DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new grounds of rejection do not rely on Keretli to teach the electrochemical system or its manifolds.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a).
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the inlet manifold and/or outlet manifold is rotationally symmetrical of order n about an extension axis of the inlet manifold and/or outlet manifold's common conduit, n being a number of fuel cells connected to said inlet manifold and/or outlet manifold” required by claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The inlet and outlet manifolds shown in the figures are connected to 4 fuel cells but rotationally symmetrical of order 2 about an extension axis of their common conduits.
No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 9 recites “wherein each said ramification of at least one of the inlet manifold and the outlet manifold divides a conduit into two” but parent claim 1 already requires that the ramifications divide a conduit into two.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the common conduit of at least one of the inlet manifold and the outlet manifold is branched into two primary conduits, each said primary conduit being branched into two secondary conduits,” but this limitation is already required by parent claim 1.
Claim 11 recites “wherein each secondary conduit is terminated by a respective individual conduit” but this limitation is already required by parent claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez Garcia (US 2022/0246971 A1; priority to FR-2100905-A, filed 01/29/2021) in view of Keretli (US 2008/0096071 A1; previously cited) and Umene (JP-S63538620-A; a machine translation is attached and referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, Fernandez Garcia discloses an electrochemical system (grouping device fuel cells 30, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0048]) for the generation of electricity ([0003]), comprising:
a plurality of identical fuel cells (32, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0048]);
an air supply system (second fluid circuit 54, FIG. 2, [0061]; the second fluid is air, [0048]) configured to supply air to the fuel cells (32) in parallel (see FIG. 2) and recover air from the fuel cells (32), each of the fuel cells (32) having an air inlet port (36.1, FIG. 5, [0048]) and an air outlet port (36.2, FIG. 5, [0048]), the air supply system (54) comprising an inlet manifold (second feeder 44, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0055]) and an outlet manifold (second manifold 46, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0056]) each comprising a common conduit (supply duct 44.1 and discharge duct 46.1, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0055]-[0056]) and individual conduits (outlet ducts 44.2 and inlet ducts 46.2, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0055]-[0056]) connected to the common conduit (44.1/46.1), each of the individual conduits (44.2) of the inlet manifold (44) being connected to the air inlet port (36.1) of a respective one of the fuel cells (32) (FIG. 2, [0055]), each of the individual conduits (46.2) of the outlet manifold (46) being connected to the air outlet port (36.2) of a respective one of the fuel cells (32) (FIG. 2, [0056]); and
a single air supply (supply of second fluid 54.1, FIG. 2, [0061]) configured to force air to flow through the inlet manifold (44), the fuel cells (32) and the outlet manifold (46),
wherein the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) are identical (FIG. 5),
wherein the fuel cells (32) are arranged so that front faces (32.1, FIG. 5, [0049]) of said fuel cells (32) face a same direction (towards the bottom of page in FIG. 5), the front faces (32.1) being arranged in a plane (FIG. 5, [0078]), the air inlet ports (36.1) and the air outlet ports (36.2) being located on the front faces (32.1), the common conduit (44.1/46.1) of the inlet manifold (44) and outlet manifold (46) extending in said direction (towards the bottom of the page in FIG. 5), the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) being arranged on a same side (side facing the bottom of the page in FIG. 5) with respect to said plane (FIG. 5), and
wherein the inlet manifold (44) and outlet manifold each (46) comprises at least two ramifications (see circles in annotated figure 1 below) between the common conduit (44.1/46.1) and the individual conduits (44.2/46.2), said at least two ramifications comprising:
a primary ramification (solid circles in annotated figure 1 below) dividing the common conduit (44.1/46.1) into two primary conduits (dashed lines in annotated figure 2 below) extending parallel to the plane (FIG. 5); and
a secondary ramification (dashed circles in annotated figure 1 below) dividing each of the primary conduits (dashed lines in annotated figure 2 below) into two secondary conduits (solid lines in annotated figure 2 below), each of the secondary conduits (solid lines in annotated figure 2 below) terminating by a respective one of the individual conduits (44.2/46.2) which extends orthogonally to the plane.
Annotated figures 1 (left) and 2 (right)
Fernandez Garcia does not disclose wherein the fuel cells are electrically connected in series, the air supply is an air compressor, or wherein the secondary conduits extend parallel to the plane.
Keretli teaches fuel cells electrically connected in series ([0004]) and compressed air for use in fuel cells ([0002]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the electrochemical system of Fernandez Garcia such that the fuel cells are electrically connected in series and the air supply is an air compressor because Keretli teaches that fuel cells connected in series provide high power output ([0003]-[0004]) and that air supplied to fuel cell is generally compressed ([0002]). Further, Fernandez Garcia teaches that the electrochemical system may be modified beyond the disclosed design.
