DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 10, 12-14, & 17-18 of U.S. Application No. 17/750070 filed on 11/19/2025 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed11/19/2025. Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 10, & 17-18 are amended, and claims 2, 4-6, 9, 11, 15-16, & 19-20 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 10, 12-14, & 17-18 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d): Applicants amendments overcome the previous claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d). Therefore, the previous claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) is withdrawn.
In regards to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101: Applicant argues on pg. 9-11 of the Remarks, “Following this guidance, it is clear that claim 1 recites features that cannot be performed in a person's mind. A person's mind cannot transmit a first set of images via a wireless. communication network in an encrypted form to a cloud network device. A person's mind also cannot transmit a notification from one vehicle to another vehicle. A person's mind also cannot receive an arbitration result and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result. Applicant further notes that the Examiner's assertions at page 12 of the Office Action that "but for" certain elements in the claim, the claim can be performed in a person's mind are misguided. In making this statement, the Examiner is reading out fundamental features of the claim As is apparent in amended claim 1 reproduced above, the characterization of the claim language by the Examiner as a purely mental process but for the mere recitation of generic components is erroneous. As discussed above, the operations recited in the claim ultimately facilitate effective and automatic communication between vehicles at or near the accident scene, as well as with other entities connected to the network, enabling the collection of crucial data for accident arbitration. Communication between vehicles, by definition, cannot be done in a person's mind…As discussed above, the operations recited in the claims facilitate effective and automatic communication between vehicles at or near the accident scene, as well as with other entities connected to the network (e.g., the cloud network entity or the police communication device), enabling the collection of crucial data for accident arbitration. As such, the claims of the present application provide an improvement in remote traffic accident administration. The claimed approach allows recording of image data and vehicle data, for providing reliable accident information and quick site instructions, e.g. for clearing a blocked road. This configuration enables remote traffic control without blocking traffic due to traffic or geographical constraints (see, specification of present application, para. [0005], [0008]). As such, the claimed approach may avoid a need for [dispatching] police to the site of an accident' (see, specification of present application, para. [0008], emphasis added). For these reasons, the claims, as amended provide effective and automatic communication between vehicles at or near the accident scene, and demonstrate a practical application of any alleged abstract idea by incorporating specific technological improvements and meaningful limitations, as outlined in the 2019 PEG. As discussed above, the claims are patent eligible under Step 2A (both First Prong and Second Prong). Applicant points out that "[b ]ecause revised Step 2A does not evaluate whether an additional element is well-understood, routine, conventional activity, examiners are reminded that a claim that includes conventional elements may still integrate an exception into a practical application, thereby satisfying the subject matter eligibility requirement of Section 101" (2019 PEG at p. 22). However, even if the claims are not found eligible under Step 2A, the claims are eligible under Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo framework. With respect to Step 2B, the 2019 PEG also provides some additional clarity as to when a claim recites an "inventive concept." An element or combination of elements that "adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field ... is indicative that an inventive concept may be present" (2019 PEG at p. 23). In the present application, the amended claims recite unconventional features that are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art, as discussed below. As such, even under Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo framework, the claims are patent-eligible for reciting unconventional elements.” Examiner interprets that the processors, devices, computing devices and sensors are applying instructions in order to reach the end result of transmitting accident information to a cloud. Using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other task (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) after the abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (see at least MPEP 2106.05(f)). The devices recited in the claims are merely used to communicate via a wireless communication network, to provide remote traffic accident administration, and are merely applying instructions to send data via the communication network. There is no explicitly positive recitation of a control occurring with a user or driver where the user/driver is required to perform some action to make the claims become a practical application. The abstract idea can be overcome if a practical step is recited in the claims, wherein the police office can provide a type of input making the application practical. The steps mentioned by the applicant that are not able to be performed in the mind by the user are interpreted as additional elements that a user instructs to perform the programmed instruction. Further the vehicles communicating is not performed in the mind, but through generic processors or transceivers, the application is still not practical. Therefore the claims are still interpreted under an abstract idea with additional elements.
Further Per the MPEP 2106.05(g) based on the examples given by the courts as insignificant extra-solution activity, such as: “Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions”, “Consulting and updating an activity log” and other examples. These examples are court decisions that were considered mere data gathering and further displaying the data which is similar to what the claim set describes. The claim set describes a gathering data regarding an accident and transmitting the information to a cloud. The application appears to have a generic computers for mere data gathering with insignificant extra solution activity with the end result being transmitting the information to a cloud or sent to another person. In conclusion, the 101 rejection is maintained provided the arguments above.
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103: Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose the limitations “transmit the first set of images and the vehicle data via a wireless communication network in an encrypted form to a cloud network device in response to the accident detection signal from the processor; transmit, in response to the accident detection signal from the processor, from the vehicle to one or more other vehicles around the vehicle, a notification about the accident via cellular communication, wherein the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication, wherein the notification triggers the one or more other vehicles to provide further one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles to the cloud network device for accident arbitration; and”. Applicant further argues pages. 12-13 of the Remarks, “As noted above, claim 1 has been amended to recite a transceiver included in the vehicle that is configured to transmit, from the vehicle to one or more other vehicles around the vehicle, a notification about the accident via cellular communication in response to the accident detection signal from the processor also included in the vehicle. The Office cites to paragraphs [0032]-[0038] of Davis, which disclose a different method of collecting accident data from peer vehicles. In Davis, "[w]hen an impact is detected then, at step 360, the process sends vehicle data burst transmission to any nearby short range wireless receivers 380, such as receivers located in nearby mobile phones, emergency vehicles, and other vehicles ... [t]he data is sent via a short range wireless communication technology, such as Near Field Communications (NFC) technology, Bluetooth technology, etc." (Davis, para. [0036], emphasis added). "Data store 370 can be used to store impact data generated by this vehicle as well as impact data sent by other vehicles that was received at this vehicle's short range wireless receiver" (Davis, para. [0038]). By contrast, claim 1 recites transmitting, from the vehicle to one or more other vehicles around the vehicle, a notification about the accident via cellular communication in response to the accident detection signal from the processor also included in the vehicle, where the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication ( emphasis added). The distinction in the type of communication technology used to communicate from the first vehicle to the one or more other vehicles is not inconsequential. By using NFC technology, as disclosed in Davis, the vehicles would need to be directly connected to one another via short range communication. Also, in short range communication, such as NFC, the vehicles would need to be relatively close together to be able to communicate. By contrast, by using cellular technology to communicate between vehicles, as claimed, the vehicles would not need to be directly connected to one another, but instead would communicate through the cellular communication network. Additionally, by using cellular technology to communicate.