DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 8-20 are pending. Claim 20 is withdrawn.
Claims 8-16, 18-19 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al in view of Asano et al.
Claim 17 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al in view of Asano et al in view of Tsigdinos et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al (JP 2013-010861) in view of Asano et al (US Patent Application 2002/0102429).
Regarding claims 8-16, 18-19, Takahashi et al teaches a resin composition comprising a resin, silica and hydrous zinc molybdate (Paragraph 7). Takahashi et al further teaches the hydrous zinc molybdate has the formula Zn3Mo2O8(OH)2 (which satisfies 100wt% of the zinc dimolybdate hydroxide is present as crystalline form) (Paragraph 8) having an average particle diameter of 0.5-2µm in order to have good dispersibility (Paragraph 18). Takahashi et al further teaches an epoxy resin (Paragraph 11). Takahashi et al further teaches the composition may optionally comprise fillers, flame retardants, thermoplastic resins, antioxidants, UV absorbers (Paragraph 20). However, Takahashi et al fails to specifically disclose the hydrous zinc molybdate is on silica support, the d100, d10 and d90/d10/d50 ratio, the amount of the silica supported hydrous zinc molybdate in the epoxy resin as parts per 100 resin and 4-16wt% of zinc and 3-20wt% of molybdenum in silica supported hydrous zinc molybdate.
In the same field of endeavor, Asano et al teaches a composition comprising epoxy, an inorganic filler and a fire retardant comprising zinc molybdate carried on spherical silica having a mean particle diameter of 0.2-20µm and a specific surface area of 1-20 m2/g (Abstract) in order to provide the smoke reducing and charring effect while providing a fire retardant that is well dispersible (Paragraph 12). Asano et al further teaches the amount of zinc molybdate on the spherical silica is 1-50% by weight (Paragraph 15). Asano et al further teaches 1-300 parts of the silica supported hydrous zinc molybdate per 100 parts epoxy resin (Paragraph 16).
With regard to the hydrous zinc molybdate is on silica support, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the hydrous zinc molybdate per 100 parts epoxy resin in Takahashi et al in view of Asano et al in order to provide the smoke reducing and charring effect while providing a fire retardant that is well dispersible (Paragraph 12) as taught in Asano et al, wherein the objective of Takahashi et al is to provide hydrous zinc molybdate with good dispersability.
With regard to d100, d10 and d90/d10/d50 ratio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the d100, d10 and d90/d10/d50 ratio in Takahashi et al in view of Asano et al because Asano et al teaches overlapping ranges for the D50 particle size and adjusting the particle size within this range to provide the claimed values of d100, d10 and d90/d10/d50 would only be obvious to the ordinary artisan.
With regard to the amount of the silica supported hydrous zinc molybdate in the epoxy resin as parts per 100 resin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the amount of the silica supported hydrous zinc molybdate per 100 parts resin as Asano et al teaches overlapping ranges; a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
With regard to 4-16wt% of zinc and 3-20wt% of molybdenum in silica supported hydrous zinc molybdate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to have provided 4-16wt% of zinc and 3-20wt% of molybdenum in silica supported hydrous zinc molybdate in Takahashi et al in view of Asano et al as Asano et al teaches 1-50wt% of the hydrous zinc molybdate in the silica supported hydrous zinc molybdate, wherein Zn3Mo2O8(OH)2 comprises 27.6wt% of zinc and 27 wt% of molybdenum, hence, this ranges overlaps the instantly claimed range; a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
With regard to the process of making the silica supported hydrous zinc molybdate, any difference imparted by the product by process limitations would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because where the examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art, the burden of proof is shifted to the applicant to establish that their product is patentably distinct, not the examiner to show the same process of making, see In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685 and In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al (JP 2013-010861) in view of Asano et al (US Patent Application 2002/0102429) as applied to claims 8-16, 18-19 above, and in further view of Tsigdinos et al (EP0054742 (already of record)).
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi et al and Asano et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Takahashi et al and Asano et al teach the features above. However, Takahashi et al and Asano et al fail to specifically disclose PVC.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsigdinos et al teaches a smoke suppressed or plasticized polyvinyl chloride polymer composition comprising a smoke suppressant comprising Zn3Mo2O9 H2O (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a polymer composition comprising the hydrous zinc molybdate is on silica support and PVC in Takahashi et al and Asano et al in view of Tsigdinos et al because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the obviousness rejection over Takahashi et al in view of Asano et al, Applicant argues that Takahashi and Takahashi et al in view of Asano et al fail to teach the zinc dimolybdate hydroxide is attached to the silica present in the supported zinc dimolybdate hydroxide/silica complex. Applicant further argues the Comparative Examples/Figures show a different method of making the supported zinc dimolybdate hydroxide/silica complex and that Figure 2 shows a much greater attachment of the zinc dimolybdate hydroxide to the silica. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument because, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). With regard to Figure 2 showing much greater attachment, although Figure 2 shows much greater attachment, the fact remains that Figures 1 and 3 still provide attachment as well. With regard to the different method of making the supported complex which provides claimed greater attachment, these limitations are not recited in the instant claims. It has been held that to overcome a reasonable case of prima facie obviousness a given claim must be commensurate in scope with any showing of unexpected results, In re Greenfield, 197 USPQ 227.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments over Asano et al, Applicant argues that Asano et al describes a physical mixture of zinc molybdate and a silica support. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument because Asano et al teaches a fire retardant comprising zinc molybdate carried on spherical silica (Abstract, Paragraph 8). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 October 16, 2026