DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 12 has been newly added.
Claims 1 and 3-12 are pending and examined as follows:
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of foreign application DE10 2021 113 148.0, however the present application does not properly claim priority to the submitted foreign application. If this copy is being filed to obtain priority to the foreign filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), applicant must also file a claim for such priority as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b) or 365(b), and 37 CFR 1.55. If the application was filed before September 16, 2012, the priority claim must be made in either the oath or declaration or in an application data sheet; if the application was filed on or after September 16, 2012, the claim for foreign priority must be presented in an application data sheet.
If the application being examined is an original application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111(a) (other than a design application), the claim for priority must be presented during the pendency of the application, and within the later of four months from the actual filing date of the application or sixteen months from the filing date of the prior foreign application. See 37 CFR 1.55(d)(1). If the application being examined is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371, the claim for priority must be made within the time limit set forth in the PCT and Regulations under the PCT. See 37 CFR 1.55(d)(2). Any claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) not presented within the time period set forth in 37 CFR 1.55 is considered to have been waived. If a claim for foreign priority is presented after the time period set forth in 37 CFR 1.55, the claim may be accepted if the claim properly identifies the prior foreign application and is accompanied by a grantable petition under 37 CFR 1.55(e) to accept an unintentionally delayed claim for priority and the applicable petition fee under 37 CFR 1.17(m)(1) or (m)(2).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the several carriers of claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the control device in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the PTC element" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim limitation “at least one PTC element” in lines 2-3 refers to an open ended range of elements and it is unclear which element “the PTC element” of that range is being referred to.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the PTC heating devices" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim limitation “a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heating device” in lines 2-3 which refers to a single device and it is unclear which element “the PTC heating devices” refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-8,11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giffels et al (US 2014/0050466).
With regards to claim 1, Giffels et al discloses an electric heating apparatus (electric heating device, Title) comprising a PTC heating device comprising at least one PTC element and electric conductor tracks which are connected to the PTC element in an electrically conductive manner (heating resistors can be a ceramic PTC element held in a frame 5 which are fastened to a contact plate 7, paragraph 0024, lines 1-8, Fig. 4); a housing which receives the heating device and on which inlet and outlet openings for a fluid to be heated are exposed (tube housing 1 which receives the PTC element through cavity 4 and the housing 1 has openings 3 which are an inlet and outlet, Fig. 1); and a helically-shaped tube which is provided in the housing, which connects the inlet opening to the outlet opening, and which is coupled to the heating device in a thermally conductive manner (screw 2 provided in housing 1, which connects the openings 3 and is thermally coupled to the PTC elements through cavity 4, Fig. 1-3); wherein the helically-shaped tube has turns formed therein which collectively form a helix (screw 2 is helically shaped, Fig. 1-3); wherein the PTC heating device projects radially inward and between adjacent turns of the helically-shaped tube (the heating resistors 6 can be electrically contacted on one side via the screw 2 and on the other side by a contact plate 7 and inserted through interior 4 and extend inward and between turns of screw, Fig. 3,4).
With regards to claim 3, Giffels et al discloses wherein at least one PTC element is coupled to adjacent turns of the helically-shaped tube in a thermally conductive manner (PTC element has heating resistors 6 that are adjacent to the screw 2 and its turns when it is inserted in cavity 4, Fig. 1-3).
With regards to claim 4, Giffels et al discloses wherein an electrical insulation is provided on an inner circumferential surface of the helically-shaped tube, and wherein the PTC element is provided opposite the insulation on an outer circumference of the helically-shaped tube (the rear face of the contact plate 7 facing away from the heating resistors 6 is electrically insulated with respect to the screw 2 by an insulation layer, paragraph 0024, lines 4-6).
With regards to claim 5, Giffels et al discloses a carrier from which several heating devices project at locations between adjacent turns of the helically-shaped tube (frame 5 carries heating resistors 6 at various locations adjacent to turns of the screw 2 while being held in cavity 4, Fig. 3,4).
With regards to claim 6, Giffels et al discloses wherein the carrier carries several heating devices provided one above the other in an axial direction of the helically-shaped tube (frame 5 carries heating resistors 6 at various locations adjacent to turns of the screw 2 in an axial direction while being held in cavity 4, Fig. 3,4).
With regards to claim 7, Giffels et al discloses wherein several carriers are provided and are distributed in a circumferential direction of the helically-shaped tube (frame 5 carries heating resistors 6 at various locations adjacent to turns of the screw 2 in a circumferential direction while being held in cavity 4, Fig. 3,4).
With regards to claim 8, Giffels et al discloses wherein the carrier accommodates a conductor assembly which is connected in an electrically conductively manner to the heating devices held by the carrier (frame 5 has contact plates 7 which connect to an electric source, Fig. 4).
With regards to claim 11, Giffels et al discloses wherein the heating device is provided subject to a pretension between adjacent turns of the helically-shaped tube (screw 2 will have its own pitch and tension, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 12, Giffels et al discloses wherein the PTC heating device abuts against the helically shaped tube (screw 2 has a cavity 4 in which the heating resistor are arranged, paragraph 0023, lines 102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giffels et al as applied to claim 1, in view of Obst et al (US 9,167,629).
With regards to claim 9, Giffels et al does not disclose a control device which controls the heat output of the electric heating apparatus, which is provided within the housing, and which is electrically connected to the conductor assembly.
Obst et al teaches a control device which controls the heat output of the electric heating apparatus, which is provided within the housing, and which is electrically connected to the conductor assembly (a control circuit accommodated in the electronics housing 36 is embedded such that between the outer body 18 and the heating element 20, paragraph 0068, lines 1-5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Giffels et al and Obst et al before him or her, to modify the electric components of Giffels et al to include the control circuit of Obst et al because the combination allows for increased controllability of a heating device.
With regards to claim 10, Obst et al teaches wherein the control device comprises at least one power switch which generates waste heat and which is connected to the helically-shaped tube in a thermally conductively manner (a current measurement can then also take place with a suitable design via a switching or regulating element which controls the respective heating circuit, paragraph 0063, lines 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argument: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Examiners response: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach amended features of claim 1 including “wherein the PTC heating device projects radially inward and between adjacent turns of the helically-shaped tube”. Giffels et al discloses an electric heating apparatus (electric heating device, Title) wherein the PTC heating device projects radially inward and between adjacent turns of the helically-shaped tube (the heating resistors 6 can be electrically contacted on one side via the screw 2 and on the other side by a contact plate 7 and inserted through cavity 4 and extend inward and between turns of screw, Fig. 3,4). The cavity 4 is integrated with the screw 2 therefore parts of the heating resistor 6 contacts the screw 2.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761