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is reminded claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Based on the amendments, the primary art is switched from Zhang to Karapantelakis. Karapantelakis is utilized to disclose a vehicle with a processor that detects detection data from one or more sensors, an accident, where the electronic sensor devices are inside the vehicle (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0054] & [0060]). Further Karapantelakis generates an accident detection signal, through a trigger that can be both external or internal of the vehicle. The external signal is outputted by the electronic sensor device, the activation signal is sent to the surrounding vehicles with electronic sensor devices (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0060-0061]). The electronic sensor devices captures data that includes speed, direction of travel of involved vehicle prior to the accident, etc.,. (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0039-0052]). Karapantelakis further mentions a camera and transceivers on electronic sensor devices in general, which also includes the electronic sensor devices in the vehicles (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0055]). Once receiving the trigger signal, the surrounding vehicles and the main vehicle transmits images that mention imagery data including video, to a traffic information service cloud (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0039-0052], [0083], & [0087]). Zhang discloses analyzes inputs from one or more sources, from both internal or external sources, to allocate responsibility of a vehicle during a traffic incident. Throughout the Zhang, the faults or traffic incident includes examples of collisions or accidents (see at least Zhang, para. [0031], para. [0092], [0106], [0110]. In view of these paragraphs all pointing to detecting collision, or accidents while on the road, Zhang is able to perform the step of transmitting accident information via a wireless communication network to a cloud network device, in response to the accident detection signal from the processor. Zhang discloses communicating report data to both vehicle operators involved in the collision. Further the report data is transmitted to a plurality of locations such as insurance companies, law enforcement agencies, and/or automobile manufacturers (see at least Zhang, para. [0062-0065]). Zhang is able to generate this report data from the sensors coupled to the processor of the vehicle, that include fault data, and also include data from devices that were external to the incident and are non-vehicle devices that are on objects near the incident (see at least Zhang, para. [0034] & para. [0066]). Further Zhang is also able to send and/or receive the inputs by using wireless technology (4G) communication, which shows Zhang is able to send information through 4G communication (see at least Zhang, para. [0043-0046]). Davis teaches when an impact is detected, the process sends vehicle data burst transmission to any nearby receivers, located in mobile phones, emergency vehicles, and other vehicles that send impact data that is relevant to the impact the first vehicle that occurred (see at least Davis, para. [0036-0038]). All this data is stored on a data store that is remote or external from all the sources sending the data, (see at least Davis, para. [0032]). Davis shows impact data is data related to the incident, which shows . When an impact is detected, vehicles transmit data pertaining to the respective vehicle at the time of the impact. In addition, vehicles proximate to an impact can receive data transmitted from vehicles involved in the impact. This shows Davis teaching the idea of any data affiliated with the impact in any way, is sent to the data store to be stored remotely and can be sent through a wireless communication. Further Davis is utilized to teach the idea of generating further accident information from in response to accident detection signal from the processor in the vehicle, which notifies other vehicles and triggers the other vehicles to provide further data (see at least Zhang, para. [0032-0038]. In view of the arguments above, the 103 rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of in view of US 2019/0049969A1 (“Qawami”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17-18 recites the limitation "the accident arbitration result". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1, 3, 7-8, 10, 12-14, & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
A claim that recites an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon is directed to a judicial exception. Abstract ideas include the following groupings of subject matter, when recited as such in a claim limitation: (a) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations; (b) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and (c) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Even when a judicial element is recited in the claim, an additional claim element(s) that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception renders the claim eligible under §101. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The following examples are indicative that an additional element or combination of elements may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
the additional element(s) reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
the additional element(s) that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
the additional element(s) implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
the additional element(s) effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
the additional element(s) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Examples in which the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application include:
the additional element(s) merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
the additional element(s) adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
the additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 1, 10, & 14 recite detect an accident of the vehicle, transmit accident information in response to an accident detection signal from the accident detection device, determine vehicle data of the vehicle corresponding to the accident, wherein the vehicle data comprises at least one of: speed data of the vehicle, time data of the vehicle, direction data of the vehicle, position data of the vehicle, airbag data of the vehicle, acceleration data of the vehicle, or seat occupancy data of the vehicle, receive, from a first vehicle of the one or more vehicles, accident information of an accident of a first vehicle, transmit the accident information of the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles for accident arbitration, wherein the images captured are transmitted in response to the accident detection signal, wherein the image capture is triggered based on a notification, receive an arbitration result and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result, wherein the arbitration result is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles, as drafted, is a device & process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer elements. The claim is practically able to be performed in the mind. For example, but for the “A vehicle, a processor included in the vehicle, a camera configured to capture one or more images corresponding to the accident, a transceiver, a wireless communication network in an encrypted form, cellular communication, wherein the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication, a cloud network device, a computing device, a display,” language, “recite detect an accident of the vehicle, transmit accident information in response to an accident detection signal from the accident detection device, determine vehicle data of the vehicle corresponding to the accident, wherein the vehicle data comprises at least one of: speed data of the vehicle, time data of the vehicle, direction data of the vehicle, position data of the vehicle, airbag data of the vehicle, acceleration data of the vehicle, or seat occupancy data of the vehicle, receive, from a first vehicle of the one or more vehicles, accident information of an accident of a first vehicle, transmit the accident information of the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles for accident arbitration, wherein the images captured are transmitted in response to the accident detection signal, wherein the image capture is triggered based on a notification,” in the context of this claim encompasses the user perceiving an accident and notifying the authorities of an accident.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – using “A telematic control device, an processor, a camera configured to capture one or more images corresponding to the accident, a transceiver, , a wireless communication network in an encrypted form, cellular communication, wherein the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication, a cloud network device, a computing device, a display,” The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect an accident and send images regarding the accident) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “A telematic control device, an processor, a camera configured to capture one or more images corresponding to the accident, a transceiver, , a wireless communication network in an encrypted form, cellular communication, wherein the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication, a cloud network device, a computing device, a display,”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Similarly for claims 3, 7-8, 12-13, 17-18, capture one or more images of an environment of the vehicle, wherein the accident information comprises the one or more images, wherein the one or more images comprise one or more video sequences of an environment of the vehicle prior, during, and/or after the accident of the vehicle, establish, in response to the accident detection signal from the accident detection device, an emergency call (eCall), receive a response message, response message comprises at least one of: voice communication, an arbitration result, commands, or instructions, assign the one or more images to a single accident, provide the accident arbitration result to the one or more vehicles involved, receive one or more instructions from the police officer for resolving the accident, provide the one or more instructions to the one or more vehicles involved in the accident, is a device that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, “capture one or more images of an environment of the vehicle, wherein the accident information comprises the one or more images, wherein the one or more images comprise one or more video sequences of an environment of the vehicle prior, during, and/or after the accident of the vehicle, establish, in response to the accident detection signal from the accident detection device, an emergency call (eCall), receive a response message, response message comprises at least one of: voice communication, an arbitration result, commands, or instructions,” in the context of this claim encompasses the user detecting a collision and taking pictures of the accident and contacting law enforcement and providing the information with who’s at fault and the officer giving tickets or giving a report to make an insurance claim. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect an accident and send images) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, & 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of US 2018/0365983A1 (“Karapantelakis”), in view of US 2018/0047283A1 (“Zhang”), , in view of US 2017/0178513A1 (“Davis”), in view of US 2019/0049969A1 (“Qawami”).
