Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunod (US 2008/0273959) in view of Seymour (US 2,768,680) further in view of Yang (US 8,161,602).
Regarding claims 1-2, Bunod (figs. 1-2) discloses an adjustable storage device 1 for wafers 8, comprising:
A plurality of plates 9, including at least one pair of a first plate and a second plate adjacent of the first plate; and
at least two spring members or adjustable modules 7a connecting the plates 9, wherein the at least two adjustable modules 7a are stretchable to change a distance between a first plate and a second plate.
Bunod fails to disclose each of the at least two adjustable modules 7a discussed above comprising:
a first sidewall, comprising a right part, a left part, and a connecting part connecting the right part and the left part, the right part comprising a right part upper pivot hole, a right part lower pivot hole, and a right part restriction trail adjacent to the right part lower pivot hole, the left part comprising a left part upper pivot hole, a left part lower pivot hole, and a left part restriction trail adjacent to the left part lower pivot hole;
two second sidewalls, each comprising an upper pivot hole, a lower pivot hole, a right restriction pin and a left restriction pin provided adjacent to the upper pivot hole and located on two sides of the second sidewall respectively; and
wherein the lower pivot hole of one of the two second sidewalls, the right part upper pivot hole and the left part upper pivot hole of the first sidewall being fixed to the first plate by a hinge, the right restriction pin and the left restriction pin of the other of the two second sidewalls extend into the right restriction trail and the left restriction trail of the first sidewall respectively, thus that when the at least two adjustable modules being in a compression state, two second sidewalls come close to each other;
wherein the right part restriction trail and the left part restriction trail have a caved design; and
wherein the upper pivot hole of the other of the two second sidewalls, the right part lower pivot hole and the left part pivot hole of the first sidewall being connected by another hinge.
However, Seymour teaches an adjustable module or a hinge means comprising:
a first sidewall 52, comprising a right part, a left part, and a connection part connecting the right part and the left part, the right part comprising a right part upper pivot hole, a right part lower pivot hole, the left part comprising a left part upper pivot hole, a left part lower pivot hole;
two second sidewalls 54, each comprising an upper pivot hole, a lower pivot hole; and
wherein the lower pivot hole of one of the two second sidewalls 54, the right part upper pivot hole and the left part upper pivot hole of the first sidewall 52 being fixed to a first plate 22 by a hinge; and
when the at least two adjustable modules are in a compression state, two second sidewalls 54 coming close to each other;
wherein the upper pivot hole of the other of the two second sidewalls, the right part lower pivot hole and the left part pivot hole of the first sidewall being connected by another hinge (figs. 2-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have made the adjustable modules of Bunod, a hinge means as taught by Seymour, to provide improved mechanical strength. Also, it has been held that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 50-51, 148 USPQ 479, 483 (1966)).
Regarding the restriction trails and the restriction pins, Yang teaches two parts 17, 123 of a hinge having a left and right restriction pins 1711 and corresponding left and right restriction trails 1232 defined by limiting portion 1233; wherein the restriction trials have caved design (fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the adjustable modules of the modified Bunod, pins and corresponding restriction trails, to limit the maximum opening angle as taught by Yang in col. 2, lines 32-37.
Regarding claim 5, Seymour further teaches the connection part of the first sidewall 52 connecting a center portion between the right part upper pivot hole and the right part lower pivot hole (hole in which pin 56 goes through), and a center portion between the left part upper pivot hole and the left part lower pivot hole (hole in which pin 50 goes through (figs. 2 and 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BLAINE G NEWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735