Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-24 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-13, 15-19 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podrazhansky et al. (US 5889385 A), hereinafter “Pod”, in view of Coe et al. (US 20100201320 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Pod teaches a method (Figs. 3A-3B) for charging an electrochemical device comprising:
determining a relative charge value for each of the plurality of electrochemical cells (305, [Col 8 Lines 20-27] “The present invention measures the voltage of each cell during the rest periods surrounding a depolarization pulse. The controller 14 uses this information to determine the state of charge of each cell, and of the series combination of cells, and adjusts the charging process to match the existing state of each of the cells so that the charges in the cells may be equalized without interrupting the charging process”); and controlling, based on the relative charge value for each of the plurality of electrochemical cells, an energy signal at an electrode of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells of the electrochemical pack, the energy signal shaped by a shaping circuit (30, [Col 6 Lines 36-39] “The charging circuit 30 may be any charging circuit which can provide a charging pulse which has an adjustable amplitude or an adjustable duration, and preferably both”),
wherein the energy signal is propagated from the electrode of the first electrochemical cell through at least a portion of the plurality of electrochemical cells through a series connection of the plurality of electrochemical cells ([Claim 1] “applying at least one charging pulse to said set, said charging pulse providing a series charging current, said series charging current having an amplitude and a duration, each said energy storage device receiving a portion of said charging pulse”).
Pod does not teach accessing a plurality of harmonic profiles that each indicate a relationship between at least one harmonic and an impedance of each of a plurality of electrochemical cells arranged in an electrochemical pack;
the energy signal shaped by a shaping circuit to include a harmonic component associated with a target impedance value corresponding toa target electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells, the harmonic component causing target absorption of the energy signal by the target electrochemical cell as compared to the remaining electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells,
wherein the target impedance value associated with the harmonic is obtained from a harmonic profile of the plurality of harmonic profiles associated with the target electrochemical cell.
Coe teaches accessing a plurality of harmonic profiles that each indicate a relationship between at least one harmonic and an impedance of each of a plurality of electrochemical cells arranged in an electrochemical pack (Fig. 7B, ¶[18] “FIG. 7B is a graph plot showing a dynamic internal impedance of the battery pack versus frequency at multiple charge current levels”, see also ¶[35] “The control module 106 identifies the resonant charge frequency or frequencies 701-704, f.sub.opt, at which dV/dt and/or the dynamic internal impedance are the smallest for each of the applied current levels … In some implementations, f.sub.opt includes harmonics of the resonant charge frequencies”);
the energy signal shaped by a shaping circuit to include a harmonic component associated with a target impedance value corresponding to a target electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells (¶[31] “The charge/discharge system 100 may be used to maximize the charge efficiency of the battery pack 200 by applying a charging profile that optimizes charge acceptance, e.g., by applying a profile including a pulse charge at the resonant charge frequency”),
wherein the target impedance value associated with the harmonic is obtained from a harmonic profile of the plurality of harmonic profiles associated with the target electrochemical cell (Fig. 7B, ¶[34] “In some implementations, the control module 106 may calculate the dynamic internal impedance of the batteries at various pulse frequencies based on a predetermined frequency resolution”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pod to incorporate the teachings of Coe to provide accessing a plurality of harmonic profiles that each indicate a relationship between at least one harmonic and an impedance of each of a plurality of electrochemical cells arranged in an electrochemical pack;
the energy signal shaped by a shaping circuit to include a harmonic component associated with a target impedance value corresponding to a target electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells, wherein the target impedance value associated with the harmonic is obtained from a harmonic profile of the plurality of harmonic profiles associated with the target electrochemical cell;
in order to increase the efficiency of the charge/discharge device by choosing frequencies that will maximize charge acceptance, as suggested by Coe (¶[31]).
The combination of Pod and Coe teaches the harmonic component causing target absorption of the energy signal by the target electrochemical cell as compared to the remaining electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells, ([Col 5 Lines 20-21 of Pod] “The adjustment to the rate of charging may be made on an individual cell basis, that is, tailored to each cell” in view of ¶[33] of Coe “The measure of dV/dt provides an indicator of the battery pack charge acceptance and is inversely related such that the frequency or frequencies at which dV/dt is smallest (i.e., the "resonant charge frequencies") are the same frequencies at which charge acceptance is highest”),
Regarding Claim 4, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 1.
