DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Based on the current record, the disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 63/056362, 63/056370, 17/385441, 17/385579, 17/575194, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for all claims of this application, which recite systems having multiple work sites and a central power plant with arrangement for interconnecting and transferring power between their respective components, and which does not appear to be disclosed in any of the previous applications. The effective filing date of the present claims will therefore be considered as 5/19/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinderliter (US2022/0239100), hereinafter Hinderliter100, in view of Oehring (US2017/0222409).
Re claim 1, Hinderliter100 teaches a coordinated energy dispatching system (see Hinderliter100: [0068-0070], Fig. 4) comprising:
a central power plant (switchgear <408C> and associated generators <404D,405,404E>, see Hinderliter100: [0069-0070], Fig. 4) disposed at a first location, comprising:
a reciprocating generator (diesel reciprocating generator <405>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0069], Fig. 4); and
a central switchgear (switchgear <408C>, see Hinderliter100: [0070], [0072], Fig. 4) comprising:
a plurality of inputs (inputs of switchgear <408C> connected to associated generators <404D,405,404E>, see Hinderliter100: [0069-0070], [0072], Fig. 4), wherein an input of the plurality of inputs is electrically connected to the reciprocating generator; and
a power distribution output (output of switchgear <408C> to tie breaker <422>, see Hinderliter100: [0072], Fig. 4), wherein the plurality of inputs are electrically connected to the power distribution output;
a first work site (switchgear <408A> and associated generators <436> and loads <424>) disposed at a second location and second work site (switchgear <408B> and associated generators <404A-C> and loads <412>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0072], Fig. 4; note that the term "work site" does not appear to provide any specific further limitation under broadest reasonable interpretation) disposed at a third location, each work site comprising:
an energy source (respective generators <436>, <404A-C>);
an electric powered assembly (respective loads <424>, <412>); and
a work site switchgear (respective switchgears <408A>, <408B>) comprising:
a plurality of inputs (respective inputs of switchgears <408A>, <408B> to their respective generators <436>, <404A-C>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0072], Fig. 4), wherein an input of the plurality of inputs is electrically connected to the energy source;
an assembly output (respective outputs of switchgears <408A>, <408B> to their respective loads <424>, <412>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0072], Fig. 4) electrically connected to the electric powered assembly, wherein the plurality of inputs are electrically connected to the assembly output; and
a power distribution input-output (respective connections of switchgears <408A>, <408B> to respective tie breakers <422>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0072], Fig. 4) electrically connected to the electric powered assembly, wherein the plurality of inputs are electrically connected to the power distribution input-output; and
a power distribution network comprising a system of transmission lines (tie breakers <422> with respective electrical cable for forming electrical bus connection between the switch gears, see Hinderliter100: [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding interconnecting electrical network via tie breakers and electrical cables to allow for power transfer between any of the switchgears) electrically connected to the power distribution output of the central switchgear of the central power plant and the power distribution input-output of the work site switchgear of the first and second work site, wherein the power distribution network permits transfer of power between the central power plant, the first work site, and the second work site. See Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0068-0074], Fig. 4.
Although Hinderliter100 makes general suggestion that the system may be a site with equipment spread across multiple wells (see Hinderliter100: [0046] regarding application to larger well sites with equipment at different wells), implying generally different locations associated with each switchgear's components, Hinderliter100 does not explicitly discuss arranging the central plant components, first worksite components, and second worksite components in different locations geographically remote from each other. It is noted under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim does not appear to define or specify exactly what distance would be considered "geographically remote", such that having switchgears at different wells of a well-site could broadly be understood as implying “geographically remote” locations.
