DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but not persuasive.
On page 9-10, the applicant argued that Gao does not teach HARQ process ID.
However, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Lei teaches “0073] Assuming the gNB transmits one DCI in slot m for scheduling DL transmissions for HARQ process x and transmits a one-shot triggering DCI in slot m+2 to trigger the UE to report HARQ-ACK feedback for all the configured 16 HARQ processes in slot m+3. At the UE side, upon reception of the one-shot triggering DCI, the UE shall generate b0, b1, b2, . . . , b15, in the order of the HARQ process IDs, for the 16 HARQ processes as the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.”
Additionally, Yang teaches “[0105] A plurality of parallel DL HARQ processes exist for DL transmission in a base station/UE. A plurality of parallel HARQ processes allow DL transmissions to be performed continuously while waiting for HARQ feedback on successful or unsuccessful reception of previous DL transmission. Each HARQ process is associated with a HARQ buffer of a MAC (Medium Access Control) layer. Each DL HARQ process manages state variables related to the number of transmissions of a MAC PDU (Physical Data Block) in a buffer, HARQ feedback for a MAC PDU in a buffer, and a current redundancy version, etc. Each HARQ process is identified by a HARQ process ID.”
Finally, Gao also teaches a logical AND operation between ACK bits, e.g. “[0103] For example, when it is assumed that a UE receives DCI for scheduling 2-TB, and receives 2-TB through a PDSCH based on the DCI, a UE performing spatial bundling may generate a single A/N bit by performing a logical AND operation on a first A/N bit for a first TB and a second A/N bit for a second TB. As a result, when both a first TB and a second TB are ACKs, a UE reports an ACK bit value to a base station, and when either TB is a NACK, a UE reports a NACK bit value to a base station.”
For the reasons above, the combination of Lei, Yang and Gao would teach the Feature A.
On page 10, applicant argued that Lei, Yang and Gao do not teach Feature B.
However, Yang teaches
wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured to further comprise a first New Data Identifier (NDI) value and/or a second NDI value corresponding to the HARQ process ID; ([0462] i. In case of the Type-3 codebook-based A/N feedback, as an exception, a UE may operate not to apply the configured spatial bundling, and feed back an A/N bit and an NDI bit together for each TB of each HARQ ID (e.g., 1-bit A/N and 1-bit NDI are fed back for each TB of each HARQ ID).
Supported by ‘282 on page 87, Opt. 5)
wherein the first and/or the second NDI values are indicated in a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH transmission, ([0462] (e.g., a bit value of an NDI field included in DL grant DCI for scheduling a corresponding TB) Supported by ‘282 on page 87, Opt. 5)
the first NDI value is for a first codeword or a first transport block, the second NDI value is for a second codeword or a second transport block. ([0462] feed back an A/N bit and an NDI bit together for each TB of each HARQ ID (e.g., 1-bit A/N and 1-bit NDI are fed back for each TB of each HARQ ID). Supported by ‘282 on page 87, Opt. 5)
For the reasons above, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,7, 8, 11, 15, 16, 19-21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al, USPGPUB 20220231795 (previously cited),
in view of YANG; Suckchel et al. US PGPUB 20220303064 A1, supported by provisional application 62/931,749 filed 2019/11/06, hereinafter ‘749, and 62/938282. Filed 2019/11/20, Hereinafter ‘282, 62936582, filed 2019/11/17, hereinafter ‘582) further in view of
GAO; Xuejuan US PGPUB 20200280397 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Lei teaches A method of HARQ feedback, the method comprising:
receiving a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmission; ([0006] In 3GPP 5G NR, the downlink (DL) transport blocks (TBs) are carried on the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) from a gNB to a UE. In one example, a maximum of two TBs can be transmitted on PDSCH in one serving cell and in one slot. ) and
transmitting a Hybrid Automatic Report Request (HARQ) feedback of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the HARQ feedback comprises a one-shot HARQ feedback. ([0073] Thus, the UE reuses the latest HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, a.sub.x, for PDSCH in slot n, as the HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, b.sub.x, in the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.)