Pod further teaches wherein the energy signal comprises one of a charge current, a discharge current, a charge voltage, a discharge voltage, a charge power, or a discharge power (signal provided by charging circuit 30 [Col 6 Lines 36-39] “The charging circuit 30 may be any charging circuit which can provide a charging pulse which has an adjustable amplitude or an adjustable duration, and preferably both”).
Regarding Claim 5, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 1.
Pod further teaches wherein the target electrochemical cell is directly connected to the electrode of the electrochemical pack (the target cell may be C1 or CN (see Fig. 1) which are at the ends of the battery pack [Col 8 Lines 29-43] “That is, controller 14 measures the voltage across each cell to determine the state of charge and condition of each cell and then adjusts the charging process so as to properly charge that cell … the full 100 amps of charging current is provided to another cell which is undercharged and needs the full 100 amps to properly charge”).
Regarding Claim 6, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 1.
Pod further teaches wherein at least one other electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is connected between the target electrochemical cell and the electrode of the electrochemical pack (the target cell may be C2 (see Fig. 1) which is in the middle of the battery pack [Col 8 Lines 29-43] “That is, controller 14 measures the voltage across each cell to determine the state of charge and condition of each cell and then adjusts the charging process so as to properly charge that cell … the full 100 amps of charging current is provided to another cell which is undercharged and needs the full 100 amps to properly charge”)..
Regarding Claim 7, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 1.
Pod further teaches wherein a portion of the energy signal is absorbed by the target electrochemical cell to increase the relative charge value of the target electrochemical cell ([Col 13 Lines 43-46] “the charge pulse current may be increased to more quickly charge lesser charged cells, while more of the charge pulse current may be shunted around cells which are more fully charged”).
Coe further teaches energy signal based on the harmonic associated with the target impedance value (¶[31] “The charge/discharge system 100 may be used to maximize the charge efficiency of the battery pack 200 by applying a charging profile that optimizes charge acceptance, e.g., by applying a profile including a pulse charge at the resonant charge frequency”).
Regarding Claim 8, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 1.
Pod further teaches wherein a portion of the energy signal is absorbed by the target electrochemical cell to decrease the relative charge value of the target electrochemical cell ([Col 15 Lines 19-25] “In step 320 the charge cycle parameters are adjusted to decrease the charging rate, such as by … increasing the amplitude, duration or number of depolarization pulses, either for the battery as a whole and/or for that cell”).
Coe further teaches energy signal based on the harmonic associated with the target impedance value (¶[31] “The charge/discharge system 100 may be used to maximize the charge efficiency of the battery pack 200 by applying a charging profile that optimizes charge acceptance, e.g., by applying a profile including a pulse charge at the resonant charge frequency”).
Regarding Claim 9, The method of claim 1,
Pod further teaches wherein controlling the energy signal balances the relative charge values of the plurality of electrochemical cells of the electrochemical device ([Col 10 Lines 32-35] “Once the state of charge of a cell is known, then action can be taken to equalize the state of charge and the ability of that cell to accept current with the state of charge of the other cells”).
