DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/08/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding independent claim 1, the applicant claims “a time interval a” and “working frequency f”, however, the Examiner points out that the claimed terms “a” and “f” are not defined with no acceptable values/ranges are given and the acceptable value are unbounded/undefined. Based on this, the claimed terms are indefinite, hence, the claims are rendered vague and indefinite because the terms “a” and “f” are unbounded/undefined and have an infinite number of values. For purposes of expediting prosecution, the Examiner interprets the following --0 < a <1 minute--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abou Shousha (US 10,531,795).
Regarding claim 1, Abou Shousha discloses, a method for adjusting visual function (Fig. 4), comprising:
presenting a same preset image on a same subregional retinal area (Col. 29, lines 38-67 and Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 402, 404) of each of the two eyes of a user respectively (Col. 30, lines 17-46 and see 402, 404); and
wherein the subregional retinal area corresponds to a subregional retinal injury in one eye (Col. 30, lines 17-46 and see 402, 404), and a time when the preset image is presented on the subregional retinal area of the eye corresponding to the subregional retinal injury area is earlier than a time when the preset image is presented on the same subregional retinal area of the other eye by a time interval a (Col 30, lines 29-46 and see 404, 416).
Abou Shousha does not explicitly disclose the time interval a inversely relates to a working frequency f of a device for presenting the preset image. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the time interval a inversely relates to a working frequency f of a device for presenting the preset image as this is a known and fundamental physics relationship/equation. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the time interval a inversely relates to a working frequency f of a device for presenting the preset image as this is no more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions of effectively and accurately determining the time interval and working frequency of a device.
Regarding claim 2, Abou Shousha discloses, the presenting the same preset image includes: presenting a stream on the same subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively; wherein the two streams are the same streams constructed by frames, and each of the corresponding frames of the two streams is presented with the time interval a; and each of the corresponding frames of the two streams is the same preset image (Col. 30, lines 29-46 and see 404, 416).
Regarding claim 3, Abou Shousha discloses, determining the time interval an according to the working frequency f; where a=n * 1/f; n>1 (Col. 30, lines 17-46).
Regarding claim 4, Abou Shousha discloses, the subregional retinal area is determined by steps including of: for each of the two eyes of the user, determining P points within a non-fovea area the visual field of eye (Col. 30, lines 17-46 and see 404, 414, 416); presenting a center mark on a fovea area of the visual field of the eye (Col. 29, lines 38-65); wherein the center mark is where the user focuses; and adjusting continuously luminance of a point of the P points to determine a luminance threshold of the vision of the eye (Col. 30, lines 17-46 and see 404, 414, 416); and determining the subregional retinal area corresponding to the subregional retinal injury area based on a difference between the luminance threshold of corresponding points of the two eyes (Col. 30, lines 17-46 and see 404, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 5, Abou Shousha discloses, in response to that the each of the two eyes has a subregional retinal injury area respectively (Col. 30, lines 17-50 and see 402, 404, 406), determining a subregional retinal area in each of the two eyes corresponding to a first subregional retinal injury area of a first eye of the two eyes as a first subregional retinal area (Col. 30, lines 17-50 and see 402, 404, 406); and determining a first preset image being presented to the first subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes respectively (Col. 30, lines 17-50 and see 402, 404, 406); determining a subregional retinal area in each of the two eyes corresponding to a second subregional retinal injury area of a second eye of the two eyes as a second subregional retinal area (Col. 30, lines 17-50 and see 402, 404, 406); and determining a second preset image being presented to the second subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes respectively (Col. 30, lines 17-50 and see 402, 404, 406); performing operations including: presenting the first preset image on the first subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, lines 1-14 and see 404, 414, 416), wherein a time when the first preset image is presented on the first subregional retinal area of the first eye is earlier than a time when the first preset image is presented on the first subregional retinal area of the second eye by a time interval a (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, lines 1-14 and see 404, 414, 416); and presenting the second preset image on the second subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes, wherein a time when the second preset image is presented on the second subregional retinal area of the second eye is earlier than a time when the second preset image is presented on the second subregional retinal area of the first eye by the time interval a (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, lines 1-14 and see 404, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 6, Abou Shousha discloses, for the first subregional retinal area, presenting the first preset image on the first subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, lines 1-14 and see 404, 414, 416); and after presenting the first preset image for adjusting visual function for both the two eyes, for the second subregional retinal area, presenting the second preset image on the second subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, lines 1-14 and see 404, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 7, Abou Shousha discloses, for the first subregional retinal area, continually presenting, by a preset apparatus, the first preset image on the first subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes for an alternating time interval b (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, lines 1-14 and see 404, 414, 416); and then for the second subregional retinal area, continually presenting, by the preset apparatus, the second preset image on the second subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes for the alternating time interval b; wherein the time interval a > the alternating time interval b (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, lines 1-14 and see 404, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 8, Abou Shousha discloses, the first preset image includes content identical to the second preset image, and the content of the first present image is positioned differently from the content of the second preset image (Col. 29, lines 38-65).
