DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 8, 15 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al.(US20070047475) in view of in view of Ma et al. (US20210194571) further in view of Hirschenberger et al. (US 20070206666 herein after Hir).
Regarding claim 1, Hoffmann teaches ([0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”), which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system ([0043] “The WLAN implementation requires a dual-mode decision making processor or module 176”), cause the system to:
obtain a signal strength measurement ([0043] “In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160”)
based on the signal strength measurement ([0043] “In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160”), satellite via a repeater (Fig. 4 “126-310”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”)
wherein the repeater includes a first wireless radio and, connected thereto, a second wireless radio (Fig. 2 “178”, 172”, [0043] “ digital satellite radio unit 132 might defer to the Ethernet service when in range of a WLAN access point 166. The digital satellite radio unit 132 might attempt to provide the best overall quality of service when both reception paths exist. In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172”), wherein the first wireless radio includes a gateway configured to translate a packetized signal ([0049] “The micro-repeater 210 authenticates and associates with the WLAN access point 220 already installed in the house 150 or office building 160. The access point 220 acts as a wireless middleman to the digital satellite radio unit 132 that also has WLAN capabilities”),
wherein the first wireless radio is configured to communicate with the mobile device using the low-power communication (Fig. 4 “126-310”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”, [0070] “ any device on the home network could command the micro-repeater 410 to change channels. This might also include a WLAN subscriber like device. As with infrared or RF remotes, this would be a WLAN remote. Other protocols like Bluetooth and ZigBee are specifically designed for this low power, low data rate commanding. The commands just need to get to the network”),
and wherein the second wireless radio is configured to communicate with the satellite (Fig. 4 “126-310”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”);
establish a communication channel between the repeater and the mobile device (Fig. 4 “330”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”),
wherein the communication channel enables the low-power communication of information, thereby reducing high-powered signaling at the mobile device ([0070] “any device on the home network could command the micro-repeater 410 to change channels. This might also include a WLAN subscriber like device. As with infrared or RF remotes, this would be a WLAN remote. Other protocols like Bluetooth and ZigBee are specifically designed for this low power, low data rate commanding. The commands just need to get to the network”);
communicate the information between the first wireless radio and the second wireless radio (Fig. 4 “330”, “312”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”);
Hoffmann does not explicitly teach At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions, obtain a signal measurement associated with a communication provided to the mobile device by a base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network; send a request to cause the mobile device to connect to the satellite instead of connecting to the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network, from a cellular network, wherein the repeater is split into a first part and a second part, the first part comprising the first wireless radio and the second part comprising the second wireless radio, the first and second parts being physically separated from each other, satellite using a high-power communication, encode the information into a high-power communication; and send the high-power communication to the satellite.
MA teaches At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions [0109] “In addition, the ED 110 includes at least one memory 208. The memory 208 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the ED 110. For example, the memory 208 could store software instructions”),
obtain a signal measurement associated with a communication provided to the mobile device by a base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network ([0232] “A UE can use the obtained positioning information of TRPs and itself to reduce the beams to be searched in a cell search. The UE can also use the obtained position information to reduce the beams to be measured when selecting the most suitable beams for CSI measurements (from one or more TRPs)”, [0254] “he channel condition measurement can be the received synchronization signal power, a channel state information (CS I) measurement, a reference signal receive power (RSRP) measurement, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) or the like”);
based on signal strength measurement ([0168] “he UE 402 b has three connections, at least some of these connections might not always be in use. Communication may be performed on the connection(s) that exhibit the best performance),
send a request to cause the mobile device to connect to the satellite via repeater instead of connecting to the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network ([0168] “he UE 402 b has three connections, at least some of these connections might not always be in use. Communication may be performed on the connection(s) that exhibit the best performance (for example, have the best measurement results). For example, if the connection between the UE 402 b and the terrestrial TRP 404 exhibits a low RSRP, then the connections with the flying TRP 406 a and the satellite TRP 410 a could instead be used to service the UE 402 b”, [0234] “the UE can request a connection to a flying TRP to avoid suffering a communication disturbance”)),
from a cellular network ([0059] “The low base station capability TRP may transmit data to UEs. An example of a TPR with low base station capability is a relay or IAB”)
wherein the first wireless radio is configured to communicate with mobile device, and wherein the second wireless radio is configured to communicate satellite using a high-power communication (Fig. 7 “606”, “608”, [0206] “The communication system 600 includes multiple UEs 602 a-602 b, multiple flying TRPs 606 a-606 c, 608 and multiple satellite TRPs 610 a-610 b.”, (Examiner’s Note: for example multiple flying TRP can be BRI as repeaters, there are two type of the flying TRP 606 and 608 which 606==first part, 608==second part, 606 communicates with the UE, 608 communicates with satellite TRP),
