DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant Amendment and Arguments filed on 13 February, 2026.
Claims 1-12 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US Pub. 2020/0057596 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US Pub. 2017/0359618 A1) and further in view of Zhu et al. (US Patent. 11,073,983 B2) and KNOWLES et al. (US Pub. 2010/0088632 A1).
KIM, Chen, Zhu and KNOWLES were cited in the previous Office Action.
As per claim 1, KIM teaches the invention substantially as claimed including A method for screen projection control, performed by an electronic device, comprising (KIM, Abstract, lines 1-5, A method of an electronic device according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may comprise the operations of: indicating that a first screen related to a first application operating in a background state is being displayed in an external electronic device):
displaying a target control when the electronic device establishes a communication connection with a screen projection display device (KIM, Fig. 2, 100, 206 (As target control); [0068] lines 1-6, the electronic device 100 establishing communication for sharing the screen with the external electronic device 205 may display an object 206. The object 206 may be generated in response to establishment of the communication with the external electronic device 205 by the electronic device 100), wherein the target control comprises an application selection key and a screen separation key different from the application selection key (KIM, Fig. 17, 1701, 1703 change APP, 1705 App list, (as application selection key); Fig. 12, 1204 unpin from device (as screen separation key));
receiving a first operation performed on the application selection key of the target control, and determining a to-be-projected target application in response to the first operation (KIM, Fig. 17, 1707 (as first operation) selected at 1706 Game; [0247] lines 3-11, The window 1705 may be displayed to guide the electronic device 100 to change the application configured as the pin mode to another application. The window 1705 may include at least one object indicating at least one application that the electronic device 100 can configure as the pin mode. For example, the window 1705 may include an object 1706 indicating a game application, an object indicating an email application, and an object indicating a document; [0250] lines 1-4, The electronic device 100 may execute the game application indicated by the object 1706 in response to reception of the input on the object 1706. The electronic device 100 may display a screen 1707 related to the game application (as determining a to-be-projected target application (i.e., game) based on the first operation (user input/click), therefore to display game application at other device; See Fig. 205));
sending displayed content of the target application to the screen projection display device through the communication connection for display (KIM, [0251] lines 1-7, The electronic device 100 may transmit data related to the game application to the external electronic device 205 in response to reception of the input on the object 1706. The external electronic device 205 may display a screen corresponding to the screen 1707 related to the game application on the basis of the data received from the electronic device 100); and
receiving a second operation, the target application is switched to run in background in response to the second operation (KIM, Fig. 15, the application is projected on external device 205, and running at background state at device 100 (i.e., not showing the application on the display); [0078] lines 1-9, The electronic device 100 may change the state of the first application from a foreground state to a background state on the basis of the user input or the state change of the electronic device 100 (as second operation). The foreground state may indicate a state in which the screen is displayed through the display unit 120. The background state may indicate a state in which the application is being executed but display of the screen through the display 120 is stopped)),
wherein upon receiving a click operation after the second operation, that the target application is switched to run in foreground in response to the click operation (KIM, Fig. 15, 1501, 1503 Pined app content, 1504 click; to Fig. 15 right picture, 1505 application; [0226] lines 1-7, The electronic device 100 may display a menu window 1503 indicating functions connected to the object 1501 in response to reception of the input on the object 1501. The menu window 1503 may include an object for switching the application configured as the pin mode to the foreground state, an object 1504 for controlling the application configured as the pin mode, which is being executed in the background state).
KIM fails to specifically teach when receiving a second operation that the target application is switched to run in background in response to the second operation, that the second operation is performed on the screen separation key of the target control.