wherein the one-shot HARQ feedback comprises the following two types:
a first type in which a NDI is part of the one-shot HARQ feedback; ([0106] For HARQ process x+1, the UE reports a.sub.x+1 as ACK in slot n+4 and the gNB transmits the DCI in slot m+1 with toggled NDI (“1”) for scheduling new TB transmission. When the UE detects this DCI in slot m+1 for scheduling HARQ process x+1 and correctly decodes the associated PDSCH, in the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook, the UE will generate ACK as b.sub.x+1 in the first part, and indicate its latest NDI of “1” received in slot m+1 for the HARQ process x+1 in the second part.) and
wherein the one-shot HARQ feedback comprises an HARQ-ACK codebook, ([0073] Thus, the UE reuses the latest HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, a.sub.x, for PDSCH in slot n, as the HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, b.sub.x, in the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.)
wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises at least one of the followings: a first HARQ-ACK information bit or a second HARQ-ACK information bit, and wherein the first and/or the second HARQ-ACK information bit are for a HARQ process ID. ([0073] same as above)
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit comprises at least one of the followings:
a first type of HARQ-ACK information bit; ([0073] see below) and a second type of HARQ-ACK information bit,
the first type of HARQ-ACK information bit comprises an HARQ-ACK information bit for a first codeword or for a first transport block of the HARQ process ID, ([0078] According to some embodiments, the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook includes two parts: a first part including the HARQ-ACK information bits for each HARQ process, which are concatenated in the order of HARQ process ID; and a second part, each bit in the second part corresponding to one of the HARQ processes with positive acknowledgement reported in the first part for the one HARQ process.)
Lei does not teach wherein the one-shot HARQ feedback comprises
a second type in which the NDI is not part of the one-shot HARQ feedback, spatial bundling is configured for the HARQ feedback.
the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit comprises: a binary AND operation of an HARQ-ACK information bit for a first transport block of the HARQ process ID and an HARQ-ACK information bit for a second transport block of the HARQ process ID and
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit when a first parameter is configured, the first parameter is relevant to spatial bundling.
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is the first type of HARQ-ACK information bit when the first parameter is not configured and the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured to comprise a first NDI value and/or a second NDI value; and
wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured to further comprise a first New Data Identifier (NDI) value and/or a second NDI value corresponding to the HARQ process ID; wherein the first and/or the second NDI values are indicated in a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH transmission, the first NDI value is for a first codeword or a first transport block, the second NDI value is for a second codeword or a second transport block.
However, Yang teaches
a second type in which the NDI is not part of the one-shot HARQ feedback, spatial bundling is configured for the HARQ feedback. ([0481] When spatial bundling is configured (e.g., 2360 Y of FIG. 23), (for all CCs) only a single (bundled) A/N bit for a single TB or multiple TBs is fed back for each HARQ ID (according to the maximum number of TBs configured for the corresponding CC) (e.g., 2370 of FIG. 23).
Compare this type to the type disclosed earlier in 0481: “i. If spatial bundling is not configured (e.g., 2360 N of FIG. 23), (for all CCs) whether a UE feeds back (1-bit) A/N information and (1-bit) NDI information together for each TB of each HARQ process ID, or only (1-bit) A/N information for each TB of ID each HARQ process is configured by a base station (e.g., One-Shot feedback NDI, 2380 of FIG. 23) (a UE feeds back according to the corresponding configuration, e.g., 2385/2375 of FIG. 23).
See provisional application ‘282, page 89, G. Opt 6)
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit when a first parameter is configured, the first parameter is relevant to spatial bundling. ([0101] Whether a UE should perform spatial bundling for a HARQ-ACK response may be configured (e.g., RRC/higher layer signaling) for each cell group.
supported by provisional application ‘282, esp. page 89, section 2) For a CC that Spatial bundling is configured”
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is the first type of HARQ-ACK information bit when the first parameter is not configured ([0100] When a PDSCH is configured to transmit up to 2 TBs, a HARQ-ACK response may be configured with 2-bits when spatial bundling is not configured, and may be configured with 1-bits when spatial bundling is configured.