Oehring, however, teaches that it is known in systems having multiple switchgear units connected by a tie-breaker for sharing, that the tie-breaker can include a long distance transmission line, thus implying the switchgears may be located at a long distance from each other (see Oehring: [0017-0021] regarding general description of tie breaker being able to include long distance transmission line). Oehring further teaches that it is further known in switchgear power distribution arrangements that the switchgear electrical systems and electrical interconnections may be placed at any desired geographic arrangement as long as the electrical connections are generally the same as understood by those skilled in the art (see Oehring: [0065-0066], [0078-0079], Fig. 9 regarding switchgear trailers for power distribution and connected for power sharing via cables, and general suggestion that any geographic arrangement would essentially function the same way if electrical schematic does not change). Oehring additionally suggests switchgear systems may be arranged to provide power for multiple fleets or well sites (see Oehring: [0080], Fig. 11 regarding switchgear trailers connected for power sharing applied to powering multiple fleets or well sites). Oehring additionally gives some example power distribution connections between switchgears over long distances of 30 miles (see Oehring: [0082-0086], Figs. 12-13 regarding example long distance electrical connections of 30 miles between generation sources and loads receiving power; note Oehring: [0082] explains the configuration of Fig. 12 is merely one example, and generally those skilled in the art would understand that different configurations may be provided to allow for providing power to equipment located remotely from generation equipment; note again the claim does not specifically define how far "geographically remote" would be).
One of ordinary skill in the electrical power distribution art would appreciate that Oehring provides multiple examples of power transmission and/or power sharing between switchgear units for multiple “sites” and also across long distances. One of ordinary skill would appreciate the teachings of Oehring suggest that the physical location and corresponding length of cable electrical connecting each switchgear trailer for power sharing, would generally not affect the overall electrical transmission between parts of the system and that the system predictably functions in the same fashion. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and adapt the power distribution switchgear arrangement of Hinderliter100 to incorporate the teachings and suggestions of Oehring by having the respective switchgears and components of the central plant and each site of Hinderliter100 be geographically remotely located from each other with respective long distance tie-breaker cable connections over the required distance as needed as suggested by Oehring for purposes of adapting the system to provide powering equipment which may be spread out over multiple locations/sites depending on the intended application (see Hinderliter100: [0046]; Oehring: [0017-0021], [0078-0079], [0082-0086]). One of ordinary skill would appreciate as suggested by Oehring that power transmission and/or sharing across different sites/locations separated by a corresponding long distance is known, and predictably operates in the expected manner even with longer distances as would be understood by those skilled in the art.
Re claim 4-5, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the coordinated energy dispatching system of claim 1. The specific embodiment shown in Hinderliter100: Fig. 4 does not explicitly provide an example configuration with multiple reciprocating generators corresponding to switchgear <408C>/central plant or specific details of their maximum power outputs, although example of using a variety of different types and sized generators is shown. However, Hinderliter100 further suggests that the generator arrangement shown is merely exemplary and that one of ordinary skill in the art may easily adjust to use any type of generator, including reciprocating, for any incoming generator with any desired power rating (see Hinderliter100: [0068-0069]). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Hinderliter100: Fig. 4 such that the central power plant comprises a plurality of reciprocating generators electrically connected to respective plurality of inputs of the plurality of inputs of the central switchgear; wherein the plurality of reciprocating generators includes a first reciprocating generator and a second reciprocating generator, wherein the first reciprocating generator has a higher maximum power output than the second reciprocating generator for purposes of accommodating any size/space restrictions associated with the switchgear <408C> and desired power requirements (see Hinderliter100: [0068-0069], Fig. 4) with the specific recited generator types/power ratings further being among one of the solutions/combinations of generator types and sizes predictably providing the same overall function disclosed by Hinderliter100.
Re claim 6, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the coordinated energy dispatching system of claim 5, wherein the second reciprocating generator is configured to generate electricity in response to increased demand from the electric powered assembly of the first work site (see Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding load sharing to provide power from any generator to loads including those of other switchgears in response to increasing demand with loads exceeding current generator capacity, i.e. any of switchgear <408C> generators to switchgear <408A> loads).
