DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/05/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6, 9-10, and 14-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Tokozakura, Wood, and Weicker do not teach a hollow section connected to the BMS and to the string of battery modules in a media-tight manner, wherein the hollow section is configured to register with the at least one BMS coolant inflow connection and all of the coolant outflow openings of the battery modules and surround all of the pole connections of the battery modules and the BMS, wherein the hollow section is configured to receive coolant flowing out of the coolant outflow openings along the battery modules that are strung together and to conduct the coolant to the at least one coolant inflow connection of the BMS; and a busbar interconnecting the pole connection of the BMS to the one or more pole connections of each battery module, the busbar being positioned within the hollow section to be cooled by the dielectric coolant. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Friedrich, Tokozakura, and Wood.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of electronic components (claim 1), dielectric coolant passageway (claim 1), energy storage cell (claim 1), coolant distributer (claim 9), and overall housing (claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich (DE-102018133006-A1, a machine translation is provided and referenced below) in view of Tokozakura (US 2019/0036181 A1; previously cited) and Wood (US 2009/0017366 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Friedrich discloses a high-voltage battery (energy storage device 2, Figs. 15-16, [0108]) comprising: (b) a plurality of battery modules (56, Figs. 15-16, [0108]) that are strung together (interconnected [0108]), wherein each battery module (56) comprises: (i) a module housing (housing 10 formed by formed by structural elements 12, specifically 14, 16, 18, and 28, see Figs. 1-2 for illustrative purposes in addition to Figs. 15-16, [0080]); (ii) at least one energy storage cell (6, Fig. 16, [0108]) arranged in the module housing (14, 16, 18, 28); (iv) at least one coolant inflow connection for the coolant inflow (fluidic coupling 58 for supply of heat medium, Fig. 16, [0108]) and a coolant outflow opening for the coolant outflow (fluidic coupling 58 for supply of heat medium, Fig. 16, [0108]); and (c) a hollow section (central line 62, Figs. 15-16, [0109]) connected to the string of battery modules (56) in a media-tight manner (via feedthroughs 60, Fig. 16, [0108]), wherein the hollow section (62) is configured to register with all of the coolant outflow openings (58) of the battery modules (56) (via feedthrough 60 for removal of heat medium, Fig. 16, [0108]), wherein the hollow section (62) is configured to receive dielectric coolant (dielectric heating medium, [0033]) flowing out of the coolant outflow openings (58) along the battery modules (56) that are strung together (via feedthrough 60 for removal of heat medium, Fig. 16, [0108]).
Friedrich does not disclose (a) a battery management system (BMS) comprising: (i) a BMS housing comprising at least one BMS coolant inflow connection for a coolant inflow and at least one BMS coolant outflow connection for a coolant outflow; (ii) a plurality of electronic components arranged inside the BMS housing; (iii) a dielectric coolant passageway through which dielectric coolant flows around at least part of at least one electronic component inside of the BMS housing; and (iv) a pole connection; (b) wherein each battery module comprises one or more pole connections; (c) wherein the hollow section is connected to the BMS and is configured to register with the at least one BMS coolant inflow connection and to surround all of the pole connections of the battery modules and the BMS, wherein the hollow section is configured to conduct the coolant to the at least one coolant inflow connection of the BMS; (d) a busbar interconnecting the pole connection of the BMS to the one or more pole connections of each battery module, the busbar being positioned within the hollow section to be cooled by the dielectric coolant.