Supported by ‘282 on page 89, G. Opt 6 “… Operate to perform feedback on (1-bit) A/N information and (1-bit) NDI information together per each TB of each HARQ ID (for all CCs) when Spatial bundling is not configured”) and
the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured to comprise a first NDI value and/or a second NDI value. ([0460] i. In case of the Type-3 codebook-based A/N feedback, as an exception, a UE may operate no to apply the configured spatial bundling, and feed back a single bit calculated by performing an XOR operation on an A/N bit and an NDI bit for each TB of each HARQ process ID.
Supported by ‘282 on page 87 G. Opt 6 “Operate to perform feedback on (1-bit) A/N information and (1-bit) NDI information together per each TB of each HARQ ID (for all CCs) when Spatial bundling is not configured” )
wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured to further comprise a first New Data Identifier (NDI) value and/or a second NDI value corresponding to the HARQ process ID; ([0462] i. In case of the Type-3 codebook-based A/N feedback, as an exception, a UE may operate not to apply the configured spatial bundling, and feed back an A/N bit and an NDI bit together for each TB of each HARQ ID (e.g., 1-bit A/N and 1-bit NDI are fed back for each TB of each HARQ ID).)
wherein the first and/or the second NDI values are indicated in a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH transmission, ([0462] (e.g., a bit value of an NDI field included in DL grant DCI for scheduling a corresponding TB))
the first NDI value is for a first codeword or a first transport block, the second NDI value is for a second codeword or a second transport block. ([0462] feed back an A/N bit and an NDI bit together for each TB of each HARQ ID (e.g., 1-bit A/N and 1-bit NDI are fed back for each TB of each HARQ ID). )
in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback by using spatial bundling ([0412])
Lei and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Lei with the technique of spatial bundling in Yang in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback.
Lei and Yang does not teach
the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit comprises: a binary AND operation of an HARQ-ACK information bit for a first transport block of the HARQ process ID and an HARQ-ACK information bit for a second transport block of the HARQ process ID
However, Gao teaches
the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit comprises: a binary AND operation of an HARQ-ACK information bit for a first transport block of the HARQ process ID and an HARQ-ACK information bit for a second transport block of the HARQ process ID ([0077] The HARQ-ACK spatial bundling may refer to a logical “and” operation on the HARQ-ACK feedback information corresponding to a plurality of TBs in the same downlink transmission to acquire combined HARQ-ACK feedback information having one bit.)
in order to more accurately feedback the ACK/NACKs for PDSCH received simultaneously in a cell. ([0005])
Lei and Gao are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Lei with the technique of binary AND operation of TBS in Gao in order to more accurately feedback the ACK/NACKs for PDSCH received simultaneously in a cell.
Regarding claim 2. Lei and Yang and Gao teach The method according to claim 1, and Lei teaches wherein the PDSCH transmission corresponds to a HARQ process identifier (ID). ([0073] Thus, the UE reuses the latest HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, a.sub.x, for PDSCH in slot n, as the HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, b.sub.x, in the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.)
Regarding claim 3. Lei and Yang and Gao teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the PDSCH transmission comprises an amount of codewords or an amount of transport blocks, the amount of codewords or transport blocks comprises at least one or two. ([0075] It is noted that only one TB is carried by one PDSCH and each TB is acknowledged with one-bit ACK or NACK in both FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B. In the case where up to two TBs are configured for one PDSCH or CBG-based retransmission is configured for PDSCH,)
Regarding claim 7. Lei and Yang and Gao teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured to further comprise a first New Data Identifier (NDI) value and/or a second NDI value corresponding to the HARQ process ID. ([0076] To address such error cases, several methods may be used. The first way is to indicate NDI for each HARQ process in the triggering DCI. However, this impacts DCI design. Apparently, this is not suitable for using DL assignment or UL grant as the triggering DCI. The second way is to indicate NDI for each HARQ process in the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.)
