DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 10/27/2025. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN103200610A) in view of Suzuki et al. (U.S. 2011/0201279 A1).
Claim 1, Feng teaches:
A user equipment location information reporting method (Feng, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0099], The system performs a position reporting of a measurement device. The measuring device may be a base station or a terminal (see Feng, Paragraph [0122]).), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a first message, wherein the first message comprises a motion trigger condition indicated by data of the first message (Feng, Paragraph [0099], A positioning server transmits a positioning request, i.e. a first message, wherein the positioning request includes the positioning type of E-CID positioning, i.e. a motion trigger condition (see Feng, Paragraph [0101]).), and wherein the motion trigger condition triggers the user equipment to report a measurement result of a positioning reference signal based on motion (Feng, Paragraph [0120], When the measurement device detects at least one event in the trigger reporting criterion is triggered, a positioning measurement report may be sent. The positioning measurement report includes a report of the E-CID positioning (see Feng, Paragraph [0122]).);
determining, by the user equipment, while the user equipment is in an idle state or an inactive state (Feng, Paragraph [0120]), that the user equipment meets the motion trigger condition (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The at least one event includes a motion state change event, for example (see Feng, Paragraph [0118]).), wherein the inactive state is a state where the user equipment lacks a connection to an access network, and wherein the idle state is a state where the user equipment lacks a connection to access network and where a context of the user equipment is released (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The measuring device only generates a positioning measurement report that is sent to the positioning server when it detects at least one event in the trigger reporting criterion is triggered. Therefore, prior to the at least one event, the operating status of the measuring device is functionally equivalent to an inactive state, because no transmission is made to the positioning server, i.e. via its network connection to the positioning server. Feng further discloses the need to reduce energy consumption and network overhead by implementing an event triggering mode (see Feng, Paragraph [0101]).); and
reporting, by the user equipment, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The positioning measurement report is sent to the positioning server.).
Feng does not explicitly teach:
Data stored in a triggered information element (IE);
a radio resource control (RRC) connection, if data needs to be transmitted between the user equipment and the access network, the RRC connection between the UE and the access network must be recovered before transmission of the data, and wherein the idle state is a state where the user equipment lacks an RRC connection to the access network and a connection between the access network of the UE and a core network is not set up, and where a context of the user equipment is released, such that if data needs to be transmitted between the user equipment and the access network, the RRC connection between the UE and the access network must to be recovered and a connection between the access network of the UE and the core network must be set up before transmission of the data.
Suzuki teaches:
Data stored in an information element (IE) (Suzuki, Paragraph [0034]);
a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Suzuki, Paragraph [0040]), an RRC connection recovery with a UE (Suzuki, Paragraph [0053]), and a connection between the access network of the UE and the core network must be set up before transmission of the data (Suzuki, Paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Feng by integrating the teaching of a method for communicating with a UE as taught by Suzuki.
The motivation would be to decrease network maintenance costs (see Suzuki, Paragraph [0002]).
Claim 2, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the user equipment, that the user equipment meets the motion trigger condition comprises:
determining, by the user equipment, that a change value of a preset parameter of the user equipment is greater than a preset threshold (Feng, Paragraph [0122], An example preset parameter includes a change in reference signal received power (RSRP) beyond a preset RSRP change threshold (see Feng, Paragraph [0123]).);
wherein the preset parameter comprises at least one of a location parameter of the user equipment, a motion parameter of the user equipment, or a received signal parameter of the user equipment (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0123], An RSRP, for example, is equivalent to a received signal parameter.).
Claim 3, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the user equipment, the preset parameter through measurement in a measurement manner (Feng, Paragraph [0106], For example, the terminal obtains a change in RSRP from a reference signal generated by the primary cell base station measured by the terminal.);
wherein the first message further comprises measurement manner indication information, wherein the measurement manner indication information indicates the measurement manner of the preset parameter, and wherein the measurement manner comprises one or more of sensor measurement, satellite measurement, or signal receiving apparatus measurement (Feng, Paragraph [0099], The positioning request includes a trigger reporting criterion, where the trigger reporting criterion includes at least one of a measurement quantity change event, a secondary cell change event, a motion state change event, and an environment change event, which indicate the measurement manner of the preset parameter, e.g. of the RSRP (see Feng, Paragraph [0106]).).
Claim 5, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the reporting, by the user equipment, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal comprises:
reporting, by the user equipment while the user equipment is in the idle state or the inactive state, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal to a location management device (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0124], The positioning measurement report includes data from when the measurement device was previously in the idle state or the inactive state. The Examiner notes the Applicant’s description of the idle and inactive states (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraphs [0145-0147]), however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).) using early data transmission (EDT) or using a preconfigured resource in the idle state or the inactive state (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0124], The measurement device detects the measurement quantity while in the idle state or the inactive state.).