encode the information into a high-power communication ([0137] “The modulation and coding component 325 may specify how information being transmitted may be encoded/decoded and modulated/demodulated for transmission/reception purposes. ”); and send the high-power communication to the satellite ([0044] “A satellite TRP is another example of a non-terrestrial TRP. A satellite TRP may be implemented using communication equipment supported or carried by a satellite. A satellite TRP may also be referred to as an orbiting TRP”, [0206] “ the flying TRP 608 has a connection to the satellite TRPs 610 a-610 b”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffmann, to incorporate Ma. More specifically with Ma’s teachings demonstrates that the repeaters are mobile and able to self optimize. By incorporating Ma teachings into Hoffman adds the functionality of allowing repeaters the ability to self optimize there layout to provide active improvement of connections in both a terrestrial and non terrestrial communication systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement to the system.
Ma does not teach wherein the repeater is split into a first part and a second part, the first part comprising the first wireless radio and the second part comprising the second wireless radio, the first and second parts being physically separated from each other, wherein the first part is installed inside a house and the second part is installed outside the house to have a clear view of the satellite.
Hir teaches wherein the repeater is split into a first part and a second part, the first part comprising the first wireless radio and the second part comprising the second wireless radio ([0027] “The vehicle 12 is also shown equipped with a plurality, such as four, ISM-band receiver modules 30 located within the vehicle compartment of vehicle 12. ISM-band receiver modules 30 are configured to receive converted satellite ISM signals from repeater module 20, and to decode the converted satellite ISM signals to extract audio or other data directly from the converted satellite ISM signals. As shown, ISM-band receiver modules 30 can be connected to portable electronic devices, such as a laptop computer 24 or a cellular phone 25”),
the first and second parts being physically separated from each other, wherein the first part is installed inside a house and the second part is installed outside the house to have a clear view of the satellite ([0031] “Although repeater module 20 and ISM-band receiver modules 30 are shown in a vehicle 12, it should also be appreciated that repeater module 20 and ISM-band receiver modules 30 could be located in other structures, such as houses or other buildings, or could be located in an outside environment”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Hoffmann,Ma to incorporate Hir. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure good quality of service for the user.
Regarding claim 8, Hoffman teaches A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; ([0043] “The WLAN implementation requires a dual-mode decision making processor or module 176”), cause the system to:
cause a UE to determine a signal strength ([0043] “In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160”)
based on the determined signal strength ([0043] “In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160”), (Fig. 4 “126-310”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”)
wherein the repeater includes a first wireless radio and a second wireless radio (Fig. 4 “126-310”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”),
wherein the first wireless radio includes a gatewav configured to translate a packetized signal ([0049] “The micro-repeater 210 authenticates and associates with the WLAN access point 220 already installed in the house 150 or office building 160. The access point 220 acts as a wireless middleman to the digital satellite radio unit 132 that also has WLAN capabilities”),
wherein the first wireless radio is configured to communicate with the UE using a low-power communication (Fig. 4 “126-310”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”, [0070] “ any device on the home network could command the micro-repeater 410 to change channels. This might also include a WLAN subscriber like device. As with infrared or RF remotes, this would be a WLAN remote. Other protocols like Bluetooth and ZigBee are specifically designed for this low power, low data rate commanding. The commands just need to get to the network”),
and wherein the second wireless radio is configured to communicate with a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 4 “126-310”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”);;
establish a communication channel between the repeater and the UE (Fig. 4 “330”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”), wherein the communication channel enables the low-power communication of information ([0070] “any device on the home network could command the micro-repeater 410 to change channels. This might also include a WLAN subscriber like device. As with infrared or RF remotes, this would be a WLAN remote. Other protocols like Bluetooth and ZigBee are specifically designed for this low power, low data rate commanding. The commands just need to get to the network”);
communicate the information between the first wireless radio and the second wireless radio (Fig. 4 “330”, “312”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”);
Hoffman does not explicitly teach and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, cause a UE to determine a signal associated with a communication provided to the UE by a base station associated with a wireless telecommunication network; based on the determined signal strength, send a request to cause the UE to connect to the satellite via the repeater instead of connecting to the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network, from a cellular network, wherein the repeater is split into a first part and a second part, the first part comprising the first wireless radio and the second part comprising the second wireless radio, the first and second parts being physically separated from each other, wherein the first part is installed inside a vehicle and the second part is installed outside the vehicle, wherein the first wireless radio is configured to communicate with the UE, and wherein the second wireless radio is configured to communicate with a non-terrestrial network using a high-power communication, encode the information into a high-power communication; and send the high-power communication to the non-terrestrial network.