However, Chen teaches when receiving a second operation that the target application is switched to run in background in response to the second operation, that the second operation is performed on the screen separation key of the target control (Chen, Fig. 5, 51, and Fig. 8, identifier; [0053] lines 1-24, when a mobile terminal transmits a first content to playing equipment 1 issuing projection service 1 (a first projection service) through protocol projection control service 1 (a first protocol projection control service) in the example 1), the first content is played on the playing equipment 1 through the projection service 1. Referring to FIG. 8, a status control interface 81 of the protocol projection control service 1 (the first protocol projection control service) for the projection service 1 (the first projection service) is displayed on a display interface of the mobile terminal. At this moment, a user of the mobile terminal may also need to switch the protocol projection control service 1 (the first protocol projection control service) to a background (that is, the status control interface for the projection service 1 is switched to the background), thereby locally watching a second content (different from the first content) on the mobile terminal by a projection application or executing an operation (for example, listening to the radio and browsing a webpage) on another application in the mobile terminal. Correspondingly, referring to FIG. 8 in combination with FIG. 9, the user may trigger a virtual button (as screen separation key of the target control) for switching to the background on the status control interface 81 of the protocol projection control service 1)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of KIM with Chen because Chen’s teaching of allowing the user to click a virtual button for switching the application that protected to the background would have provided KIM’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the device to performing other applications for the user which improving the user experience and system efficiency.
KIM and Chen fail to specifically teach wherein the screen separation key switches to a preset color upon receiving the second operation, the preset color indicating that the target application is switched to run in background, and the screen separation key changes to a color different from the preset color, indicating that the target application is switched to run in foreground.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the screen separation key indicating a preset color, the preset color indicating that the target application is switched to run in background, and the screen separation key changes to a color different from the preset color, indicating that the target application is switched to run in foreground. (Zhu, Fig. 9A, WeChat with 23, user taps; Col 19, lines 44-50, As shown in FIG. 9 (a), the multitask window of the first terminal 100 includes the window of the WeChat application, and a first shortcut button 23 may be configured in the window of the WeChat application. After the first terminal 100 connects to the second terminal 200, the first shortcut button 23 may be prominently displayed (for example, the first shortcut button 23 is highlighted); Col 19, lines 56-67, the window of the WeChat application that is originally displayed on the first terminal 100 may be changed correspondingly. For example, as shown in FIG. 9 (b), after the WeChat application is switched to the display interface of the second terminal 20X)…the window of the WeChat application on the first terminal 100 may be marked by another color to remind the user that the WeChat application is currently displayed on the second terminal 200; Col 13, lines 13-15, the shortcut may be an identifier of an application program running in a background, for example, an application window of WeChat in a multitask window; Col 20, lines 3-8, second shortcut button 24 may be displayed in the window of the WeChat application. When detecting that the user taps the second shortcut button 24, the first terminal 100 is triggered to switch the WeChat application displayed in the second display interface back to the first display interface, and stop sending, to the second terminal 200 [Examiner noted: the screen separation key (i.e., window of the WeChat application included with shortcut button) is in a preset color indicating the target application is switched to run in background to remind the user that the WeChat is displayed on the second terminal), and the screen separation key will changes to a color different from the preset color, indicating that the target application is switched to run in foreground (i.e., the color of the window of the WeChat application must change to the different color, otherwise there is no point for reminding user that application is running in the background)]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of KIM and Chen with Zhu because Zhu’s teaching of change the different color when the application is running in the background or foreground would have provided KIM and Chen’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the user to easily identifying which applications are current projected at external device in order to improving the user experience.
Although KIM, Chen and Zhu teach the screen separation key indicating a preset color, KIM, Chen and Zhu fail to explicitly teach wherein the screen separation key switches to a preset color upon receiving the second operation, and upon receiving a click operation on the screen separation key after the second operation, the screen separation key changes to a color different from the preset color.
However, KNOWLES teaches wherein the screen separation key switches to a preset color upon receiving the second operation, and upon receiving a click operation on the screen separation key after the second operation, the screen separation key changes to a color different from the preset color (KNOWLES, [0073] lines 1-22, a touch causes a user interface element such as a button, icon, text or link associated with the respective location on the touchscreen display 210 to be selected. Selection causes the user interface element to be highlighted or focused using an onscreen visual indicator (not shown)…The highlighting of a button or icon involves changing the background color of the button or icon. In some embodiments, highlighting causes the appearance of the selected button or icon to be changed from a first version (e.g., idle/unselected) to a second version (e.g., active/selected). For example, touching a button in the virtual toolbar 620 such as the switch mode button 626 causes the background color to be changed from black (unselected) to blue (selected). The button is highlighted in blue to provide the user with a visual indication that the button has been selected. In other embodiments, the selected user interface element could be changed in appearance in other ways to provide the user with a visual indication of the user interface element which is currently selected rather than highlighting it; also see [0069] it will be appreciated that the switch mode button 626 is context-sensitive. That is, selection of the switch mode button 626 in the pan navigation mode changes the navigation mode to the cursor navigation mode. As shown in FIG. 6A, in some embodiments of GUI of the pan navigation mode, visual indicia is displayed within the switch mode button 626 to provide a visual representation that the function of the button is to change the navigation mode to the cursor navigation mode (i.e., active/selected). This allows the device user to more easily identify the function associated with the virtual button and more quickly select the switch mode button 626 to switch between navigation modes. See Fig. 6A and Fig. 6B; [0095] selection of the switch mode button 626 in the cursor navigation mode changes the navigation mode to the pan navigation mode (as unselected); (please note: screen separation key was taught by KIM, Chen and Zhu).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of KIM, Chen and Zhu with KNOWLES because KNOWLES’s teaching of change the color of the button upon click operation to provide the user with visual indication would have provided KIM, Chen and Zhu’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the user to easily determining whether the button (i.e., screen separation key) was successfully operated in order to improving the user experience.
