Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/08/2025, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/08/2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejections to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang (CN108180614A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN208920212U), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025, in view of Zhang (CN108180614A), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches
a control method for an air conditioner (cabinet air conditioner indoor unit 200), the air conditioner having a retractable top air output mechanism provided at a top thereof (air guiding member 100 comprising air outlet frame 120), wherein the air conditioner comprises a centrifugal fan (lower centrifugal fan 230) and a side air output mechanism provided at a side portion of the air conditioner (“the casing 210 is further provided with a lower air outlet” [0053], as shown on fig. 5), the side air output mechanism comprising a first air guide assembly capable of swinging in a horizontal direction and a second air guide assembly capable of swinging in a vertical direction (“A yaw group 231 and a pendulum group 232 may be disposed at the air outlet of the lower centrifugal fan 230. The yaw group 231 can be configured to open and close the lower air outlet and adjust the air outlet direction of the lower centrifugal fan 230 in the vertical direction. The pendulum set 232 can be configured to adjust the direction of the exit of the lower centrifugal fan 230 in a lateral direction”) [0053] the control method comprising:
controlling, in response to a predetermined wind shower instruction in a cooling mode, the top air output mechanism to stretch towards an outside of the air conditioner to open an air outlet of the top air output mechanism (“the upper centrifugal fan 220 is operated and the wind frame is obtained when the cooling command is received. 120 moves to the open position, utilizing the characteristics of hot air floating and cold air sinking” [0054]; air outlet frame 120 moving into the open position shown on figs 1-3, wherein the top cover 130 extends vertically to open air outlet frame 120);
adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction, an air-out included angle of the top air output mechanism to be within a first angle range (“The air outlet frame of the utility model can be rotated between a closed position completely in the casing and an open position in which all or part of the air outlet is exposed above the air outlet opening” [0034]; figs. 2-3 shown two different angle ranges the outlet can be rotated to); and
adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction, a supply air speed of the top air output mechanism to be within a first air speed range (“the cabinet type air conditioner indoor unit 200 can be set by default to only operate the lower centrifugal fan 230 when receiving the heating command, and only the upper centrifugal fan 220 is operated and the wind frame is obtained when the cooling command is received” [0054]; thus, when the cooling command is received, the upper centrifugal fan 220 is operated to a first speed)
Sun does not teach
controlling the second air guide assembly to rotate to left to offset rightward airflow produced by clockwise rotation of the centrifugal fan
Zhang teaches
controlling the second air guide assembly to rotate to left (“the control element II (19 controls the left baffle I(1), the left baffle II(2), the left baffle III (3) The left deflector IV (4), the left deflector V (5), and the left deflector VI (6) are biased to the left and parallel” [0013]; left biased elements are swing horizontally until they reach a point where they are “biased to the left”, thus forming an angle less than ninety degrees with the parallel, reading on less than a second angle)
The system of Sun can be modified so that the yaw group 231 and pendulum group 232 comprise the baffle control system of Zhang as described in [0012-0014], including an energy saving mode and comfort mode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification since “the supplied air is more and more uniform, the comfortable degree of the human body is increased. The wall-mounted air conditioner airflow distribution optimizing system with movable baffles is easy to run and maintain and low in investment and running cost” [abstract of Zhang].
