DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 pending.
Claims 1 and 10 amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/29/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 6, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gliner (US 2021/0186620), hereinafter referred to as Gliner, in view of Garibaldi (US 2009/0105579), hereinafter referred to as Garibaldi
8. Regarding claim 1, Gliner discloses a method, comprising: inserting a catheter into an organ of a patient and selecting, in a three-dimensional (3D) image of the organ, a plane of interest (POI) (paragraphs 49 and 54 wherein CT image of the head is processed in order to generate and display images of the 3D volume of the nasal passages);
producing a second image comprising a sectional view of the 3D image clipped by the POI (paragraph 53-54 wherein CT image of the head is processed in order to generate and display images of the 3D volume of the nasal passages).
displaying the first and second images to a user (paragraphs 28-29 and 81 wherein simultaneously displaying includes rendering and simultaneously displaying on the display screen three respective two-dimensional (2D) CT slices, based on the 3D CT image, including three respective 2D indications of the direction to the 3D path from the medical instrument projected onto the three respective 2D CT slices).
However, Gliner is silent in regards to disclosing producing a first image comprising an endoscopic perspective view from within the organ of the 3D image from a direction facing the POI.
Garibaldi discloses producing a first image comprising an endoscopic perspective view from within the organ of the 3D image from a direction facing the POI (fig. 5-6, paragraphs 24-25 wherein fig. 6 shows a three-dimensional heart surface reconstructed from the IVUS-acquired ultrasound data).
Garibaldi provides motivation to combine the references wherein a typical minimally invasive intervention diagnostic or functional data are collected from a catheter or other interventional devices that are of significant use in treatment planning, guidance, monitoring, and control (paragraph 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gliner with the 3D images generated by Garibaldi (paragraph 4).
9. Regarding claim 2, Gliner discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein producing the second image comprises producing a graphic representation of a clip plane of the POI, and displaying the sectional view of the clip plane (paragraph 59 wherein bisector associated with the closest camera may be defined as a plane perpendicular to the computed path at the point of the closest camera).
10. Regarding claim 3, Garibaldi discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein producing the first image comprises positioning, within the 3D image of the organ, a virtual camera at a given position and a given orientation, and defining one or more imaging parameters for producing the endoscopic view (fig. 5-6, paragraphs 24-25 wherein fig. 6 shows a three-dimensional heart surface reconstructed from the IVUS-acquired ultrasound data).
11. Regarding claims 4 Garibaldi discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the organ comprises a heart and the 3D image comprises a 3D image of at least a section of the heart, wherein positioning the virtual camera comprises selecting the given position and the given orientation of the virtual camera for displaying a section of the heart, and wherein defining the one or more imaging parameters in the virtual camera, comprises defining one or both of: (i) a magnification, and (ii) one or more angles of view, for producing the endoscopic view (fig. 5-6, paragraphs 24-25 wherein fig. 6 shows a three-dimensional heart surface reconstructed from the IVUS-acquired ultrasound data).
12. Regarding claim 6, Gliner discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the first and second images comprises displaying the first and second images side by side (paragraphs 28-29 wherein simultaneously displaying includes rendering and simultaneously displaying on the display screen three respective two-dimensional (2D) CT slices, based on the 3D CT image, including three respective 2D indications of the direction to the 3D path from the medical instrument projected onto the three respective 2D CT slices).
13. Regarding claim 10, Gliner discloses a system, comprising: a processor, which is configured to: (i) receive a selection of a plane of interest (POI) in a three-dimensional (3D) image of an organ of a patient (paragraphs 49 and 54 wherein CT image of the head is processed in order to generate and display images of the 3D volume of the nasal passages),
and (iii) produce a second image comprising a sectional view of the 3D image clipped by the POI (paragraph 53-54 wherein CT image of the head is processed in order to generate and display images of the 3D volume of the nasal passages);
and a display, which is configured to display the first and second images to a user (paragraphs 28-29 and 81 wherein simultaneously displaying includes rendering and simultaneously displaying on the display screen three respective two-dimensional (2D) CT slices, based on the 3D CT image, including three respective 2D indications of the direction to the 3D path from the medical instrument projected onto the three respective 2D CT slices).
However, Gliner is silent in regards to disclosing (ii) produce a first image comprising an endoscopic perspective view from within the organ of the 3D image from a direction facing the POI.
Garibaldi discloses (ii) produce a first image comprising an endoscopic perspective view from within the organ of the 3D image from a direction facing the POI (fig. 5-6, paragraphs 24-25 wherein fig. 6 shows a three-dimensional heart surface reconstructed from the IVUS-acquired ultrasound data).
Garibaldi provides motivation to combine the references wherein a typical minimally invasive intervention diagnostic or functional data are collected from a catheter or other interventional devices that are of significant use in treatment planning, guidance, monitoring, and control (paragraph 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gliner with the 3D images generated by Garibaldi (paragraph 4).
