Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments presented against the previous rejection of claim 1, Applicant states that Scheucher fails to teach the door coupled to an upper portion of the enclosure, since it is coupled to a front face of the enclosure. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The door of Scheucher extends to the highest point of the housing and is coupled to the housing via the hinges, and is thus coupled to an upper portion of the housing by way of the hinges and when the door is closed.
Examiner respectfully acknowledges the improper mischaracterization of the argument to pivot the enclosure as an admission of obviousness. However, the remaining arguments against a proposed reorientation of the enclosure relating to the previous rejection of claim 1 are moot since the response above does not rely on a pivoting of the enclosure.
Applicant further argues that Moriarty fails to disclose the usage of the light when positioned upright on the ground surface and Scheucher could not be hung or rotated upside down. Examiner respectfully disagrees. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007), and therefore it is believed that a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand light may still be provided when the device of Moriarty is positioned upright, and therefore could be combined with Scheucher without requiring it to be hung or upside down.
Lastly, Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the references of Moriarty or Burch with Scheucher and is such impermissible hindsight. The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation for Burch is knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art and the motivation for Moriarty is found in the reference itself.
Regarding the arguments presented against the previous rejection of claim 14, Applicant argues that the light taught by Burch is not permanently affixed. This argument has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant further states that Burch in fact teaches away from permanently affixing the light to the job box. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Burch does not state permanently affixing the light to the job box should be avoided, and it would be understood to one of ordinary skill in the art that an adhesive fastener would be an attempt to permanently affix the light.
Lastly, Applicant argues that Burch is irrelevant to Scheucher and therefore it would not be obvious to modify Scheucher in view of Burch. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As disclosed in the previous rejection, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated modify Scheucher with Burch to provide illumination of a surrounding work area.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher et al. (USPGPN 2014/0225566 A1), in view of Burch et al. (USPGPN 2018/0231238 A1) and Moriarty (US Patent 6,428,181).
Regarding Claim 1, Scheucher teaches a charging module configured to receive a battery pack, the charging module comprising:
a housing (Fig.1, 101) including a plurality of charging bays (Fig.1, 106) spaced about the housing, each charging bay removably receiving the battery pack (Fig.1, 102), the housing including an upper portion and a lower portion;
at least one lid (Fig.1, 107) coupled to the upper portion of the housing, the housing defining an internal compartment in which the charging bays are positioned (Fig.1: housing 101 has an internal compartment where the charging bays are positioned), the lid permitting access to the internal compartment while the lid is in an open position (Fig.1 shows access to the internal compartment when the lid is open).
Scheucher fails to explicitly teach a base coupled to the lower portion of the housing, the base configured to support the charging module on a ground surface; and
a light coupled to the lower portion of the housing, the light extending around a majority of a perimeter of the housing, the light illuminating a space surrounding the charging module while the lid is in the open position.
However, Burch teaches a housing (Fig.9, 904) with a base (Fig.9, leg members protruding from the bottom of housing 904) coupled to a lower portion of the housing for supporting the housing on a ground surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher with Burch to include a base for allowing airflow around the bottom side of the housing for cooling purposes and for elevating the housing and its contents from the ground surface to avoid potential liquid intrusion from a puddle or other body of liquid on the ground.
Moreover, Moriarty (Fig.1) teaches a light (12) coupled to the lower portion of a housing (lights 12 are coupled to the lower portion of container 7), the light extending around a majority of a perimeter of the housing (Fig.3: plurality of lights 12 around the perimeter of container 7), and the light illuminating a space surrounding the charging module (Fig.1, 25: cover 25 is transparent for light to illuminate the space around the container 7) while the housing is open (Fig.1, 7: container does not possess a lid and therefore housing is open).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher with Moriarty to include a light coupled to the lower portion of the housing, the light extending around a majority of a perimeter of the housing, the light illuminating a space surrounding the charging module while the lid is in the open position. Doing so allows a single system to provide illumination in combination with power at a job site.