The combination teaches
controlling the second air guide assembly to rotate to left (as taught by Zhang modification) to offset rightward airflow produced by clockwise rotation of the centrifugal fan (intended use limitation; as shown on fig. 5 of Sun, lower centrifugal fan 230 comprises a clockwise rotation structure, thus configured to offset rightward airflow produced by clockwise rotation of the centrifugal fan)
Regarding claim 2, Sun, as modified, teaches the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1,
wherein a first driving mechanism is provided between the top air output mechanism and a main body of the air conditioner, the first driving mechanism being horizontally rotatable, the control method further comprising: triggering, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction, the first driving mechanism to control the top air output mechanism to swing or rotate in a horizontal direction, so as to control the top air output mechanism to swing and supply air in the horizontal direction (“The vertical swinging blade group 160 may include a plurality of vertical pendulum leaves extending in a vertical direction, and the plurality of vertical pendulum blades may be installed at an air outlet of the air outlet frame 120 and located behind the plurality of yaw leaves. The plurality of vertical pendulum blades can be synchronously pivoted under the driving of the other motor to adjust the direction of the wind direction of the wind frame 120 in the lateral direction”; motor systems between air outlet frame 120 and casing 210 as shown on fig. 5) [0049]
Regarding claim 3, Sun, as modified, teaches the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1,
wherein a second driving mechanism is provided between the top air output mechanism and a main body of the air conditioner (“The wind deflecting member 100 can also include a drive for driving the sash frame 120 to move between a closed position and an open position. The drive device may include a curved rack 141, a gear 142, and a drive motor 143” [0047], between air outlet frame 120 and casing 210 as shown on fig. 5), the second driving mechanism being vertically rotatable (as shown between figs. 1-3), and wherein said adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction, the air-out included angle of the top air output mechanism to be within the first angle range comprises:
triggering, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction, the second driving mechanism to control the top air output mechanism to swing in a vertical direction until the air-out included angle of the top air output mechanism falls into the first angle range (as shown from figs. 1-3)
Regarding claim 4, Sun, as modified, teaches the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1, further comprising:
opening an air outlet of the side air output mechanism based on the predetermined wind shower instruction (“The system working process includes energy saving mode and comfort mode. In the state of the energy-saving mode, the first mode of operation is the opening of the upper, lower, left and right baffles”) [0012-0013 of Zhang]; and
controlling the first air guide assembly to swing horizontally until an air-out angle of the first air guide assembly is smaller than or equal to a second angle (“the control element II (19 controls the left baffle I(1), the left baffle II(2), the left baffle III (3) The left deflector IV (4), the left deflector V (5), and the left deflector VI (6) are biased to the left and parallel” [0013 of Zhang]; left biased elements are swing horizontally until they reach a point where they are “biased to the left”, thus forming an angle less than ninety degrees with the parallel, reading on less than a second angle)
Regarding claim 5, Sun, as modified, teaches the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1, further comprising
opening an air outlet of the side air output mechanism based on the predetermined wind shower instruction (“The system working process includes energy saving mode and comfort mode. In the state of the energy-saving mode, the first mode of operation is the opening of the upper, lower, left and right baffles”) [0012-0013 of Zhang]; and
controlling, by taking a horizontal plane as a reference plane, the second air guide assembly to swing vertically upwards to a second angle (“the control original I (17) controls the upper baffle I (13), the upper baffle II (14), the upper baffle III (15), and the upper baffle IV (16) slightly up and parallel” [0013 of Zhang]; baffle elements are swing vertically until they reach a point where they are “slightly up”, thus forming an angle with respect to a horizontal plane)
Regarding claim 6, Sun, as modified, teaches the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1, further comprising:
opening, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction, an air outlet of the side air output mechanism (“The system working process includes energy saving mode and comfort mode. In the state of the energy-saving mode, the first mode of operation is the opening of the upper, lower, left and right baffles”) [0012-0013 of Zhang]; and
controlling the first air guide assembly to swing horizontally back and forth within a third angle, the third angle being a maximum value of an air-out angle of the first air guide assembly (“When the comfort mode needs to be improved in the energy saving mode, the second working mode is to optimize the system, sweeping the wind left and right, and controlling the original I (17) to control the upper deflector I (13), the upper deflector II (14), and the upper The deflector III (15) and the upper deflector IV (16) remain unchanged, and the control element II (19) controls the left deflector I (1), the left deflector II (2), and the left guide The flow plate III (3), the left deflector IV (4), the left deflector V (5), and the left deflector VI (6) are deflected to the right, while controlling the original I (17) to control the right side The deflector I (7), the right deflector II (8), the right deflector III (9), the right deflector IV (10), the right deflector V (11), the right side The deflector VI (12) is deflected to the left while reaching parallel, and then turned back, the direction of the deflection is always relative” [0014 of Zhang]; maximum value is most extreme right or left position of the baffles, thus angle will always be within maximum value during sweep process)
Regarding claim 7, Sun, as modified, teaches the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1, further comprising:
opening, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction, an air outlet of the side air output mechanism (“The system working process includes energy saving mode and comfort mode. In the state of the energy-saving mode, the first mode of operation is the opening of the upper, lower, left and right baffles”) [0012-0013 of Zhang]; and
controlling, by taking a horizontal plane as a reference plane, the second air guide assembly to swing vertically upwards to a fourth angle (“the control original I (17) controls the upper baffle I (13), the upper baffle II (14), the upper baffle III (15), and the upper baffle IV (16) slightly up and parallel” [0013 of Zhang]; baffle elements are swing vertically until they reach a point where they are “slightly up”, thus forming an angle with respect to a horizontal plane)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN208920212U), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025, and Zhang (CN108180614A), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025, in further view of Lin (CN106288235A), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025.