As per claim 3, KIM, Chen, Zhu and KNOWLES teach the invention according to claim 1 above. KIM further teaches wherein after the target application is switched to run in the background, the method further comprises: receiving a fourth operation performed on the target control, and switching the target application to run in the foreground in response to the fourth operation (KIM, Fig. 15, 1501 (as target control), 1504 user selected/touch to right picture of Fig. 15, 1505 display showed application that is running in foreground; Fig. 6, 601, object; [0137] lines 1-4, The object 601 for the pin mode may include an element indicating a current reproduction time of content related to the video application being displayed on the external electronic device 205; [0226] lines 1-9, The electronic device 100 may display a menu window 1503 indicating functions connected to the object 1501 in response to reception of the input on the object 1501. The menu window 1503 may include an object for switching the application configured as the pin mode to the foreground state, an object 1504 for controlling the application configured as the pin mode, which is being executed in the background state).
As per claim 4, KIM, Chen, Zhu and KNOWLES teach the invention according to claim 1 above. KIM further teaches wherein after the target application is switched to run in the background, the method further comprises: receiving a fifth operation performed on the target control, and in response to the fifth operation, stopping sending the displayed content of the target application to the screen projection and hiding the target control (KIM, Fig. 18, 1801 and 1802 (as target control), 1803 and 1804 disconnect (as user touch/selecting to disconnect the projection, as fifth operation performed on the target control), then to the right picture of Fig. 18, 1801 and 1802 are hidden and the 205 external projection is gone; [0256] lines 1-7, the electronic device 100 may output a screen related to a video application to the external electronic device 205 through the pin mode. The electronic device 100 may display a screen 1800 different from the screen output to the external electronic device 205. The electronic device 100 may display an object 1801 for the pin mode floated on the screen 1800; [0258] lines 1-8, The electronic device 100 may receive an input 1804 on the item 1803. The electronic device 100 may disconnect communication for sharing the screen with the external electronic device 205 in response to reception of the input 1804 on the item 1803. In other words, in connection with screen sharing, the association between the electronic device 100 and the external electronic device 205 may disappear, or may be terminated; [0260] lines 1-6, the electronic device 100 may stop displaying the object 1801 in response to reception of the input 1804. When there is no device connected to the electronic device 100 to share the screen due to reception of the input 1804, the electronic device 100 may stop displaying the object 1801 (as hiding the target control)).
As per claim 5, it is an electronic device claim of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above. In addition, KIM further teaches An electronic device, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform a method for screen projection control (KIM, Claim 1; Fig. 1, 100 as electronic device; Fig. 2, 100; [0325] lines 1-7, When the methods are implemented by software, a computer-readable storage medium for storing one or more programs (software modules) may be provided. The one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors within the electronic device. The at least one program may include instructions that cause the electronic device to perform the methods according to various embodiments of the disclosure as defined by the appended claims and/or disclosed herein).
As per claims 7-8, they are electronic device claims of claims 3-4 respectively above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 3-4 respectively above.
