DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on January 2 202. Claims 1-16 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1 and 11 which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued. However it is noted that the previously applied references are still used in the current grounds of rejection.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 11 Applicant asserts:
Applicants respectfully consider that Tofigh in view of Hsiao fail to teach or suggest "when the control unit detects that a battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is less than a lower threshold voltage, the control unit turns on the circuit switch and turns on the switch corresponding to the battery cell so that the battery cell receives the electrical energy from the AC power" as recited in amended claim 1 for at least the following reasons.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and uses the combined teachings of Tofigh in view of Hsiao to teach claim language: wherein when the control unit detects that a battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is less than a lower threshold voltage ([0017] of Hsiao … the microcontroller keeps monitoring a voltage of each said cell unit when the main switch component is ON and the battery is being charged, wherein, when a voltage difference between the lowest-voltage cell unit and the highest-voltage cell unit is larger than a balancing threshold), the control unit turns on the circuit switch ([0035] of Hsiao main switch 50 is ON, the main switch component 50 is coupled to the first side winding 21 and the external balancing power 10) and turns on the switch corresponding to the battery cell so that the battery cell receives the electrical energy from the AC power ([0017] of Hsiao … the microcontroller keeps monitoring a voltage of each said cell unit when the main switch component is ON and the battery is being charged, wherein, when a voltage difference between the lowest-voltage cell unit and the highest-voltage cell unit is larger than a balancing threshold, first cell switch components and second cell switch components of the lowest-voltage cell unit are enabled so as to start a balancing process).
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 11 Applicant asserts:
The present application solves the technical problem of maintaining the operation of a battery module despite significant cell aging, specifically by preventing over-discharge of severely aged battery cells during a discharge process.
When a battery cell ages, its capacity decreases, leading to a faster voltage drop during discharge. The claimed feature directly addresses this by:… The Examiner asserts that the feature is taught by Tofigh in view of Hsiao. However, the cited combination fails to teach or suggest the core inventive concept of amended claim 1 due to fundamental differences in function, trigger condition, and technical effect.
In response:
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 11 Applicant asserts:
In summary, the technical feature incorporated into amended Claim 1, which defines the
use of the AC power to supplement energy to a single battery cell detected to be below a lower threshold voltage, addresses a distinct technical problem (preventing over-discharge and extending the life of aged cells) with a unique operating mode (absolute low-voltage trigger from an AC source) that is fundamentally different from the relative voltage balancing taught by Tofigh in view of Hsiao.
In response:
The technical problem asserted by the applicant are not claimed or read into the claims. If the prior art discloses or teaches the claim limitations as claimed, then the prior art meets the limitations of the claim.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 11 Applicant asserts:
Lack of motivation to combine or modify:
There is no teaching or suggestion in Tofigh or Hsiao that would motivate a person skilled in the art to modify their system to use an external AC power source to specifically supplement energy to a single cell that is below an absolute lower threshold (i.e., operating in an over-discharge prevention mode during discharge).
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and combines the teachings of Tofigh in view of Hsiao for the reasons set forth below.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 11 Applicant asserts:
(2) Unforeseen technical effect
The technical effect achieved by amended claim 1 is the extended operational life and
economic efficiency of the entire battery module by specifically addressing and compensating for the aging and capacity degradation of individual cells via targeted AC power supplementation. This effect of prolonged operation without frequent cell replacement is not inherent or obvious from the equalization methods taught in the cited references.
In response:
Potential advantages or “effects” of a claim asserted by the applicant are not claimed or read into the claims. If the prior art discloses or teaches the claim limitations as claimed, then the prior art meets the limitations of the claim.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 11 Applicant asserts:
(3) Specific hardware integration
Amended claim 1 further requires a specific architecture involving an AC/DC converter,
a circuit switch, the isolated DC/DC converter, and multiple cell switches working in concert to route energy from the AC power to the single under-voltage cell. The integration of the AC power source into the discharge-side low-voltage compensation path is a structural and functional improvement not made obvious by the general balancing circuits of the cited references.