Ma teaches and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions [0109] “In addition, the ED 110 includes at least one memory 208. The memory 208 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the ED 110. For example, the memory 208 could store software instructions”),
which, cause a UE to determine a signal associated with a communication provided to the UE by a base station associated with a wireless telecommunication network ([0232] “A UE can use the obtained positioning information of TRPs and itself to reduce the beams to be searched in a cell search. The UE can also use the obtained position information to reduce the beams to be measured when selecting the most suitable beams for CSI measurements (from one or more TRPs)”);
based on the determined signal strength ([0168] “he UE 402 b has three connections, at least some of these connections might not always be in use. Communication may be performed on the connection(s) that exhibit the best performance, [0254] “he channel condition measurement can be the received synchronization signal power, a channel state information (CS I) measurement, a reference signal receive power (RSRP) measurement, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) or the like”),
send a request to cause the UE to connect to the satellite via the repeater instead of connecting to the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network ([0168] “he UE 402 b has three connections, at least some of these connections might not always be in use. Communication may be performed on the connection(s) that exhibit the best performance (for example, have the best measurement results). For example, if the connection between the UE 402 b and the terrestrial TRP 404 exhibits a low RSRP, then the connections with the flying TRP 406 a and the satellite TRP 410 a could instead be used to service the UE 402 b”,[0204] “the satellite TRPs 510 a-510 b could have a direction connection to the core network, allowing the flying TRP 508 to connect to the core network via a wireless connection”, [0234] “the UE can request a connection to a flying TRP to avoid suffering a communication disturbance”)),
from a cellular network ([0059] “The low base station capability TRP may transmit data to UEs. An example of a TPR with low base station capability is a relay or IAB”)
wherein the first wireless radio is configured to communicate with the UE, and wherein the second wireless radio is configured to communicate with a non-terrestrial network using a high-power communication (Fig. 7 “606”, “608”, [0206] “The communication system 600 includes multiple UEs 602 a-602 b, multiple flying TRPs 606 a-606 c, 608 and multiple satellite TRPs 610 a-610 b.”, (Examiner’s Note: for example multiple flying TRP can be BRI as repeaters, there are two type of the flying TRP 606 and 608 which 606==first part, 608==second part, 606 communicates with the UE, 608 communicates with satellite TRP),
encode the information into a high-power communication ([0137] “The modulation and coding component 325 may specify how information being transmitted may be encoded/decoded and modulated/demodulated for transmission/reception purposes. ”); and send the high-power communication to the non-terrestrial network ([0044] “A satellite TRP is another example of a non-terrestrial TRP. A satellite TRP may be implemented using communication equipment supported or carried by a satellite. A satellite TRP may also be referred to as an orbiting TRP”, [0206] “ the flying TRP 608 has a connection to the satellite TRPs 610 a-610 b”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffmann, to incorporate Ma. More specifically with Ma’s teachings demonstrates that the repeaters are mobile and able to self optimize. By incorporating Ma teachings into Hoffman adds the functionality of allowing repeaters the ability to self optimize there layout to provide active improvement of connections in both a terrestrial and non terrestrial communication systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement to the system.
MA does not wherein the repeater is split into a first part and a second part, the first part comprising the first wireless radio and the second part comprising the second wireless radio, the first and second parts being physically separated from each other, wherein the first part is installed inside a vehicle and the second part is installed outside the vehicle.