Regarding claim 8, Sun, as modified, does not teach the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1, further comprising:
detecting a temperature of an environment where the air conditioner is located, and recording the temperature as an environment temperature; and
adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction and the environment temperature, a maximum operating frequency of a compressor of the air conditioner
Lin teaches
detecting a temperature of an environment where the air conditioner is located, and recording the temperature as an environment temperature; and adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction and the environment temperature, a maximum operating frequency of a compressor of the air conditioner (”an energy saving control method, comprising: Get the current working mode of the air conditioner and the current indoor temperature; According to the current working mode of the air conditioner and the current indoor temperature, the maximum frequency value and the maximum internal engine speed value of the air conditioner in different working periods during the whole working process are determined to save energy”) [009-0011]
The system of Sun can be modified to implement the energy saving control method of Lin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification so that “The comfort level of a user can be guaranteed as much as possible while electric energy is saved, so that energy conservation and comfort are taken into account” [abstract of Lin].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN208920212U), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025, and Zhang (CN108180614A), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025, in further view of Jang (US20120022702A1).
Regarding claim 9, Sun, as modified, does not teach the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1, further comprising:
adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction and the environment temperature, a target operating temperature of the air conditioner
Jang teaches
adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction and the environment temperature, a target operating temperature of the air conditioner (“a user set temperature set by the user may be determined, in step S 801 . It may be determined whether a current mode of operation of the indoor and outdoor units is a cooling mode or heating mode, in step S 802 . When the current mode is determined to be the cooling mode, a target temperature of the indoor room may be set higher than the user set temperature, in step S 803 . The indoor fan of the indoor unit may be controlled to adjust the amount of air flow, in step S 804 . Here, the target temperature may be increased by a predetermined amount and the speed of the indoor fan may be set higher to compensate for the increase in the target temperature. For example, if the user set temperature is 74° F., the target temperature of an indoor room may be adjusted to be 76° F. or 75° F. The amount of adjustment may be set by the user to be within a predetermined amount of the user's desired temperature or a default adjustment range may be used”) [0053-0054]
The system of Sun can be modified to implement the target temperature adjustment control of Jang to the cooling and heating command functions described in [0054]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification since “This adjustment in target temperature may result in a reduction of compressor operation. As a result, power consumption may be reduced, thereby reducing costs associated with the increased power rate” [0054 of Jang].
Claim(s) 15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN208920212U), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025, and Zhang (CN108180614A), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025, in further view of Goel (US20200173683A1).
Regarding claim 15, Sun, as modified, teaches
the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1 (as disclosed regarding claim 1)
Sun does not teach
a control apparatus for an air conditioner, comprising: a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and a processor, wherein the computer program, when being executed by the processor, implements steps of the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1 (In [0054], Sun discloses setting a cooling command and heating command which operate fans 220 and 230 respectively; however, Sun does not explicitly disclose the structure used to execute these commands)
Goel teaches
a control apparatus for an air conditioner, comprising: a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and a processor (“the HVAC controller 150 also includes a processor and a memory to direct operation of the HVAC system 100 including, for example, a speed of the variable-speed circulation fan 110” [0027])
The system of Sun can be modified to implement the controller including a memory and processor of Goel to execute the cooling and heating command functions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification so that the functions can be stored on a system controller, thus allowing the cooling or heating function to be selectively set by a user at any point during the lifespan of the cabinet air conditioner indoor unit 200.
The combination teaches
a control apparatus for an air conditioner, comprising: a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and a processor (the HVAC controller 150 of Goel, as applied to Sun), wherein the computer program, when being executed by the processor, implements steps of the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1 (as disclosed by Sun regarding claim 1)
Regarding claim 17, Sun, as modified, teaches
an air conditioner (cabinet air conditioner indoor unit 200) comprising: a top air output mechanism retractably arranged at a top of the air conditioner (air guiding member 100 comprising air outlet frame 120); and
the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1 (as disclosed regarding claim 1)
Sun does not teach
a control apparatus connected to the top air output mechanism and comprising:
a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and
a processor configured to execute the computer program to implement steps of the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1
Goel teaches
a control apparatus connected to the top air output mechanism and comprising: a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and a processor (“the HVAC controller 150 also includes a processor and a memory to direct operation of the HVAC system 100 including, for example, a speed of the variable-speed circulation fan 110” [0027])
The system of Sun can be modified to implement the controller including a memory and processor of Goel to execute the cooling and heating command functions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification so that the functions can be stored on a system controller, thus allowing the cooling or heating function to be selectively set by a user at any point during the lifespan of the cabinet air conditioner indoor unit 200.