As per claim 1 Zhang discloses
A vehicle comprising (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0055]: Vehicles 10 are often provided with different electronic sensors which collect different data information regarding the performance of the vehicle,):
a processor included in the vehicle configured to (see at least Karapantelakis, Fig. 12 & para. [0115]: The device comprises a processing circuitry 150 constituting a controller of the device. The processing circuitry 150 comprises a processor 152 and a memory 154.):
detect, based on detection data from one or more sensors coupled to the processor, an accident of the vehicle, wherein the one or more sensors are comprised in the vehicle (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0054]: The electronic sensor devices 100 may be located at different locations. As illustrated, some of the electronic sensor devices 100 are situated in vehicles as devices indicated 100:1, 100:2, and 100:3. & para. [0060]: Thus, the first ESD is triggered in a first step, Sll0, when a traffic accident has happened. Said trigger may be an internal trigger or an external trigger. For the first ESD it is an internal trigger. The internal trigger may be a trigger signal from one of the sensors that is connected to the first electronic sensor device.);
generate, based on detecting the accident, an accident detection signal (see at least Karapantelakis, & para. [0060-0061]: Thus, the first ESD is triggered in a first step, Sll0, when a traffic accident has happened. Said trigger may be an internal trigger or an external trigger. For the first ESD it is an internal trigger. The internal trigger may be a trigger signal from one of the sensors that is connected to the first electronic sensor device…The second, third and fourth ESDs are all activated by the first ESD. The activation is an external trigger, and the external trigger may be a trigger signal from one of the sensors that is connected to another electronic sensor device. The activated ESDs performs step S140 as described above.); and
determine vehicle data of the vehicle corresponding to the accident, wherein the vehicle data comprises at least one of: speed data of the vehicle, time data of the vehicle, direction data of the vehicle, position data of the vehicle, airbag data of the vehicle, acceleration data of the vehicle, or seat occupancy data of the vehicle (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0039-0052]: Example of vehicle dynamics information may be…Number of vehicles involved in the accident… Involved vehicle category, which defines in more detail the type of vehicle: car, lorry, buss, etc…Speed, direction of travel of involved vehicles prior to accident…);
a camera included in the vehicle configured to capture images of an environment of the vehicle corresponding to the accident ; and a transceiver included configured to (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0055]: Vehicles 10 are often provided with different electronic sensors which collect different data information regarding the performance of the vehicle, the drive's behaviour, number of passengers, etc. The electronic sensor device 100:4 carried by a person may be a user device such as a smartphone, mobile telephone, surf plate, etc. Such devices are often provided with an electronic camera and a radio transceiver for connection to the Internet 30 via a Radio Access System (RAS) 20 comprising a core network connected to a radio base station (RBS), or a IEEE 802.llxbased access point and Internet Service Provider (ISP).):
receive the accident detection signal from the processor (see at least Karapantelakis, & para. [0060-0061]: Thus, the first ESD is triggered in a first step, Sll0, when a traffic accident has happened. Said trigger may be an internal trigger or an external trigger. For the first ESD it is an internal trigger. The internal trigger may be a trigger signal from one of the sensors that is connected to the first electronic sensor device…The second, third and fourth ESDs are all activated by the first ESD. The activation is an external trigger, and the external trigger may be a trigger signal from one of the sensors that is connected to another electronic sensor device. The activated ESDs performs step S140 as described above.);
transmit the images and the vehicle data via a wireless communication network in an encrypted form to a cloud network device (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0039]: Said electronic sensor devices comprise at least one of a data recording device, a temperature sensor, a traffic sensor, and a vehicle performance sensor. & para. [0052]: Surveillance resources: e.g. cameras both at the location for the accident and in locations before and after the location for the accident; & para. [0083]: However, several criteria can be used, e.g. rt=temperature to retrieve all sensors related to temperature or rt=video to detect all sensors that can record imagery data. para. [0087]: The broadcasting or multicasting is performed by means of radio technology. Said notification message may, according to one embodiment, comprise a unique identifier which identifies the first electronic sensor device 100, and the time when the traffic accident was detected. The traffic accident data is encrypted before it is sent to the traffic information service.);
transmit, in response to the accident detection signal from the processor, from the vehicle to one or more other vehicles around the vehicle, a notification about the accident via internet communication, wherein the notification triggers the one or more other vehicles to provide further one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles to the cloud network device (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0039]: Said electronic sensor devices comprise at least one of a data recording device, a temperature sensor, a traffic sensor, and a vehicle performance sensor. & para. [0052]: Surveillance resources: e.g. cameras both at the location for the accident and in locations before and after the location for the accident; & para. [0055]: Said traffic information service may be arranged as a cloud service 300. The fixed electronic sensor device 100:5 may be using a radio connection (via Radio Access System 20) or a fixed ( optical and/or electric) connection via the Internet 30 to said traffic information service 200. The vehicle located electronic sensor devices 100:1, 100:2, 100:3 are also adapted to communicate their recorded data at certain time periods to one or more vehicle service sites (not shown) when triggered from said one or more sites. Said communication between one vehicle located electronic sensor device 100, and the vehicle service site is performed over internet and a Radio Access System 20 with one or more RBSs. & para. [0083]: However, several criteria can be used, e.g. rt=temperature to retrieve all sensors related to temperature or rt=video to detect all sensors that can record imagery data. para. [0062]: When an electronic sensor device has detected a trigger, it is adapted to retrieve information regarding available other electronic sensor devices 100:2, 100:3, 100:4, 100:5 at the location of the traffic accident and in its surrounding area in step S120. The information regarding available electronic sensor devices at the location of the traffic accident and its surrounding area is retrieved from an electronic storage connected to or accessible from the electronic sensor device. When the information is received, the first electronic sensor device is adapted to activate at least one of said available other electronic sensor devices to send any traffic accident data recorded at a time interval comprising the time for the traffic accident to a traffic information service.).
Karapantelakis discloses sensing video data and cameras that are incorporated on sensor devices and also contain a transceiver but however Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose
a camera included in the vehicle configured to capture a first set of images of an environment of the vehicle corresponding to the accident; and
and a transceiver included in the vehicle configured to;
transmit the first set of images and the vehicle data via a wireless communication network in an encrypted form to a cloud network device in response to the accident detection signal from the processor;
transmit, in response to the accident detection signal from the processor, from the vehicle to one or more other vehicles around the vehicle, a notification about the accident via cellular communication, wherein the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication, wherein the notification triggers the one or more other vehicles to provide further one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles to the cloud network device for accident arbitration; and
receive an arbitration result and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result, wherein the arbitration result is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles.
Zhang teaches
an processor configured to (see at least Zhang, para. [0033]: In some embodiments, the fault rules 130 and/or the report 140 can be constructed as part of the controller 200.):
detect, based on detection data from one or more sensors coupled to the processor, an accident of the vehicle, wherein the one or more sensors are included in the vehicle; and (see at least Zhang, para. [0034]: Received as inputs into the incident processing system 100 are vehicle inputs 110 as well as non-vehicle inputs 120. The inputs 110, 120 may be received into the incident processing system 100by way of one or more input signals from, e.g., devices internal or external to the one or more vehicles involved in the incident, devices internal or external to one or more vehicles near the incident, or non-vehicle devices positioned on or within objects near the incident. & para. [0066]: Data received into the system 100 (e.g., vehicle input 110 and non-vehicle input 120),generated by the system 100 (e.g., fault data 135), and/or produced by the system 100 (e.g., report data 150) may optionally be stored to a repository 50, e.g., a remote database, remote to the vehicle involved in the incident and/or system 100. The received data, generated data, and/or produced data may be stored to the repository 50 by way of a data signal 160.);
generate, based on detecting the accident, an accident detection signal (see at least Zhang, para. [0033]: Now turning to the figures, and more particularly to the first figure, FIG. 1 shows an incident processing system 100 including a set of fault rules 130, a controller 200, and a report 140. In some embodiments, the fault rules 130 and/or the report 140 can be constructed as part of the controller 200.); and
determine vehicle data of the vehicle corresponding to the accident, wherein the vehicle data comprises at least one of: speed data of the vehicle, time data of the vehicle, direction data of the vehicle, position data of the vehicle, airbag data of the vehicle, acceleration data of the vehicle, or seat occupancy data of the vehicle (see at least Zhang, para. [0035-0039]:The inputs 110, 120 can be received into the system 100 as a snapshot just prior to an incident. For example, at a time just prior to the incident, information such as speed of the vehicle, position of an accelerator, and whether a braking system was engaged may be received into the system 100… & para. [0081]),
a camera configured to capture a first set of images of an environment of the vehicle corresponding to the accident, (see at least Zhang, para. [0037]: The vehicle inputs 110 may include video data perceived by one or more cameras or other input devices that collect desirable image data internal to the vehicle and external to the vehicle. The input device(s) may be factory installed or after-market components added to the vehicle to provide additional functionality.); and