Regarding Claim 10, Pod teaches a battery pack charging system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a charge signal shaping circuit (30, [Col 6 Lines 36-39] “The charging circuit 30 may be any charging circuit which can provide a charging pulse which has an adjustable amplitude or an adjustable duration, and preferably both”) in communication with an electrochemical pack (B) comprising a plurality of electrochemical cells (C1-CN);
and a controller (14) to:
determine a relative charge value ([Col 8 Lines 20-27] “The present invention measures the voltage of each cell during the rest periods surrounding a depolarization pulse. The controller 14 uses this information to determine the state of charge of each cell, and of the series combination of cells, and adjusts the charging process to match the existing state of each of the cells so that the charges in the cells may be equalized without interrupting the charging process”) for each of the plurality of electrochemical cells ([Col 6 Lines 25-27] “Modules 12A-12N also have cell voltage output lines V1A-VNA and V1B-VNB to allow controller 14 to determine the voltage across each cell C”, see also step 305 in Fig. 3A);
identify, based on the relative charge value for each of the plurality of electrochemical cells, a target electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells ([Col 8 Lines 30-34] “controller 14 measures the voltage across each cell to determine the state of charge and condition of each cell and then adjusts the charging process so as to properly charge that cell”);
and a charge signal at an electrode of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells of the electrochemical pack, wherein the energy signal is propagated from the electrode of the first electrochemical cell through each of the plurality of electrochemical cells through a series connection of the plurality of electrochemical cells ([Claim 1] “applying at least one charging pulse to said set, said charging pulse providing a series charging current, said series charging current having an amplitude and a duration, each said energy storage device receiving a portion of said charging pulse”).
Pod does not teach an impedance measurement circuit in communication with the electrochemical pack to obtain an impedance measurement of each of plurality of electrochemical cells;
and a controller configured to control the charge signal shaping circuit to shape a charge signal for the target electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells to include a harmonic component associated with a target impedance value corresponding to the target electrochemical cell, the harmonic component causing target absorption of the energy signal by the target electrochemical cell as compared to the remaining electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells.
Coe teaches an impedance measurement circuit in communication with the electrochemical pack to obtain an impedance measurement of each of plurality of electrochemical cells (¶[43] “The control module 106 may also calculate the dynamic internal impedance of the battery pack 200 at various pulse frequencies based on a predetermined frequency resolution”);
and a controller (106) configured to control the charge signal shaping circuit to shape a charge signal for the target electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells to include a harmonic component associated with a target impedance value corresponding to the target electrochemical cell (¶[35] “The control module 106 identifies the resonant charge frequency or frequencies … at which … the dynamic internal impedance are the smallest for each of the applied current levels 705-707. The control module 106 then uses this information to configure the charge/discharge module 102 to generate a charge profile corresponding to the optimal frequency or frequencies for the desired current level … In some implementations, f.sub.opt includes harmonics of the resonant charge frequencies”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pod to incorporate the teachings of Coe to provide an impedance measurement circuit in communication with the electrochemical pack to obtain an impedance measurement of each of plurality of electrochemical cells;
and a controller configured to control the charge signal shaping circuit to shape a charge signal for the target electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells to include a harmonic component associated with a target impedance value corresponding to the target electrochemical cell,
in order to increase the efficiency of the charge/discharge device by choosing frequencies that will maximize charge acceptance, as suggested by Coe (¶[31]).
The combination of Pod and Coe teaches the harmonic component causing target absorption of the energy signal by the target electrochemical cell as compared to the remaining electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells, ([Col 5 Lines 20-21 of Pod] “The adjustment to the rate of charging may be made on an individual cell basis, that is, tailored to each cell” in view of ¶[33] of Coe “The measure of dV/dt provides an indicator of the battery pack charge acceptance and is inversely related such that the frequency or frequencies at which dV/dt is smallest (i.e., the "resonant charge frequencies") are the same frequencies at which charge acceptance is highest”),
Regarding Claim 11, Pod in view of Coe teaches the battery pack charging system of claim 10.
wherein the harmonic is associated with a target real impedance value of the electrochemical device (see Fig, 7B, ‘Z’ represents the total combined impedance value which inherently includes a real value).
Regarding Claim 12, Pod in view of Coe teaches the battery pack charging system of claim 10.
wherein the harmonic is associated with a target imaginary impedance value of the electrochemical device (see Fig, 7B, ‘Z’ represents the total combined impedance value which inherently includes an imaginary value).
Regarding Claim 13, Pod in view of Coe teaches the battery pack charging system of claim 10.
Coe further teaches wherein the harmonic is associated with a combination of a real impedance value and an imaginary impedance value of the electrochemical device (see Fig, 7B, ‘Z’ represents the total combined impedance value).