14. Regarding claim 11, Gliner discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to produce the second image by: (i) producing a graphic representation of a clip plane of the POI, and (ii) displaying on the display the sectional view of the clip plane (paragraph 59 wherein bisector associated with the closest camera may be defined as a plane perpendicular to the computed path at the point of the closest camera).
15. Regarding claim 12, Garibaldi discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to produce the first image by: (i) positioning, within the 3D image of the organ, a virtual camera at a given position and a given orientation, and (ii) defining one or more imaging parameters for producing the endoscopic view (fig. 5-6, paragraphs 24-25 wherein fig. 6 shows a three-dimensional heart surface reconstructed from the IVUS-acquired ultrasound data).
16. Regarding claim 13, Garibaldi discloses the system according to claim 12, wherein the organ comprises a heart and the 3D image comprises a 3D image of at least a section of the heart, wherein the processor is configured to select the given position and the given orientation of the virtual camera for displaying a section of the heart, and wherein the processor is configured to define in the virtual camera one or both of: (i) a magnification, and (ii) one or more angles of view, for producing the endoscopic view (fig. 5-6, paragraphs 24-25 wherein fig. 6 shows a three-dimensional heart surface reconstructed from the IVUS-acquired ultrasound data).
17. Regarding claim 15, Gliner discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to display the first and second images on the display, side by side (paragraphs 28-29 wherein simultaneously displaying includes rendering and simultaneously displaying on the display screen three respective two-dimensional (2D) CT slices, based on the 3D CT image, including three respective 2D indications of the direction to the 3D path from the medical instrument projected onto the three respective 2D CT slices).
18. Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gliner, in view of Garibaldi, in further view of Zino (US 2016/0104312), hereinafter referred to as Zino.
19. Regarding claims 5 and 14, Gliner and Garibaldi are silent in regards to disclosing the method according to claim 3, wherein the section comprises one or more pulmonary veins (PVs), and wherein the first and second images are used for performing a PV isolation procedure in at least one of the PVs
However, regarding claims 5 and 14, Zino discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the section comprises one or more pulmonary veins (PVs), and wherein the first and second images are used for performing a PV isolation procedure in at least one of the PVs (paragraph 36 wherein system performs cardiac imaging, such objects may comprise, for example, cardiac chambers, valves, arteries, and other objects).
Zino provides motivation to combine the references wherein disclosed technique may assist the physician to position the fluoroscopic system FOV in the target position, without exposing the patient and medical staff to X-ray radiation, and to accurately position the fluoroscopic system FOV on target with high speed and accuracy (paragraph 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gliner with the teachings of Zino (paragraph 16).
20. Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gliner, in view of Garibaldi, in further view of Shelton (US 2023/0097906), hereinafter referred to as Shelton.
21. Regarding claims 7 and 16, Gliner and Garibaldi are silent in regards to disclosing the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the first and second images comprises toggling between the display of the first and second images.
However, Shelton discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the first and second images comprises toggling between the display of the first and second images (paragraph 159 wherein the medical practitioner can toggle between (A) a view in which a three-dimensional rendering of the visible tissue is depicted and (B) an augmented view in which one or more hidden critical structures are depicted over the three-dimensional rendering of the visible tissue).
Shelton provides motivation to combine the references wherein the system also includes a controller configured to track the organ from a first state to a second, different state that is subsequent to the first state by analyzing the plurality of images (paragraph 35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Gliner with the toggling capability of Shelton (paragraph 35).
22. Claims 8-9 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gliner, in view of Garibaldi, in further view of Rai (US 2017/0209125), hereinafter referred to as Rai.
23. Regarding claims 8 and 17, Gliner and Garibaldi are silent in regards to disclosing the method according to claim 7, wherein toggling between the display comprises displaying the first image when applying to the display a first range of zoom values, and displaying the second image when applying to the display a second range of zoom values, different from the first range of zoom values.
However, Rai discloses wherein toggling between the display comprises displaying the first image when applying to the display a first range of zoom values, and displaying the second image when applying to the display a second range of zoom values, different from the first range of zoom values (paragraphs 65 and 70 wherein the textual data includes a value of the measurement (“3.00 cm”) between the first and second markers, and wherein zoom frame may be activated by one or more user commands).
Rai provides motivation to combine the references wherein user interface is configured to receive user inputs to move the first marker within the zoom frame to a new location in the ROI within the zoom frame (paragraph 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Gliner with the zoom features of Rai (paragraph 4).
24. Regarding claims 9 and 18, Rai discloses the method according to claim 8 and comprising displaying the 3D image instead of the first image or the second image, when applying to the display a third range of zoom values, different from the first range of zoom values and the second range of zoom values (paragraphs 81-82 wherein the first and second markers are moved relative to the medical image).
Conclusion
25. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES N HICKS/Examiner, Art Unit 2424
/BENJAMIN R BRUCKART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2424