transceiver configured to (see at least Zhang, para. [0066]: Data received into the system 100 (e.g., vehicle input 110 and non-vehicle input 120),generated by the system 100 (e.g., fault data 135), and/or produced by the system 100 (e.g., report data 150) may optionally be stored to a repository 50, e.g., a remote database, remote to the vehicle involved in the incident and/or system 100. The received data, generated data, and/or produced data may be stored to the repository 50 by way of a data signal 160.):
receive the accident detection signal from the processor (see at least Zhang, para: [0033]: In some embodiments, the fault rules 130 and/or the report 140 can be constructed as part of the controller200. [0062]: The report 140 communicates a set of report data 150 to one or more of the vehicles involved in the incident. The report 140 can be communicated by way of a wireless connection using requisite hardware (e.g., transceiver) or a wired connection (e.g., computer bus).);
transmit the first set of images and the vehicle data via a wireless communication network to a cloud network device in response to the accident detection signal from the processor (see at least Zhang, para. [0035-0037]: The inputs 110, 120 can be received into the system 100 as a snapshot just prior to an incident. For example, at a time just prior to the incident, information such as speed of the vehicle, position of an accelerator, and whether a breaking system was engaged may be received into the system 100. The vehicle inputs 110 may include video data perceived by one or more cameras or other input devices that collect desirable image data internal to the vehicle and external to the vehicle. The input device(s) may be factory installed or after-market components added to the vehicle to provide additional functionality. para. [0062-0065]:One or more output components (not shown) may communicate the report data 150 the vehicle operators. The report data 150 may be communicated visually on a device integrated into the vehicle(e.g., a display screen in center stack console) or a device a mobile device (e.g., a display screen on mobile phone or tablet) using an application. Communication of the report data 150 may be combined with auditory or tactile interfaces to provide additional information to the user. As an example, the output component may provide audio speaking from components within the vehicle (e.g., speakers)…Additionally or instead, the report data 150 may be communicated to databases or storage devices at locations such as, but not limited to insurance companies, law enforcement agencies, and automobile manufacturers.); and
transmit, in response to the accident detection signal from the processor, one or more other vehicles around the vehicle about the accident via cellular communication, wherein the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication, trigger the one or more other vehicles to provide further one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles to the cloud network device for accident arbitration (see at least Zhang, para. [0043-0046]: The vehicle system data within the vehicle input 110 may include conditions external to the vehicle (external conditions). External conditions may include information from sources external to the vehicle such as vehicles nearby the incident and data from traffic signals at the scene the incident(e.g., to show traffic signal (color) at the time of the incident), among others. For example, devices may perceive and record information such as ambient or environmental temperatures, traffic conditions, and presence of precipitation, among others…The inputs 110, 120 can be communicated to the system 100 using wireless technology (e.g., 4G). Based on programming and the inputs 110, 120, the system 100 assigns responsibility (e.g., fault) of the incident, as described in the methods below.. & para. [0064-0065] & para. [0096]: Multiple data sources can include the video data and the vehicle system data from one or more vehicles (e.g., a first vehicle 10 and a second vehicle 20) can be compared and used for corroboration. For example, where the vehicle system data suggests the vehicle has swerved (e.g., as denoted by a sudden change in the steering wheel position), the video data from a vehicle camera or non-vehicle camera may show the vehicle swerved to avoid collision with an obstacle in the path of the vehicle..),
receive an arbitration result, wherein the arbitration result is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles (see at least Zhang, para. [0125-0126]: As discussed in association with FIG. 1, communication of the report data 150 can occur using known technologies such as, but not limited to, NFC to display the report data 150 on an output device(e.g., screen in a center stack console) within one or more vehicles. Additionally or alternatively, the report data 150 may be displayed on a device a mobile device (e.g., mobile phone or tablet) using an application. & para. [0129-0130]: If corroboration does not exist received from one or more of the vehicle operators (e.g., path372), the sequence 300 may suggests creation of a manual report (e.g., by authorities) at step 390…If corroboration does exists among the vehicle operators (e.g., path 374), the sequence 300,using the processor 260, communicates the report data 150 from the report 140 to a third party, such as but not limited to law enforcement personnel and insurance company personnel at step 380.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karapantelakis to incorporate the teaching of a camera included in the vehicle configured to capture a first set of images of an environment of the vehicle corresponding to the accident; and a transceiver included in the vehicle configured to; transmit the first set of images and the vehicle data via a wireless communication network in an encrypted form to a cloud network device in response to the accident detection signal from the processor; transmit, in response to the accident detection signal from the processor, one or more other vehicles around the vehicle about the accident via cellular communication, wherein the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication, trigger the one or more other vehicles to provide further one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles to the cloud network device for accident arbitration, receive an arbitration result, wherein the arbitration result is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles of Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to easing traffic congestion after an incident (see at least Zhang, para. [0137]).
Davis teaches
notify, in response to the accident detection signal from the processor, one or more other vehicles around the vehicle about the accident, wherein the notification triggers the one or more other vehicles to provide further accident information obtained by the one or more vehicles to the cloud network device for accident arbitration (see at least Davis, para. [0032-0038]: Other types of information handling systems that are not individually shown in FIG. 2 are represented by information handling system 280. As shown, the various information handling system scan be networked together using computer network 200…The intra-vehicle factor data is stored in data store 310. At step 420, the process gathers and maintains extra-vehicle factor data while the vehicle in operation. The extra-vehicle factor data is stored in data store 320. At step 430, the process analyzes sensor data corresponding to sensors installed on the vehicle that can detect possible impacts occurring at the vehicle. In response to analyzing the sensor data, the process determines whether an impact has been detected (decision440)…In one embodiment, predefined process 450 retains a copy of the transmission in data store 370. Data store 370 can be used to store impact data generated by this vehicle as well as impact data sent by other vehicles that was received at this vehicle's short range wireless receiver. Processing then loops back to step 410 to continue gathering vehicle data and detecting future impacts at the vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karapantelakis to incorporate the teaching of wherein the notification triggers the one or more other vehicles to provide further accident information obtained by the one or more vehicles to the cloud network device for accident arbitration of Davis, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to supplement standard accident report data and provide a large amount of data that could be automatically generated without transcription errors of the officer at the scene of an accident (see at least Davis, para. [0014]).
Qawami teaches
receive a negotiation and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result, wherein the negotiation is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles (see at least Qawami, para. [0083-0086]: In some embodiments, operations at blocks 702-706 may be performed by main system controller 202, in cooperation with inter-vehicle communication subsystem 212. In some embodiments, process 700 may include additional operations, or some of the operations may be performed in different order…At block 704, vehicle incident information, such as driver's license (for computer-assisted, non-fully autonomous vehicles), vehicle information, insurance information, and/or evidentiary information may be exchanged. Driver license information may include driver's license number, name, address, and so forth. Vehicle information may include vehicle identification number (VIN), make, model, year and so forth. Insurance information may include insurance company name, insurance policy number, contact information, and so forth, Evidentiary information may include information potentially relevant to the determination of fault, such as images of the other vehicle captured by the outward facing cameras of the vehicle (prior to the vehicle incident), speeds and deceleration of the two vehicles as capture by the sensors of the vehicle and so forth….Next at block 706, negotiation may be conducted with the other vehicle to reach an agreement on whether the two vehicles should remain in place, move to the side of the roadway, or move on(such as when the vehicle incident is deemed minor).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karapantelakis to incorporate the teaching of receive a negotiation and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result, wherein the negotiation is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles of Qawami, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to effectuate or contribute to effectuating the occupant or vehicle care action (see at least Qawami, para. [0031]).
As per claim 3 Karapantelakis discloses
wherein the images comprises one or more video sequences of the environment of the vehicle prior, during, and/or after the accident of the vehicle (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0039]: Said electronic sensor devices comprise at least one of a data recording device, a temperature sensor, a traffic sensor, and a vehicle performance sensor. & para. [0052]: Surveillance resources: e.g. cameras both at the location for the accident and in locations before and after the location for the accident; & para. [0083]: However, several criteria can be used, e.g. rt=temperature to retrieve all sensors related to temperature or rt=video to detect all sensors that can record imagery data. para. [0087]: The broadcasting or multicasting is performed by means of radio technology. Said notification message may, according to one embodiment, comprise a unique identifier which identifies the first electronic sensor device 100, and the time when the traffic accident was detected. The traffic accident data is encrypted before it is sent to the traffic information service.).
However Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose
a first set of images.
Zhang teaches
wherein the first set of images comprises one or more video sequences of the environment of the vehicle prior, during, and/or after the accident of the vehicle (see at least Zhang, para. [0035-0039]:The inputs 110, 120 can be received into the system 100 as a snapshot just prior to an incident. For example, at a time just prior to the incident, information such as speed of the vehicle, position of an accelerator, and whether a breaking system was engaged may be received into the system 100…The vehicle inputs 110 may include video data perceived by one or more cameras or other input devices that collect desirable image data internal to the vehicle and external to the vehicle. The input device(s) may be factory installed or after-market components added to the vehicle to provide additional functionality.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karapantelakis to incorporate the teaching of wherein the first set of images comprises one or more video sequences of the environment of the vehicle prior, during, and/or after the accident of the vehicle Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to easing traffic congestion after an incident (see at least Zhang, para. [0137]).
As per claim 7 Karapantelakis discloses
wherein the transceiver is further configured to establish, in response to the accident detection signal from the processor, an emergency call (eCall) via the wireless communication network to an eCall network entity (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0055]: Vehicles 10 are often provided with different electronic sensors which collect different data information regarding the performance of the vehicle, the drive's behaviour, number of passengers, etc. The electronic sensor device 100:4 carried by a person may be a user device such as a smartphone, mobile telephone, surf plate, etc. Such devices are often provided with an electronic camera and a radio transceiver for connection to the Internet 30 via a Radio Access System (RAS) 20 comprising a core network connected to a radio base station (RBS), or a IEEE 802.llxbased access point and Internet Service Provider (ISP). para. [0093]: The sending of traffic accident data may be performed by establishing an e-call to the traffic information service. The traffic information service is adapted to perform step S240 by receiving, organizing and storing any traffic accident data recorded at the time interval comprising the time for the traffic accident.).
As per claim 8 Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose
wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a response message from the cloud network device.
Zhang teaches
wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a response message from the cloud network device (see at least Zhang, para: [0033]: In some embodiments, the fault rules 130 and/or the report 140 can be constructed as part of the controller200. para. [0062]: The report 140 communicates a set of report data 150 to one or more of the vehicles involved in the incident. The report 140 can be communicated by way of a wireless connection using requisite hardware (e.g., transceiver) or a wired connection (e.g., computer bus).) para. [0125]: Returning to FIG. 3, once responsibility has been allocated (e.g., at step 350), the sequence300, using the processor 260, communicates the report data 150 from the report 140 to the vehicle(s)(e.g., the vehicles 10, 20) at step 360. In some embodiments, as discussed at step 380, the report data 150 may additionally or alternatively be communicated to a third party such as, but not limited to, law enforcement personnel and insurance company personnel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karapantelakis to incorporate the teaching of wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a response message from the cloud network device of Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to easing traffic congestion after an incident (see at least Zhang, para. [0137]).
Claim(s) 10 & 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Davis, in view of Karapantelakis, in view of Qawami.
As per claim 10 Zhang discloses
A cloud network device for arbitration of an accident involving one or more vehicles, wherein the cloud network device comprises (see at least Zhang, para. [0052-0054]: The applications 220 include various programs, such as a fault recognizer sequence 300(shown in FIG. 3) described below that, when executed by the processor 260, process data received by the system 100…While the memory 210 is illustrated as residing proximate the processor 260, it should be understood that at least a portion of the memory 210 can be a remotely accessed storage system, for example, a server on a communication network, a remote hard disk drive, a removable storage medium, combinations thereof, and the like.):
a transceiver configured to (see at least Zhang, para. [0065]: In some embodiments, communication to the output displays can occur using near field communication (NFC). For example, where the report data 150 is displayed on screen in a center stack console of a vehicle, the report data 150 can be transmitted to a mobile device using NFC. Where an incident has occurred, NFC may be beneficial to communicate the report data 150 to interested third parties such as a law enforcement officer at the scene or dispatched to the scene of the incident, for example. & para. [0131]):
receive, from a first vehicle of the one or more vehicles, via a wireless communication network (see at least Zhang, para. [0066]:Data received into the system 100 (e.g., vehicle input 110 and non-vehicle input 120),generated by the system 100 (e.g., fault data 135), and/or produced by the system 100 (e.g., report data 150) may optionally be stored to a repository 50, e.g., a remote database, remote to the vehicle involved in the incident and/or system 100. The received data, generated data, and/or produced data may be stored to the repository 50 by way of a data signal 160.),
a first set of images captured by the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles involved in the accident based on an accident detection signal from the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles (see at least Zhang, para. [0037]: The vehicle inputs 110 may include video data perceived by one or more cameras or other input devices that collect desirable image data internal to the vehicle and external to the vehicle. The input device(s) may be factory installed or after-market components added to the vehicle to provide additional functionality.); and
wherein the accident detection signal is generated by a processor of the first vehicle based on detection data from one or more sensors coupled to the processor, wherein the one or more sensors are included in the first vehicle, and wherein the one or more images captured by the first vehicle are transmitted by the first vehicle in response to the accident detection signal from the processor of the first vehicle (see at least Zhang, para. [0043-0046]: The vehicle system data within the vehicle input 110 may include conditions external to the vehicle (external conditions). External conditions may include information from sources external to the vehicle such as vehicles nearby the incident and data from traffic signals at the scene the incident(e.g., to show traffic signal (color) at the time of the incident), among others. For example, devices may perceive and record information such as ambient or environmental temperatures, traffic conditions, and presence of precipitation, among others. & para. [0064-0065);
receive from the first vehicle, vehicle data of the first vehicle corresponding to the accident, wherein the vehicle data comprises at least one of: speed data of the vehicle, time data of the vehicle, direction data of the vehicle, position data of the vehicle, airbag data of the vehicle, acceleration data of the vehicle, or seat occupancy data of the vehicle (see at least Zhang, para. [0035-0039]:The inputs 110, 120 can be received into the system 100 as a snapshot just prior to an incident. For example, at a time just prior to the incident, information such as speed of the vehicle, position of an accelerator, and whether a braking system was engaged may be received into the system 100… & para. [0081])
receive, from one or more other vehicles around the first vehicle of the one or more other vehicles via the wireless communication network, one or more second sets of images captured by the one or more other vehicles around the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles (see at least Zhang, para. [0043-0046]: The vehicle system data within the vehicle input 110 may include conditions external to the vehicle (external conditions). External conditions may include information from sources external to the vehicle such as vehicles nearby the incident and data from traffic signals at the scene the incident(e.g., to show traffic signal (color) at the time of the incident), among others. For example, devices may perceive and record information such as ambient or environmental temperatures, traffic conditions, and presence of precipitation, among others. & para. [0064-0065].),
wherein the one or more other vehicles are caused to transmits the one or more second sets of images via cellular communication from the first vehicle, wherein the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication (see at least Zhang, para. [0043-0046]: The vehicle system data within the vehicle input 110 may include conditions external to the vehicle (external conditions). External conditions may include information from sources external to the vehicle such as vehicles nearby the incident and data from traffic signals at the scene the incident(e.g., to show traffic signal (color) at the time of the incident), among others. For example, devices may perceive and record information such as ambient or environmental temperatures, traffic conditions, and presence of precipitation, among others…The inputs 110, 120 can be communicated to the system 100 using wireless technology (e.g., 4G). Based on programming and the inputs 110, 120, the system 100 assigns responsibility (e.g., fault) of the incident, as described in the methods below.. & para. [0064-0065] & para. [0096]: Multiple data sources can include the video data and the vehicle system data from one or more vehicles (e.g., a first vehicle 10 and a second vehicle 20) can be compared and used for corroboration. For example, where the vehicle system data suggests the vehicle has swerved (e.g., as denoted by a sudden change in the steering wheel position), the video data from a vehicle camera or non-vehicle camera may show the vehicle swerved to avoid collision with an obstacle in the path of the vehicle..);
transmit the first set of images, the one or more second sets of images, and the vehicle data of the first vehicle to a computing device for accident arbitration (see at least Zhang, para. [0125-0126]: As discussed in association with FIG. 1, communication of the report data 150 can occur using known technologies such as, but not limited to, NFC to display the report data 150 on an output device(e.g., screen in a center stack console) within one or more vehicles. Additionally or alternatively, the report data 150 may be displayed on a device a mobile device (e.g., mobile phone or tablet) using an application. & para. [0129-0130]: If corroboration does not exist received from one or more of the vehicle operators (e.g., path372), the sequence 300 may suggests creation of a manual report (e.g., by authorities) at step 390…If corroboration does exists among the vehicle operators (e.g., path 374), the sequence 300,using the processor 260, communicates the report data 150 from the report 140 to a third party, such as but not limited to law enforcement personnel and insurance company personnel at step 380.),
wherein the computing device is configured to transmit an arbitration result, wherein the arbitration result is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles (see at least Zhang, para. [0125-0126]: As discussed in association with FIG. 1, communication of the report data 150 can occur using known technologies such as, but not limited to, NFC to display the report data 150 on an output device(e.g., screen in a center stack console) within one or more vehicles. Additionally or alternatively, the report data 150 may be displayed on a device a mobile device (e.g., mobile phone or tablet) using an application. & para. [0129-0130]: If corroboration does not exist received from one or more of the vehicle operators (e.g., path372), the sequence 300 may suggests creation of a manual report (e.g., by authorities) at step 390…If corroboration does exists among the vehicle operators (e.g., path 374), the sequence 300,using the processor 260, communicates the report data 150 from the report 140 to a third party, such as but not limited to law enforcement personnel and insurance company personnel at step 380.).