Regarding Claim 15, Pod in view of Coe teaches the battery pack charging system of claim 10.
Pod further teaches wherein a portion of the charge signal is absorbed by the target electrochemical cell to increase the relative charge value of the target electrochemical cell ([Col 13 Lines 43-46] “the charge pulse current may be increased to more quickly charge lesser charged cells, while more of the charge pulse current may be shunted around cells which are more fully charged”).
Coe further teaches the charge signal based on the harmonic associated with the target impedance value (¶[31] “The charge/discharge system 100 may be used to maximize the charge efficiency of the battery pack 200 by applying a charging profile that optimizes charge acceptance, e.g., by applying a profile including a pulse charge at the resonant charge frequency”).
Regarding Claim 16, Pod in view of Coe teaches the battery pack charging system of claim 10.
Pod further teaches wherein a portion of the charge signal is absorbed by the target electrochemical cell to decrease the relative charge value of the target electrochemical cell ([Col 15 Lines 19-25] “In step 320 the charge cycle parameters are adjusted to decrease the charging rate, such as by … increasing the amplitude, duration or number of depolarization pulses, either for the battery as a whole and/or for that cell”).
Coe further teaches energy signal based on the harmonic associated with the target impedance value (¶[31] “The charge/discharge system 100 may be used to maximize the charge efficiency of the battery pack 200 by applying a charging profile that optimizes charge acceptance, e.g., by applying a profile including a pulse charge at the resonant charge frequency”).
Regarding Claim 17, Pod in view of Coe teaches the battery pack charging system of claim 10.
Pod as modified does not explicitly teach the battery pack charging system further comprises a power source providing a power signal and
wherein controlling the charge signal shaping circuit comprises siphoning energy from the power signal to provide the charge signal.
Coe teaches the battery pack charging system (Fig. 1) further comprises a power source providing a power signal (¶[27] “The charge/discharge module 102 includes a bidirectional programmable D.C. power supply”) and
wherein controlling the charge signal shaping circuit (102) comprises siphoning energy from the power signal to provide the charge signal (¶[27] “The charge/discharge module 102 is capable of generating charge profiles having simple and complex current waveforms superimposed on a variable base current”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pod to incorporate the teachings of Coe to provide the battery pack charging system further comprises a power source providing a power signal and
wherein controlling the charge signal shaping circuit comprises siphoning energy from the power signal to provide the charge signal;
in order to provide a source for the varying charge signals.
Regarding Claim 18, Pod teaches a method (Figs. 3A-3B) for balance charging of a battery pack (B), the method comprising:
an indication of a charge of a first cell of a plurality of electrochemical cells being less than an indication of a charge of a second cell (C1 in the following example) of the plurality of electrochemical cells ([Col 8 Lines 28-43] “the equalization process is performed simultaneously with and as part of the charging process. That is, controller 14 measures the voltage across each cell to determine the state of charge and condition of each cell and then adjusts the charging process so as to properly charge that cell … Thus, overcharging of and damage to cell C1 is prevented, but the full 100 amps of charging current is provided to another cell which is undercharged and needs the full 100 amps to properly charge”);
and shaping a charge signal for the plurality of electrochemical cells, the charge signal to charge the first cell (see [Col 8 Lines 28-43] quoted above, and [Col 6 Lines 36-39] “The charging circuit 30 may be any charging circuit which can provide a charging pulse which has an adjustable amplitude or an adjustable duration, and preferably both”) at an electrode of the first cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells of the electrochemical pack, wherein the energy signal is propagated from the electrode of the first cell through each of the plurality of electrochemical cells through a series connection of the plurality of electrochemical cells ([Claim 1] “applying at least one charging pulse to said set, said charging pulse providing a series charging current, said series charging current having an amplitude and a duration, each said energy storage device receiving a portion of said charging pulse”).