Hir teaches wherein the repeater is split into a first part and a second part, the first part comprising the first wireless radio and the second part comprising the second wireless radio ([0027] “The vehicle 12 is also shown equipped with a plurality, such as four, ISM-band receiver modules 30 located within the vehicle compartment of vehicle 12. ISM-band receiver modules 30 are configured to receive converted satellite ISM signals from repeater module 20, and to decode the converted satellite ISM signals to extract audio or other data directly from the converted satellite ISM signals. As shown, ISM-band receiver modules 30 can be connected to portable electronic devices, such as a laptop computer 24 or a cellular phone 25”),
the first and second parts being physically separated from each other, wherein the first part is installed inside a vehicle and the second part is installed outside the vehicle ([0031] “Although repeater module 20 and ISM-band receiver modules 30 are shown in a vehicle 12, it should also be appreciated that repeater module 20 and ISM-band receiver modules 30 could be located in other structures, such as houses or other buildings, or could be located in an outside environment”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Hoffmann,Ma to incorporate Hir. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure good quality of service for the user.
Regarding claim 15, Hoffmann teaches A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; ([0043] “The WLAN implementation requires a dual-mode decision making processor or module 176”), cause the system to:
measure by a UE a first signal strength ([0043] “In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160”)
measure by the UE a second signal strength associated with a second communication provided by a repeater associated with the wireless telecommunication network to the UE ([0043] “In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174”);
based on the first signal strength and the second signal strength measurements, determine to connect the UE to a non-terrestrial network via the repeater ([0043] “The digital satellite radio unit 132 might attempt to provide the best overall quality of service when both reception paths exist. In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160, and WLAN coverage is detected, the dual-mode decision making processor 176 chooses the Ethernet path over the satellite mode. When satellite service improves, service is returned back to satellite reception”);
upon determining to connect to the repeater ([0043] “In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160”),
wherein the repeater includes a first wireless radio and a second wireless radio (Fig. 4 “330”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”),
wherein the first wireless radio includes a gateway configured to translate a packetized signal ([0049] “The micro-repeater 210 authenticates and associates with the WLAN access point 220 already installed in the house 150 or office building 160. The access point 220 acts as a wireless middleman to the digital satellite radio unit 132 that also has WLAN capabilities”),
wherein the first wireless radio is configured to communicate with the UE using a low-power communication (Fig. 4 “126-310”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”, [0070] “ any device on the home network could command the micro-repeater 410 to change channels. This might also include a WLAN subscriber like device. As with infrared or RF remotes, this would be a WLAN remote. Other protocols like Bluetooth and ZigBee are specifically designed for this low power, low data rate commanding. The commands just need to get to the network”),
and wherein the second wireless radio is configured to communicate with the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 4 “126-310”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”)
establish a communication channel between the repeater and the UE (Fig. 4 “330”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”), wherein the communication channel enables the low-power communication of information ([0070] “any device on the home network could command the micro-repeater 410 to change channels. This might also include a WLAN subscriber like device. As with infrared or RF remotes, this would be a WLAN remote. Other protocols like Bluetooth and ZigBee are specifically designed for this low power, low data rate commanding. The commands just need to get to the network”),
wherein the repeater is configured to communicate the information between the first wireless radio and the second wireless radio (Fig. 4 “330”, “312”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”),
wherein the repeater is configured (Fig. 4 “330”, “312”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”)(Fig. 4 “330”, “312”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”)
Hoffmann does not explicitly teach and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, measure by a UE a first signal associated with a first communication provided by a base station associated with a wireless telecommunication network to the UE;
send a request to connect the UE to the non-terrestrial network instead of connecting to the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network, from a cellular network,
wherein the repeater is split into a first part and a second part, the first part comprising the first wireless radio and the second part comprising the second wireless radio, the first and second parts being physically separated from each other, wherein the first part is installed at a first location and the second part is installed at a second location, the non-terrestrial network using a high-power communication; configured to encode the information into a high-power communication; to send the high-power communication to the non-terrestrial network.