As per claim 9, it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above. In addition, KIM further teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, when the computer program is executed by a processor, performs a method for screen projection control (KIM, Claim 1, An electronic device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; a display unit; a communication unit; and at least one processor electrically connected to the memory and configured to display an object ; Fig. 1, 100 as electronic device; Fig. 2, 100; [0325] lines 1-7, When the methods are implemented by software, a computer-readable storage medium for storing one or more programs (software modules) may be provided. The one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors within the electronic device. The at least one program may include instructions that cause the electronic device to perform the methods according to various embodiments of the disclosure as defined by the appended claims and/or disclosed herein).
As per claims 11-12, they are non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims of claims 3-4 respectively above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 3-4 respectively above.
Claims 2, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, Chen, Zhu and KNOWLES, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LIAO et al. (US Pub. 2021/0064191 A1).
LIAO was cited in the previous Office Action.
As per claim 2, KIM, Chen, Zhu and KNOWLES teach the invention according to claim 1 above. KIM, Chen, Zhu and KNOWLES fail to explicitly teach wherein after the target application is switched to run in the background, the method further comprises: displaying a home screen of the electronic device; receiving a third operation performed on the home screen; and in response to the third operation, running an application corresponding to the third operation in the foreground.
However, LIAO further teaches wherein after the switching the target application to run in the background, the method further comprises: displaying a home screen of the electronic device; receiving a third operation performed on the home screen; and in response to the third operation, running an application corresponding to the third operation in the foreground (LIAO, Fig. 5, left picture (i.e., home screen), and the user is selecting 205 another application (as third operation), right picture, 20C it display the selected application in the foreground; [0098] lines 2-6, switch the first application to run in the background, and the interface display module 1001 is configured to display the homepage user interface (as displaying a home screen of the electronic device), shrink the user interface of the first application when screen casting and then display it by the floating window; [0058] lines 1-9, the terminal displays a homepage user interface 20B superimposed with a floating window 20A. When receiving a triggering operation on an application portal 205 of a second application, the homepage user interface 20B is switched to the user interface 20C of the second application. At this time, the second application runs in the foreground of the terminal, and the floating window 20A is superimposed on the user interface 20C of the second application).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of KIM, Chen, Zhu and KNOWLES with LIAO because LIAO’s teaching of providing a small window screen casting that allowing the user to switching the projected application to run in background and run other application in foreground would have provided KIM, Chen, Zhu and KNOWLES’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the user to selecting whether to running the projected application in foreground or background in order to satisfy the user need of running multiple applications at the same time which improving the user experience and system efficiency (see LIAO, [0010] “satisfy the user need of running multiple applications at the same time”).
As per claim 6, it is an electronic device claim of claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 2 above.
As per claim 10, it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim of claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 2 above.
Response to Arguments
In the remark Applicant’s argue in substance:
(a), However, Knowles merely discloses that a user interface element changes appearance once in response to a selection event, in order to visually indicate that the element has been selected. As expressly described in para. [0074] of Knowles, the color change occurs when a button transitions from an "idle/unselected" state to an "active/selected" state. The purpose of this color change is solely to provide visual feedback of selection status. Knowles does not disclose that the same user interface element undergoes a second, subsequent color change upon a further click operation. Nor does Knowles disclose that different colors correspond to different execution states of an application, such as switching between background and foreground operation.
(b) First, Knowles does not disclose a second operation performed after an initial state change that results in a different color transition of the same key. Second, Knowles does not disclose that any color change is associated with an application execution state (background versus foreground). Instead, the disclosed color change merely reflects a selection status of a user interface element. Accordingly, the selection-based highlight disclosed in Knowles cannot reasonably be equated with the claimed state-indicating color transitions of the screen separation key. Therefore, Knowles fails to disclose that "the screen separation key switches to a preset color upon receiving the second operation" and "upon receiving a click operation on the screen separation key after the second operation, the screen separation key changes to a color different from the preset color," as required by amended independent claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagreed with Applicant’s argument for the following reasons:
As to point (a), in response to applicant’s argument that “Knowles does not disclose that the same user interface element undergoes a second, subsequent color change upon a further click operation. Nor does Knowles disclose that different colors correspond to different execution states of an application, such as switching between background and foreground operation”. Examiner respectfully disagreed.
