may be configured to control the HVAC component(s) 6 via a wired or wireless communication link 20.” [0013], components 6 to include humidifier “The one or more HVAC components 6 may include, but are not limited to, a furnace, a heat pump, an electric heat pump, a geothermal heat pump, an electric heating unit, an air conditioning unit, a ventilation unit, a humidifier, a dehumidifier, an air exchanger, an air cleaner, a damper, a valve, and/or the like.” [0012]).
The advantage of wherein the receiver is a wireless receiver and receives the humidity signal from a humidity sensor remote of the dishwasher, is to provide remotely locating of sensing and or interface components of the climate altering features “When provided, the equipment interface module 34 may be configured to communicate with the HVAC controller 18 via, for example, a wired or wireless communication link 42. In other cases, the equipment interface module 34 may be incorporated or combined with the HVAC controller 18. In either cases, the equipment interface module 34 may communicate, relay or otherwise transmit data regarding the selected parameter (e.g. temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) to the HVAC controller 18.” [0023].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Muto and Dean before him or her, to add to the humidity level based humidifier operation of Muto, wireless commination remote components of Dean, because wireless communication of sensors/interface devices enhances ability to remotely locating said devices relative to user and environment sensed.
Regarding claim 20, Muto as modified teaches the dishwasher of claim 19, Muto as already modified teaches wherein the ventilation system further comprises a conduit fluidly coupling the treating chamber and a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system. (Dean as modifying provides that a humidifier is integral to HVAC system “This disclosure relates generally to HVAC systems, and more particularly, to HVAC controllers that may be used for controlling HVAC systems. In some cases, the HVAC system may include a building controller (e.g. a thermostat) and at least one indoor air quality component such as, for example, a humidifier unit, a dehumidifier unit, and/or a ventilation unit.” [0003]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muto in view of Byeong and in further view of May (US 2010/0156259).
Regarding claim 11, Muto discloses the method of claim 10, Muto is silent regarding wherein the exhaust fan emits the generated moisture-laden air through a closure, wherein the closure closes an open face of the treating chamber.
However May teaches (Fig-5) wherein the exhaust fan emits the generated moisture-laden air through a closure (door 42), wherein the closure closes an open face (void of door disclosed hereafter) of the treating chamber (door tilts open to distance vent in door from enclosure of dishwasher and evacuate humidity therefrom “When the outer door panel 42 is positioned in its open vent position (as shown in FIG. 2), steam is evacuated from the tub 12 of the dishwasher 10 via a fluid path that includes the inlet pipes 54, the outlet pipe 60, and the vent 50.” [0041])
The advantage of wherein the exhaust fan emits the generated moisture-laden air through a closure, wherein the closure closes an open face of the treating chamber, is to reduce humidity collection close to the dishwashers enclosing structure “As shown in FIGS. 2 and 4, the configuration of the vent 50 allows steam to be evacuated from the dishwasher 10 without moisture accumulating under the countertop (shown in phantom in FIG. 2) or in the associated cabinets. In particular, the vent 50 extends outwardly to a position beyond the lower surface of the countertop thereby allowing the escaping steam to be released without being impinged on the lower surface of the countertop.” [0041].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Muto and May before him or her, to modify the fan driven humidity evacuation of Muto to include the opening enclosure humidity evacuation route of May because providing humidity escape from an opening closure such as a door, provides the humidity vent with additional spacing to the surrounding structure of a dishwasher where collection of water from the humidity is not wanted.
Regarding claim 12, Muto discloses the method of claim 9, Muto is silent regarding wherein the venting the generated moisture-laden air from the treating chamber comprises opening a closure to the treating chamber.
However May teaches wherein the venting the generated moisture-laden air from the treating chamber comprises opening a closure to the treating chamber. (door tilts open to distance vent in door from enclosure of dishwasher and evacuate humidity therefrom “When the outer door panel 42 is positioned in its open vent position (as shown in FIG. 2), steam is evacuated from the tub 12 of the dishwasher 10 via a fluid path that includes the inlet pipes 54, the outlet pipe 60, and the vent 50.” [0041])
The advantage of wherein the venting the generated moisture-laden air from the treating chamber comprises opening a closure to the treating chamber, is to reduce humidity collection close to the dishwashers enclosing structure “As shown in FIGS. 2 and 4, the configuration of the vent 50 allows steam to be evacuated from the dishwasher 10 without moisture accumulating under the countertop (shown in phantom in FIG. 2) or in the associated cabinets. In particular, the vent 50 extends outwardly to a position beyond the lower surface of the countertop thereby allowing the escaping steam to be released without being impinged on the lower surface of the countertop.” [0041].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Muto and May before him or her, to modify the fan driven humidity evacuation of Muto to include the opening enclosure humidity evacuation route of May because providing humidity escape from an opening closure such as a door, provides the humidity vent with additional spacing to the surrounding structure of a dishwasher where collection of water from the humidity is not wanted.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muto in view of Byeong and in further view of Mersch (US 2011/0000510).
Regarding claim 13, Muto discloses the method of claim 1, Muto is silent regarding wherein liquid is not recirculated in the treating chamber during the implementing of the humidifying cycle of operation.
However Mersch teaches wherein liquid is not recirculated in the treating chamber during the implementing of the humidifying cycle of operation (recirculating pump is turned off during generation of humidity through heating “The pump system that circulates wash fluid to wet the foregoing surfaces is deactivated (i.e., shut off (step S212) while the heating element remains energized. Deactivation of the pump system causes a sufficient area of the heating element to become exposed. In one embodiment, a sufficient portion of the wash fluid retained in the sump area of the chamber floor is simultaneously drained (step S212) and a sufficient area of the heating element is exposed. This step S212 ensures that at least a portion of the heating element surface is exposed for the second, steam period (step S214) and that there is sufficient wash fluid in the chamber to be vaporized.” [0028].).
The advantage of wherein liquid is not recirculated in the treating chamber during the implementing of the humidifying cycle of operation, is to provide focused heat to stationary water, increasing evaporation/humidity “Evaporation is more likely to occur on surfaces of the chamber floor because of the large surface area as compared to boiling of fallen droplets that fall on surfaces of the heating element. Therefore, exposing the chamber to the predetermined duration at an elevated temperature by simply energizing the heating element without operation of the fluid circulation system may be desirable.” [0033].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Muto and Mersch before him or her, to modify the recirculation evaporation cycle of Muto to the focused stagnant heat evaporation procedure of Mersch because limiting water movement relative to heat source enhances evaporation/humidity generation.
Regarding claim 14, Muto as modified teaches the method of claim 13, Muto further teaches wherein treating chemistry is not dispensed into the treating chamber during the implementing of the humidifying cycle of operation (washing functions (“washing” providing chemical in view of “rinsing” being only water) are selected separately from humidifying function (“Further, the dishwasher 1 executes a humidifying operation for leading the humidified air to the indoor space R1A outside the dishwasher 1 separately from the washing operation.” (page 3, second paragraph)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761