The combination teaches
a control apparatus connected to the top air output mechanism and comprising: a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and a processor (the HVAC controller 150 of Goel, as applied to Sun) configured to execute the computer program to implement steps of the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1 (as disclosed by Sun regarding claim 1)
Regarding claim 19, Sun, as modified, teaches
the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1 (as disclosed regarding claim 1)
Sun does not teach
a computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when being executed, implements the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1 (In [0054], Sun discloses setting a cooling command and heating command which operate fans 220 and 230 respectively; however, Sun does not explicitly disclose the structure used to execute these commands)
Goel teaches
a computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon (“the HVAC controller 150 also includes a processor and a memory to direct operation of the HVAC system 100 including, for example, a speed of the variable-speed circulation fan 110” [0027]; “a computer-readable storage medium implements one or more portions of the HVAC controller 150” [0052])
The system of Sun can be modified to implement the controller including a computer-readable storage medium of Goel to execute the cooling and heating command functions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification so that the functions can be stored on a system controller, thus allowing the cooling or heating function to be selectively set by a user at any point during the lifespan of the cabinet air conditioner indoor unit 200.
The combination teaches
a computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon (the HVAC controller 150 of Goel, as applied to Sun), wherein the computer program, when being executed, implements the control method for the air conditioner according to claim 1 (as disclosed by Sun regarding claim 1)
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN208920212U), referring to the English translation dated 04/02/2025, in view of Hern (US20180031258A1).
Regarding claim 21, Sun teaches
a control method for an air conditioner (cabinet air conditioner indoor unit 200), the air conditioner having a retractable top air output mechanism provided at a top thereof (air guiding member 100 comprising air outlet frame 120), the control method comprising:
controlling, in response to a predetermined wind shower instruction in a cooling mode, the top air output mechanism to stretch towards an outside of the air conditioner to open an air outlet of the top air output mechanism (“the upper centrifugal fan 220 is operated and the wind frame is obtained when the cooling command is received. 120 moves to the open position, utilizing the characteristics of hot air floating and cold air sinking” [0054]; air outlet frame 120 moving into the open position shown on figs 1-3, wherein the top cover 130 extends vertically to open air outlet frame 120);
adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction, an air-out included angle of the top air output mechanism to be within a first angle range (“The air outlet frame of the utility model can be rotated between a closed position completely in the casing and an open position in which all or part of the air outlet is exposed above the air outlet opening” [0034]; figs. 2-3 shown two different angle ranges the outlet can be rotated to);
adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction, a supply air speed of the top air output mechanism to be within a first air speed range (“the cabinet type air conditioner indoor unit 200 can be set by default to only operate the lower centrifugal fan 230 when receiving the heating command, and only the upper centrifugal fan 220 is operated and the wind frame is obtained when the cooling command is received” [0054]; thus, when the cooling command is received, the upper centrifugal fan 220 is operated to a first speed);
Sun does not teach
detecting an outdoor temperature of an environment where the air conditioner is located, and recording the outdoor temperature as an outdoor environment temperature; and
adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction and the outdoor environment temperature, a maximum operating frequency of a compressor of the air conditioner
Hern teaches
detecting an outdoor temperature of an environment where the air conditioner is located, and recording the outdoor temperature as an outdoor environment temperature; and adjusting, based on the predetermined wind shower instruction and the outdoor environment temperature, a maximum operating frequency of a compressor of the air conditioner (“The outdoor unit includes a compressor and an outdoor unit controller in communication with the compressor. The outdoor unit controller is configured to receive an indoor ambient temperature and a temperature set point, and to determine an outdoor ambient temperature. The outdoor unit controller is further configured to calculate an operating value for the compressor based on a percentage of a delta between a minimum operating value for the compressor and a maximum operating value for the compressor plus the minimum operating value. The minimum operating value and the maximum operating value are based on the determined outdoor ambient temperature” [0005]; maximum operating values based on outside air temperature shown on Table 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the outdoor unit arrangement of Hern to the system of Sun in order to effectively adapt the maximum operating frequency of a compressor of the air conditioner to the needs of the outdoor temperature, so the compressor operates at lower speeds when the temperature is cooler and higher speeds when the temperature is warmer (and thus requires more performance from the conditioning system).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRETT PETERSON MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762