DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 19 May 2022, 4 August 2022, and 25 August 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The original drawings received on 19 May 2022 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kass, U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2014/0117294 A1 in view of Ulenaers et al., U. S. Patent Application Publication US 2002/0117950 A1.
Kass teaches a glass comprising in weight percentages: 65-85% of SiO2, 7-20% of B2O3, 0-7% of Al2O3, 0-2% of Li2O, 0-8% of Na2O, 0-12% of K2O, 0-5% of BaO, 0-2% of CaO, 0-2% of MgO, 0-2% of ZnO, 0.05-0.4% of TiO2, 0.025-0.3% of MoO3, and 0.001-0.01% of V2O5. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0001]-[ 0018]. Kass teaches the glass us used for lamp bulbs. See paragraph [0023]. Kass teaches that the glass comprises at most 20 ppm of Fe2O3. See paragraph [0025]. Kass teaches that the addition of TiO2, SnO2, MnO2, MoO3, or V2O5 influence the UV transmission and solarization resistance. See paragraph [0034].
Kass fails to teach any examples or compositional ranges that are sufficiently specific to anticipate the compositional limitations of claims 1-20.
Ulenaers et al. teach a glass for a lamp comprising in terms pf weight percentages 60-75% of SiO2, 0.1-7% of Al2O3, 0.1-2.5% of Li2O, 5-12% of Na2O, 2-9% of K2O, 0.1-3% of MgO, 0.1-5% of CaO, 0.1-10% of SrO, 5-15% of BaO, 0.01-1% of MoO3, and 0.25-2.5% of SO3. See Table 1 in paragraph [0022]. Ulenaers et al. teach that MoO3 dissolved in the glass reduces the transmittance particularly in the region of 290-380 nm. See paragraph [0025]. Ulenaers et al.
As to claim 1, Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. would read on the glass comprising at least 60.0 wt% of SiO2 and one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the glass of Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. to decrease the amount of MoO3 in the glass to increase the transmittance at 260 nm.
As to claim 2, Kass teaches a glass comprising in weight percentages: 65-85% of SiO2, 7-20% of B2O3, 0-7% of Al2O3, 0-2% of Li2O, 0-8% of Na2O, 0-12% of K2O, 0-5% of BaO, 0-2% of CaO, 0-2% of MgO, 0-2% of ZnO, 0.05-0.4% of TiO2, 0.025-0.3% of MoO3, and 0.001-0.01% of V2O5. See paragraphs [0001] -[0018], which reads on a glass comprising 60-80% of SiO2, 0.5-30% of B2O3, 0.5-10% of Al2O3, 2-20% of Na2O, 0-20% of K2O, and 0-15% of BaO, as recited in instant claim 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 3, Kass teaches a glass comprising in weight percentages: 65-85% of SiO2, 7-20% of B2O3, 0-7% of Al2O3, 0-2% of Li2O, 0-8% of Na2O, 0-12% of K2O, 0-5% of BaO, 0-2% of CaO, 0-2% of MgO, 0-2% of ZnO, 0.05-0.4% of TiO2, 0.025-0.3% of MoO3, and 0.001-0.01% of V2O5. See paragraphs [0001] -[0018], which reads on a glass comprising 60-75% of SiO2, 0.5-5% of B2O3, 0.5-5% of Al2O3, 7-10% of Na2O, 8-12% of K2O, and 4.5-10% of BaO, as recited in instant claim 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 4, Kass teaches that the glass comprises at most 20 ppm of Fe2O3, (see paragraph [0025]), which reads the glass comprises less than 10 ppm of Fe2O3 as recited in instant claim 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 5, Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. teach the glass comprises 0.05-0.4% of TiO2, (see paragraph [0015]) and ]. Kass teaches that the addition of TiO2, SnO2, MnO2, MoO3, or V2O5 influence the UV transmission and solarization resistance (see paragraph [0034]), which reads on the glass comprising less than 10ppm of TiO2 and one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the glass of Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. to decrease the amount of TiO2 in the glass to increase the transmittance at 260 nm.
