Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on August 7, 2025 amends claims 1, 8-9, 16, 18, and 20-22. Claims 1-9, 11, and 14-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s claim amendments and corresponding arguments in the Remarks have been fully considered and are considered moot and/or unpersuasive as shown in the rejections that follow. The newly presented claim limitations in the independent claims are taught by newly presented reference, Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843), in combination with the previously cited references, in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings are not of sufficient quality to permit examination and some of the text and drawings in the figures are of poor quality or too small, and are illegible. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 14-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2022/0182453) in view of Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843) and further in view of Neighbor Awareness Networking Specification Version 3.0, December 10, 2018, Wi-Fi Alliance (hereinafter “NAN Specification”).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a method for monitoring an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising: acquiring, by a processor of the UAV, a UAV monitoring message, (see Jung at the Abstract, in conjunction with Fig. 5, which discloses an electronic device, such as a network awareness networking (NAN) device, and a service discovery method in which the device includes a processor operatively connected to at least one communication module, and a memory operatively connected with the at least one communication module and the processor; see Jung at [0045] which discloses that examples of the electronic device may include drones; Examiner maps drone to UAV; see Jung at [0150 - 0151] which discloses how NAN devices may identify service group information transmitted from other devices and that the devices (e.g., the second NAN device 202 or the third NAN device 203) in the NAN cluster 200 identify the obtained service group information and, if the information about the corresponding device is not included, control to deactivate NAN communication in the corresponding device; see Jung at [0156] which discloses that the electronic device 500 may identify the start of a Wi-Fi aware service and that the Wi-Fi aware service may include various services (which include peripheral device information) between adjacent electronic devices through low-power NAN communication based on a Wi-Fi infrastructure; see Jung at [0159] which discloses that in operation 940, the electronic device 500 may perform service discovery for the devices in the NAN cluster; see Jung at [0161] which discloses that the electronic device 500 may transmit the service group information message to the devices included in the list; Examiner notes that the various messages transmitted by way of discovery based on SDF transmissions of the NAN devices in a NAN cluster correspond to one or more UAV monitoring messages.)
composing, by the processor of the UAV, a Service Discovery Frame (SDF) carrying the UAV monitoring message, the SDF being compliant with a Neighbor Awareness Networking (NAN) protocol; (see Jung at [0012] which discloses that the memory may store instructions configured to, when executed, enable the processor to configure a neighbor awareness network (NAN) cluster communicating with a plurality of external electronic devices based on a first communication protocol; see Jung at [0070] which discloses NAN devices in a NAN cluster 200 performing time synchronization for performing a low-power discovery technology in the Wi-Fi standard and that time synchronization is a technology that allows beacons or service discovery frames (SDFs) to be exchanged therebetween in the same discovery window (DW) period; see Jung at [0091] which further discloses that according to various embodiments of the disclosure, when the NAN cluster 200 is composed, the electronic device 500 may transmit an SDF including service group information to the NAN devices (e.g., 201, 202, 203, or 204) of the NAN cluster 200 and that when the obtained service group information does not include information about the corresponding device, the devices receiving the SDF may make a setting so that NAN communication is deactivated.)
broadcasting, by the UAV, the SDF carrying the UAV monitoring message; (see Jung at [0044 - 0045] which discloses that examples of the electronic device may include drones among other things; see Jung at [0161] which discloses that the electronic device 500 may transmit the service group information message to the devices included in the list; see Jung at [0162] which discloses that the service group information message may be transmitted, with the service group information included in the field set as 'reserved' in each frame when it is transmitted in the form of an SDF or NAF; see Jung at [0162] which discloses that the service group information may be set for devices identified as service target devices. Examiner notes that transmitting the service group information to the devices included in the list or to devices identified as service target devices corresponds to broadcasting, by the UAV, the SDF carrying the UAV monitoring messages.)