Ma teaches and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions [0109] “In addition, the ED 110 includes at least one memory 208. The memory 208 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the ED 110. For example, the memory 208 could store software instructions”),
measure by a UE a first signal associated with a first communication provided by a base station associated with a wireless telecommunication network to the UE ([0232] “A UE can use the obtained positioning information of TRPs and itself to reduce the beams to be searched in a cell search. The UE can also use the obtained position information to reduce the beams to be measured when selecting the most suitable beams for CSI measurements (from one or more TRPs)”, [0254] “he channel condition measurement can be the received synchronization signal power, a channel state information (CS I) measurement, a reference signal receive power (RSRP) measurement, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) or the like”);
send a request to connect the UE to the non-terrestrial network instead of connecting to the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network ([0168] “he UE 402 b has three connections, at least some of these connections might not always be in use. Communication may be performed on the connection(s) that exhibit the best performance (for example, have the best measurement results). For example, if the connection between the UE 402 b and the terrestrial TRP 404 exhibits a low RSRP, then the connections with the flying TRP 406 a and the satellite TRP 410 a could instead be used to service the UE 402 b”,[0204] “the satellite TRPs 510 a-510 b could have a direction connection to the core network, allowing the flying TRP 508 to connect to the core network via a wireless connection”, [0234] “the UE can request a connection to a flying TRP to avoid suffering a communication disturbance”),
from a cellular network ([0059] “The low base station capability TRP may transmit data to UEs. An example of a TPR with low base station capability is a relay or IAB”)
the non-terrestrial network using a high-power communication (Fig. 7 “606”, “608”, [0206] “The communication system 600 includes multiple UEs 602 a-602 b, multiple flying TRPs 606 a-606 c, 608 and multiple satellite TRPs 610 a-610 b.”, (Examiner’s Note: for example multiple flying TRP can be BRI as repeaters, there are two type of the flying TRP 606 and 608 which 606==first part, 608==second part, 606 communicates with the UE, 608 communicates with satellite TRP);
configured to encode the information into a high-power communication ([0137] “The modulation and coding component 325 may specify how information being transmitted may be encoded/decoded and modulated/demodulated for transmission/reception purposes. ”);
to send the high-power communication to the non-terrestrial network ([0044] “A satellite TRP is another example of a non-terrestrial TRP. A satellite TRP may be implemented using communication equipment supported or carried by a satellite. A satellite TRP may also be referred to as an orbiting TRP”, [0206] “ the flying TRP 608 has a connection to the satellite TRPs 610 a-610 b”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffmann, to incorporate Ma. More specifically with Ma’s teachings demonstrates that the repeaters are mobile and able to self optimize. By incorporating Ma teachings into Hoffman adds the functionality of allowing repeaters the ability to self optimize there layout to provide active improvement of connections in both a terrestrial and non terrestrial communication systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement to the system.
Ma does not teach wherein the repeater is split into a first part and a second part, the first part comprising the first wireless radio and the second part comprising the second wireless radio, the first and second parts being physically separated from each other, wherein the first part is installed at a first location and the second part is installed at a second location.
Hir teaches wherein the repeater is split into a first part and a second part, the first part comprising the first wireless radio and the second part comprising the second wireless radio ([0027] “The vehicle 12 is also shown equipped with a plurality, such as four, ISM-band receiver modules 30 located within the vehicle compartment of vehicle 12. ISM-band receiver modules 30 are configured to receive converted satellite ISM signals from repeater module 20, and to decode the converted satellite ISM signals to extract audio or other data directly from the converted satellite ISM signals. As shown, ISM-band receiver modules 30 can be connected to portable electronic devices, such as a laptop computer 24 or a cellular phone 25”),
the first and second parts being physically separated from each other, wherein the first part is installed at a first location and the second part is installed at a second location ([0031] “Although repeater module 20 and ISM-band receiver modules 30 are shown in a vehicle 12, it should also be appreciated that repeater module 20 and ISM-band receiver modules 30 could be located in other structures, such as houses or other buildings, or could be located in an outside environment”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Hoffmann,Ma to incorporate Hir. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure good quality of service for the user.
Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, Hoffmann teaches comprising instructions to: obtain a first signal strength measurement at the mobile [0043] “In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160”)
obtain a second signal strength measurement at the mobile device associated with a second communication provided by the repeater associated with the wireless telecommunication network ([0043] “The digital satellite radio unit 132 might attempt to provide the best overall quality of service when both reception paths exist. In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160, and WLAN coverage is detected, the dual-mode decision making processor 176 chooses the Ethernet path over the satellite mode. When satellite service improves, service is returned back to satellite reception”);
determine whether the second signal strength measurement exceeds the first signal strength measurement ([0043] “The digital satellite radio unit 132 might attempt to provide the best overall quality of service when both reception paths exist. In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160, and WLAN coverage is detected, the dual-mode decision making processor 176 chooses the Ethernet path over the satellite mode. When satellite service improves, service is returned back to satellite reception”);
and upon determining that the second signal strength measurement exceeds the first signal strength measurement, send the request to the mobile device to connect to the repeater . ([0043] “When satellite service improves, service is returned back to satellite reception”).
Hoffmann does not explictly teach associated with a first communication provided by the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network.
Ma teach associated with a first communication provided by the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network ([0095] “ a terrestrial TRP 170 a-170 b may establish the wireless link 190 with Evolved UTMS Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) using LTE, LTE-A, LTE-B, 5G New Radio (NR) and/or 6G. ”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffmann, to incorporate Ma One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement to the system connection.
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, Hoffmann teaches the instructions to establish the communication channel between the repeater and the mobile device comprising instructions to: establish the communication channel using a cellular protocol associated with the wireless telecommunication network or a short-range wireless protocol ([0070] “any device on the home network could command the micro-repeater 410 to change channels. This might also include a WLAN subscriber like device. As with infrared or RF remotes, this would be a WLAN remote. Other protocols like Bluetooth and ZigBee are specifically designed for this low power, low data rate commanding. The commands just need to get to the network”, (Examiner’s Note: Bluetooth is equivalent to short range wireless protocol).
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hoffmann in view of Ma further in view of Hir further in view of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki et al.(US20230099762 herein after Khosh).
Regarding claim 2, 9, 16 Hoffmann teaches comprising instructions to: cause the mobile device to search for a first connection [0043] “In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160”) and a second connection with the repeater associated with the wireless telecommunication network (Fig. 4 “330”, [0047] “The micro-repeater 310 operates in an ad-hoc mode point-to-point with the digital satellite radio unit 132 via link 330. The micro-repeater 310 receives the radio channels via link 312 from the satellite 126”);
cause the mobile device to obtain a first signal strength measurement associated with the first connection and a second signal strength measurement associated with the second connection repeater ([0043] “The digital satellite radio unit 132 might attempt to provide the best overall quality of service when both reception paths exist. In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160, and WLAN coverage is detected, the dual-mode decision making processor 176 chooses the Ethernet path over the satellite mode. When satellite service improves, service is returned back to satellite reception”);
cause the mobile device to determine whether the second signal strength measurement is higher than the first signal strength measurement ([0043] “The digital satellite radio unit 132 might attempt to provide the best overall quality of service when both reception paths exist. In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160, and WLAN coverage is detected, the dual-mode decision making processor 176 chooses the Ethernet path over the satellite mode. When satellite service improves, service is returned back to satellite reception”)
upon determining that the second signal strength measurement is higher than the first signal strength measurement, establish the second connection with the repeater ([0043] “The digital satellite radio unit 132 might attempt to provide the best overall quality of service when both reception paths exist. In one embodiment, the satellite antenna 178 provides signals to the signal strength measurement circuit 174 for comparison with the signals received by the WLAN interface 172. If satellite or terrestrial service is deemed marginal within the interior of the office building 160, and WLAN coverage is detected, the dual-mode decision making processor 176 chooses the Ethernet path over the satellite mode. When satellite service improves, service is returned back to satellite reception”).
Hoffmann does not teach a first connection with the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network
cause the mobile device to send the message to the repeater;
cause the mobile device to determine whether an acknowledgment is received from the repeater within the waiting period;
and upon determining that the acknowledgment is not received from the repeater within the waiting period, cause the mobile device to resend the message to the repeater.
Ma teaches a first connection with the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network ([0095] “ a terrestrial TRP 170 a-170 b may establish the wireless link 190 with Evolved UTMS Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) using LTE, LTE-A, LTE-B, 5G New Radio (NR) and/or 6G. ”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffmann, to incorporate Ma One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement to the system connection.
