The instant application, which has a filing date on or after March 16, 2013, is considered a transition application because the application claims domestic benefit to Application Nos. 61,752,372 and 61,785,178, which have filing dates prior to March 16, 2013. Although the instant application does not contain a 37 CFR 1.55/1.78 statement indicating that this application should be examined under the AIA (First Inventor to File), a review of the disclosures of both the instant application and the parent application, by the examiner, reveals that at least one claim presented or that have ever been presented in the instant application appears to be drawn to inventions having an effective filing date on or after March 16, 2013 as the claim(s) fail to have support in the parent application. More specifically, claims’ 1-4, 6-16, and 28-30 feature “wherein levels of each print nozzle of the plurality of print nozzles, above or at the substrate, are not all in the same plane” lacks support in the parent\provisional application and thus the effective filing date of at least one claim in the application appears to be January 14, 2014.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6-16, and 28-30 are pending. Claims 1 and 16 have been amended. The prior art rejections are revised in view of the amendment. The prior art rejection is revised in view of the amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, 16, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orr (US 2009/0169719) in view of Boland (US 2004/0237822).
Regarding claim 1, Orr discloses a system comprising: a) a controller ([0028] [0030]), b) a printhead that comprises a plurality of rows comprising a plurality of print nozzles (plurality of print heads 45 with rows of 8 nozzles each, [0021], Fig. 2A), wherein levels of each print nozzle of the plurality of print nozzles, above or at the substrate, are not all in the same plane (range of distances, [0020] [0021] [0030] see example shown in Fig. 2A), wherein the surface area of the two-dimensional array of print nozzles is equal to or larger than the entirety of the two-dimensional surface area of the substrate that is to be printed upon (multiple printheads may be used, claim requires no minimum size of the substrate, and so the substrate and the printed object can be simply within these multiple printheads, array of 8 rows with multiple nozzles, [0021]), and wherein the printhead does not move during the entirety of the printing of the bioink construct (because the substrate is smaller than the array of nozzles, no movement is needed, [0021]), and c) an ink configured to be ejected through the plurality of print nozzles onto the substrate ([0021]).
Orr teaches a system substantially as claimed. Orr does not disclose the system suitable for printing a bio-ink construct onto a substrate, comprising c) a bio-ink configured to be ejected through the plurality of print nozzles onto the substrate, wherein the substrate is a tissue defect, and wherein the bio-ink comprises a plurality of cells, a component of extracellular matrix, a cellular material, a cellular component, a growth factor, a peptide, a protein, a synthetic molecule, a synthetic polymer, or a combination thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ink jet 3D printing (abstract), Boland teaches the system suitable for printing a bio-ink construct onto a substrate (cellular composition containing cells onto a substrate, [0006-08] [0060] [0073]), comprising c) a bio-ink configured to be ejected through the plurality of print nozzles onto the substrate (cellular composition containing cells onto a substrate, [0006-08] [0060] [0073]), wherein the substrate is a tissue defect ([0006-08] [0060] [0073]), and wherein the bio-ink comprises a plurality of cells (cellular composition containing cells, [0006-08] [0060] [0073]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Orr to eject bio-ink because [0006-08] of Boland teaches a similar array of ink jet nozzles printing on a substrate of cells, Boland accordingly teaches a similar ink jetting in a similar way, which would be expected to have the result taught by Boland and for the substrate be a tissue defect because [0003] of Orr teaches that the material printed upon can be any material and [0006-08] of Boland teaches a similar array of ink jet nozzles printing on a substrate of cells.
Regarding claim 2, Orr as modified teaches wherein at least one print nozzle of the plurality of print nozzles is independently actuated to print an individual droplet (delivers an ink droplet, [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Orr as modified teaches wherein the plurality of print nozzles is within 5 cm of a substrate (range of distances, [0020]; because this is an apparatus claim, the apparatus need only be capable of being so located, whether for printing or otherwise).
Regarding claim 4, Orr in view of Boland teaches wherein the tissue defect comprises a damaged tissue, eroded tissue, diseased tissue or degenerated tissue (employed in tissue engineering, Boland [0073]).
Regarding claim 6, Orr as modified teaches wherein the plurality of print nozzles fire simultaneously (position and firing path for each nozzle 55 includes printing simultaneously, [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Orr as modified teaches wherein the plurality of print nozzles fire in a specific sequence (position and firing path for each nozzle 55 includes printing in sequence, [0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Orr as modified teaches wherein the printhead is mounted on a robotic arm for positioning the printhead ([0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Orr as modified teaches wherein the plurality of print nozzles are mounted in fixed positions relative to one another (nozzles 55 shown in fixed positions relative to one another, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 11, Orr as modified teaches wherein a pattern of the plurality of print nozzles is customized to the substrate's pattern ([0020], Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 12, Orr as modified teaches wherein a first print nozzle is configured to be at an angle compared to the configuration of a second print nozzle (see nozzles 55 of different print heads 45 in Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 16, Orr discloses a printhead comprising a plurality of rows comprising a plurality of print nozzles (plurality of print heads 45 with rows of 8 nozzles each, [0021], Fig. 2A), wherein the levels of each print nozzle of the plurality of print nozzles, above or at the substrate, are not all in the same plane (range of distances, [0020] [0021] [0030] see example shown in Fig. 2A), wherein the surface area of the two-dimensional array of print nozzles is equal to or larger than the entirety of the two-dimensional surface area of the substrate that is to be printed upon (multiple printheads may be used, claim requires no minimum size of the substrate, and so the substrate and the printed object can be simply within these multiple printheads, array of 8 rows with multiple nozzles, [0021]), and wherein the printhead does not move during the entirety of the printing of the bioink construct (because the substrate is smaller than the array of nozzles, no movement is needed, [0021]), and.
