DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Note: This office action is in response to communication filed on 07/16/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 and 18-20 are pending in the application.
Claim(s) 1-13 and 19 is/are allowed.
Claim(s) 14, 18, and 20 are examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/16/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that Min/Grimm does not disclose “administering said anticoagulated whole blood used for priming to said patient”. The argument is not persuasive. Min teaches to use anticoagulated whole blood as a priming solution (¶0031) and Grimm teaches adding/mixing anticoagulant with whole blood and then returning to a donor/patient (¶0007). Thus, the combination of Min and Grimm teaches administering the anticoagulated whole blood used for priming to the patient.
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), applicant’s amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Radwanski (US PGPUB 20150196706) in view of Koudelka (US PGPUB 20150219558), Min (US PGPUB 20050137516) and Grimm (US PGPUB 20030175150).
Regarding claim 14, Radwanski discloses a method for maintaining fluid balance in a patient undergoing a therapeutic cellular treatment (Abstract; ¶0007; and Fig. 5) comprising:
having a fluid flow path of a disposable fluid circuit mounted on a unit (¶0026-0027: disposable processing set 200 mounted on a separation device 10);
collecting a target cell population from a patient in fluid communication with said fluid circuit (Steps 30 and 32 in Fig. 5; ¶0032);
combining a volume of saline with said target cell population to arrive at a treatment-ready product including a predetermined hematocrit (Step 33 in Fig. 5; ¶0033);
treating the treatment-ready product to arrive at a treated cellular product (Steps 34-44 in Fig. 5; ¶0033 and 0036-0037);
administering the treated cellular product to said patient (Step 46 in Fig. 5).
Radwanski further discloses the disposable processing set is remotely controlled by a separate controller such as a computer (¶0035), but does not disclose a reusable hardware unit.
In the same field of endeavor, apparatus for collecting and processing blood, Koudelka discloses a blood separation system provided for controlling the interface between separated blood components (Abstract). Koudelka further discloses the blood separation system is mounted on a reusable hardware unit (¶0004) for the benefit(s) of optimizing centrifugation process and controlling flow through the fluid circuit (¶0004).
Since Radwanski suggests the disposable processing set can be controlled by a computer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Radwanski in view of Koudelka by incorporating a reusable hardware unit, in order to optimize centrifugation process and control flow through the fluid circuit, as suggested in ¶0004 of Koudelka.
Radwanski does not disclose priming the fluid flow path of the disposable fluid circuit mounted on the reusable hardware unit with a predetermined volume of anticoagulated whole blood and administering said anticoagulated whole blood used for priming to said patient.
In the same field of endeavor, apparatus for collecting and processing blood, Min discloses an apparatus for collecting and separating whole blood into one or more components (Abstract). Min further teaches to use anticoagulated whole blood as a priming solution (0031) for the benefit of preventing unnecessary step to have a separate container/bag of saline as part of fluid circuit assembly (¶0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Radwanski/ Koudelka in view of Min by selecting anticoagulated whole blood as priming fluid, in order to prevent unnecessary step to have a separate container/bag of saline as part of fluid circuit assembly, as suggested in ¶0031 of Min. Thus, Radwanski/Koudelka/Min discloses a method step of priming the fluid flow path of the disposable fluid circuit mounted on the reusable hardware unit with a predetermined volume of anticoagulated whole blood.
Radwanski/Koudelka/Min does not disclose administering said anticoagulated whole blood used for priming to said patient.
In the same field of endeavor, systems for separating one or more components from blood, Grimm discloses an apheresis system comprising a disposable fluid circuit 12 (¶0024 and Fig. 1). Grimm further discloses adding/mixing anticoagulant with whole blood and then returning to a donor/patient (¶0007) for the benefit of preventing donor/patient’s blood from clotting as it is processed through the fluid circuit (¶0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Radwanski/Koudelka/Min in view of Grimm by administering anticoagulated whole blood to patient, in order to prevent patient’s blood from clotting as it is processed through the fluid circuit, as suggested in ¶0005 of Grimm.
Regarding claim 18, Radwanski in view of Koudelka/Min/Grimm further discloses combining said volume of saline with said target cell population in a volume selected to arrive at said predetermined hematocrit (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Regarding claim 20, Radwanski/Koudelka/Min in view of Grimm discloses administering said anticoagulated whole blood used for priming to said patient (see rejection of claim 14 above), but does not disclose administering said anticoagulated whole blood used for priming to said patient prior to collecting said target cell population.
Grimm discloses anticoagulant is used to prevent the donor/patient's blood from clotting as it is processed through the fluid circuit of the apheresis system (¶0005). From the teaching of Grimm, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized/deduced that administering said anticoagulated whole blood used for priming to said patient prior to collecting said target cell population yields the predictable result of preventing donor/patient’s blood from clotting as it is processed through the fluid circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Radwanski/Koudelka/Min in view of Grimm in view of Grimm by administering anticoagulated whole blood to patient prior to collecting said target cell population, in order to prevent patient’s blood from clotting as it is processed through the fluid circuit, as suggested in ¶0005 of Grimm.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-13 and 19 is/are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, Gara does not disclose diverting at least a portion of said predetermined volume of said priming solution from the flow path of the fluid circuit to a container and then combining said at least a portion of said predetermined volume of said priming solution with said target cell population to arrive at a treatment-ready product. Examiner did not find any teachings/motivations to modify the method for collecting and treating blood component of Gara to comprise method steps of diverting at least a portion of said predetermined volume of said priming solution from the flow path of the fluid circuit to a container and combining said at least a portion of said predetermined volume of said priming solution with said target cell population to arrive at a treatment-ready product. In addition, Applicant’s arguments, on pages 10-11 of the remarks dated 07/03/2025, explaining why the combination of these limitations make the claimed invention novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record are found persuasive.
Therefore, claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-13 and 19 are deemed novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record.
No other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part, along with the requisite motivation for combining to render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NHU Q. TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781 /ANDREW J MENSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781