However Zhang does not explicitly disclose
wherein the one or more other vehicles are caused to transmit the one or more second sets of images based on a notification received by the one or more other vehicles via cellular communication,
wherein the notification is transmitted by the first vehicle in response to the accident detection signal from the processor of the first vehicle,
wherein the first set of images, the one or more second sets of images, and the vehicle data of the first vehicle are received in an encrypted form,
transmit a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the first vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result.
Davis teaches
wherein the one or more other vehicles are caused to transmit the one or more second sets of images based on a notification received by the one or more other vehicles via cellular communication, wherein the notification is transmitted by the first vehicle in response to the accident detection signal from the processor of the first vehicle (see at least Davis, para. [0032-0038]: Other types of information handling systems that are not individually shown in FIG. 2 are represented by information handling system 280. As shown, the various information handling system scan be networked together using computer network 200…The intra-vehicle factor data is stored in data store 310. At step 420, the process gathers and maintains extra-vehicle factor data while the vehicle in operation. The extra-vehicle factor data is stored in data store 320. At step 430, the process analyzes sensor data corresponding to sensors installed on the vehicle that can detect possible impacts occurring at the vehicle. In response to analyzing the sensor data, the process determines whether an impact has been detected (decision440)…In one embodiment, predefined process 450 retains a copy of the transmission in data store 370. Data store 370 can be used to store impact data generated by this vehicle as well as impact data sent by other vehicles that was received at this vehicle's short range wireless receiver. Processing then loops back to step 410 to continue gathering vehicle data and detecting future impacts at the vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teaching of wherein the image capture by the one or more other vehicles around the first vehicle is triggered based on a notification from the first vehicle, wherein the notification is transmitted by the first vehicle in response to the accident detection signal from the processor of the first vehicle of Davis, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to supplement standard accident report data and provide a large amount of data that could be automatically generated without transcription errors of the officer at the scene of an accident (see at least Davis, para. [0014]).
Karapantelakis teaches
wherein the first set of images, the one or more second sets of images, and the vehicle data of the first vehicle are received in an encrypted form (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0039]: Said electronic sensor devices comprise at least one of a data recording device, a temperature sensor, a traffic sensor, and a vehicle performance sensor. & para. [0052]: Surveillance resources: e.g. cameras both at the location for the accident and in locations before and after the location for the accident; & para. [0083]: However, several criteria can be used, e.g. rt=temperature to retrieve all sensors related to temperature or rt=video to detect all sensors that can record imagery data. para. [0087]: The broadcasting or multicasting is performed by means of radio technology. Said notification message may, according to one embodiment, comprise a unique identifier which identifies the first electronic sensor device 100, and the time when the traffic accident was detected. The traffic accident data is encrypted before it is sent to the traffic information service.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teaching of wherein the first set of images, the one or more second sets of images, and the vehicle data of the first vehicle are received in an encrypted form of Karapantelakis, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order incident resolution time can be reduced, i.e. duration of traffic jams can potentially decrease. (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0021]).
Qawami teaches
transmit a negotiation and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result, wherein the negotiation is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles (see at least Qawami, para. [0083-0086]: In some embodiments, operations at blocks 702-706 may be performed by main system controller 202, in cooperation with inter-vehicle communication subsystem 212. In some embodiments, process 700 may include additional operations, or some of the operations may be performed in different order…At block 704, vehicle incident information, such as driver's license (for computer-assisted, non-fully autonomous vehicles), vehicle information, insurance information, and/or evidentiary information may be exchanged. Driver license information may include driver's license number, name, address, and so forth. Vehicle information may include vehicle identification number (VIN), make, model, year and so forth. Insurance information may include insurance company name, insurance policy number, contact information, and so forth, Evidentiary information may include information potentially relevant to the determination of fault, such as images of the other vehicle captured by the outward facing cameras of the vehicle (prior to the vehicle incident), speeds and deceleration of the two vehicles as capture by the sensors of the vehicle and so forth….Next at block 706, negotiation may be conducted with the other vehicle to reach an agreement on whether the two vehicles should remain in place, move to the side of the roadway, or move on(such as when the vehicle incident is deemed minor).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karapantelakis to incorporate the teaching of transmit a negotiation and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result, wherein the negotiation is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles of Qawami, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to effectuate or contribute to effectuating the occupant or vehicle care action (see at least Qawami, para. [0031]).
As per claim 12 Zhang does not explicitly disclose
wherein the cloud network device further comprises processing circuitry configured to assign the first set of images captured by the first vehicle and the second sets of images captured by the one or more other vehicles around the first vehicle to a single accident.
Karapantelakis teaches
wherein the cloud network device further comprises processing circuitry configured to assign the first set of images captured by the first vehicle and the second sets of images captured by the one or more other vehicles around the first vehicle to a single accident (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0078]: Sending to the RD a request for information regarding available electronic sensor device at the location of the traffic accident and in it surrounding area…In the previous request the start("*") character was used for the purposes of retrieving all available assets. However, several criteria can be used, e.g. rt=temperature to retrieve all sensors related to temperature or rt=video to detect all sensors that can record imagery data. para. [0093]: The sending of traffic accident data may be performed by establishing an e-call to the traffic information service. The traffic information service is adapted to perform step S240 by receiving, organizing and storing any traffic accident data recorded at the time interval comprising the time for the traffic accident.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teaching of wherein the cloud network device further comprises processing circuitry configured to assign the first set of images captured by the first vehicle and the second sets of images captured by the one or more other vehicles around the first vehicle to a single accident of Karapantelakis, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for incident resolution time can be reduced, i.e. duration of traffic jams can potentially decrease. (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0021]).