Re claim 7, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the coordinated energy dispatching system of claim 5, wherein the energy source of the first work site comprises a work site reciprocating generator (natural gas reciprocating generator <436>, see Hinderliter100: [0072], Fig. 4), wherein the work site reciprocating generator has a lower maximum power output than the first reciprocating generator of the plurality of reciprocating generators of the central power plant (see Hinderliter100: [0068-0069], Fig. 4, and discussion of claims 4-5 above regarding obviousness of choosing any combination of generator relative sizing for the same reasons discussed above).
Re claim 8, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the coordinated energy dispatching system of claim 1, wherein the electric powered assembly of the first work site comprises a hydraulic fracturing unit or a drilling rig (see Hinderliter100: [0072], Fig. 4, regarding electric drilling rig <424>).
Re claim 9, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the coordinated energy dispatching system of claim 1, further comprising an electrical interconnect (tie breaker <422> between switchgears <408A> and <408B>) between the first work site and the second work site, wherein the electrical interconnect permits the energy source of the first work site to provide electricity to the electric powered assembly of the second work site (see Hinderliter100: [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding interconnecting electrical connection via tie breaker between switchgears <408A>, <408B> to allow for power transfer/load sharing).
Re claim 10, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the coordinated energy dispatching system of claim 1, further comprising a controller (see Hinderliter100: [0047], [0049-0050], [0054], [0056-0057], [0065], [0069], [0074], Figs. 3-4 regarding managing load sharing and generators via load shedding system which may be implemented as control software/hardware in the datavan or as other control components) configured to direct power from the central power plant and the first work site to the second work site via the power distribution network.
Re claim 11, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches a method of dispatching electric power (see Hinderliter100: Fig. 4; see also discussion of claim 1 above regarding details of combination), the method comprising:
providing power to a power distribution network comprising a system of transmission lines (tie breakers <422> with respective electrical cable for forming electrical bus connection between the switch gears, see Hinderliter100: [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding interconnecting electrical network via tie breakers and electrical cables to allow for power transfer between any of the switchgears) via a central power plant (switchgear <408C> and associated generators <404D,405,404E>, see Hinderliter100: [0069-0070], Fig. 4) disposed at a first location;
powering a first electrically powered assembly (fracturing pumps <412>) disposed at a first work site (switchgear <408B> and associated generators <404A-C> and loads <412>) disposed at a second location that is geographically remote from the first location (see discussion of claim 1 regarding obviousness of remote locations as suggested by Oehring) via a first mobile power generation system (switchgear <408B> and associated generators <404A-C>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0072], Fig. 4 regarding switchgear <408B> powering loads <412> with corresponding generators, the entire system generally being a mobile microgrid) disposed at the first work site;
powering a second electrically powered assembly (drilling rig <424>) disposed at a second work site (switchgear <408A> and associated generators <436> and loads <424>) disposed at a third location that is geographically remote from both the first location and the second location (see discussion of claim 1 regarding obviousness of remote locations as suggested by Oehring) via a second mobile power generation system (switchgear <408A> and associated generators <436>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0072], Fig. 4) disposed at the second work site;
directing power from the central power plant to the first electrically powered assembly through the power distribution network in response to an increased power demand of the first electrically powered assembly (see Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding load sharing to provide power from any generator to loads including those of other switchgears in response to increasing demand with loads exceeding current generator capacity, i.e. switchgear <408C> generators to switchgear <408B> loads); and
directing power from the second mobile power generation system to the first electrically powered assembly through the power distribution network in response to the increased power demand of the first electrically powered assembly (see Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding load sharing to provide power from any generator to loads including those of other switchgears in response to increasing demand with loads exceeding current generator capacity, i.e. switchgear <408A> generators to switchgear <408B> loads). See Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0068-0074], Fig. 4. Note generally that claim language is given broadest reasonable interpretation, and Applicant is cautioned that although the best prior art is currently applied, the method claims in particular recite limitations which resemble general prior art microgrids or overall utility grid operations and it is strongly recommended that further structural detail of the intended arrangement/application be explicitly provided.