Jung does not expressly disclose wherein the UAV monitoring message includes pilot information of the UAV which in a related art, Gordaychik teaches (see Gordaychik at [0018], for example, which discloses that the capability ID may also indicate non cellular specific information such as a high level device type, for example, a vehicle or drone and in this way, vehicle specific information may be included, i.e. car, motorcycle, vessel or the like; see Gordaychik at [0131] which discloses that vehicles may indicate capabilities to a network including engine capabilities, communication capabilities, operator information and that vehicles which are grouped closely together and share the same characteristics may receive group messaging indications or data … based on sensor readings or information provided. Examiner maps drone to UAV. Examiner maps operator information to pilot information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include wherein the UAV monitoring message includes pilot information of the UAV, as taught by Gordaychik.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to indicate capabilities to a network which include operator information, as suggested by Gordaychik at [0131].
The modified Jung does not expressly disclose broadcasting, by the UAV, the SDF carrying the UAV monitoring message in a predetermined frequency channel, which in a related art, the NAN Specification teaches (see NAN Specification at page 30, which discloses that NAN Discovery shall operate only in channel 6 (2.437 Ghz) in the 2.4 Ghz frequency band. Examiner notes that the NAN specification or standard discloses channel 6 (2.437 Ghz) to be a predetermined frequency channel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to broadcasting by the UAV, the SDF carrying the UAV monitoring message in a predetermined frequency channel, as taught by NAN Specification.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide a mechanism for devices to synchronize the time and channel on which they converge to facilitate the discovery of services, as suggested by NAN Specification at page 30.
Independent claim 20 is directed to a system comprising the steps recited in claim 1 and, as a consequence, is rejected for the same reasons used in the rejection of claim 1 above. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the system of claim 20.
Regarding independent claim 20, the modified Jung further teaches:
a user terminal (see Jung at [0044] which discloses that examples of the electronic device according to embodiments of the present disclosure may include at least one of a smart phone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile phone, a video phone, an e-book reader, a desktop PC, a laptop computer, a netbook computer, a workstation, a server, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable multimedia player (PMP), a moving picture experts group (MPEG-1 or MPEG-2) audio layer 3 (MP3), a medical device, a camera, or a wearable device. Examiner notes that any one of the foregoing electronic devices, such as a mobile phone, maps to a user terminal.)
receive the broadcast SDF (see Jung at [0044] which discloses that examples of the electronic device may include at least one of a smart phone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile phone, a video phone, etc.; see Jung at [0048] which discloses that the electronic device 101 may include an input device 150; also see Jung at [0163] which discloses that when a service group information message including changed information is obtained, the electronic device 500 may update information about the stored service group information message. Examiner notes that obtaining service group information messages including changed information corresponds to receiving a broadcasted SDF.)
acquire the UAV monitoring message from the received SDF; and output the UAV monitoring message through an interface of the user terminal (see Jung at [0093] which discloses that according to various embodiments of the disclosure, the electronic device 500 may perform NAN communication with the device selected by the user among the at least one external electronic device output and that, for example, the NAN communication may include a function of sharing data with the selected device; Examiner notes that performing NAN communication between devices corresponds to sending and acquiring messages. Also, see Jung at [0098] which discloses that according to various embodiments of the disclosure, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101 or 500 or the first NAN device 201) may further comprise a display device 160 and that the instructions may be configured to enable the processor 120 to control the display device to output information about the plurality of external electronic devices and control the at least one communication module to transmit the service group information message based on identifying a user's selection input for the service target device among the plurality of external electronic devices through the display device; see Jung at [0211] which discloses that according to various embodiments of the disclosure, the first NAN device 201 may output a list of NAN devices (e.g., 202,203 or 204) searched based on the device information and may identify at least one device selected by the user from the output list as a service target device; see Jung at [0058] in conjunction with Fig. 1 which discloses that the interface 177 may support one or more specified protocols to be used for the electronic device 101 to be coupled with the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102) directly (e.g., wiredly) or wirelessly and that according to an embodiment, the interface 177 may include, for example, a high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), a universal serial bus (USB) interface, a secure digital (SD) card interface, or an audio interface.)