Ma, Hir does not teach upon establishing the second connection, cause the mobile device to increase a waiting period between times when a message is sent and resent to the repeater;
cause the mobile device to send the message to the repeater;
cause the mobile device to determine whether an acknowledgment is received from the repeater within the waiting period;
and upon determining that the acknowledgment is not received from the repeater within the waiting period, cause the mobile device to resend the message to the repeater.
Khosh teaches upon establishing the second connection, cause the mobile device to increase a waiting period between times when a message is sent and resent to the repeater ([0286] “wireless device may delay, for a particular period of time (e.g., a backoff time), performing a retransmission of one or more Msg1 1311, Msg1 1321, or Msg A 1331. The wireless device may apply the period of time (e.g., the backoff time) to the retransmission”, [0336] “The wireless device may use the cell/beam-specific timing offset (if available or maintained) to determine the transmission timing of one or more of the following: a random access response (RAR) grant scheduled PUSCH (e.g., based on or in response to receiving a Msg2 1312 in a 4-step RA procedure); a fallbackRAR grant scheduled PUSCH (e.g., based on or in response to receiving a MsgB 1332 in a two-step RA procedure); a Msg3 1313 retransmission scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 with/having CRC parity bits scrambled by TC-RNTI; HARQ-ACK on PUCCH indicating the success contention resolution”);
cause the mobile device to send the message to the repeater; cause the mobile device to determine whether an acknowledgment is received from the repeater within the waiting period; and upon determining that the acknowledgment is not received from the repeater within the waiting period, cause the mobile device to resend the message to the repeater ([0336] “The wireless device may use the cell/beam-specific timing offset (if available or maintained) to determine the transmission timing of one or more of the following: a random access response (RAR) grant scheduled PUSCH (e.g., based on or in response to receiving a Msg2 1312 in a 4-step RA procedure); a fallbackRAR grant scheduled PUSCH (e.g., based on or in response to receiving a MsgB 1332 in a two-step RA procedure); a Msg3 1313 retransmission scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 with/having CRC parity bits scrambled by TC-RNTI; HARQ-ACK on PUCCH indicating the success contention resolution”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffmann, Ma, Hir to incorporate Khosh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for a more efficient system.
Claim(s) 4, 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann in view of Ma further in view of Hir, further in view of Wu et al. (US20150038136).
Regarding claim 4, 11, 18, Hoffmann does not explictly teach comprising instructions to: determine that the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network is inoperable, wherein the base station is configured to provide coverage to the mobile device; and upon determining that the base station is inoperable, send a notification to the mobile device using the repeater.
Ma teaches comprising instructions to: determine that the base station associated with the wireless telecommunication network is inoperable, wherein the base station is configured to provide coverage to the mobile device; and upon determining that the base station is inoperable ([0168] “he UE 402 b has three connections, at least some of these connections might not always be in use. Communication may be performed on the connection(s) that exhibit the best performance (for example, have the best measurement results). For example, if the connection between the UE 402 b and the terrestrial TRP 404 exhibits a low RSRP, then the connections with the flying TRP 406 a and the satellite TRP 410 a could instead be used to service the UE 402 b”,[0204] “the satellite TRPs 510 a-510 b could have a direction connection to the core network, allowing the flying TRP 508 to connect to the core network via a wireless connection”, [0234] “the UE can request a connection to a flying TRP to avoid suffering a communication disturbance”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffmann, to incorporate Ma. More specifically with Ma’s teachings demonstrates that the repeaters are mobile and able to self optimize. By incorporating Ma teachings into Hoffman adds the functionality of allowing repeaters the ability to self optimize there layout to provide active improvement of connections in both a terrestrial and non terrestrial communication systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement to the system.
Ma, Hir does not teach send a notification to the mobile device using the repeater.