Umene teaches an electrochemical system for the generation of electricity (Fig. 1), comprising a plurality of fuel cells (1-4, Fig. 1, [0001]); a manifold configured to supply gas to the fuel cells and recover gas from the fuel cells (formed by 5-33 and described below, Fig. 1, [0001]), the gas supply system comprising an inlet manifold and an outlet manifold (formed by 5-33 and described below, with the inlet manifold on the left side and outlet manifold on the right side of Fig. 1, [0001]), each comprising a common conduit (inlet 5 and outlet 6, Fig. 1, [0001]) and individual conduits (circled in annotated figure 3 below) connected to the to the common conduit (5/6), each of the individual conduits (circled in annotated figure 3 below) of the inlet manifold being connected to the gas inlet port (7-10, Fig. 1, [0001]) of a respective one of the fuel cells (1-4), each of the individual conduits (circled in annotated figure 3 below) of the outlet manifold being connected to the gas outlet port (11-14, Fig. 1, [0001]) of a respective one of the fuel cells (1-4), wherein the inlet manifold and the outlet manifold are identical (Fig. 1, [0001]), and wherein the inlet manifold and outlet manifold each comprises at least two ramifications (inlet: 28-30, outlet: 31-33, Fig. 1, [0001]) between the common conduit (5/6) and the individual conduits (circled in annotated figure 3 below), said at least two ramifications (inlet: 28-30, outlet: 31-33) comprising: a primary ramification (28/31) dividing the common conduit (5/6) into two primary conduits (inlet: 15/16, outlet: 25/26, Fig. 1, [0001]) extending parallel to a plane defined by front or rear faces of the fuel cells (1-4) (front faces on left side of Fig. 1, rear faces on right side of Fig. 1); and a secondary ramification (inlet: 29/30, outlet: 32/33) dividing each of the primary conduits (inlet: 15/16, outlet: 25/26) into two secondary conduits (inlet: 17-20, outlet: 21-14, Fig. 1, [0001]) extending parallel to the planes, each of the secondary conduits (17-20/21-24) terminating by a respective one of the individual conduits (circled in annotated figure 3 below) which extends orthogonally to the plane.
Annotated figure 3
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the air inlet and outlet manifolds of Fernandez Garcia to have the symmetrical branching structure taught by Umene, such that the secondary conduits extend parallel to the plane, because Umene teaches that such manifold structures are known in the art to provide equal fluid distribution to each of the fuel cells ([0001]).
Regarding claim 2, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) are rotationally symmetrical about an axis of extension of its common conduit (44.1/46.1) (the common conduit of Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene is parallel to the axes of extension in annotated figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 3, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein at least one of the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) is orthogonally symmetrical about at least one plane of symmetry (plane of page in annotated figure 3 above) including an axis of extension of its common conduit (44.1/46.1) (the common conduit of Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene is parallel to the axes of extension in annotated figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 4, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein at least one of the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) is orthogonally symmetrical with respect to two distinct planes of symmetry (plane of page and plane perpendicular to page in annotated figure 3 above) including the axis of extension of its common conduit (44.1/46.1) (the common conduit of Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene is parallel to the axes of extension in annotated figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 5, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein the two planes of symmetry (plane of page and plane perpendicular to page in annotated figure 3 above) are perpendicular to each other (the common conduit of Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene is parallel to the axes of extension in annotated figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 6, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein at least one of the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) is configured such that the axis of extension of each of its individual conduits (44.2/46.2) is parallel to the axis of extension of its common conduit (44.1/46.1) (Fernandez Garcia: FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein the cross-sectional area of the conduits of at least one of the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) decreases gradually from the common conduit (44.1/46.1) towards the individual conduits (44.2/46.2) (Fernandez Garcia: FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein each said ramification (inlet: 28-30, outlet: 31-33) of at least one of the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) divides a conduit into two (Fernandez Garcia: FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein the common conduit (44.1/46.1) of at least one of the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) is branched into two primary conduits (dashed lines in annotated figure 2 above), each said primary conduit (dashed lines in annotated figure 2 above) being branched into two secondary conduits (solid lines in annotated figure 2 above; the secondary conduits of Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene are parallel to the plane as in Fig. 1 of Umene).
Regarding claim 11, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein each secondary conduit (solid lines in annotated figure 2 above; the secondary conduits of Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene are parallel to the plane as in Fig. 1 of Umene) is terminated by a respective individual conduit (44.2/46.2).