Independent claim 21 is directed to a UAV comprising the steps recited in claim 1 and, as a consequence, is rejected for the same reasons used in the rejection of claim 1 above. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the UAV of claim 21.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: composing the Service Discovery Frame (SDF) includes writing the UAV monitoring message into a NAN Attribute field of the SDF (see Jung at [0181] which discloses that according to various embodiments of the disclosure, the NAN SDF may include a 'NAN attributes' field indicating service information and that, for example, 'NAN attributes' may include at least one attribute including information for service performance. Examiner notes that NAN attributes are written into a NAN attribute field.)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Jung teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein: composing the Service Discovery Frame (SDF) includes writing the UAV monitoring message into a Service Info field of the NAN Attribute field of the SDF (see Jung at [0191] in conjunction with Table 8 which discloses an Attribute ID field which identifies the type of NAN attribute and a ‘Service Info’ field of the SDA which may include information about an operation to be performed by the NAN device; see Jung at [0194] which discloses that the ‘service info’ field includes information about the device included in the NAN cluster. Examiner notes that information is written into a service info field of a NAN attribute field.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: broadcasting the SDF carrying the UAV monitoring message includes broadcasting the SDF in a 2.437GHz wireless frequency channel (see Jung at [0074] which discloses that the NAN cluster 200 may use channel 6 of the 2.4 GHz band as a common channel; see the specification at [0095] which discloses that the NAN protocol specification may cause the SDF to be transmitted in channel 6 (2.437 GHz) of the 2.4 GHz band. Thus, Examiner notes that channel 6 corresponds to 2.437 Ghz.)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein broadcasting the SDF comprises periodically broadcasting the SDF with a fixed repetition frequency (see Jung at [0161] which discloses that the electronic device 500 may transmit the service group information message to the devices included in the list; see Jung at [0166] which discloses that for example, the electronic device 500 may repeatedly perform service discovery as a DW period arrives according to the NAN cluster operation.)
Regarding claim 14, the modified Jung teaches the system according to claim 20, wherein the user terminal is further configured to: subscribe to a NAN Service via a software application installed on the user terminal; and activate, by running the software application installed on the user terminal, the user terminal to scan one or more wireless frequency channels pre-defined by the subscribed NAN Service to cause the user terminal to receive the broadcasted SDF (see Jung at [0044] which discloses that examples of the electronic device according to embodiments of the present disclosure may include at least one of a smart phone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile phone, a video phone; see Jung at [0048], in conjunction with Fig. 1, which discloses that the electronic device comprises a communication module 190; see Jung at [0051] which discloses that the memory 130 may store various data used by at least one component (e.g., the processor 120 or the sensor module 176) of the electronic device 101 and that the various data may include, for example, software (e.g., the program 140) and input data or output data for a command related thereto; see Jung at [0051] which discloses that the program 140 may be stored in the memory 130 as software, and may include, for example, an operating system (OS) 142, middleware 144, or an application 146; see Jung at [0064] which discloses that the communication module 190 may support establishing a direct (e.g., wired) communication channel or a wireless communication channel between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device (e.g., the external electronic device 102, the external electronic device 104, or the server 108) and performing communication via the established communication channel; see Jung at [0145] which discloses that in operation 850, the first NAN device 201 may transmit a subscription-type SDF to the second NAN device 202 and the third NAN device 203 through NAN communication and that for example, the subscription message may be a message requesting to transmit a publish message to NAN devices operating in the NAN cluster; see Jung at [0073] and at [0079] which discloses that the electronic device 101 performs a passive scan.)
Regarding claim 15, the modified Jung teaches the system according to claim 14, wherein the user terminal is further configured to: configure a Service Name data field of the software application to match a Service Name data field of the SDF broadcasted by the UAV, or configure a Service ID data field of the software application to match a Service ID data field of the SDF broadcasted by the UAV (see Jung at [0112] which discloses that according to various embodiments of the disclosure, the service information may include a service name and that the NAN devices may identify whether the service name obtained from the received BLE TDS packet corresponds to the service name set in the scan filter.)
Regarding claim 17, the modified Jung teaches the system according to claim 16, wherein: the UAV monitoring message further includes a type of the UAV; and the user terminal is further configured to display a first icon in response to the UAV being a first type of UAV; and display a second icon in response to the UAV being a second type of UAV (see Jung at [0126] which discloses that according to various embodiments, if the device 701 in the provider mode is a known device, additional information (e.g., user name) corresponding to the device 701 in the provider mode, along with the designated icon, may be displayed on the screen; Examiner notes that the additional information along with the designated icon corresponds to displaying a first icon if the UAV is a first type of UAV; and displaying a second icon if the UAV is a second type of UAV.)