Re claim 12, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the second mobile power generation system (switchgear <408A> and associated generators <436>) comprises a reciprocating generator (reciprocating generator <436>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0069], [0072]), the method further comprising: directing power from the reciprocating generator of the second mobile power generation system to the first electrically powered assembly (see Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding load sharing to provide power from any generator to loads including those of other switchgears in response to increasing demand with loads exceeding current generator capacity, i.e. switchgear <408A> generators to switchgear <408B> loads).
Re claim 15, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: performing a fracturing operation via the first electrically powered assembly (fracturing pump <412>, see Hinderliter100: [0003], [0070-0071], Fig. 4).
Re claim 16, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: generating power via a central reciprocating generator (diesel reciprocating generator <405>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0069], [0072], Fig. 4) disposed at the central power plant.
Re claims 17-19, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: generating additional power via an additional central reciprocating generator disposed at the central power plant in response to an increased power demand; wherein the central reciprocating generator has a higher maximum power output than the additional central reciprocating generator; wherein the first mobile power generation system comprises a first reciprocating generator and the central reciprocating generator has a higher maximum power output than the first reciprocating generator (see discussion of claims 4-5 above regarding obviousness of same/similar limitations, including providing multiple reciprocating generators with different ratings for switchgear <408C>, and generally providing any type/size generator including for switchgear <408B> such as a lower power reciprocating generator).
Re claim 20, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches a non-transitory machine readable storage medium containing executable instructions which when executed by a controller to cause the controller to perform a method (see Hinderliter100: [0047], [0049-0050], [0054], [0056-0057], [0065], [0069], [0074], Figs. 3-4 regarding managing load sharing and generators via load shedding system which may be implemented as control software necessarily implemented by some corresponding control components; see also discussion of claims 1 regarding details of combination), the method comprising:
monitoring a power demand (see Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding monitoring load demand levels with respect to generator capacity to control load sharing) of an electrically powered assembly (fracturing pumps <412>) disposed at a first work site (switchgear <408B> and associated generators <404A-C> and loads <412>) disposed at a first location, wherein the first work site includes a mobile power generation system (switchgear <408B> and associated generators <404A-C>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0072], Fig. 4 regarding switchgear <408B> powering loads <412> with corresponding generators, the entire system generally being a mobile microgrid) electrically connected to the electrically powered assembly;
directing power from a central power plant (switchgear <408C> and associated generators <404D,405,404E>, see Hinderliter100: [0069-0070], Fig. 4) disposed at a second location that is geographically remote from the first location (see discussion of claim 1 regarding obviousness of remote locations as suggested by Oehring) to the first electrically powered assembly through a power distribution network comprising a system of transmission lines (tie breakers <422> with respective electrical cable for forming electrical bus connection between the switch gears, see Hinderliter100: [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding interconnecting electrical network via tie breakers and electrical cables to allow for power transfer between any of the switchgears) in response to an increased power demand of the first electrically powered assembly (see Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding load sharing to provide power from any generator to loads including those of other switchgears in response to increasing demand with loads exceeding current generator capacity, i.e. switchgear <408C> generators to switchgear <408B> loads); and
directing power from a second mobile power generation system (switchgear <408A> and associated generators <436>, see Hinderliter100: [0068-0072], Fig. 4) disposed at a second work site (switchgear <408A> and associated generators <436> and loads <424>) disposed at a third location that is geographically remote from both the first location and the second location (see discussion of claim 1 regarding obviousness of remote locations as suggested by Oehring) to the first electrically powered assembly through the power distribution network in response to the increased power demand of the first electrically powered assembly (see Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding load sharing to provide power from any generator to loads including those of other switchgears in response to increasing demand with loads exceeding current generator capacity, i.e. switchgear <408A> generators to switchgear <408B> loads). See Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0068-0074], Fig. 4. Note generally that claim language is given broadest reasonable interpretation, and Applicant is cautioned that although the best prior art is currently applied, the method claims in particular recite limitations which resemble general prior art microgrids or overall utility grid operations and it is strongly recommended that further structural detail of the intended arrangement/application be explicitly provided.
