DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh et al. (US 2019/0137736) in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0239117).
Regarding claim 1, Huh discloses an optical imaging lens assembly (see figures 29-32, for instance), sequentially comprising, from an object side to an image side along an optical axis; a variable aperture (VST); a first lens (610) with a positive refractive power ([0286]), an object-side surface thereof is a convex surface, and an image-side surface thereof is a concave surface (see figure 29); a second lens (620) with a refractive power; a third lens (630) with a refractive power; a fourth lens (640) with a refractive power; a fifth lens (650) with a refractive power; a sixth lens (660) with refractive power; a seventh lens (670) with a positive refractive power ([0292]); and an eighth lens (680) with a negative refractive power ([0294]), wherein EPDmax is a maximum entrance pupil diameter of the optical imaging lens assembly (configuration of Figure 30; corresponding to Table 20), EPDmin is a minimum entrance pupil diameter of the optical imaging lens assembly (configuration of figure Fig. 31; corresponding to Table 21), and EPDmax, EPDmin and a total effective focal length f of the optical imaging lens assembly satisfy: f/( EPDmax − EPDmin)>2.2 (according to optical calculations, Huh discloses a value of at least 4.748). However, Huh does not expressly disclose wherein the variable aperture is an iris diaphragm.
Lee discloses an optical imaging lens assembly (see figure 1, for instance), wherein the variable aperture (ST) is an iris diaphragm ([0046])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the iris diaphragm as the variable aperture as Lee in the device of Huh. The motivation for doing so would have been to be configured in an optimized and controlled manner to adjust the aperture for the light beam entering the optical lens assembly by using a alternative conventional technology in the art, as taught by Lee ([0046])
Regarding claim 7, Huh in view of Lee discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein f45 is a combined focal length of the fourth lens and the fifth lens, a curvature radius R7 of an object-side surface of the fourth lens, a curvature radius R8 of an image-side surface of the fourth lens, is a curvature radius R9 of an object-side of the fifth lens, is a curvature radius R10 of an image-side surface of the fifth lens and f45 satisfy: −2.0<f45/(R7+R8+R9+R10)<-0.2 (see Table 20).
Regarding claim 12, Huh in view of Lee discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein EPDmax and EPDmin satisfy: 1.1< EPDmax / EPDmin <3.1 (2.2975; based on values of EPDmax = 3.676, and EPDmin = 1.6).
Regarding claim 13, Huh in view of Lee discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein EPDmax, EPDmin and the total effective focal length f of the optical imaging lens assembly satisfy: 2.2<f/( EPDmax − EPDmin)<20 (f/( EPDmax − EPDmin) = 4.748, based on Table 20).
Regarding claim 14, Huh in view of Lee discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein an object-side surface of the sixth lens (660) is a convex surface (see fig. 31), and an image-side surface of the sixth lens (660) is a concave surface (see fig. 31); an object-side surface of the seventh lens (670) is a convex surface (see fig. 31), and an image-side surface of the seventh lens (670) is a concave surface (see fig. 31).
Claim(s) 1-2, 7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2023/0034285) in view of Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses an optical imaging lens assembly (see figures 3a-3b, for instance), sequentially comprising, from an object side to an image side along an optical axis; a variable aperture (ST); a first lens (L1) with a positive refractive power (based on Table 1a), an object-side surface thereof is a convex surface, and an image-side surface thereof is a concave surface (see figure 3a); a second lens (L2) with a refractive power; a third lens (L3) with a refractive power; a fourth lens (L4) with a refractive power; a fifth lens (L5) with a refractive power; a sixth lens (L6) with refractive power; a seventh lens (L7) with a positive refractive power (based on Table 1a); and an eighth lens (L8) with a negative refractive power (based on Table 1a), wherein EPDmax is a maximum entrance pupil diameter of the optical imaging lens assembly ([0139]; 4.31), EPDmin is a minimum entrance pupil diameter of the optical imaging lens assembly ([0139]; 3.0467), and EPDmax, EPDmin and a total effective focal length f of the optical imaging lens assembly satisfy: f/( EPDmax − EPDmin)>2.2 (according to optical calculations, Hsu discloses a value of at least 4.9394). However, Hsu does not expressly disclose wherein the variable aperture is an iris diaphragm.