Regarding claim 8. Lei and Yang and Gao teach The method according to claim 7, wherein the first and/or the second NDI values are indicated in a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH transmission, the first NDI value is for a first codeword or a first transport block, the second NDI value is for a second codeword or a second transport block. ([0115] For example, (ACK, ACK, NACK, ACK) are reported in slot n+4 for HARQ processes x, x+1, x+2 and x+3, and the UE misses the DCI in slot m, and detects the DCI in slot m+1 and correctly decodes PDSCH scheduled by the DCI in slot m+1. Assuming S=2 and X=4, the UE then reports ACK, ACK for HARQ processes x and x+1 in the first part of the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook and indicates 4 NDI bits in the second part as 0, 1, 0, 0,)
Regarding claim 11, 15, 16, Lei t and Yang and Gao teach A user equipment comprising: a receiver (Lei Fig. 2, receiver 214) and a transmitter (Lei Fig. 2, Transmitter 212) configured perform the method in claim 1-3 and 7-8. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19. Lei and Yang and Gao teach The user equipment according to claim 11, but it does not teach wherein a configuration of spatial bundling does not apply to types of one-shot HARQ feedback in which the NDI is part of the one-shot HARQ feedback.
However, Yang teaches wherein a configuration of spatial bundling does not apply to types of one-shot HARQ feedback in which the NDI is part of the one-shot HARQ feedback. (Fig. 23, 2375, see [0479] When spatial bundling is not configured through higher layer signaling (2305) (2360 N) and it is configured to include an NDI in a Type-3 codebook-based HARQ-ACK (2380 Y), a UE may generated/reported TB-based A/N bits and NDIs of a corresponding CC (2375).)
in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback by using spatial bundling ([0412])
Lei and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Lei with the technique of spatial bundling in Yang in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback.
Regarding claim 20. Lei teaches A method of HARQ feedback, the method comprising: transmitting a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmission; ([0006] In 3GPP 5G NR, the downlink (DL) transport blocks (TBs) are carried on the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) from a gNB to a UE. In one example, a maximum of two TBs can be transmitted on PDSCH in one serving cell and in one slot. ) and
receiving a Hybrid Automatic Report Request (HARQ) feedback of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the HARQ feedback comprises a one-shot HARQ feedback. ([0073] Thus, the UE reuses the latest HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, a.sub.x, for PDSCH in slot n, as the HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, b.sub.x, in the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.)
wherein the one-shot HARQ feedback comprises the following two types:
a first type in which a NDI is part of the one-shot HARQ feedback; ([0106] For HARQ process x+1, the UE reports a.sub.x+1 as ACK in slot n+4 and the gNB transmits the DCI in slot m+1 with toggled NDI (“1”) for scheduling new TB transmission. When the UE detects this DCI in slot m+1 for scheduling HARQ process x+1 and correctly decodes the associated PDSCH, in the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook, the UE will generate ACK as b.sub.x+1 in the first part, and indicate its latest NDI of “1” received in slot m+1 for the HARQ process x+1 in the second part.) and
wherein the one-shot HARQ feedback comprises an HARQ-ACK codebook, ([0073] Thus, the UE reuses the latest HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, a.sub.x, for PDSCH in slot n, as the HARQ-ACK information bit for HARQ process x, b.sub.x, in the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.)
wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises at least one of the followings: a first HARQ-ACK information bit or a second HARQ-ACK information bit, and wherein the first and/or the second HARQ-ACK information bit are for a HARQ process ID. ([0073] same as above)
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit comprises at least one of the followings:
a first type of HARQ-ACK information bit; ([0073] see below) and a second type of HARQ-ACK information bit,
the first type of HARQ-ACK information bit comprises an HARQ-ACK information bit for a first codeword or for a first transport block of the HARQ process ID, ([0078] According to some embodiments, the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook includes two parts: a first part including the HARQ-ACK information bits for each HARQ process, which are concatenated in the order of HARQ process ID; and a second part, each bit in the second part corresponding to one of the HARQ processes with positive acknowledgement reported in the first part for the one HARQ process.)