In response:
Claims 1 and 11 does not recite the integration of an AC power source into a “discharge-side low-voltage compensation path”. As stated above the Examiner combines the teachings of Tofigh in view of Hsiao for the reasons set forth below.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,5-6,9,11-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofigh (US 20110140663) in view of Hsiao (US 20180152028).
Fig. 1 of Tofigh
As to claim 1, Tofigh discloses a battery cell balance circuit (Fig.1-2), comprising:
a plurality of battery cells, connected in series to form a battery link (Fig. 1 cells 106-110),
a plurality of switches , each of the switches correspondingly connected to each of the battery cells (Fig. 1 cells 124,128,…132),
an isolated DC/DC converter (Rectifier circuitries 126…134, and element 104), an input side of the isolated DC/DC converter coupled in parallel to an input side of each of the switches (Fig. 1 and [0013] The transformer 104 can be used to redistribute energy from highly charged cells, or overcharged cells, to lower charged cells), and an output side of the isolated DC/DC converter coupled to the battery link (Fig. 1),
and a control unit (control 138), configured to provide a plurality of control signals to correspondingly control the plurality of switches ([0014] The secondary switches (124, 128, and 132) and primary switch 136 are coupled to control circuitry 138. [0024]-[0025] and Fig.3 step 308 process 300 can be used in conjunction with the control circuitry (138, 238) of FIG. 1 and/or FIG. 2. The process can continue by operating (308) the primary and secondary switches of the transformer to transfer energy in the selected mode).
Tofigh does not disclose/teach an AC/DC converter configured to receive an AC power and convert the AC power into a DC power nor teaches a circuit switch, coupled between the AC/DC converter, the isolated DC/DC converter, and the plurality of switches, and the control unit, configured to provide a control signal to correspondingly control the circuit switch.
Hsiao teaches an AC/DC converter configured to receive an AC power and convert the AC power into a DC power an AC/DC converter configured to receive an AC power and convert the AC power into a DC power (external balancing power 10. [0031] The external balancing power 10 originates from renewable energy or utility electricity, and it is supplied by an external power supply. Examiner takes official notice that utility electricity is AC power. Since external balancing power 10 charges battery cells 31 ([0041] delivering a first current 11 from the external balancing power 10 to the series-charging the battery 30), then Hsiao suggests and AC/DC converter converts the utility power to DC power to charge the cells). Hsiao further teaches a circuit switch (Fig. 2 element 50), coupled between the AC/DC converter (Fig. 2), the DC/DC converter ([0041] operating voltage decreased from 48V to 5.0V by the buck converter 20) , and the plurality of switches (Fig. 2), and the control unit, configured to provide a control signal to correspondingly control the circuit switch ([0037] The microcontroller 70 is coupled to the … main switch component 50 and the cell switch unit 60 to not only control the main switch component 50 and the cell switch unit 60 but also calculate and determine the voltage level sensed by the cell voltage sensing unit 40)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery cell balance circuit of Tofigh to include an AC/DC converter configured to receive an AC power and convert the AC power into a DC power nor teaches a circuit switch, coupled between the AC/DC converter, the isolated DC/DC converter, and the plurality of switches, and the control unit, configured to provide a control signal to correspondingly control the circuit switch in order to have the ability to charge the cells using external power such as solar power, wind power or utility electricity ([0039] of Hsiao).
Tofigh does not disclose wherein when the control unit detects that a battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is less than a lower threshold voltage, the control unit turns on the circuit switch and turns on the switch corresponding to the battery cell so that the battery cell receives the electrical energy from the AC power.