Claim 6, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein, the method further comprises:
entering, by the user equipment, before reporting the measurement result of the positioning reference signal, a connected state from the idle state or the inactive state (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0124], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the measurement device to establish a communication with the positioning server prior to sending the positioning measurement report to the position server.);
wherein reporting the measurement result of the positioning reference signal comprises reporting, by the user equipment in the connected state, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal to a location management device (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0124]).
Claim 7, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the user equipment is in a connected state, and wherein the reporting, by the user equipment, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal comprises:
reporting, by the user equipment in the connected state, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal to a location management device (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The measuring device sends the positioning measurement report to the positioning server, and is functionally in a connected state to the positioning server.).
Feng in view of Suzuki does not explicitly teach:
The user equipment is always in a connected state.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the measuring device to be either always connected or sometimes connected, for purposes of transmitting its positioning measurement report to the positioning server. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have the measurement device always in a connected state in order to maintain a positioning accuracy when transmitting the positioning measurement reports (see Feng, Paragraph [0157]). The connected state is interpreted as the measurement device being connected to a location management device, but not being triggered to transmit/report.
Claim 8, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the user equipment, the preset parameter through measurement based on a measurement periodicity (Feng, Paragraph [0151], For example, the positioning measurement reporting period may be shortened or lengthened depending on the motion state change event.);
wherein the first message further comprises measurement periodicity indication information, and wherein the measurement periodicity indication indicates the measurement periodicity of the preset parameter (Feng, Paragraph [0099], The trigger reporting criterion establishes at least one of a measurement quantity change event, a secondary cell change event, a motion state change event, and an environment change event. Thus, in the example of a motion state change event, the terminal adjusts the reporting cycle according to a measured motion state change (see Feng, Paragraph [0151]). Thus, the trigger reporting criterion effectively indicates a measurement periodicity, e.g. of the motion state change.).
Claim 9, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the measurement result of the positioning reference signal comprises a measurement result of a positioning reference signal obtained after the user equipment meets the motion trigger condition (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0124], An example includes the change in RSRP measurement exceeding a preset threshold.).
Claim 10, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 9, wherein the measurement result of the positioning reference signal further comprises a measurement result of a positioning reference signal that is obtained before the user equipment meets the motion trigger condition (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0124], The difference in RSRP change includes a last reported RSRP measurement result, which is a positioning reference signal obtained before the at least one event in the trigger reporting criterion is triggered.).
Claim 11, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the measurement result of the positioning reference signal comprises one or more of:
a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a reference signal time difference (RSTD),a narrowband reference signal received power (NRSRP), or a narrowband reference signal received quality (NRSRQ) (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0124], An example includes an RSRP.).
Claim 12, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 5, wherein the location management device comprises a location management function (LMF) or a location management component (LMC) (Feng, Paragraphs [0009-0010], The positioning of a measurement device by a positioning server is functionally equivalent to a location management function (LMF).).
Claim 13, Feng further teaches:
The method according to claim 5, wherein before the receiving, by the user equipment, the first message, the method further comprises:
sending, by the user equipment, capability information of the user equipment to the location management device (Feng, Paragraph [0117], The terminal can report its own capability information before the positioning server can determine the trigger reporting criteria.); and
receiving, by the user equipment, assistance information from the location management device (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The corresponding trigger reporting criteria selected by the positioning server based on the capability information provided by the terminal is functionally equivalent to assistance information.), wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of cell indexes of a neighboring cell and a reference cell (Feng, Paragraph [0167], The server sends the positioning assistance message to the terminal which includes reference signal time difference data of reference cells and neighboring cells, which is functionally equivalent to cell indexes.);
wherein the capability information of the user equipment indicates at least one of a locating mode type supported by the user equipment or a positioning reference signal measurement capability (Feng, Paragraph [0117], The carrier aggregation capability, capability to measure terminal motion state, wireless frequency identification capability, or near field communication capability are usable to a locating mode type and/or a positioning reference signal measurement capability.).