Orr teaches a printhead substantially as claimed. Orr does not disclose wherein the printhead prints a bio-ink construct.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ink jet 3D printing (abstract), Boland teaches printing a bio-ink construct (cellular composition containing cells onto a substrate, [0006-08] [0060] [0073]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Orr to eject bio-ink because [0006-08] of Boland teaches a similar array of ink jet nozzles printing on a substrate of cells, Boland accordingly teaches a similar ink jetting in a similar way, which would be expected to have the result taught by Boland.
Regarding claim 30, Orr as modified teaches wherein each print nozzle of the plurality of print nozzles can move independently from one another (nozzles of one print head 45 can move independently of the nozzles of another print head 45, [0021] [0030]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orr (US 2009/0169719) in view of Boland (US 2004/0237822) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Codos (US 2002/0024544).
Regarding claim 9, Orr is silent as to the resolution of the printhead.
In the same field of endeavor of printing with moveable printheads ([0039]), Codos teaches wherein the spacing between each of the print nozzles of the plurality of print nozzles is between 5 micrometers and 500 micrometers (254 dpi works out to a spacing of 100 micrometers, [0022]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Orr to have a resolution similar to that of Codos because Orr is silent as to the resolution and [0022] of Codos, in the same field of endeavor with vertically adjustable print heads, teaches a dpi within the recited range.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orr (US 2009/0169719) in view of Boland (US 2004/0237822) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horike (US 4,231,048).
Regarding claim 13, Orr as modified teaches a system substantially as claimed. Orr does not disclose wherein the plurality of print nozzles is configured to be a linear array of converging print nozzles.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing on curved surfaces (abstract), Horike teaches wherein the plurality of print nozzles is configured to be a linear array of converging print nozzles (col. 2 ll. 27-45).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Orr to configure a linear array of converging print nozzles because [0003] of Orr discusses the challenge of printing on a convex surface and (col. 2 ll. 27-45) of Horike teaches a structure for moving and directing nozzles to print on a convex surface.
Regarding claim 14, Orr as modified teaches a system substantially as claimed. Orr does not disclose wherein the plurality of print nozzles is configured to be a linear array of diverging print nozzles.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing on curved surfaces (abstract), Horike teaches wherein the plurality of print nozzles is configured to be a linear array of diverging print nozzles (col. 4 ll. 8-19, Figs. 3, 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Orr to configure a linear array of diverging print nozzles because [0003] of Orr discusses the challenge of printing on a concave surface and (col. 4 ll. 8-19, Figs. 3, 5) of Horike teaches a structure for moving and directing nozzles to print on a concave surface.
Regarding claim 15, Orr is not explicit as to modification of the angles of the nozzles.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing on curved surfaces (abstract), Horike teaches wherein the first print nozzle of the plurality of print nozzles can be configured to be at a first angle relative to the second print nozzle at a first time point and configured to be at a second angle relative to the second print nozzle at a second time point (claim 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Orr to include the structure of Horike because [0003] of Orr discusses the challenge of printing on irregular surfaces and designing a printing plan to do so and claim 7 of Horike, solving the same problem of printing on irregular surfaces, teaches being the nozzle angles adjustable to do so, which would make the system capable of the different angles at different times recited by the claim..
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orr (US 2009/0169719) in view of Boland (US 2004/0237822) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Codos (US 2002/0024544).
Regarding claim 28, Orr as modified teaches a system substantially as claimed. Orr is silent as to the resolution of the printhead.
In the same field of endeavor of printing with moveable printheads ([0039]), Codos teaches wherein the printhead comprises a resolution of at least about 100 dots per inch (dpi) (254 dpi, [0022]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Orr to have a resolution greater than 100 dpi because Orr is silent as to the resolution and [0022] of Codos, in the same field of endeavor with vertically adjustable print heads, teaches a dpi within the recited range.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orr (US 2009/0169719) in view of Boland (US 2004/0237822) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Matsui (US 2016/0039204).
Regarding claim 29, Orr as modified teaches a system substantially as claimed. Orr does not disclose wherein the printhead further comprises a temperature control apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing with ink ([0003]), Matsui teaches wherein the printhead further comprises a temperature control apparatus ([0061]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Orr to include the temperature regulation of Matsui because [0031] of Orr’s reference to an operating temperature implies a desire to control temperature and [0061] of Matsui teaches a heater to perform temperature regulation to control the smoothness and gloss of what is being printed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, however, regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that neither Orr nor Boland discloses "wherein the surface area of the two-dimensional array of print nozzles is equal to or larger than the entirety of the two-dimensional surface area of the substrate that is to be printed upon, and wherein the printhead does not move during the entirety of the printing of the bioink construct," because they do not teach a printhead big enough to cover the entire area of the substrate thus not needing the printhead to move. This argument is not persuasive because the claim does not recite a minimum size of the substrate. Accordingly, a minimum size of the printhead of Orr or Boland is not required for the printhead to be “big enough to cover the entire area of the substrate.”
Applicant’s remaining arguments are premised on the above unpersuasive argument and are similarly unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744