Regarding Claim 3, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches comprising a plurality of ports (F59G, 5923) positioned about the housing, the plurality of ports configured to receive a flow of current from an external power supply to thereby charge at least one battery pack (¶0270 discloses an AC input, which would be understood to charge the battery packs from an external power supply), the plurality of ports positioned between the light and the lid (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1, the light is coupled to the lower portion of the housing and the lid is coupled to the upper portion of the housing, a plurality of ports located on a side wall of the housing would be between the upper and lower portions of the housing).
Regarding Claim 6, Schuecher, as modified, further teaches wherein the housing includes four external faces extending around the perimeter of the housing (Fig. 1, 101).
Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the light extends across at least three of the four external faces.
Scheucher, in view of Moriarty, discloses a circular transparent cover which is circular in shape to match the bucket design of the device taught by Moriarty and which extends around the entirety of the external face of the housing. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide a rectangular transparent cover, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Doing so would allow for easier assembly of the system by matching the shapes of the connecting components.
Regarding Claim 7, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein the light illuminates approximately a 360-degree range about the charging module (transparent cover would allow the light to illuminate a 360-range about the charging module).
Regarding Claim 11, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein the housing includes a compartment and a plurality of feet, the plurality of feet configured to engage a ground surface to support the housing (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1, the internal compartment of Scheucher and base/leg members of Burch).
Scheucher, as modified, teaches a light coupled to the lower portion of the housing and the base coupled to the lower portion of the housing, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the light is coupled to the housing between the compartment and the plurality of feet.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the light between the compartment and the plurality of feet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Doing so would allow the light to be elevated from the ground surface to avoid potential liquid intrusion from a puddle or other body of liquid on the ground.
Claim(s) 2, & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Burch and Moriarty, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rosenbecker et al. (USPGPN 20110291617 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach comprising a plurality of indicators positioned adjacent the plurality of charging bays, the indicators configured to indicate a status of the battery pack.
However, Rosenbecker teaches a battery charging system which include indicators (Fig.1, 575) to indicate a status of the batteries connected (¶0048: LED indicates charge status of the battery pack).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Burch and Moriarty, with Rosenbecker to include indicators for the battery status, so that a person could quickly determine the battery statuses by visual inspection instead of having to test each battery.
Regarding Claim 10, Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach comprising a plurality of cord wraps coupled to the housing.
However, Rosenbecker teaches a cord wrap (Fig.2, 535) attached to the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Schuecher, in view of Burch and Moriarty, with Rosenbecker to include a cord wrap to allow for compact cord storage on the charging module.
Moreover, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Deighton and Rosenbecker, to provide a second or third cord wrap since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so would allow for additional storage of a second or third cord, or would provide a backup sord storage if one of the cord storages is damaged beyond a useable state.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Burch and Moriarty, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fry et al. (USPGPN 2015/0171632)
Regarding Claim 4, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein the ports include an AC pass-through port (Fig.59G, 5923; ¶0270 discloses an AC input and ¶0271 indicates 5927 as a load device, indicates AC is received and provided from the charging module).
Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the AC pass-through port positioned on the base, the AC pass-through port configured to direct a flow of current from the external power supply, through the charging module and to an external component to thereby provide power for the external component to operate.
However, Fry teaches a portable power supply which includes a plurality of ports (Fig.12, 202 & 222), including an AC pass-through port (Fig.13,222) configured to direct a flow of current from the external power supply, through the charging module (Fig.13, 242 & 86) and to an external component to thereby provide power for the external component to operate (Fig.13,202; ¶0053: provide power to an AC-powered peripheral device, ¶0032: peripheral device may be a smartphone and configured to receive AC power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Burch and Moriarty, with Fry to include an AC pass-through port to allow an AC-input source to both charge a battery connected to the charging module and provide power to an externally connected device.
Scheucher, as modified, teaches the claimed invention except it does not specify the AC pass-through port positioned on the base. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the AC pass-through port on the base, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Doing so may allow for improved heat management by locating the AC pass-through port at an area of the charging module away from charging bays.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Burch and Moriarty, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Rosenbecker.
Regarding Claim 12, Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the base defines a cord wrap portion.