Wu teaches send a notification to the mobile device using the repeater(Fig. 3 “305”, [0048] “In one configuration, the in-coverage mobile device 115-c-1 may transmit relay status and identifier information 305 to the out-of-coverage mobile device 115-c-2. The relay status may indicate whether the in-coverage mobile device 115-c-1 is capable of providing relay services. In one embodiment, the relay status may indicate whether the in-coverage mobile device 115-c-1 has LTE-Direct capabilities to provide the relay services. The identifier may be information that serves to identify the in-coverage mobile device 115-c-1”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffmann, Ma, Hir to incorporate Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for increase coverage for devices.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann in view of Ma, further in view of Hir further in view of Gunnarsson (US20130072112).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, Hoffmann, Ma, Hir does not teach comprising instructions to: obtain a first signal strength measurement at the mobile device associated with a first communication provided by a first repeater associated with the wireless telecommunication network; obtain a second signal strength measurement at the mobile device associated with a second communication provided by a second repeater associated with the wireless telecommunication network;
determine whether the second signal strength measurement exceeds the first signal strength measurement;
and upon determining that the second signal strength measurement exceeds the first signal strength measurement, send a second request to the mobile device to connect to the second repeater.
Gunnarsson teaches comprising instructions to: obtain a first signal strength measurement at the mobile device associated with a first communication provided by a first repeater associated with the wireless telecommunication network; obtain a second signal strength measurement at the mobile device associated with a second communication provided by a second repeater associated with the wireless telecommunication network ([0036] “Once a repeater 20 or multiple repeaters 20 have been associated with mobile device 50 a, mobile device 50 a may begin performing and reporting measurements of signals received from these repeaters 20. For example, when mobile device 50 a indicates to radio network controller 34 that mobile device 50 a detects a particular repeater 20, radio network controller 34 may configure mobile device 50 a to then report when the relevant repeater 20 has left the mobile device's reporting range”);
determine whether the second signal strength measurement exceeds the first signal strength measurement ([0037] “For example, if mobile device 50 a determines that a newly-discovered repeater 20 currently provides the best signal for mobile device 50 a, mobile device 50 a may transmit an RRC Connection Request to the discovered repeater 20 requesting that an RRC Connection be established between mobile device 50 a and the discovered repeater 20”);
and upon determining that the second signal strength measurement exceeds the first signal strength measurement, send a second request to the mobile device to connect to the second repeater([0037] “For example, if mobile device 50 a determines that a newly-discovered repeater 20 currently provides the best signal for mobile device 50 a, mobile device 50 a may transmit an RRC Connection Request to the discovered repeater 20 requesting that an RRC Connection be established between mobile device 50 a and the discovered repeater 20”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffmann, Ma, Hir to incorporate Gunnarsson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann in view of Ma further in view of Hir further in view of Moshfeghi (US 20130035090).
Regarding claim 7, 14, Hoffmann, Ma, Hir does not teach wherein a form factor associated with the repeater corresponds to a form factor associated with a tablet.
Moshfeghi teaches wherein a form factor associated with the repeater corresponds to a form factor associated with a tablet ([0012] “The repeater in some embodiments is integrated in another mobile electronic device that the user carries such as a digital watch, digital tablet”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffmann, Ma, Hir to incorporate Moshfeghi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase battery life of devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument 1
Amended claim 1 recites, among other things, "wherein the first wireless radio includes a gateway configured to translate a packetized signal from a cellular network into a format compatible with the satellite." See Specification [0036]. Neither Hoffmann nor Ma teaches or suggests this feature.
Examiner’s Response 1
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of Hoffmann, and MA teaches "wherein the first wireless radio includes a gateway configured to translate a packetized signal from a cellular network into a format compatible with the satellite."
Hoffman is relied upon to show wherein the first wireless radio includes a gateway configured to translate a packetized signal into a format compatible with the satellite in [0049]. In [0049] Hoffman describes a repeater that act as a middleman between two different type of communication one being satellite.
Hoffman however doesnot show a cellular network.
However, Ma shows in [0059] low level TRP that communicate using cellular, and communicate with non terrestrial TRP or satelittle trp. The lowlevel TRP perform the function of relaying which can be BRI as repeaters.
Applicant Argument 2
Ma therefore discloses independent autonomous aerial network nodes, and not parts of a single repeater device with one part installed inside a house and the other installed outside the house. Neither Hoffmann nor Ma teaches or suggests a repeater split into parts where.
Examiner Response 2
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner added newly reference Hir to show the new limitation. See updated rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411