Lei does not teach wherein the one-shot HARQ feedback comprises
a second type in which the NDI is not part of the one-shot HARQ feedback, spatial bundling is configured for the HARQ feedback.
the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit comprises: a binary AND operation of an HARQ-ACK information bit for a first transport block of the HARQ process ID and an HARQ-ACK information bit for a second transport block of the HARQ process ID and
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit when a first parameter is configured, the first parameter is relevant to spatial bundling,
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is the first type of HARQ-ACK information bit when the first parameter is not configured and the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured to comprise a first NDI value and/or a second NDI value.
wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured to further comprise a first New Data Identifier (NDI) value and/or a second NDI value corresponding to the HARQ process ID; wherein the first and/or the second NDI values are indicated in a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH transmission, the first NDI value is for a first codeword or a first transport block, the second NDI value is for a second codeword or a second transport block.
However, Yang teaches
a second type in which the NDI is not part of the one-shot HARQ feedback, spatial bundling is configured for the HARQ feedback. ([0481] When spatial bundling is configured (e.g., 2360 Y of FIG. 23), (for all CCs) only a single (bundled) A/N bit for a single TB or multiple TBs is fed back for each HARQ ID (according to the maximum number of TBs configured for the corresponding CC) (e.g., 2370 of FIG. 23).
Compare this type to the type disclosed earlier in 0481: “i. If spatial bundling is not configured (e.g., 2360 N of FIG. 23), (for all CCs) whether a UE feeds back (1-bit) A/N information and (1-bit) NDI information together for each TB of each HARQ process ID, or only (1-bit) A/N information for each TB of ID each HARQ process is configured by a base station (e.g., One-Shot feedback NDI, 2380 of FIG. 23) (a UE feeds back according to the corresponding configuration, e.g., 2385/2375 of FIG. 23).
See provisional application ‘282, page 89, G. Opt 6)
the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit comprises: a binary AND operation of an HARQ-ACK information bit for a first codeword or a first transport block of the HARQ process ID and an HARQ-ACK information bit for a second codeword or a second transport block of the HARQ process ID. ([0103] UE performing spatial bundling may generate a single A/N bit by performing a logical AND operation on a first A/N bit for a first TB and a second A/N bit for a second TB.”,
See provisional application ‘282, page 89, G. Opt 6)
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit when a first parameter is configured, the first parameter is relevant to spatial bundling. ([0101] Whether a UE should perform spatial bundling for a HARQ-ACK response may be configured (e.g., RRC/higher layer signaling) for each cell group.
supported by provisional application ‘282, esp. page 89, section 2) For a CC that Spatial bundling is configured”
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is the first type of HARQ-ACK information bit when the first parameter is not configured ([0100] When a PDSCH is configured to transmit up to 2 TBs, a HARQ-ACK response may be configured with 2-bits when spatial bundling is not configured, and may be configured with 1-bits when spatial bundling is configured.
Supported by ‘282 on page 87, G. Opt 6 “… Operate to perform feedback on (1-bit) A/N information and (1-bit) NDI information together per each TB of each HARQ ID (for all CCs) when Spatial bundling is not configured”) and
the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured to comprise a first NDI value and/or a second NDI value. ([0460] i. In case of the Type-3 codebook-based A/N feedback, as an exception, a UE may operate no to apply the configured spatial bundling, and feed back a single bit calculated by performing an XOR operation on an A/N bit and an NDI bit for each TB of each HARQ process ID.
Supported by ‘282 on page 87 G. Opt 6 “Operate to perform feedback on (1-bit) A/N information and (1-bit) NDI information together per each TB of each HARQ ID (for all CCs) when Spatial bundling is not configured” )
wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured to further comprise a first New Data Identifier (NDI) value and/or a second NDI value corresponding to the HARQ process ID; ([0462] i. In case of the Type-3 codebook-based A/N feedback, as an exception, a UE may operate not to apply the configured spatial bundling, and feed back an A/N bit and an NDI bit together for each TB of each HARQ ID (e.g., 1-bit A/N and 1-bit NDI are fed back for each TB of each HARQ ID).