Claim 14, Feng teaches:
A user equipment location information reporting method (Feng, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0099], The system performs a position reporting of a measurement device. The measuring device may be a base station or a terminal (see Feng, Paragraph [0122]).), wherein the method comprises:
sending, by a location management device, a first message to user equipment (UE), wherein the first message comprises a motion trigger condition indicated by data of the first message (Feng, Paragraph [0099], A positioning server transmits a positioning request, i.e. a first message, wherein the positioning request includes the positioning type of E-CID positioning, i.e. a motion trigger condition (see Feng, Paragraph [0101]).), and wherein the motion trigger condition triggers the user equipment to determine that motion trigger condition is met while the user equipment is in an idle state or an inactive state (Feng, Paragraph [0120]) and to report a measurement result of a positioning reference signal based on motion (Feng, Paragraph [0120], When the measurement device detects at least one event in the trigger reporting criterion is triggered, a positioning measurement report may be sent. The positioning measurement report includes a report of the E-CID positioning (see Feng, Paragraph [0122]).), wherein the inactive state is a state where the user equipment lacks a connection to an access network, and wherein the idle state is a state where the user equipment lacks a connection to access network and where a context of the user equipment is released (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The measuring device only generates a positioning measurement report that is sent to the positioning server when it detects at least one event in the trigger reporting criterion is triggered. Therefore, prior to the at least one event, the operating status of the measuring device is functionally equivalent to an inactive state, because no transmission is made to the positioning server, i.e. via its network connection to the positioning server. Feng further discloses the need to reduce energy consumption and network overhead by implementing an event triggering mode (see Feng, Paragraph [0101]).); and
receiving, by the location management device, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal from the user equipment (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The positioning measurement report is sent to the positioning server.);
wherein the user equipment reports the measurement result of the positioning reference signal to the location management device when determining that the motion trigger condition is met (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The at least one event includes a motion state change event, for example (see Feng, Paragraph [0118]).).
Feng does not explicitly teach:
Data stored in a triggered information element (IE);
a radio resource control (RRC) connection, if data needs to be transmitted between the user equipment and the access network, the RRC connection between the UE and the access network must be recovered before transmission of the data, and wherein the idle state is a state where the user equipment lacks an RRC connection to the access network and a connection between the access network of the UE and a core network is not set up, and where a context of the user equipment is released, such that if data needs to be transmitted between the user equipment and the access network, the RRC connection between the UE and the access network must to be recovered and a connection between the access network of the UE and the core network must be set up before transmission of the data.
Suzuki teaches:
Data stored in an information element (IE) (Suzuki, Paragraph [0034]);
a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Suzuki, Paragraph [0040]), an RRC connection recovery with a UE (Suzuki, Paragraph [0053]), and a connection between the access network of the UE and the core network must be set up before transmission of the data (Suzuki, Paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Feng by integrating the teaching of a method for communicating with a UE as taught by Suzuki.
The motivation would be to decrease network maintenance costs (see Suzuki, Paragraph [0002]).
Claim 15, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 14, wherein the motion trigger condition comprises that a change value of a preset parameter of the user equipment is greater than a preset threshold (Feng, Paragraph [0122], An example preset parameter includes a change in reference signal received power (RSRP) beyond a preset RSRP change threshold (see Feng, Paragraph [0123]).), and wherein the preset parameter comprises at least one of a location parameter of the user equipment, a motion parameter of the user equipment, or a received signal parameter of the user equipment (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0123], An RSRP, for example, is equivalent to a received signal parameter.).
Claim 16, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 15, wherein the first message further comprises measurement manner indication information, wherein the measurement manner indication information indicates a measurement manner of the preset parameter, and wherein the measurement manner comprises one or more of sensor measurement, satellite measurement, or signal receiving apparatus measurement (Feng, Paragraph [0099], The positioning request includes a trigger reporting criterion, where the trigger reporting criterion includes at least one of a measurement quantity change event, a secondary cell change event, a motion state change event, and an environment change event, which indicate the measurement manner of the preset parameter, e.g. of the RSRP (see Feng, Paragraph [0106]).).
Claim 17, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 15, wherein the first message further comprises measurement periodicity indication information, and wherein the measurement periodicity indication information indicates a measurement periodicity of the preset parameter (Feng, Paragraph [0099], The trigger reporting criterion establishes at least one of a measurement quantity change event, a secondary cell change event, a motion state change event, and an environment change event. Thus, in the example of a motion state change event, the terminal adjusts the reporting cycle according to a measured motion state change (see Feng, Paragraph [0151]). Thus, the trigger reporting criterion effectively indicates a measurement periodicity, e.g. of the motion state change.).
Claim 18, Feng in view of Suzuki teaches:
The method according to claim 14.
Feng in view of Suzuki does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the location management device comprises either a location management network element (LMF) or a location management component (LMC).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the positioning of a measurement device by a positioning server is functionally equivalent to a location management function (LMF) (see Feng, Paragraphs [0009-0010]). Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 20, Feng in view of Suzuki further teaches:
The method according to claim 14, wherein the location management device autonomously sends the first message to the user equipment (Feng, Paragraph [0099], The positioning server sends a positioning request to the measurement device, which is functionally equivalent to autonomously sending the request.).