In a variant of the battery (2) shown in Fig. 21, Friedrich discloses a battery management system (BMS) (88, Fig. 21, [0116]), comprising a plurality of electronic components ([0116]); and a hollow section connected to the BMS (88) and configured to conduct coolant to the BMS (88) (88 is integrated into the battery in the same way as components 76, 78, and 80 so it can be temperature-controlled by means of the heat medium, [0116]; those components 76, 78, 80 are arranged inside hollow chamber 30 of a structural element 12 of the battery 2 such that heat medium enters the housings 74 of each component to directly cool the internal portions of the components 76, 78, 80, [0115]; the BMS 88 is integrated in the same manner and therefore fluidically connected to the hollow section). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the battery of Friedrich by adding the BMS of the Fig. 21 embodiment to hollow section (62) of the Figs. 15-16 embodiment, such that the battery comprises a battery management system (BMS) comprising a plurality of electronic components because Friedrich teaches that the BMS can monitor and control the battery and teaches that integrating the BMS into the battery in combination with the immersion temperature control advantageously allows for temperature control of the BMS ([0066]). Further, Friedrich teaches that elements of the disclosed embodiments may be combined ([0078]) and it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
In an unpictured variant of the battery (2), Friedrich discloses wherein each battery module comprises one or more pole connections (contacts, [0074]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the battery (2) of Friedrich Figs.15-16 by adding or more pole connections to each battery module (56) because Friedrich teaches that the contacts can electrically connect the cells in the different modules ([0074]). Further, Friedrich teaches that elements of the disclosed embodiments may be combined ([0078]) and it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
In a variant of the battery (2) depicted in Fig. 5, Friedrich discloses wherein a hollow section (30) surrounds pole connections (32) of electrochemical cells (6). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the Figs. 15-16 embodiment such that the hollow section (62) surrounds pole connections of each battery module because Friedrich teaches that is advantageous for the dielectric coolant (heat medium) to be in direct contact with terminals ([0035]). Further, Friedrich teaches that elements of the disclosed embodiments may be combined ([0078]) and it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
In an unpictured variant of the battery (2), Friedrich discloses a busbar interconnecting the one or more pole connections of each battery module (central contact, [0075]). In a variant of the battery (2) depicted in Fig. 22, Friedrich discloses a busbar (8, Fig. 22, [0117]) positioned within a hollow section (hollow chamber 30 of a structural element 12, Fig. 22, [0117]) to be cooled by dielectric coolant (heat medium). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the battery (2) of Friedrich Figs.15-16 by adding a busbar interconnecting the one or more pole connections of each battery module and positioned within the hollow section (62) to be cooled by the dielectric coolant (heat medium) because Friedrich teaches that doing so suitably connects the modules ([0075]) while automatically cooling the busbar ([0117]). Further, Friedrich teaches that elements of the disclosed embodiments may be combined ([0078]) and it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Tokozakura teaches a high-voltage battery (20, FIG. 20); battery is high-voltage because it is used in an electric vehicle [0047]) comprising:
a battery management system (BMS) (PCU 40, FIG. 1; PCU controls battery [0047]), comprising:
a BMS housing (non-depicted case, [0050]) comprising at least one BMS coolant inflow connection (non-depicted inlet, [0050]) for a coolant inflow and at least one BMS coolant outflow connection (non-depicted outlet, [0050]) for a coolant outflow;
a plurality of electronic components (non-depicted electric devices, [0050]) arranged inside the BMS housing (case);
a dielectric coolant passageway through which dielectric coolant (insulating oil, [0046]) flows around at least part of at least one electronic component (electric devices) inside of the BMS housing (oil performs direct heat exchange with electric devices, [0050]); and
a pole connection (PCU is electrically connected to battery and motor [0050]); and
a plurality of battery modules ([0053], FIG. 20) that are strung together (fluidly connected by flowpath depicted in FIG. 20), wherein each battery module comprises:
a module housing (case 22, FIG. 16, [0084]);
at least one energy storage cell (25, FIG. 16, [0084]) arranged in the module housing (22); and
at least one coolant inflow connection (inlet 221, FIG. 16, [0066]) for the coolant inflow and a coolant outflow opening (outlet 222, FIG. 16, [0066]) for the coolant outflow.