As per claim 13 Zhang discloses
wherein the transceiver is further configured to establish, in response to receiving, from the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles, the first set of images communication to a law enforcement officer (see at least Zhang, para. [0062-0065]:One or more output components (not shown) may communicate the report data 150 the vehicle operators. The report data 150 may be communicated visually on a device integrated into the vehicle(e.g., a display screen in center stack console) or a device a mobile device (e.g., a display screen on mobile phone or tablet) using an application. Communication of the report data 150 may be combined with auditory or tactile interfaces to provide additional information to the user. As an example, the output component may provide audio speaking from components within the vehicle (e.g., speakers)…Additionally or instead, the report data 150 may be communicated to databases or storage devices at locations such as, but not limited to insurance companies, law enforcement agencies, and automobile manufacturers.).
However Zhang does not explicitly disclose
wherein the transceiver is further configured to establish, in response to receiving, from the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles, the first set of images;
an emergency call (eCall) between the at first vehicle of the one or more vehicles and an eCall network entity via the wireless communication network.
Karapantelakis teaches
wherein the transceiver is further configured to establish, in response to receiving, from the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles, the first set of images (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0039]: Said electronic sensor devices comprise at least one of a data recording device, a temperature sensor, a traffic sensor, and a vehicle performance sensor. & para. [0052]: Surveillance resources: e.g. cameras both at the location for the accident and in locations before and after the location for the accident; para. [0058]: Retrieving information regarding available other electronic sensor devices (100:2, 100:3, 100:4, 100:5) at the location of the traffic accident and in its surrounding area;),
an emergency call (eCall) between the at first vehicle of the one or more vehicles and an eCall network entity via the wireless communication network (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0093]: The sending of traffic accident data may be performed by establishing an e-call to the traffic information service. The traffic information service is adapted to perform step S240 by receiving, organizing and storing any traffic accident data recorded at the time interval comprising the time for the traffic accident.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teaching of wherein the transceiver is further configured to establish, in response to receiving, from the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles, the first set of images an emergency call (eCall) between the at first vehicle of the one or more vehicles and an eCall network entity via the wireless communication network of Karapantelakis, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for incident resolution time can be reduced, i.e. duration of traffic jams can potentially decrease. (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0021]).
Claim(s) 14, & 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Zhang, in view of Karapantelakis, in view of Davis, in view of (“Qawami”).
As per claim 14 Zhang discloses
A computing device for arbitration of an accident involving one or more vehicles (see at least Zhang, para. [0065]: In some embodiments, communication to the output displays can occur using near field communication (NFC). For example, where the report data 150 is displayed on screen in a center stack console of a vehicle, the report data 150 can be transmitted to a mobile device using NFC.), wherein the computing device comprises:
a transceiver configured to receive (see at least Zhang, para: [0033]: In some embodiments, the fault rules 130 and/or the report 140 can be constructed as part of the controller200. [0062]: The report 140 communicates a set of report data 150 to one or more of the vehicles involved in the incident. The report 140 can be communicated by way of a wireless connection using requisite hardware (e.g., transceiver) or a wired connection (e.g., computer bus).),
from a first vehicle of the one or more vehicles, a first set of images captured by the first vehicle and vehicle information of the first vehicle involved in an accident and receive, from one or more other vehicles around the first vehicle of the one or more vehicles, one or more second sets of images of captured by the one or more other vehicles around the first vehicle (see at least Zhang, para. [0040-0042]: Internal conditions can also include readings from sensor other measuring devices mounted to interior or exterior surfaces of the vehicle. Input devices can include microphones, light-based sensors (e.g., sensors using laser), buttons, knobs, touch-sensitive displays, and/or other touch-sensitive devices. For example, an input devices may measure information such as, but not limited to, fluid level indicators (e.g., fuel, oil, brake, and transmission) and wheel speed…The vehicle system data within the vehicle input 110 may include conditions external to the vehicle (external conditions). para. [0043-0046]: The vehicle system data within the vehicle input 110 may include conditions external to the vehicle (external conditions). External conditions may include information from sources external to the vehicle such as vehicles nearby the incident and data from traffic signals at the scene the incident(e.g., to show traffic signal (color) at the time of the incident), among others. For example, devices may perceive and record information such as ambient or environmental temperatures, traffic conditions, and presence of precipitation, among others. & para. [0065]: In some embodiments, communication to the output displays can occur using near field communication (NFC). For example, where the report data 150 is displayed on screen in a center stack console of a vehicle, the report data 150 can be transmitted to a mobile device using NFC. para. [0096]: Multiple data sources can include the video data and the vehicle system data from one or more vehicles (e.g., a first vehicle 10 and a second vehicle 20) can be compared and used for corroboration. For example, where the vehicle system data suggests the vehicle has swerved (e.g., as denoted by a sudden change in the steering wheel position), the video data from a vehicle camera or non-vehicle camera may show the vehicle swerved to avoid collision with an obstacle in the path of the vehicle..);
wherein the vehicle data of the first vehicle comprises at least one of: speed data of the first vehicle, time data of the first vehicle, direction data of the first vehicle, position data of the first vehicle, airbag data of the first vehicle, acceleration data of the first vehicle, or seat occupancy data of the first vehicle (see at least Zhang, para. [0035-0039]:The inputs 110, 120 can be received into the system 100 as a snapshot just prior to an incident. For example, at a time just prior to the incident, information such as speed of the vehicle, position of an accelerator, and whether a braking system was engaged may be received into the system 100… & para. [0081]), and
a display configured to display the first set of images, the one or more second sets of images, and the vehicle data of the first vehicle for accident arbitration (see at least Zhang, para. [0125-0126]: As discussed in association with FIG. 1, communication of the report data 150 can occur using known technologies such as, but not limited to, NFC to display the report data 150 on an output device(e.g., screen in a center stack console) within one or more vehicles. Additionally or alternatively, the report data 150 may be displayed on a device a mobile device (e.g., mobile phone or tablet) using an application. & para. [0129-0130]: If corroboration does not exist received from one or more of the vehicle operators (e.g., path372), the sequence 300 may suggests creation of a manual report (e.g., by authorities) at step 390…If corroboration does exists among the vehicle operators (e.g., path 374), the sequence 300,using the processor 260, communicates the report data 150 from the report 140 to a third party, such as but not limited to law enforcement personnel and insurance company personnel at step 380.),
wherein the first vehicle is configured to transmit the first set of images and the vehicle data of the first vehicle based on an accident detection signal detected from the first vehicle (see at least Zhang, para. [0037]: The vehicle inputs 110 may include video data perceived by one or more cameras or other input devices that collect desirable image data internal to the vehicle and external to the vehicle. The input device(s) may be factory installed or after-market components added to the vehicle to provide additional functionality. & para. [0072]: In some embodiments, the controller 200 performs one or more of the functions in response to a trigger, such as upon determination of existence of one or more of a predetermined set of parameters. The parameters may consider initiating the sequence 300, for example when an incident occurred. & para. [0078]: In some embodiments, at step 320, the sequence 300, using the processor 260, determines if at least one source from the inputs 110, 120 has been received into the system 100. For example, the sequence 300 may determine if video data is received from 360° around the vehicle (e.g., front camera, rear camera, side cameras).); and
wherein the accident detection signal is generated by a processor of the first vehicle based on detection data from one or more sensors coupled to the processor, wherein the one or more sensors are included in the vehicle, and wherein the first set of images captured by the first vehicle is transmitted by the first vehicle in response to the accident detection signal from the processor of the first vehicle (see at least Zhang, para. [0043-0046]: The vehicle system data within the vehicle input 110 may include conditions external to the vehicle (external conditions). External conditions may include information from sources external to the vehicle such as vehicles nearby the incident and data from traffic signals at the scene the incident(e.g., to show traffic signal (color) at the time of the incident), among others. For example, devices may perceive and record information such as ambient or environmental temperatures, traffic conditions, and presence of precipitation, among others. & para. [0064-0065);
wherein the one or more other vehicles are caused to transmit the one or more second sets of images via cellular communication from the first vehicle, wherein the cellular communication is 3G communication, 4G communication, or 5G communication (see at least Zhang, para. [0042-0046]: The vehicle system data within the vehicle input 110 may include conditions external to the vehicle (external conditions). External conditions may include information from sources external to the vehicle such as vehicles nearby the incident and data from traffic signals at the scene the incident(e.g., to show traffic signal (color) at the time of the incident), among others. For example, devices may perceive and record information such as ambient or environmental temperatures, traffic conditions, and presence of precipitation, among others & para. [0064-0065] & para. [0096]: Multiple data sources can include the video data and the vehicle system data from one or more vehicles (e.g., a first vehicle 10 and a second vehicle 20) can be compared and used for corroboration. For example, where the vehicle system data suggests the vehicle has swerved (e.g., as denoted by a sudden change in the steering wheel position), the video data from a vehicle camera or non-vehicle camera may show the vehicle swerved to avoid collision with an obstacle in the path of the vehicle...), and
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit an arbitration result, wherein the arbitration result is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles (see at least Zhang, para. [0125-0126]: As discussed in association with FIG. 1, communication of the report data 150 can occur using known technologies such as, but not limited to, NFC to display the report data 150 on an output device(e.g., screen in a center stack console) within one or more vehicles. Additionally or alternatively, the report data 150 may be displayed on a device a mobile device (e.g., mobile phone or tablet) using an application. & para. [0129-0130]: If corroboration does not exist received from one or more of the vehicle operators (e.g., path372), the sequence 300 may suggests creation of a manual report (e.g., by authorities) at step 390…If corroboration does exists among the vehicle operators (e.g., path 374), the sequence 300,using the processor 260, communicates the report data 150 from the report 140 to a third party, such as but not limited to law enforcement personnel and insurance company personnel at step 380.).