Pod does not teach obtaining a target impedance value of the first cell;
and shaping a charge signal for the plurality of electrochemical cells to include a harmonic component corresponding to the target impedance value of the first cell,
Coe teaches obtaining a target impedance value of the first cell (¶[34] “the control module 106 may calculate the dynamic internal impedance of the batteries at various pulse frequencies based on a predetermined frequency resolution”);
and shaping a charge signal for the plurality of electrochemical cells to include a harmonic component corresponding to the target impedance value of the first cell, (¶[35] “The control module 106 identifies the resonant charge frequency or frequencies … at which … the dynamic internal impedance are the smallest for each of the applied current levels 705-707. The control module 106 then uses this information to configure the charge/discharge module 102 to generate a charge profile corresponding to the optimal frequency or frequencies for the desired current level … In some implementations, f.sub.opt includes harmonics of the resonant charge frequencies”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pod to incorporate the teachings of Coe to provide obtaining a target impedance value of the first cell;
and shaping a charge signal for the plurality of electrochemical cells to include a harmonic component corresponding to the target impedance value of the first cell,;
in order to increase the efficiency of the charge/discharge device by choosing frequencies that will maximize charge acceptance, as suggested by Coe (¶[31]).
The combination of Pod and Coe teaches the harmonic component causing target absorption of the energy signal by the target electrochemical cell as compared to the remaining electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells, ([Col 5 Lines 20-21 of Pod] “The adjustment to the rate of charging may be made on an individual cell basis, that is, tailored to each cell” in view of ¶[33] of Coe “The measure of dV/dt provides an indicator of the battery pack charge acceptance and is inversely related such that the frequency or frequencies at which dV/dt is smallest (i.e., the "resonant charge frequencies") are the same frequencies at which charge acceptance is highest”),
Regarding Claim 19, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 18.
Pod further teaches an indication of a charge of a third cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells being more than an indication of a charge of a fourth cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells ([Col 5 Lines 8-11] “If the voltage difference is greater than the threshold voltage then the cell is being charged too rapidly, or is being overcharged, so the rate of charging is adjusted”)
and shaping a charge signal for the plurality of electrochemical cells, the discharge signal to charge the first cell ([Col 15 Lines 19-25] “In step 320 the charge cycle parameters are adjusted to decrease the charging rate, such as by … increasing the amplitude, duration or number of depolarization pulses, either for the battery as a whole and/or for that cell”).
Coe teaches obtaining a target impedance value of the third cell (¶[34] “the control module 106 may calculate the dynamic internal impedance of the batteries at various pulse frequencies based on a predetermined frequency resolution”);
and shaping a charge signal for the plurality of electrochemical cells to include a harmonic associated with the target impedance value of the third cell, the charge signal to discharge the third cell (¶[35] “The control module 106 identifies the resonant charge frequency or frequencies … at which … the dynamic internal impedance are the smallest for each of the applied current levels 705-707. The control module 106 then uses this information to configure the charge/discharge module 102 to generate a charge profile corresponding to the optimal frequency or frequencies for the desired current level”).
Regarding Claim 22, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 18.
Coe further teaches wherein shaping the charge signal comprises:
controlling a charge signal shaping circuit to shape the charge signal to include the harmonic associated with the target impedance value of the first cell (¶[31] “The charge/discharge system 100 may be used to maximize the charge efficiency of the battery pack 200 by applying a charging profile that optimizes charge acceptance, e.g., by applying a profile including a pulse charge at the resonant charge frequency”).
Regarding Claim 23, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 18.
Coe further teaches wherein the harmonic is associated with a reactance of the first cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells (see Fig, 7B, ‘Z’ represents the total combined impedance value which includes the reactance (imaginary value)).
Regarding Claim 24, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 18.
Pod further teaches wherein the indication of the charge of the first cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells corresponds to a measured voltage potential across the first cell ([Col 7 Lines 41-42] “Controller 14 preferably monitors the open circuit voltage of each cell C”).
Regarding Claim 25, Pod in view of Coe teaches the method of claim 1.
Pod further teaches wherein each of the plurality of electrochemical cells comprises a battery ([Col 8 Lines 62-66] “Therefore, where a cell, such as cell C1, is shown, a battery may be substituted therefor so as to form a battery pack from series-connected batteries, instead of forming a battery from series-connected cells”).
Conclusion
/A.B./
Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859