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the battery of Friedrich by adding a BMS housing comprising at least one BMS coolant inflow connection for a coolant inflow and at least one BMS coolant outflow connection for a coolant outflow in which the plurality of electronic components are arranged and a dielectric coolant passageway through which dielectric coolant flows around at least part of at least one electronic component inside of the BMS housing; and (iv) a pole connection because Tokozakura teaches that doing so provides cooling to the electronic components of the BMS and enables successful connection to the battery ([0050]).
Friedrich in view of Tokozakura teaches wherein the hollow section is connected to the BMS and is configured to register with the at least one BMS coolant inflow connection of the BMS and to surround the pole connection of the BMS because the BMS (88) of Friedrich is entirely contained within the hollow section as discussed above.
Friedrich in view of Tokozakura does not disclose the busbar interconnecting the pole connection of the BMS to the one or more pole connections of each battery module.
Wood teaches a high-voltage battery (battery system for a vehicle [0003]) comprising:
a battery management system (BMS) (70, FIG. 1, [0043]) comprising:
a BMS housing (body 72, FIGS. 9 and 10A-10D, [0065]);
a plurality of electronic components arranged inside the BMS housing (72) ([0065]);
a dielectric coolant passageway through which dielectric coolant (air [0080]) flows around at least part of at least one electronic component inside of the BMS housing (72) ([0080]); and
a pole connection (shunt terminal 74, FIGS. 7A and 7B, [0066]);
a plurality of battery modules that are strung together ([0045]), wherein each battery module comprises:
a module housing (23, FIG. 3A, [0048]);
at least one energy storage cell (22, FIG. 3A, [0044]) arranged in the module housing (23); and
one or more pole connections (24, 25, FIG. 3A, [0048]); and
connectors (64, 75, FIGS. 7A and 7B, [0062], [0066]) interconnecting the pole connection of the BMS (74) to the one or more pole connections (24, 25) of each battery module.
Wood also teaches that one or busbars may be used instead of the connectors ([0062]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Friedrich in view of Tokozakura by adding a busbar interconnecting the pole connection of the BMS to the one or more pole connections of each battery module because Wood teaches that integrating the BMS with the battery modules in this manner simplifies the assembly of the battery, reduces wiring in the battery, and adds structural rigidity to the battery ([0079]-[0080]) and that busbars are suitable for providing electrical connections in batteries ([0062]).
Regarding claim 2, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood discloses wherein at least one electronic component of the plurality of electronic components is a power connection, or an electrical connection to at least one battery module (Friedrich: inverter or charging electronics, [0116]).
Regarding claim 3, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood discloses wherein the BMS is connected to a cooling circuit of an electrical traction system (cooling circuit is outside the scope of the claim and not given patentable weight, but BMS is capable of being connected in such a manner, see Friedrich: [0116]).
Regarding claim 4, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood discloses wherein each battery module (56) comprises, on at least one module housing side (28), the at least one coolant inflow connection for the coolant inflow (either fluidic coupling 58 can be selected as the coolant inflow, see Friedrich Figs. 15-16).
Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood does not disclose wherein each battery module comprises on a module housing cover, on which said one or more pole connections are also located, the coolant outflow opening for the coolant outflow or in which a sequence of the coolant inflows with a first coolant inflow and a last coolant inflow is stipulated by stringing together of the battery modules, wherein the battery module with the last coolant inflow forms an end side as one end of the string, wherein the battery management system is arranged on said end side, and a wherein the high-voltage battery is connected to a cooling system.