Hsiao teaches wherein when the control unit detects that a battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is less than a lower threshold voltage ([0017]… the microcontroller keeps monitoring a voltage of each said cell unit when the main switch component is ON and the battery is being charged, wherein, when a voltage difference between the lowest-voltage cell unit and the highest-voltage cell unit is larger than a balancing threshold), the control unit turns on the circuit switch ([0035] main switch 50 is ON, the main switch component 50 is coupled to the first side winding 21 and the external balancing power 10) and turns on the switch corresponding to the battery cell so that the battery cell receives the electrical energy from the AC power ([0017]… the microcontroller keeps monitoring a voltage of each said cell unit when the main switch component is ON and the battery is being charged, wherein, when a voltage difference between the lowest-voltage cell unit and the highest-voltage cell unit is larger than a balancing threshold, first cell switch components and second cell switch components of the lowest-voltage cell unit are enabled so as to start a balancing process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control unit of Tofigh to detect that a battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is less than a lower threshold voltage, the control unit turns on the circuit switch and turns on the switch corresponding to the battery cell so that the battery cell receives the electrical energy from the AC power in order to have the ability to charge the cells using external power such as solar power, wind power or utility electricity ([0039] of Hsiao).
As to claim 2, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 1, wherein when the control unit detects a battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is greater than an upper threshold voltage, the control unit turns on the switch corresponding to the battery cell so that electrical energy of the battery cell is released to the battery link through the isolated DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 and [0013] The transformer 104 can be used to redistribute energy from highly charged cells, or overcharged cells, to lower charged cells. [0015], …the control circuitry can close a secondary switch to create a path for the energy stored in the primary winding through the respective secondary winding and the rectifier circuitry to the cell with the detected imbalance condition (e.g., under-voltage)).
As to claim 5, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the switches comprise a plurality of switch units (Fig. 2 of Hsiao switch components 61, 62), the positive end of each of the battery cells respectively connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), and second ends of the switch units jointly connected to a positive end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), the negative end of each of the battery cells respectively connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), and second ends of the switch units jointly connected to a negative end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao).
As to claim 6, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the switches comprise a plurality of switch units and a switch assembly (Fig. 2 of Hsiao switch components 61, 62), a positive end of a first battery cell of the battery cells connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), a negative end of a last battery cell of the battery cells connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), and the positive end and the negative end of the middle battery cells jointly connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), the switch assembly comprises a plurality of switching switch units (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), wherein second ends of the switch units are correspondingly connected to the switching switch units so that the positive ends of the battery cells are correspondingly connected to a positive end of the DC power and the negative ends of the battery cells are correspondingly connected to a negative end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao).
As to claim 9, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control unit comprises a battery charge control unit and a controller configured to control charging and discharging operations of the battery cells (control 138. ([0014] The secondary switches (124, 128, and 132) and primary switch 136 are coupled to control circuitry 138. [0024]-[0025] and Fig.3 step 308 process 300 can be used in conjunction with the control circuitry (138, 238) of FIG. 1 and/or FIG. 2. The process can continue by operating (308) the primary and secondary switches of the transformer to transfer energy in the selected mode) .
As to claim 11, Tofigh discloses a method of operating a battery cell balance circuit (Fig.1-2), the battery cell balance circuit comprising
a plurality of battery cells connected in series to form a battery link (Fig. 1 cells 106-110),
a plurality of switches, each of the switches correspondingly connected to each of the battery cells (Fig. 1 cells 124,128,…132), and
an isolated DC/DC converter (Rectifier circuitries 126…134, and element 104), an input side of the isolated DC/DC converter coupled in parallel to an input side of each of the switches (Fig. 1 and [0013] The transformer 104 can be used to redistribute energy from highly charged cells, or overcharged cells, to lower charged cells),
the method comprising steps of controlling the switch corresponding to the battery cell to be turned on when a battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is detected to be greater than an upper threshold voltage (Fig. 1 and [0013] The transformer 104 can be used to redistribute energy from highly charged cells, or overcharged cells, to lower charged cells. [0015], …the control circuitry can close a secondary switch to create a path for the energy stored in the primary winding through the respective secondary winding and the rectifier circuitry to the cell with the detected imbalance condition (e.g., under-voltage), releasing electrical energy of the battery cell to the battery link (Fig. 1 and [0013] The transformer 104 can be used to redistribute energy from highly charged cells, or overcharged cells, to lower charged cells), controlling the switch corresponding to the battery cell to be turned on when the battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is detected to be less than a lower threshold voltage, and receiving, by the battery cell, the electrical energy from the DC power (Fig. 1 and [0013] The transformer 104 can be used to redistribute energy from highly charged cells, or overcharged cells, to lower charged cells).