Examiner would like to point out that Knowles discloses a user interface having a virtual button that when user press that virtual button, the system will switch between navigation modes (i.e., switch pan navigation mode to the cursor navigation mode, and switch from cursor navigation mode to pan navigation mode). And that virtual button will change the color indication from black (unselected) to blue (selected). That is, the virtual button will indicate two different colors to show different navigation mode, either selected/active navigation mode (i.e., cursor navigation, Fig. 6B) or unselected/inactive of navigation mode (see Fig. 6A) (see Knowles [0073] lines 1-22, a touch causes a user interface element such as a button, icon, text or link associated with the respective location on the touchscreen display 210 to be selected. Selection causes the user interface element to be highlighted or focused using an onscreen visual indicator (not shown)…The highlighting of a button or icon involves changing the background color of the button or icon. In some embodiments, highlighting causes the appearance of the selected button or icon to be changed from a first version (e.g., idle/unselected) to a second version (e.g., active/selected). For example, touching a button in the virtual toolbar 620 such as the switch mode button 626 causes the background color to be changed from black (unselected) to blue (selected). The button is highlighted in blue to provide the user with a visual indication that the button has been selected. In other embodiments, the selected user interface element could be changed in appearance in other ways to provide the user with a visual indication of the user interface element which is currently selected rather than highlighting it; also see [0069] it will be appreciated that the switch mode button 626 is context-sensitive. That is, selection of the switch mode button 626 in the pan navigation mode changes the navigation mode to the cursor navigation mode. As shown in FIG. 6A, in some embodiments of GUI of the pan navigation mode, visual indicia is displayed within the switch mode button 626 to provide a visual representation that the function of the button is to change the navigation mode to the cursor navigation mode. This allows the device user to more easily identify the function associated with the virtual button and more quickly select the switch mode button 626 to switch between navigation modes. See Fig. 6A and Fig. 6B; [0095] selection of the switch mode button 626 in the cursor navigation mode changes the navigation mode to the pan navigation mode).
Therefore, Knowles does disclose that the same user interface element (virtual button) undergoes a second, subsequent color change upon a further click operation (i.e., changes one color to another when selected, and change back upon unselected, because Knowles specifically teaches that switching between two navigation modes).
As to point (b), in response to applicant’s argument that “Knowles does not disclose that any color change is associated with an application execution state (background versus foreground). Instead, the disclosed color change merely reflects a selection status of a user interface element. Accordingly, the selection-based highlight disclosed in Knowles cannot reasonably be equated with the claimed state-indicating color transitions of the screen separation key. Therefore, Knowles fails to disclose that "the screen separation key switches to a preset color upon receiving the second operation" and "upon receiving a click operation on the screen separation key after the second operation, the screen separation key changes to a color different from the preset color," as required by amended independent claim 1”. Examiner respectfully disagreed.
Examiner would like to remind applicant that the rejection is based on 103 rejection using multiple references. Applicant is attacking references individually without considering KIM, Chen and Zhu references. That is, KIM, Chen and Zhu teaches the concept of using screen separation key to change the mode of the application from background to foreground (based on the user clicking, to projecting the screen to another terminal(i.e., background) or stop projecting running in the foreground) (see Zhu 103 rejection above, using the screen separation key within the WeChat window to switching between background and foreground). Zhu’s projection system teaches that the color of the WeChat window which including the screen separation key will be change to remind user that screen is currently projecting in other place, but it does not explicitly recites that wherein the screen separation key switches to a preset color upon receiving the second operation, and upon receiving a click operation on the screen separation key after the second operation, the screen separation key changes to a color different from the preset color. However, Knowles teaches that concept (i.e., a key to switching between navigation modes (i.e., switch pan navigation mode to the cursor navigation mode, and switch from cursor navigation mode to pan navigation mode). And that virtual button will change the color indication from black (unselected) to blue (selected). Therefore, it would be obvious to modifying the screen separation key as taught by KIM, Chen and Zhu with Knowles to visually indicate whether the screen separation mode is active by change the color of the key. Thus, Examiner has established that It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of KIM, Chen and Zhu with KNOWLES because KNOWLES’s teaching of change the color of the button upon click operation to provide the user with visual indication would have provided KIM, Chen and Zhu’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the user to easily determining whether the button (i.e., screen separation key) was successfully operated in order to improving the user experience. To the extent that applicants are arguing against the references individually, the examiner reminds the applicants that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For the reasons above, Applicant’s argument has not been found to be persuasive, and therefore the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZUJIA XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2195