In a variant of the battery (2) depicted in Fig. 5, Friedrich teaches wherein a battery module (2) comprises on a module housing cover (14) on which pole connections (32) of the battery module (2) are also located, a coolant outflow opening for coolant outflow (opening in annotated figure 1 below). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the battery of Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood such that the pole connections and coolant outflow opening for coolant outflow are located on a module housing cover as shown in the Fig. 5 variant of Friedrich because Friedrich demonstrates that this configuration is known in the art and suitable for cooling electrochemical cells ([0092]). Further, Friedrich teaches that elements of the disclosed embodiments may be combined ([0078]) and it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Annotated figure 1
In a variant of the battery (2) depicted in Fig. 21, Friedrich teaches wherein a sequence of the coolant inflows with a first coolant inflow (left side of flowpath S in Fig. 21) and a last coolant inflow (right side of flowpath S in Fig. 21) is stipulated by stringing together of the battery modules (not pictured), wherein the battery module with the last coolant inflow forms an end side (right side of Fig. 21) as one end of the string, wherein the battery management system (88) is arranged on said end side (right side of Fig. 21), and a wherein the high-voltage battery (2) is connected to a cooling system (outside the scope of the “high-voltage battery” but shown as refrigerant circuit 84 in Friedrich Fig. 21, [0115]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the battery of Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood such that or in which a sequence of the coolant inflows with a first coolant inflow and a last coolant inflow is stipulated by stringing together of the battery modules, wherein the battery module with the last coolant inflow forms an end side as one end of the string, wherein the battery management system is arranged on said end side, and a wherein the high-voltage battery is connected to a cooling system because Friedrich teaches that such a configuration is known in the art (Fig. 21). Further, Friedrich teaches that elements of the disclosed embodiments may be combined ([0078]) and it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood teaches wherein the at least one BMS coolant inflow connection (Tokozakura: inlet [0050]) is configured to be connected to a coolant inflow from the cooling system (cooling system is outside of the scope of the claimed “high-voltage battery” and does not receive patentable weight, but Tokozakura FIG. 1 shows that the BMS 40 is connected to and receives fluid from cooling circuit 10).
Regarding claim 6, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood teaches wherein the at least one BMS coolant outflow connection (Tokozakura: outlet [0050]) is configured to be connected to a coolant return flow into the cooling system (cooling system is outside of the scope of the claimed “high-voltage battery” and does not receive patentable weight, but Tokozakura FIG. 1 shows that the BMS 40 is connected to and delivers fluid to cooling circuit 10).
Regarding claim 9, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood discloses wherein all of the coolant inflow connections (58) of the battery modules (56) are connected to a coolant distributor having a single coolant inlet (central line 62, see Friedrich Figs. 15-16 and [0108]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 10, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood discloses wherein the BMS housing, all of the module housings and the hollow section are formed by an overall housing (Friedrich:12, 18, 24 in Fig. 20, [0112]).
Regarding claim 14, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood discloses wherein the module housings (12) and the BMS housing (see Tokozakura) each include a port (ports in second annotated figure below; the BMS coolant inflow connection and BMS coolant outflow connections taught by Tokozakura in the rejection of claim 1 are openings and therefore ports) that registers with a respective opening (openings in second annotated figure below) formed in the hollow section (62) to enable fluid transfer between the hollow section (62) and each housing (12).
Annotated figure 2
Regarding claim 15, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood discloses wherein the hollow section (62) is mounted to each opening (opening in annotated figure 2 above) by a respective seal (fluidic coupling 58, Friedrich Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 16, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood discloses wherein each pole connection is positioned (i) at least partially within the hollow section, whereas the busbar is positioned exclusively in the hollow section (see rejection of claim 1).
Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood does not disclose wherein each pole connection is positioned (ii) at least partially within its respective housing.
In a variant of the battery (2) depicted in Fig. 5, Friedrich teaches wherein each pole connection (32) is positioned at least partially within its respective housing (12). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood such that each pole connection is positioned at least partially within its respective housing because Friedrich teaches that doing so enables the cells within a module to be interconnected ([0080]). Further, Friedrich teaches that elements of the disclosed embodiments may be combined ([0078]) and it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Friedrich in view of Tokozakura and Wood discloses wherein the battery further comprises a second busbar interconnecting the pole connections of two adjacent battery modules, the second busbar being positioned within the hollow section to be cooled by the dielectric coolant (see rejection of claim 1; the busbar 8 in the Friedrich Fig. 22 embodiment used to modify the Figs. 15-16 embodiment interconnects the pole connections 32 of the adjacent battery modules 56).
Conclusion
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723