Tofigh does not disclose/teach a circuit switch coupled between a DC power, the isolated DC/DC converter and the plurality of switches, nor discloses controlling the circuit switch to be turned on and controlling the switch corresponding to the battery cell to be turned on when the battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is detected to be less than a lower threshold voltage, and receiving, by the battery cell, the electrical energy from the DC power.
Hsiao teaches a circuit switch (Fig. 2 element 50) coupled between a DC power, the DC/DC converter ([0041] operating voltage decreased from 48V to 5.0V by the buck converter 20) and the plurality of switches (Fig. 2). Hsiao further teaches controlling the circuit switch to be turned on ([0035] main switch 50 is ON, the main switch component 50 is coupled to the first side winding 21 and the external balancing power 10) and controlling the switch corresponding to the battery cell to be turned on when the battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is detected to be less than a lower threshold voltage, and receiving, by the battery cell, the electrical energy from the DC power ([0017]… the microcontroller keeps monitoring a voltage of each said cell unit when the main switch component is ON and the battery is being charged, wherein, when a voltage difference between the lowest-voltage cell unit and the highest-voltage cell unit is larger than a balancing threshold, first cell switch components and second cell switch components of the lowest-voltage cell unit are enabled so as to start a balancing process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Tofigh to include a circuit switch coupled between a DC power, the isolated DC/DC converter and the plurality of switches, and controlling the circuit switch to be turned on and controlling the switch corresponding to the battery cell to be turned on when the battery voltage of any one of the battery cells is detected to be less than a lower threshold voltage, and receiving, by the battery cell, the electrical energy from the DC power in order to have the ability to charge the cells using external power such as solar power, wind power or utility electricity ([0039] of Hsiao).
As to claim 12, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the method of operating the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 11, wherein the electrical energy of the battery cell is released to the battery link through the isolated DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 and [0013] of Tofigh The transformer 104 can be used to redistribute energy from highly charged cells, or overcharged cells, to lower charged cells).
As to claim 13, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the method of operating the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 11.
Tofigh does not disclose/teach wherein the battery cell balance circuit further comprises: an AC/DC converter, configured to receive an AC power and convert the AC power into the DC power, wherein the circuit switch is coupled to the AC power through the AC/DC converter.
Hsiao teaches wherein the battery cell balance circuit further comprises: an AC/DC converter, configured to receive an AC power and convert the AC power into the DC power (external balancing power 10. [0031] The external balancing power 10 originates from renewable energy or utility electricity, and it is supplied by an external power supply. Examiner takes official notice that utility electricity is AC power. Since external balancing power 10 charges battery cells 31 ([0041] delivering a first current 11 from the external balancing power 10 to the series-charging the battery 30), then Hsiao suggests and AC/DC converter converts the utility power to DC power to charge the cells), wherein the circuit switch is coupled to the AC power through the AC/DC converter (Fig. 2 element 50).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Tofigh to wherein the battery cell balance circuit further comprises: an AC/DC converter, configured to receive an AC power and convert the AC power into the DC power, wherein the circuit switch is coupled to the AC power through the AC/DC converter in order to have the ability to charge the cells using external power such as solar power, wind power or utility electricity ([0039] of Hsiao).
As to claim 15, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the method of operating the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 11, wherein the switches comprise a plurality of switch units (Fig. 2 of Hsiao switch components 61, 62), the positive end of each of the battery cells respectively connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), and second ends of the switch units jointly connected to a positive end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), the negative end of each of the battery cells respectively connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), and second ends of the switch units jointly connected to a negative end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao).
