DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 15, line 2: replace, “the organization” with --an organization--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 6 and 13 recite the limitation “the software”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al (2022/0108092), hereinafter Wan in view of Connell, II et al (2015/0336274), hereinafter Connell.
With respect to claim 1, Wan teaches in paragraph 0036, a drone (mobile agent 110) with a wireless sender and receiver that receives data from items which that are tagged with unique RFID identification tags in a set area (a relay circuit 811 relays signals from the RFID tags to the RFID reader 150 and relays signals from the RFID reader 150 to one or more RFID tags within a range of the relay circuit 811.) Paragraph 0037 discloses the drone 110 with the wireless sender/receiver, saving that data onto a secure and proprietary database in non-transitory memory (the RFID reader 150 and agent control system 151 communicate with a host computer 152. The host computer 152 may maintain or otherwise access a database). Also see paragraphs 0077-0078. Lastly, with respect to claim 1, Wan teaches in paragraph 0002, attaching an RFID tag to any objects to be tracked by a reader including objects in a warehouse, library, hospital, or retail store.
With respect to claim 2, Wan teaches in paragraph 0036 the drone being a flying drone.
With respect to claim 3, Wan discloses in paragraph 0040, the drone including various components including propellers. Paragraph 0160 further discloses the components including wheels.
With respect to claim 5, Wan discloses in paragraph 0040, the drone having a microprocessor to receive data from tagged devices and saving that data onto a secure and proprietary database in non-transitory memory. Also see figures 8 and 9A-9C.
Wan’s teachings above fail to specifically teach the tagged items being specifically IT assets and data bearing devices.
With respect to claim 1, Connell teaches in paragraph 0003 a solution for keeping track of the location of IT assets in data centers and large organizations is to use RFID tags on the IT assets. Paragraph 0056 further teaches using a mobile robot 130 identifying an RFID tag affixed to an IT asset. Connell also teaches in paragraph 0003, that manually reading the affixed RFID tags is error-prone and time consuming.
In view of Connell’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use Wan’s drone inventory system for the management of IT assets and data bearing devices as is taught by Connell. Wan discloses using the drone to manage any type of item and Connell teaches the need to track IT assets, therefore one would be motivated to use the drone to track IT assets in order to quickly and accurately track the IT assets.
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan in combination with Connell and in further view of Williams et al (2022/0019970), hereinafter Williams.
Wan’s teachings in combination with the teachings of Connell are discussed above. The combination however fails to specifically teach the device where the drone has a hover means.
With respect to claim 4, Williams discloses in paragraph 0124, having a drone fly to a certain location in a warehouse, take off, land, fly to another item in the list of items stored in the data storage system, hover, scan an item, otherwise collect data about an item, a shelf, or the warehouse.
In view of Williams’ teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the flying drone taught by Wan have the ability hover as is taught by Williams. One would be motivated to have the drone hover in order to scan items in a specific location – as is taught by Williams.
8. Claims 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan in combination with Connell and in further view of Medina et al (2019/0325379), hereinafter Medina.
Wan’s teachings in combination with the teachings of Connell are discussed above with respect to claims 6-13 and 15. The combination however fails to specifically teach with respect to claims 6 and 14, reviewing and verifying by assigned personal, the information provided by inventory system.
With respect to claims 6 and 14, Medina discloses in paragraph 0068, asking a human employee in the facility to physically verify the results of the inventory information within the facility and report the results to the database, which may perform a comparison.
In view of Medina’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use include Medina’s review and verification step to the Wan/Connell inventory system. One would be motivated to include extra verification in order to confirm the results obtained from the drone inventory analysis.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: see attached PTO-892, reference cited.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [allyson.trail@uspto.gov].
All Internet e-mail communications will be made of record in the application file. PTO employees do not engage in Internet communications where there exists a possibility that sensitive information could be identified or exchanged unless the record includes a properly signed express waiver of the confidentiality requirements of 35 U.S.C. 122. This is more clearly set forth in the Interim Internet Usage Policy published in the Official Gazette of the Patent and Trademark on February 25, 1997 at 1195 OG 89.
/ALLYSON N TRAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
August 23, 2023