Lee discloses an optical imaging lens assembly (see figure 1, for instance), wherein the variable aperture (ST) is an iris diaphragm ([0046])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the iris diaphragm as the variable aperture as Lee in the device of Hsu. The motivation for doing so would have been to be configured in an optimized and controlled manner to adjust the aperture for the light beam entering the optical lens assembly by using a alternative conventional technology in the art, as taught by Lee ([0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu in view of Lee discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein an effective focal length f1 of the first lens (L1), a curvature radius R1 of the object-side surface of the first lens and a curvature radius R2 of the image-side surface of the first lens satisfy: 0.3<f1/(R2−R1)<4.8 (based on Table 1a, a value of 1.5644).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu in view of Lee discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein f45 is a combined focal length of the fourth lens and the fifth lens, a curvature radius R7 of an object-side surface of the fourth lens, a curvature radius R8 of an image-side surface of the fourth lens, is a curvature radius R9 of an object-side of the fifth lens, is a curvature radius R10 of an image-side surface of the fifth lens and f45 satisfy: −2.0<f45/(R7+R8+R9+R10)<-0.2 (based on Table 1a, value of -0.7883).
Regarding claim 12, Hsu in view of Lee discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein EPDmax and EPDmin satisfy: 1.1< EPDmax / EPDmin <3.1 (1.415; based on values of EPDmax = 4.31 and EPDmin =3.0467).
Regarding claim 13, Hsu in view of Lee discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein EPDmax, EPDmin and the total effective focal length f of the optical imaging lens assembly satisfy: 2.2<f/( EPDmax − EPDmin)<20 (f/( EPDmax − EPDmin) = 4.9394, based on Table 1a).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu in view of Lee discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein an object-side surface of the sixth lens (L6) is a convex surface (see fig. 3a), and an image-side surface of the sixth lens (L6) is a concave surface (see fig. 3a); an object-side surface of the seventh lens (L7) is a convex surface (see fig. 3a), and an image-side surface of the seventh lens (L7) is a concave surface (see fig. 3a).
Claim(s) 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN107703609B; translation attached herewith; rejection made with reference to US 2020/0201002 as the English translation of the US-filed application) in view of Lee, and in further view of in view of Gross et al (Handbook of Optical Systems, Volume 3: Aberration Theory and Correction of Optical Systems. Oberkochen, Wiley-VCH, 2007).
Regarding 15, Xu discloses an optical imaging lens (see figure 19, for instance) assembly, sequentially comprising, from an object side to an image side along an optical axis: a first lens (E1) with a positive refractive power ([0164]), an object-side surface thereof is a convex surface, and an image-side surface thereof is a concave surface (see fig. 19); a diaphragm (STO); a second lens (E2) with a refractive power; a third lens (E3) with a refractive power; a fourth lens (E4) with a refractive power; a fifth lens (E5) with a refractive power; a sixth lens (E6) with a refractive power; a seventh lens (E7) with a positive refractive power ([0164]); and an eighth lens (E8) with a negative refractive power ([0164]), wherein f123 is a combined focal length of the first lens, the second lens and the third lens, f67 is a combined focal length of the sixth lens and the seventh lens, and f123 and f67 satisfy: 1.2<f123/f67<1.8 (based on values from Table 28, f123/f67=1.7117). However, Xu does not expressly disclose wherein the diaphragm is an iris diaphragm, wherein the aperture stop is sequentially disposed before the first lens from an object side to an image side along an optical axis.
Lee discloses an optical imaging lens assembly (see figure 1, for instance), wherein the variable aperture (ST) is an iris diaphragm ([0046])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the iris diaphragm as the variable aperture as Lee in the device of Hsu. The motivation for doing so would have been to be configured in an optimized and controlled manner to adjust the aperture for the light beam entering the optical lens assembly by using a alternative conventional technology in the art, as taught by Lee ([0046]).
Within the same field of endeavor, Gross et al teaches that it is advantageous to move a stop position in an optical system for the purpose of finding a design with better performance without any great perturbation of the existing setup (page 378, section 33.1.4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the stop of Jia et al to be discloses between the fourth and fifth lenses since Gross et al teaches that it is advantageous to move a stop position in an optical system for the purpose of finding a design with better performance without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Regarding claim 16, Xu in view of Lee and in further view of Gross discloses the optical imaging lens assembly according to claim 15, wherein an effective focal length f1 of the first lens, a curvature radius R1 of the object-side surface of the first lens and a curvature radius R2 of the image-side surface of the first lens satisfy: 0.3<f1/(R2−R1)<4.8 (based on Table 28, f1/(R2−R1) = 0.3775)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8-11 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 12/10/2024