Regarding claim 18, the modified Jung teaches the system according to claim 20, wherein the user terminal is further configured to display one of more of: an operational status of the UAV, a longitude coordinate of the UAV, a latitude coordinate of the UAV, an altitude of the UAV according to the WGS 84 standard, a height of the UAV according to the barometer unit, a vertical speed of the UAV, a horizontal speed of the UAV, a type of the UAV, identification information of the UAV, a flight plan of the UAV, the pilot information, and a take-off location (see Jung at Table 6 which discloses NAN availability, Device Capability, etc. Examiner maps NAN availability, for example, to an operational status of the UAV. Examiner previous showed that Jung at [0045] discloses that examples of the electronic device may include drones; Examiner mapped drone to UAV.)
Regarding claim 19, the modified Jung teaches the system according to claim 20, wherein the user terminal is further configured to: calculate, based on the UAV monitoring message, one or more of: a UAV-to-controller distance according to a current position of the UAV and a current position of a remote controller of the UAV; a UAV-to-take-off distance according to a current position of the UAV and a take-off position of the UAV; and a UAV-to-terminal distance according to a current position of the UAV and a current position of the user terminal; and display one or more of: the UAV-to-controller distance, the UAV-to-take-off distance, and the UAV-to-terminal distance through the interface (see Jung at [02312] which discloses that according to various embodiments of the disclosure, the service discovery result display area 1320 may display at least one NAN device searched as service discovery is performed and that for example, the at least one NAN device may be a peripheral device searched by exchanging NAN SDFs and may be displayed in order of distance from the electronic device 500.)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2022/0182453) in view of Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843) in view of Neighbor Awareness Networking Specification Version 3.0, December 10, 2018, Wi-Fi Alliance (hereinafter “NAN Specification) and further in view of Valdes Garcia et al. (US 2018/0115065).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Jung discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein: broadcasting the SDF carrying the UAV monitoring message (see Jung, for example, which discloses see Jung at [0161] which discloses that the electronic device 500 may transmit the service group information message to the devices included in the list). The modified Jung does not expressly disclose includes broadcasting the SDF through an omnidirectional antenna, which in a related art, Valdes Garcia teaches (see Valdes Garcia at [0015] which discloses that according to a further embodiment of the disclosure, the MIMO antenna is one of an omni or a directional antenna; see Valdes Garcia at [0031] which discloses a UAV/drone 20 that includes one or more millimeter-wave single channel radios 21 and an omni-directional mobile or Wi-Fi transceiver 24.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include broadcasting the SDF through an omnidirectional antenna, as taught by Valdes Garcia.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide a UAV that includes a multi-antenna system that can communicate with an operator and the base station, as suggested by Valdes Garcia at [0014] and at [0031].
Claims 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2022/0182453) in view of Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843) in view of Neighbor Awareness Networking Specification Version 3.0, December 10, 2018, Wi-Fi Alliance (hereinafter “NAN Specification) and further in view of Segev et al. (US 9,763,073).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Jung discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein broadcasting the SDF comprises periodically broadcasting the SDF (see Jung at [0161] which discloses that the electronic device 500 may transmit the service group information message to the devices included in the list; see Jung at [0166] which discloses that for example, the electronic device 500 may repeatedly perform service discovery as a DW period arrives according to the NAN cluster operation.)