Claim(s) 2-3, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring, as applied respectively above, further in view of Hinderliter (US2021/0131248), hereinafter Hinderliter248.
Re claims 2-3, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the coordinated energy dispatching system of claim 1, and although generally suggests that other power sources could be used with the generators (see Hinderliter100: [0012]) does not explicitly disclose use of an electrical storage system as an additional power source. Hinderliter248, however, teaches that it is known and desirable in drilling/fracturing load systems being powered by generators via switchgear to additionally provide an electrical storage system/battery connected to another input of a switchgear receiving generator power for purposes of supporting the generator power output for loads (see Hinderliter248: [0003], [0005], [0016], [0018-0019], Fig. 1 regarding providing a battery to charge from generator power and discharge to support/backup generator). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring to further have the first work site (associated with switchgear <408A>) further comprises an electrical storage system battery electrically connected to at least one input of the plurality of inputs of the work site switchgear; and/or have the central power plant (associated with switchgear <408C>) comprises an electrical storage system battery electrically connected to at least one input of the plurality of inputs of the central switchgear for purposes of providing means to store any excess power generated by the respective generators of the switchgears and to quickly provide power support when associated loads are above the capabilities of associated generators or a generator fails, and other operational benefits (see Hinderliter248: [0003], [0005], [0016], [0018-0019], [0035-0042], Fig. 1 regarding useful functions of the power storage).
Re claim 13, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring teaches the method of claim 12. Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring, further in view of Hinderliter248 further teaches wherein the second mobile power generation system (associated with switchgear <408A>) further comprises an electrical storage system including a battery (see discussion of claims 2-3 above regarding details of combination and obviousness of providing electrical storage system battery), the method further comprising: directing power from the electrical storage system to the second electrically powered assembly (see Hinderliter248: [0003], [0005], [0016], [0018-0019], Fig. 1 regarding operating the battery to supply respective loads when needed); and directing power from the reciprocating generator away from the second electrically powered assembly and toward the first electrically powered assembly (see Hinderliter100: [0035], [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding load sharing to provide power from any generator to loads including those of other switchgears in response to increasing demand with loads exceeding current generator capacity, i.e. switchgear <408A> generators to switchgear <408B> loads; note the claim does not require the operations to be simultaneous or specify under what conditions/particular arrangement by which the operations occur).
Re claim 14, Hinderliter100 in view of Oehring, further in view of Hinderliter248 teaches the method of claim 13 further comprising directing power from the reciprocating generator away from the second electrically powered assembly and toward the first electrically powered assembly via an interconnect (tie breaker <422> between switchgears <408A> and <408B>, see Hinderliter100: [0047], [0049-0050], [0072], [0074], Fig. 4 regarding interconnecting electrical connection via tie breaker between switchgears <408A>, <408B> to allow for power transfer/load sharing).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The focus of Applicant’s arguments appears to remain on the obviousness of the respective groups of switchgears and components being at a first location, a first work site at a second location, and a second work site at a third location all “geographically remote” from each other. As has been previously noted, what should be considered a separate location/site, and how far apart such locations would have to be to be “geographically remote” has not been explicitly defined by Applicant’s disclosure, and raises questions as to whether this claim recitation would even distinguish from Hinderliter100’s general arrangement under broadest reasonable interpretation. However, for the sake of addressing the intended features, an obviousness rejection in view of Oehring was previously and currently applied.