However, Rosenbecker teaches a cord wrap (Fig.2, 535) that is part of the base (Fig.2, 515).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Burch and Moriarty, with Rosenbecker to include a cord wrap on a base to allow for compact cord storage on the charging module.
Claim(s) 14-17 & 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Fry and Burch.
Regarding Claim 14, Scheucher teaches a charging module configured to receive and recharge a plurality of battery packs, the charging module comprising:
a base (Fig.1, 101) defining an internal chamber in which a plurality of charging bays (Fig.1, 106) are positioned, each charging bay removably receiving a battery pack (Fig.1, 102); and
at least one door (Fig. 1, 107) pivotally coupled to the base (101), the door pivotable between an open position and a closed position and enclosing the internal chamber;
a power inlet port positioned on the base (Fig.59G, 5923), the power inlet configured to receive a flow of current from an external power supply to thereby charge at least one battery pack (¶0270 discloses an AC input).
Scheucher, fails to explicitly teach a light permanently affixed to an exterior surface of the base, the light configured to illuminate an area around the outside of the charging module; and
a pass-through outlet port positioned on the base, the pass-through outlet configured to direct a flow of current from the external power supply, through the charging module and to an external component to thereby provide power for the external component to operate.
However, Burch teaches a light (Fig.12, 1220) which is affixed to an exterior surface of the base (Fig.12, 1204) which is configured to illuminate an area around the outside of the charging module (Fig.12: when light 1212 is positioned on the base it illuminates the area around the outside of the housing), and that the mounting arm of the light may use an adhesive for fastening the light (¶0036: mounting arm may be coupled by magnets, Velcro, adhesives, or other suitable fasteners).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher with Burch to include a light affixed to an exterior surface of the base, the light configured to illuminate an area around the outside of the base. Doing so allows illumination of the surrounding work area from the light.
Moreover, Fry teaches a portable power supply which includes a plurality of ports (Fig.12, 202 & 222), including an AC pass-through port (Fig.13,222) configured to direct a flow of current from the external power supply, through the charging module (Fig.13, 242 & 86) and to an external component to thereby provide power for the external component to operate (Fig.13,202; ¶0053: provide power to an AC-powered peripheral device, ¶0032: peripheral device may be a smartphone and configured to receive AC power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher with Fry to include an AC pass-through port to allow an AC-input source to both charge a battery connected to the charging module and provide power to an externally connected device.
Scheucher, as modified, teaches the claimed invention except it does not teach the light permanently affixed and instead teaches it as removeable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to permanently affix the light to the exterior surface, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). Doing so would ensure the light is not lost or forgotten which would result in the need for a replacement of the light or usage of the invention without a light source.
Regarding Claim 15, Scheucher, as modified, teaches further comprising a padlock (¶0154: door can be securely locked and padlocked), the padlock engaging the door to maintain the door in the closed position.
Regarding Claim 16, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein the external component is a mobile device such that the pass-through outlet is electrically couplable to the mobile device (as disclosed in claim 14, peripheral devices powered by the passthrough outlet may be smartphones and powered by AC power).
Regarding Claim 17, Scheucher, as modified, teaches further comprising a mounting plate (Fig.1B, 124) coupled to a back surface of the base, the mounting plate including mounting interfaces (Fig.1B, 125) configured to interact with an existing structure.
Regarding Claim 44, Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the light extends around a majority of a perimeter of the base.
Scheucher, as modified teaches the claimed invention except it teaches a single light source for directed illumination instead of a light that extends around a majority of a perimeter of the base. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include multiple lights extending around a majority of a perimeter of the base instead of a single light, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so would provide greater illumination around the charging module.
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine a plurality of lights into one light, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). Doing so would allow for more consistent illumination by removing housing spacing between light sources.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Fry and Burch, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of McHugh et al. (USPGPN 20190386357 A1).
Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach comprising a heater supported in the base.
However, McHugh teaches a battery heater (Fig.1, 10/10’) which is attachable to a battery charger (Fig.1, 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Fry and Burch, with McHugh to include a heater in the charging module to avoid batteries charging at low temperatures to extend the life of the battery.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Fry and Burch, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Velazquez (USPGPN 20160099603 A1).
Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the internal chamber further defines a storage compartment adjacent the charging bays.
However, Velazquez teaches a charging container (Fig.1, 100) which includes a dedicated storage space (Fig.1, 206).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Fry and Burch, with Velazquez to include a storage compartment section to allow storage of additional accessories for transport.
Claim(s) 20, 23, 28, & 45-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Fry, Bar-Erez et al. (USPGPN 20110049824 A1), DeMars et al. (US Patent 5803471 A), and Colangelo et al. (USPGPN 2014/0346873).
Regarding Claim 20, Scheucher teaches a charging system configured to removably receive and recharge a plurality of battery packs, the charging system comprising:
charging modules having a housing (Fig.1, 101) defining an interior compartment having a plurality of charging bays (Fig.1, 106), each charging bay removably receiving the battery pack (Fig.1, 102), the charging modules electrically coupled together (¶0008: separate enclosures are connectable using cables), each of the charging modules including a power inlet port (Fig.59G, 5923) positioned on the housing, the power inlet port configured to receive a flow of current from an external power supply to thereby charge at least one battery pack (¶0270 discloses an AC input).
Scheucher fails to explicitly teach a dolly including a pair of rails and a platform rotatably coupled therebetween;
a power panel coupled to the dolly between the rails, the power panel including a power inlet configured to be connected to a power supply; and
plurality of charging modules coupled to the pair of rails, and each of the charging modules including a pass-through outlet port positioned on the housing, the pass-through outlet configured to direct a flow of current from the external power supply, through the charging module and to an external component to thereby provide power for the external component to operate, the charging modules electrically coupled to the power panel to receive the flow of current from the power panel.
However, Fry teaches a portable power supply which includes a plurality of ports (Fig.12, 202 & 222), including an AC pass-through port (Fig.13,222) configured to direct a flow of current from the external power supply, through the charging module (Fig.13, 242 & 86) and to an external component to thereby provide power for the external component to operate (Fig.13,202; ¶0053: provide power to an AC-powered peripheral device, ¶0032: peripheral device may be a smartphone and configured to receive AC power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher with Fry to include an AC pass-through port to allow an AC-input source to both charge a battery connected to the charging module and provide power to an externally connected device.
Moreoever, Bar-Erez teaches a storage system using a dolly (Fig.1, 17) including a pair of rails (Fig.1, 26), which receives containers (Fig.1, 20) that couple to the dolly rails (Fig.1, 18; containers attach to the dolly by means of mount structures 18 affixed to rails 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the system taught by Scheucher and the dolly taught by Bar-Erez to allow for an easily transportable energy system.
Moreover, DeMars teaches a dolly system (Fig.1, 20) with a rotatably coupled platform (Fig.1, 134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher with DeMars to use a rotatable platform to allow the dolly to be collapsible into a smaller size for easier storage when not in use.
Lastly, Colangelo teaches a dolly which includes a power panel (¶0032: structure 102 may be a dolly and may permanently house a charger 106 or include a power connector 107 for coupling to an AC source) coupled to the dolly, the power panel including a power inlet configured to be connected to a power supply (¶0032: power connector 107 includes a power inlet to receive a connection to an AC source) for charging batteries (¶0032: batteries may be housed in module cases and charged).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Bar-Erez, with Colangelo to include a power panel coupled to the dolly, including a power inlet. Doing so provides an efficient recharging station for one or more battery modules, as evidenced by Colangelo (¶0028).
Scheucher, as modified, teaches the claimed invention except it does not specify the power panel as coupled between the rails. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to couple the power panel between the rails, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Doing so would centralize the weight of the power panel equipment thus preventing off-balanced weight distribution on the dolly which could lead to the dolly and equipment tipping over during use.
Regarding Claim 23, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein each charging module (Fig.1N, 100N) of the plurality of charging modules includes a pair of doors (Fig.1N, 153 & 153A) pivotally coupled to the housing (Fig.1N, 152 & 152A), the doors enclosing the interior compartment.
Regarding Claim 28, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein each charging module of the plurality of charging modules includes a back surface (Fig.1B, 101 interior back surface), the back surface having a plurality of mounting features (Fig.1B, 125 & 125A) disposed about the back surface.