Regarding claim 12, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein the electrochemical system comprises exactly four of the fuel cells (32) (Fernandez Garcia: FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein the fuel cells (32) are arranged in a matrix arrangement (Fernandez Garcia: 1x4 matrix, FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli and Umene teaches wherein the fuel cells (32) are all arranged in the same orientation (Fernandez Garcia: FIG. 5).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez Garcia (US 2022/0246971 A1; priority to FR-2100905-A, filed 01/29/2021) in view of Keretli (US 2008/0096071 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Fernandez Garcia discloses an electrochemical system (grouping device fuel cells 30, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0048]) for the generation of electricity ([0003]), comprising:
a plurality of identical fuel cells (32, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0048]);
an air supply system (second fluid circuit 54, FIG. 2, [0061]; the second fluid is air, [0048]) configured to supply air to the fuel cells (32) in parallel (see FIG. 2) and recover air from the fuel cells (32), each of the fuel cells (32) having an air inlet port (36.1, FIG. 5, [0048]) and an air outlet port (36.2, FIG. 5, [0048]), the air supply system (54) comprising an inlet manifold (second feeder 44, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0055]) and an outlet manifold (second manifold 46, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0056]) each comprising a common conduit (supply duct 44.1 and discharge duct 46.1, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0055]-[0056]) and individual conduits (outlet ducts 44.2 and inlet ducts 46.2, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0055]-[0056]) connected to the common conduit (44.1/46.1), each of the individual conduits of the inlet manifold (44.2) being connected to the air inlet port (36.1) of a respective one of the fuel cells (32) (FIG. 2, [0055]), each of the individual conduits of the outlet manifold (46.2) being connected to the air outlet port (36.2) of a respective one of the fuel cells (32) (FIG. 2, [0056]); and
a single air supply (supply of second fluid 54.1, FIG. 2, [0061]) configured to force air to flow through the inlet manifold (44), the fuel cells (32) and the outlet manifold (46),
wherein the fuel cells (32) are arranged so that front faces (32.1, FIG. 5, [0049]) of said fuel cells (32) face a same direction (towards the bottom of page in FIG. 5), the front faces (32.1) being arranged in a plane (FIG. 5, [0078]), the air inlet ports (36.1) and the air outlet ports (36.2) are located on the front faces (32.1).
Fernandez Garcia does not disclose wherein the fuel cells are electrically connected in series and the air supply is an air compressor.
Keretli teaches fuel cells electrically connected in series ([0004]) and compressed air for use in fuel cells ([0002]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the electrochemical system of Fernandez Garcia such that the fuel cells are electrically connected in series and the air supply is an air compressor because Keretli teaches that fuel cells connected in series provide high power output ([0003]-[0004]) and that air supplied to fuel cell is generally compressed ([0002]). Further, Fernandez Garcia teaches that the electrochemical system may be modified beyond the disclosed design.
Regarding claim 17, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli discloses wherein the air inlet ports (36.1) and air outlet ports (36.2) are located on the front faces (32.1) such that each are air inlet port (36.1) and each air outlet port (36.2) are located in two diagonally opposite corners of a corresponding front face (32.1) (Fernandez Garcia: FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Fernandez Garcia in view of Keretli discloses wherein the common conduit (44.1/46.1) of the inlet manifold (44) and the outlet manifold (46) extend in said direction (Fernandez Garcia: toward the bottom of the page in FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Fernandez Garcia discloses an electrochemical system (grouping device fuel cells 30, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0048]) for the generation of electricity ([0003]), comprising:
a plurality of identical fuel cells (32, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0048]);
an air supply system (second fluid circuit 54, FIG. 2, [0061]; the second fluid is air, [0048]) configured to supply air to the fuel cells (32) in parallel (see FIG. 2) and recover air from the fuel cells (32), each of the fuel cells (32) having an air inlet port (36.1, FIG. 5, [0048]) and an air outlet port (36.2, FIG. 5, [0048]), the air supply system (54) comprising an inlet manifold (second feeder 44, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0055]) and an outlet manifold (second manifold 46, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0056]) each comprising a common conduit (supply duct 44.1 and discharge duct 46.1, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0055]-[0056]) and individual conduits (outlet ducts 44.2 and inlet ducts 46.2, FIGS. 2 and 5, [0055]-[0056]) connected to the common conduit (44.1/46.1), each of the individual conduits of the inlet manifold (44.2) being connected to the air inlet port (36.1) of a respective one of the fuel cells (32) (FIG. 2, [0055]), each of the individual conduits of the outlet manifold (46.2) being connected to the air outlet port (36.2) of a respective one of the fuel cells (32) (FIG. 2, [0056]); and
a single air supply (supply of second fluid 54.1, FIG. 2, [0061]) configured to force air to flow through the inlet manifold (44), the fuel cells (32) and the outlet manifold (46),
Fernandez Garcia does not disclose wherein the fuel cells are electrically connected in series, the air supply is an air compressor, or wherein the inlet manifold and/or outlet manifold is rotationally symmetrical of order n about an extension axis of the inlet manifold and/or outlet manifold's common conduit, n being a number of fuel cells connected to said inlet manifold and/or outlet manifold.
However, because Fernandez Garcia teaches that the electrochemical system may comprise two fuel cells rather than the four fuels depicted in FIGS. 2-5, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to form the electrochemical system of Fernandez Garcia using two fuel cells, thereby meeting the limitation “wherein the inlet manifold and/or outlet manifold is rotationally symmetrical of order n about an extension axis of the inlet manifold and/or outlet manifold’s common conduit, n being a number of fuel cells connected to said inlet manifold and/or outlet manifold” since the manifolds of Fernandez Garcia are rotationally symmetric of order 2.
Keretli teaches fuel cells electrically connected in series ([0004]) and compressed air for use in fuel cells ([0002]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the electrochemical system of Fernandez Garcia such that the fuel cells are electrically connected in series and the air supply is an air compressor because Keretli teaches that fuel cells connected in series provide high power output ([0003]-[0004]) and that air supplied to fuel cell is generally compressed ([0002]). Further, Fernandez Garcia teaches that the electrochemical system may be modified beyond the disclosed design.
Conclusion
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723