Regarding claim 9, Abou Shousha discloses, determining a retinal injury area in one eye, dividing the subregional retinal injury area into N subregional retinal injury areas (Col. 29, lines 66-67, Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 402, 404); determining a subregional retinal area corresponding to each of the N subregional retinal injury areas respectively, comprising: a first subregional retinal area, a second subregional retinal area,......a Nth subregional retinal area (Col. 29, lines 66-67, Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 402, 404); for a subregional retinal injury area, performing the following steps including: presenting the same preset image on the subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of respectively (Col. 29, line 38-Col. 30, lines 1-16); wherein the subregional retinal area corresponds to the subregional retinal injury area, and a time when the preset image is presented on the subregional retinal area of the eye with the subregional retinal injury area is earlier than a time when the preset image is presented on the corresponding subregional retinal area of the other eye by the time interval a (Col. 29, line 66-Col. 30, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 10, Abou Shousha discloses, the step of the presenting the same preset image on the subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes includes: presenting the nth preset image on the nth subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively (Col. 29, line 66-Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 406, 414, 416); and the time the nth preset image being presented on the eye with c the nth subregional retinal injury area is earlier than the time the nth preset image being presented on the other eye by the preset time interval α (Col. 29, line 66-Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 406, 414, 416); wherein 1≤n≤N (Col. 29, line 66-Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 406, 414, 416); and presenting the n+1th preset image on the n+1th subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively (Col. 29, line 66-Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 406, 414, 416); and the time the n+1th preset image being presented on the eye with the n+1th subregional retinal injury area is earlier than the time the n+1th preset image being presented on the other eye by the preset time interval α (Col. 29, line 66-Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 406, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 11, Abou Shousha discloses, for the nth subregional retinal area, presenting the nth preset image on the nth subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, lines 1-16 and see 406, 414, 416); and after finishing presenting the nth preset image on the nth subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively, for the n+1th subregional retinal area, presenting the n+1th preset image on the n+1th subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, lines 1-16 and see 406, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 12, Abou Shousha discloses, for the nth subregional retinal area, continually presenting, the nth preset image on the nth subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively for an alternating time interval ß (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416); and for the n+1th subregional retinal area, continually presenting, the n+ 1th preset image on the n+1th subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively for the alternating time interval ß (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416); wherein the time interval α > the alternating time interval ß (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 14, Abou Shousha discloses, determining M subregional retinal injury areas, M≥2 (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416); performing visual adjustment for each of m subregional retinal injury areas by an image sequence, M≥m≥2 (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416); wherein the performing visual adjustment for each of the m subregional retinal injury areas by an image sequence, comprises: presenting each preset image of the image sequence on corresponding subregional retinal area of the each of the two eyes (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416); wherein a time when a preset image of the image sequence is presented on the eye comprising the subregional retinal injury area is earlier than a time when the preset image of the image sequence is presented on the other eye by the preset time interval α (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 15, Abou Shousha discloses, the m subregional retinal injury areas are on one of the two eyes (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 16, Abou Shousha discloses, the step of the presenting each preset image of the image sequence on the corresponding subregional retinal area of the each of the two eyes includes: for the nth subregional retinal area, continually presenting, the nth preset image on the nth subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively for an alternating time interval ß (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416); and for the n+1th subregional retinal area, continually presenting, apparatus the n+1th preset image on the n+ 1th subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of the user respectively for the alternating time interval ß (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416); wherein the time interval α ≥ the alternating time interval ß (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 18, Abou Shousha discloses, each of the image sequences has interpolated frames, and corresponding interpolated frames of the image sequences of the two eyes have the same time interval α between them (Col. 30, lines 17-67, Col. 31, line 1-16 and 406, 414, 416).