Supported by ‘282 on page 87, Opt. 5)
wherein the first and/or the second NDI values are indicated in a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH transmission, ([0462] (e.g., a bit value of an NDI field included in DL grant DCI for scheduling a corresponding TB) Supported by ‘282 on page 87, Opt. 5)
the first NDI value is for a first codeword or a first transport block, the second NDI value is for a second codeword or a second transport block. ([0462] feed back an A/N bit and an NDI bit together for each TB of each HARQ ID (e.g., 1-bit A/N and 1-bit NDI are fed back for each TB of each HARQ ID). Supported by ‘282 on page 87, Opt. 5)
in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback by using spatial bundling ([0412])
Lei and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Lei with the technique of spatial bundling in Yang in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback.
Lei and Yang does not teach
the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit comprises: a binary AND operation of an HARQ-ACK information bit for a first transport block of the HARQ process ID and an HARQ-ACK information bit for a second transport block of the HARQ process ID
However, Gao teaches
the second type of HARQ-ACK information bit comprises: a binary AND operation of an HARQ-ACK information bit for a first transport block of the HARQ process ID and an HARQ-ACK information bit for a second transport block of the HARQ process ID ([0077] The HARQ-ACK spatial bundling may refer to a logical “and” operation on the HARQ-ACK feedback information corresponding to a plurality of TBs in the same downlink transmission to acquire combined HARQ-ACK feedback information having one bit.)
in order to more accurately feedback the ACK/NACKs for PDSCH received simultaneously in a cell. ([0005])
Lei and Gao are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Lei with the technique of binary AND operation of TBS in Gao in order to more accurately feedback the ACK/NACKs for PDSCH received simultaneously in a cell.
Regarding claim 21. Lei and Yang and Gao teach The method according to claim 20, wherein the PDSCH transmission corresponds to a HARQ process identifier (ID); or the PDSCH transmission comprises an amount of codewords or an amount of transport blocks, and the amount of codewords or transport blocks comprises at least one or two. ([0075] It is noted that only one TB is carried by one PDSCH and each TB is acknowledged with one-bit ACK or NACK in both FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B. In the case where up to two TBs are configured for one PDSCH or CBG-based retransmission is configured for PDSCH,)
Regarding claim 23. Lei and Yang and Gao teach The method according to claim 20, Lei does not teach
the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises the second HARQ-ACK information bit, when a first parameter is not configured;
However, YANG teaches
wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is the first type of HARQ-ACK information bit when a first parameter is not configured ([0100] If a PDSCH is configured to transmit up to 1 TB, a HARQ-ACK response may be configured with 1-bit. When a PDSCH is configured to transmit up to 2 TBs, a HARQ-ACK response may be configured with 2-bits when spatial bundling is not configured, and may be configured with 1-bits when spatial bundling is configured.) and
in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback by using spatial bundling ([0412])
Lei and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Lei with the technique of spatial bundling in Yang in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback.
Regarding claim 25. Lei and Yang and Gao teach The method according to claim 20, but it does not teach wherein a configuration of spatial bundling does not apply to types of one-shot HARQ feedback in which the NDI is part of the one-shot HARQ feedback.
However, Yang teaches wherein a configuration of spatial bundling does not apply to types of one-shot HARQ feedback in which the NDI is part of the one-shot HARQ feedback. (Fig. 23, 2375, see [0479] When spatial bundling is not configured through higher layer signaling (2305) (2360 N) and it is configured to include an NDI in a Type-3 codebook-based HARQ-ACK (2380 Y), a UE may generated/reported TB-based A/N bits and NDIs of a corresponding CC (2375).)
in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback by using spatial bundling ([0412])
Lei and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Lei with the technique of spatial bundling in Yang in order to reduce transmission/reception overhead of a payload of A/N feedback.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468