As to claim 6, Kass does not include the addition of NiO to the glass, which reads on the glass comprising less than 10 ppm of NiO, as recited in instant claim 6.
As to claim 7, Kass does not include the addition of Cr2O3 to the glass, which reads on the glass comprising less than 10 ppm of Cr2O3, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Kass teaches that the glass comprises 0-3% of Cl- (see paragraph [0014] of Kass), which reads on the glass comprising more than 100 ppm of Cl, as recited in instant claim 8.
As to claim 9, Kass teaches does not include the addition of ZrO2 to the glass, which reads on the glass comprising less than 0.5 wt% of ZrO2, as recited by instant claim 9.
As to claim 10, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. would inherently possess the transmittance property as recited in claim 10. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 11, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. would inherently possess the induced extinction property as recited in claim 11. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 12, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. would inherently possess the molybdenum induced extinction property as recited in claim 12. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 13, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. would inherently possess the partial pressure of oxygen property as recited in claim 13. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 14, Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. would read on the glass comprising at least 60.0 wt% of SiO2 and one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the glass of Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. to decrease the amount of MoO3 in the glass to increase the transmittance at 260 nm. Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. teach that the glass is used as a lamp.
As to claim 15, Kass teaches a glass comprising in weight percentages: 65-85% of SiO2, 7-20% of B2O3, 0-7% of Al2O3, 0-2% of Li2O, 0-8% of Na2O, 0-12% of K2O, 0-5% of BaO, 0-2% of CaO, 0-2% of MgO, 0-2% of ZnO, 0.05-0.4% of TiO2, 0.025-0.3% of MoO3, and 0.001-0.01% of V2O5. See paragraphs [0001] -[0018], which reads on a glass comprising 60-80% of SiO2, 0.5-30% of B2O3, 0.5-10% of Al2O3, 2-20% of Na2O, 0-20% of K2O, and 0-15% of BaO, as recited in instant claim 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 16, Kass teaches a glass comprising in weight percentages: 65-85% of SiO2, 7-20% of B2O3, 0-7% of Al2O3, 0-2% of Li2O, 0-8% of Na2O, 0-12% of K2O, 0-5% of BaO, 0-2% of CaO, 0-2% of MgO, 0-2% of ZnO, 0.05-0.4% of TiO2, 0.025-0.3% of MoO3, and 0.001-0.01% of V2O5. See paragraphs [0001] -[0018], which reads on a glass comprising 60-75% of SiO2, 0.5-5% of B2O3, 0.5-5% of Al2O3, 7-10% of Na2O, 8-12% of K2O, and 4.5-10% of BaO, as recited in instant claim 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 17, Kass teaches that the glass comprises at most 20 ppm of Fe2O3, (see paragraph [0025]), which reads the glass comprises less than 10 ppm of Fe2O3 as recited in instant claim 17.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 18, Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. teach the glass comprises 0.05-0.4% of TiO2, (see paragraph [0015]) and ]. Kass teaches that the addition of TiO2, SnO2, MnO2, MoO3, or V2O5 influence the UV transmission and solarization resistance (see paragraph [0034]), which reads on the glass comprising less than 10ppm of TiO2 and one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the glass of Kass in view of Ulenaers et al. to decrease the amount of TiO2 in the glass to increase the transmittance at 260 nm.
As to claim 19, Kass does not include the addition of NiO to the glass, which reads on the glass comprising less than 10 ppm of NiO, as recited in instant claim 19.
As to claim 20, Kass does not include the addition of Cr2O3 to the glass, which reads on the glass comprising less than 10 ppm of Cr2O3, as recited in instant claim 20.
Conclusion
The additional references cited on the 892 have been cited as art of interest since they are considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above.
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
21 February 2026