Regarding claim 19, Abou Shousha discloses, the first preset image includes content different from the second preset image, and the content of the first image is positioned differently than the content of the second image (Col. 29, lines 38-67 and Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 402, 404).
Regarding claim 20, Abou Shousha discloses, the m subregional retinal injury areas are on the two eyes (Col. 29, lines 38-67 and Col. 30, lines 1-16 and see 402, 404).
Regarding claim 21, Abou Shousha discloses the claimed invention, but, does not explicitly disclose the time interval a is 8.33 milliseconds. However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of this modification includes
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abou Shousha, to the time interval a is 8.33 milliseconds, in order to provide a method for adjusting visual function for effectively and efficiently determining the visual function of a user.
Regarding claim 22, Abou Shousha discloses, the working frequency f is between 24 Hz and 120 Hz. However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of this modification includes
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abou Shousha, the working frequency f is between 24 Hz and 120 Hz, in order to provide a method for adjusting visual function for effectively and efficiently determining the visual function of a user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments that Abou Shousha does not teach or suggest presenting the image to the injured eye earlier than the other eye by a time interval a. The Examiner points out that Col. 30, lines 31-32 of Abou Shousha discloses “test both eyes sequentially in one run” which the Examiner interprets that sequentially means one after the other as a time interval is associated with being sequential (going from one to another). Therefore, the Examiner interprets that Abou Shousha reads on the claimed “presenting the image to the injured eye earlier than the other eye by a time interval a”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., temporal offset allows the visual cortex neural circuit corresponding to the retinal damage area to be "regulated, so that the synapses of the neurons in this circuit can be reshaped, so that the input provided by a small number of remaining retinal neurons can be efficiently used) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., presenting the same to both eyes with any temporal offset, let alone presenting the image to the injured eye first) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., temporally staggered binocular stimulation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a deliberate temporal offset between presentations to the two eyes) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's arguments that Abou Shousha does not teach presenting a same preset image on a same subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of a user respectively.
The Examiner points out that Abou Shousha discloses presenting a stimuli (preset image) (Col. 30, lines 40-46; note, discloses using a set of images to a user’s eyes which the Examiner interprets are the same set/same preset image) on a subregional retinal area of a user’s eye (Col. 29, lines 38-67) and testing both eyes sequentially in one run (Col. 30, lines 31-32) which the Examiner interprets that sequentially means one after the other (as a time interval is associated with being sequential (going from one to another)). Furthermore, the Examiner interprets that because the eyes are tested (presented images) sequentially (one after the other) that the device of Abou Shousha meets the limitations of “presenting a same preset image on a same subregional retinal area of each of the two eyes of a user respectively”.
Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) 1-12, 14-16 and 18-22. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “adjusting visual function” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the Examiner points out that one of ordinary skill in the art would’ve modified Abou Shousha for the purpose of providing the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions of effectively and accurately determining the time interval and working frequency of a device.
Conclusion
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 09/12/2026