As to claim 16, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the method of operating the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 11, wherein the switches comprise a plurality of switch units and a switch assembly (Fig. 2 of Hsiao switch components 61, 62), a positive end of a first battery cell of the battery cells connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), a negative end of a last battery cell of the battery cells connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), and the positive end and the negative end of the middle battery cells jointly connected to a first end of one switch unit (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), the switch assembly comprises a plurality of switching switch units (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), wherein second ends of the switch units are correspondingly connected to the switching switch units so that the positive ends of the battery cells are correspondingly connected to a positive end of the DC power and the negative ends of the battery cells are correspondingly connected to a negative end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao).
Claims 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofigh (US 20110140663) in view of Hsiao (US 20180152028) in view of Liu (US 20220060031).
As to claim 4, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 1 wherein a first positive end of each of the switches connected to a positive end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao switch components 61, 62 ), and a first negative end of each of the switches connected to a negative end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), a second positive end of each of the switches correspondingly connected to a positive end of the battery cell (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), and a second negative end of the switches correspondingly connected to a negative end of the battery cell (Fig. 2 of Hsiao).
Tofigh does not teach wherein the switches are electromagnetic relays.
Liu teaches wherein the switches are electromagnetic relays ([0061] The electric control switch may be one of devices such as an electromagnetic relay,
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the switches to include electromagnetic relays in order to be able to control the switching circuits with a low energy/low power switch.
As to claim 14, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the method of operating the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 11, a first positive end of each of the switches connected to a positive end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao switch components 61, 62 ), and a first negative end of each of the switches connected to a negative end of the DC power (Fig. 2 of Hsiao), a second positive end of each of the switches correspondingly connected to a positive end of the battery cell (Fig. 2 of Hsiao),, and a second negative end of the switches correspondingly connected to a negative end of the battery cell(Fig. 2 of Hsiao).
Tofigh does not teach wherein the switches are electromagnetic relays.
Liu teaches wherein the switches are electromagnetic relays ([0061] The electric control switch may be one of devices such as an electromagnetic relay,
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the switches to include electromagnetic relays in order to be able to control the switching circuits with a low energy/low power switch.
Claims 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofigh (US 20110140663) in view of Hsiao (US 20180152028) in view of Ye (US 20170063251).
As to claim 7, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 1.
Tofigh does not teach wherein the AC/DC converter comprises an AC/DC conversion circuit and a non-isolated DC/DC conversion circuit.
Ye teaches wherein the AC/DC converter comprises an AC/DC conversion circuit (Fig. 7 elements 710,720) and a non-isolated DC/DC conversion circuit ([0094] and Fig. 7 the AC/DC converter 700 includes … non-isolated DC/DC converter will reflect the AC/DC converter's output voltage level demanded by the load)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AC/DC converter of Tofigh in view of Hsiao to comprise an AC/DC conversion circuit and a non-isolated DC/DC conversion circuit in order to convert to the DC voltage without using large and expensive isolation transformers.
As to claim 8, Tofigh in view of Hsiao in view of Ye teaches the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 7, wherein the non-isolated DC/DC conversion circuit is a buck conversion circuit ([0083] and [0094]) comprising two switches and one inductor (Buck conversion circuits created with two switches and an inductor is an old and well known, and reliable method of creating the circuit. Examiner takes official notice that a buck conversion circuit comprises two switches and an inductor).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofigh (US 20110140663) in view of Hsiao (US 20180152028) in view of Park (US 20200203702).
As to claim 10, Tofigh in view of Hsiao teaches the battery cell balance circuit as claimed in claim 1.
Tofigh does not teach a plurality of over-current protection components correspondingly connected between the switches and the battery cells.
Choi teaches a plurality of over-current protection components correspondingly connected between the switches and the battery cells (Fig. 3 element 400).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery cell balance circuit to comprise a plurality of over-current protection components correspondingly connected between the switches and the battery cells in order to cut off a flow of an excessive current exceeding a rated current [0040].
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859