Regarding Claim 45, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein the power panel is coupled to the pair of rails (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 20, the power panel of Colangelo is coupled to the pair of rails).
Regarding Claim 46, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein the power panel is positioned between the pair of rails of the dolly (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 20, the power panel of Colangelo is coupled between the pair of rails).
Regarding Claim 47, Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein the dolly comprises first and second wheels, and wherein the power panel is positioned between the first and second wheels (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 20, the power panel of Colangelo is coupled between the first and second of wheels).
Claim(s) 21 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Fry, Bar-Erez, DeMars, and Colangelo, as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of McHugh et al. (USPGPN 20190386357 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the housing supports a heating element and a switch, the heating element activated by the switch.
However, McHugh teaches a battery heater (Fig.1, 10/10’) which is attachable to a battery charger (Fig.1, 18), and includes a heating element (Fig.19, 290) and a switch (Fig.19, 260).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Fry, Bar-Erez, DeMars, and Colangelo, with McHugh to include a heater and a switch in the charging module. The heater can be used to avoid batteries charging at low temperatures, thus extend the life of the battery, and the switch can used to keep the heater from running continuously.
Regarding Claim 22, Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the switch includes a temperature sensor.
However, McHugh teaches that the heating system comprises temperature sensors (Fig.19: temperature signals 305, 310, 315, & 320 indicate the presence of temperature sensors)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Fry, Bar-Erez, DeMars, Colangelo, and McHugh, with McHugh to include a temperature sensor with the switch to allow the heating process to be controlled by a temperature reading, to allow the temperature to be automatically kept above a predetermined limit.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Fry, Bar-Erez, DeMars, and Colangelo, as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Ardaman et al. (US Patent 10985578 B1).
Scheucher, as modified, further teaches wherein each charging module of the plurality of charging modules further comprises a door lock (¶0154: door can be locked), the door lock engaging the doors to maintain the doors in a closed position.
Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach an RFID reader and the RFID reader configured to disengage the door lock.
However, Ardaman teaches the use of an RFID reader to unlock a locked door (Col.5, lines 23-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Fry, Bar-Erez, DeMars, and Colangelo, with Ardaman to include an RFID reader to be used to unlock the door. Doing so allows for a quicker unlocking process by avoiding the manual process of inserting and turning a key, and the challenges that come with using keys (determining the correct key to use or aligning the key for insertion into a lock).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Fry, Bar-Erez, DeMars, and Colangelo, as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Perlman et al. (USPGPN 20080190931 A1).
Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein each charging module of the plurality of charging modules includes a slot disposed on a back surface of the module, the slot communicating the interior compartment and an exterior of the module, a locking feature extending through the slot and engageable by a lock disposed in the interior compartment for locking the charging module to the dolly.
However, Bar-Erez teaches the containers comprising a slot (Fig.20A, 242) on the back surface of the containers, designed to be used to secure the containers to the dolly (¶0093: rear extension structure 242 is latched to latch structure 203)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Fry, Bar-Erez, DeMars, and Colangelo, to include the rear slots on the containers, to allow the containers to be secured to the dolly for safer transportation.
Moreover, Perlman teaches a storage container, which has a slot (Fig.5, 21 & 52) communicating the interior compartment with an exterior, and a locking feature (Fig.4, 68) which extends through the slot and engages a lock (Fig.4, 50) disposed in the interior compartment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Fry, Bar-Erez, DeMars, and Colangelo, with Perlman to include a slot and locking element that extends through the slot to an internal locking structure. Doing so allows the container to be securely fastened to the dolly avoiding unintended users from removing the container.
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher, in view of Fry and Burch, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view Moriarty.
Regarding Claim 48, Scheucher, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the light embedded within the base.
However, Moriarty teaches a light (12) coupled to the lower portion of a housing (lights 12 are coupled to the lower portion of container 7) embedded within a base (24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Scheucher, in view of Fry and Burch, with Moriarty to embed the light within the base. Doing so would help protect the light from shock or breakage during usage of the invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859