Claim 21, Feng teaches:
A user equipment (UE) (Feng, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0099]), comprising:
at least one processor (Feng, Fig. 7, Paragraphs [0248-0249]); and
at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions for execution by the processor, wherein the at least one processor, the at least one memory and the instructions are configured to cause the UE to perform (Feng, Fig. 7, Paragraphs [0248-0249]):
receiving a first message, wherein the first message comprises a motion trigger condition indicated by data in the first message (Feng, Paragraph [0099], A positioning server transmits a positioning request, i.e. a first message, wherein the positioning request includes the positioning type of E-CID positioning, i.e. a motion trigger condition (see Feng, Paragraph [0101]).), and wherein the motion trigger condition triggers the user equipment to report a measurement result of a positioning reference signal based on motion (Feng, Paragraph [0120], When the measurement device detects at least one event in the trigger reporting criterion is triggered, a positioning measurement report may be sent. The positioning measurement report includes a report of the E-CID positioning (see Feng, Paragraph [0122]).);
determining, while the user equipment is in an idle state or an inactive state (Feng, Paragraph [0120]), that the user equipment meets the motion trigger condition (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The at least one event includes a motion state change event, for example (see Feng, Paragraph [0118]).), wherein the inactive state is a state where the user equipment lacks a connection to an access network, and wherein the idle state is a state where the user equipment lacks a connection to access network and where a context of the user equipment is released (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The measuring device only generates a positioning measurement report that is sent to the positioning server when it detects at least one event in the trigger reporting criterion is triggered. Therefore, prior to the at least one event, the operating status of the measuring device is functionally equivalent to an inactive state, because no transmission is made to the positioning server, i.e. via its network connection to the positioning server. Feng further discloses the need to reduce energy consumption and network overhead by implementing an event triggering mode (see Feng, Paragraph [0101]).); and
reporting the measurement result of the positioning reference signal (Feng, Paragraph [0120], The positioning measurement report is sent to the positioning server.).
Feng does not explicitly teach:
Data stored in a triggered information element (IE);
a radio resource control (RRC) connection, if data needs to be transmitted between the user equipment and the access network, the RRC connection between the UE and the access network must be recovered before transmission of the data, and wherein the idle state is a state where the user equipment lacks an RRC connection to the access network and a connection between the access network of the UE and a core network is not set up, and where a context of the user equipment is released, such that if data needs to be transmitted between the user equipment and the access network, the RRC connection between the UE and the access network must to be recovered and a connection between the access network of the UE and the core network must be set up before transmission of the data.
Suzuki teaches:
Data stored in an information element (IE) (Suzuki, Paragraph [0034]);
a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Suzuki, Paragraph [0040]), an RRC connection recovery with a UE (Suzuki, Paragraph [0053]), and a connection between the access network of the UE and the core network must be set up before transmission of the data (Suzuki, Paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Feng by integrating the teaching of a method for communicating with a UE as taught by Suzuki.
The motivation would be to decrease network maintenance costs (see Suzuki, Paragraph [0002]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN103200610A) in view of Suzuki et al. (U.S. 2011/0201279 A1) in view of Kadelka (EP3309576A1).
Claim 19, Feng in view of Suzuki teaches:
The method according to claim 14, wherein, the method further comprises:
receiving, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal from the user equipment (Feng, Paragraphs [0122-0124]).
Feng in view of Suzuki does not specifically teach:
Receiving, by the location management device, before sending the first message to the user equipment, a location service request from an access and mobility management device, wherein the location service request requests to locate the user equipment; and
sending, by the location management device, after the receiving, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal from the user equipment, a location service response to the access and mobility management device, wherein the location service response comprises a result of locating the user equipment by the location management device.
Kadelka teaches:
Receiving, by the location management device, a location service request from an access and mobility management device, wherein the location service request requests to locate the user equipment (Kadelka, Paragraph [0044], A requesting service 40 requests positioning information of a first user equipment 10 to a location server 30. The requesting service 40 is functionally equivalent an access and mobility management device.); and
sending, by the location management device, after the receiving, the measurement result of the positioning reference signal from the user equipment, a location service response to the access and mobility management device, wherein the location service response comprises a result of locating the user equipment by the location management device (Kadelka, Paragraph [0044], After receiving measurement data from the user equipment 10 and a base station 20, the location server 30 determines positioning information for the first user equipment 10 and transmits the positioning information to the requesting service 40.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Feng in view of Suzuki by integrating the teaching of a system for providing positioning information as taught by Kadelka.
The motivation would be to improve positioning accuracy, confidence level, and rate of positioning information specific to a requesting service (see Kadelka, Paragraph [0045]).
As per the limitation of, before sending the first message to the user equipment, in the combination of Feng in view of Suzuki in view of Kadelka, the positioning request transmitted to the terminal (see Feng, Paragraph [0099]) would be performed after a requesting service requests location information (see Kadelka, Paragraph [0044]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s argument that the Feng reference fails to teach each and every limitation, as amended, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Suzuki reference discloses a radio source control (RRC), establishing a communication between a UE 105 utilizing said RRC, recovering a connection utilizing the RRC, and transmitting data to/from the UE 105 utilizing said RRC, as indicated in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686