Applicant alleges on pgs. 7-8 of the Remarks, item 1, that the examiner has not articulated or explained the level of ordinary skill in the art, and mention of “high level of skill in the art”. Although Applicant attempts to preemptively state that this is not a case where “the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level” of ordinary skill in the art, on the contrary, the specific discussion of multiple relevant portions of both Hinderliter100 and Oehring in the previously applied prior art rejection should be beyond sufficient to demonstrate both the relevant knowledge and general understanding of those skilled in the art at the time (see MPEP 2141.03, II). Applicant is also reminded that the examiner in using their understanding of the prior art and basic scientific knowledge of the field is making their best attempt to characterize the hypothetical person of ordinary skill in the art and how they would understand the relevant disclosures of the prior art (see MPEP: 2141, II, C). Applicant may also consider other cited prior art of record such as Manur (US2021/0143640), Kondabathini (US2017/0077699), and McDonnell (US2010/0292853) as other examples of known power distribution arrangement between multiple locations/microgrids each with their own respective sources and loads as further indication of the level of skill in the art.
As explicitly cited and explained in the prior art rejection, Oehring: [0017-0021] discloses tie breakers may include a long distance transmission line, Oehring: [0080], Fig. 11 discloses multiple switchgears providing power for multiple fleets or well sites, and Oehring: [0082-0086], Figs. 12-13 discloses example arrangements transmitting power between switchgears may use long distance transmission lines over multiple miles. The prior art disclosure therefore appears to suggest that one of ordinary skill in the art understands power transmission and sharing between switchgear units may feasibly and predictably be across long distances, i.e. at multiple locations. Applicant does not appear to provide any particular evidence or supported reasoning as to why one of ordinary skill would think Oehring somehow limits the arrangements to a single arbitrary location. Applicant has not cited any particular portion of Hinderliter100 or Oehring that suggests the arrangements would be restricted to or somehow cease to function if not limited to a single location. Sufficient support and characterization of the level of ordinary skill in the art appears to be provided by the prior art rejection and the record.
Applicant alleges on pg. 8 of the remarks, item 2, that the Oehring reference fails to disclose locating generation and distribution equipment at more than one site. Applicant’s argument appears to be on the basis that Oehring has not disclosed an explicit single example placing each group of recited components explicitly at separate geographically remote location from each other. However, Applicant’s argument remains overall unpersuasive given how it is believed one of ordinary skill would understand the overall disclosure and teachings of Oehring as they may be applied to Hinderliter100 in combination. Applicant is reminded that “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton" (see MPEP: 2141.03), and that the cited portions of Oehring (e.g. Oehring: [0017-0021], [0065-0066], [0078-0079], [0080], [0082-0086], Figs. 9, 11-13) appear to provide multiple examples and suggestions that tie breaker lines between switchgear units may be over long distances while still predictably providing their expected function of enabling power transmission/sharing between the electrically connected units, the electrical connections generally not limited by geographical arrangement. It therefore appears reasonable to expect that one of the ordinary skill would be able to apply the teachings of Oehring to the electrical arrangement of Hinderliter100 by generally having longer distance tie breaker connection lines between the respective groups of switchgears and components, such that it can be reasonably said that they are each at “geographically remote” locations while still predictably operating in the same manner. Applicant has not provided any further evidence or reason as to why such modification would render the combination inoperable, nor explanation of any unexpected results precluding a conclusion of obviousness.
Applicant is generally advised that whether or not the intended invention is more than placing components in different geographic locations, at present the limitation would appear to be the only claimed difference with respect to the disclosure of Hinderliter100, and the further teachings of Oehring, when taken together in combination as understood by those of ordinary skill in the art, would appear to suggest that modification of the physical location/distance between each group of components would predictably result in the system still able to function to distribute power in generally the same manner and across different locations as needed for user's application. If Applicant's invention somehow involves special arrangement of components, connections, and/or control operations for specially coordinating remote sites beyond a standard power grid arrangement or beyond the teachings of Hinderliter100 and Oehring, then it would be recommended to explicitly claim such features with explanation for how the claimed features distinguish and are nonobvious over the prior art. Applicant should also consider other cited prior art such as Manur (US2021/0143640), Kondabathini (US2017/0077699), and McDonnell (US2010/0292853) as other examples of known power distribution arrangement between multiple locations/microgrids each with their own respective sources and loads.
Conclusion
/DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836