However Zhang does not explicitly disclose
wherein the first set of images, the one or more second sets of images, and the vehicle data of the first vehicle are received in an encrypted form; and
wherein the one or more other vehicles are caused to transmit the one or more second sets of images based on a notification received via cellular communication from the first vehicle, wherein the notification is transmitted by the first vehicle in response to the accident detection signal from the processor of the first vehicle;
transmit a result and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the first vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result.
Karapantelakis teaches
wherein the first set of images, the one or more second sets of images, and the vehicle data of the first vehicle are received in an encrypted form (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0039]: Said electronic sensor devices comprise at least one of a data recording device, a temperature sensor, a traffic sensor, and a vehicle performance sensor. & para. [0052]: Surveillance resources: e.g. cameras both at the location for the accident and in locations before and after the location for the accident; & para. [0083]: However, several criteria can be used, e.g. rt=temperature to retrieve all sensors related to temperature or rt=video to detect all sensors that can record imagery data. para. [0087]: The broadcasting or multicasting is performed by means of radio technology. Said notification message may, according to one embodiment, comprise a unique identifier which identifies the first electronic sensor device 100, and the time when the traffic accident was detected. The traffic accident data is encrypted before it is sent to the traffic information service.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teaching of wherein the first set of images, the one or more second sets of images, and the vehicle data of the first vehicle are received in an encrypted form of Karapantelakis, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order incident resolution time can be reduced, i.e. duration of traffic jams can potentially decrease. (see at least Karapantelakis, para. [0021]).
Davis teaches
wherein the one or more other vehicles are caused to transmit the one or more second sets of images based on a notification received via cellular communication from the first vehicle, wherein the notification is transmitted by the first vehicle in response to the accident detection signal from the processor of the first vehicle (see at least Davis, para. [0032-0038]: Other types of information handling systems that are not individually shown in FIG. 2 are represented by information handling system 280. As shown, the various information handling system scan be networked together using computer network 200…The intra-vehicle factor data is stored in data store 310. At step 420, the process gathers and maintains extra-vehicle factor data while the vehicle in operation. The extra-vehicle factor data is stored in data store 320. At step 430, the process analyzes sensor data corresponding to sensors installed on the vehicle that can detect possible impacts occurring at the vehicle. In response to analyzing the sensor data, the process determines whether an impact has been detected (decision440)…In one embodiment, predefined process 450 retains a copy of the transmission in data store 370. Data store 370 can be used to store impact data generated by this vehicle as well as impact data sent by other vehicles that was received at this vehicle's short range wireless receiver. Processing then loops back to step 410 to continue gathering vehicle data and detecting future impacts at the vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teaching of wherein the one or more other vehicles are caused to transmit the one or more second sets of images based on a notification received via cellular communication from the first vehicle, wherein the notification is transmitted by the first vehicle in response to the accident detection signal from the processor of the first vehicle of Davis, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to supplement standard accident report data and provide a large amount of data that could be automatically generated without transcription errors of the officer at the scene of an accident (see at least Davis, para. [0014]).
Qawami teaches
transmit a negotiation and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result, wherein the negotiation is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles (see at least Qawami, para. [0083-0086]: In some embodiments, operations at blocks 702-706 may be performed by main system controller 202, in cooperation with inter-vehicle communication subsystem 212. In some embodiments, process 700 may include additional operations, or some of the operations may be performed in different order…At block 704, vehicle incident information, such as driver's license (for computer-assisted, non-fully autonomous vehicles), vehicle information, insurance information, and/or evidentiary information may be exchanged. Driver license information may include driver's license number, name, address, and so forth. Vehicle information may include vehicle identification number (VIN), make, model, year and so forth. Insurance information may include insurance company name, insurance policy number, contact information, and so forth, Evidentiary information may include information potentially relevant to the determination of fault, such as images of the other vehicle captured by the outward facing cameras of the vehicle (prior to the vehicle incident), speeds and deceleration of the two vehicles as capture by the sensors of the vehicle and so forth….Next at block 706, negotiation may be conducted with the other vehicle to reach an agreement on whether the two vehicles should remain in place, move to the side of the roadway, or move on(such as when the vehicle incident is deemed minor).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karapantelakis to incorporate the teaching of transmit a negotiation and a voice-based command or instruction to coordinate the vehicle to clear a road based on the arbitration result, wherein the negotiation is based on the first set of images captured by the vehicle, the vehicle data of the vehicle, and the one or more second sets of images obtained by the one or more other vehicles of Qawami, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to effectuate or contribute to effectuating the occupant or vehicle care action (see at least Qawami, para. [0031]).
As per claim 17 Zhang discloses
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the arbitration result to a cloud network entity for archiving the accident arbitration result (see at least Zhang, para: [0033]: In some embodiments, the fault rules 130 and/or the report 140 can be constructed as part of the controller200. [0062]: The report 140 communicates a set of report data 150 to one or more of the vehicles involved in the incident. The report 140 can be communicated by way of a wireless connection using requisite hardware (e.g., transceiver) or a wired connection (e.g., computer bus). para. [0131]: As discussed above, communication of the report data 150 can occur using conventional methods of data transfer such as but not limited to cloud-based storage/transfer and Bluetooth. Display of the report data 150 may occur on an output device and/or a mobile device using an application.).
As per claim 18 Zhang discloses
wherein transceiver is further configured to transmit the arbitration result to the one or more other vehicles (see at least Zhang, para: [0033]: In some embodiments, the fault rules 130 and/or the report 140 can be constructed as part of the controller200. [0062]: The report 140 communicates a set of report data 150 to one or more of the vehicles involved in the incident. The report 140 can be communicated by way of a wireless connection using requisite hardware (e.g., transceiver) or a wired connection (e.g., computer bus). para. [0132]: The sequence 300 concludes by disengaging the software through the controller 200. The sequence 300 may conclude according to any of various timing protocols, such as assigning of responsibility at step 340, communicating the report data to the vehicle operators at step 360, and/or communicating the report data 140 to third parties at step 380, for example.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668