The modified Jung does not expressly disclose with a time-varying repetition frequency correlated to a flight speed of the UAV, which in a related art, Segev teaches (see Segev at col. 5 lines 13-23 which discloses: In such instances, the rate and accuracy of FTM range determinations (resulting from FTM range procedures triggered within NAN discovery windows) may affect the performance of applications executing on a wireless station. For example, an application may expect a relatively high rate of range determinations to meet a specific level of responsiveness and performance. Additionally, a mobile wireless station moving at or greater than a minimum speed toward another wireless station may desire a higher rate of range determinations for improved range accuracy.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include a time-varying repetition frequency correlated to a flight speed of the UAV, as taught by Segev.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide improved range accuracy, as suggested by Segev at col. 5 lines 21-23.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the UAV monitoring message includes a static message and a dynamic message; (see Jung at Table 8 which discloses an Attribute ID which identifies the type of NAN attribute; Examiner maps the NAN attribute to a static message; see Jung at Table 6 which discloses a ranging attribute, cluster discovery attribute, capability attribute, etc.; Examiner maps one of the ranging attribute, cluster discovery attribute, and capability attribute to the dynamic message.)
and broadcasting the SDF carrying the UAV monitoring message includes: (see Jung at [0160-0163], for example, as was previously shown by the Examiner.)
The modified Jung does not expressly disclose broadcasting a first SDF carrying the static message at a first repetition frequency; and broadcasting a second SDF carrying the dynamic message at a second repetition frequency different from the first repetition frequency which, in a related art, Segev teaches (see Segev at col. 5 lines 24-51 which discloses that another wireless station may respond in the indicated discovery window to enable the wireless stations to obtain FTM range measurements at a desired time and, in some embodiments, at a desired rate; Examiner maps the desired rate to broadcasting first/second SDFs carrying the static/dynamic message at first/second repetition frequencies. Examiner notes that enabling wireless stations to obtain FTM range measurements at a desired time and desired rate corresponds to being able to broadcast data at a particular rate or frequency at any particular time, such as broadcasting a first message at a first repetition frequency and a second message at a second repetition frequency, in which the second repetition frequency is different from the first repetition frequency.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include broadcasting a first SDF carrying the static message at a first repetition frequency; and broadcasting a second SDF carrying the dynamic message at a second repetition frequency different from the first repetition frequency, as taught by Segev.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to optimize responsiveness (e.g., the range measurement rate) vs. power consumption, as suggested by Segev at col. 5 lines 39-41).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Jung teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the first repetition frequency and the second repetition frequency are time-varying frequencies corresponding to a flight speed of the UAV (see Segev at col. 5 lines 13-23 which discloses: In such instances, the rate and accuracy of FTM range determinations (resulting from FTM range procedures triggered within NAN discovery windows) may affect the performance of applications executing on a wireless station. For example, an application may expect a relatively high rate of range determinations to meet a specific level of responsiveness and performance. Additionally, a mobile wireless station moving at or greater than a minimum speed toward another wireless station may desire a higher rate of range determinations for improved range accuracy; see Segev at col. 5 lines 24-51 which discloses that another wireless station may respond in the indicated discovery window to enable the wireless stations to obtain FTM range measurements at a desired time and, in some embodiments, at a desired rate.)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2022/0182453) in view of Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843) in view of Neighbor Awareness Networking Specification Version 3.0, December 10, 2018, Wi-Fi Alliance (hereinafter “NAN Specification) in view of Segev et al. (US 9,763,073) and further in view of Khoryaev (US 2022/0039080).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Jung teaches the according to claim 8, wherein: the static message includes the pilot information (see Gordaychik at [0018] and at [0131] as previously shown). The modified Jung does not expressly disclose and the dynamic message includes a current flight velocity of the UAV which in a related art Khoryaev teaches (see Khoryaev at [0040], for example, which discloses that as referred to herein, ranging can include signaling to receive or determine geographical location (geo-location/positioning) information such as determining coordinates, a position, or a geographical location / movement / velocity / acceleration or other coordinate data associated with a receiver of another vehicle, node or target device (e.g., another vehicle or V2X node including any one of a UE, drone, vehicle, Internet of Things (IoT) device, or other component / device that can include multiple location technologies, such as radar, lidar, GNSS camera, or sensors that can be used in order to achieve accurate vehicle location and enable autonomous driving applications within LTE or NR networks to assist in accurate vehicle positioning.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include that the dynamic message includes a current flight velocity of the UAV, as taught by Khoryaev.
One would have been motivated to determine velocity or other coordinate data associated with another vehicle, as suggested by Khoryaev at [0040].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2022/0182453) in view of Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843) in view of Neighbor Awareness Networking Specification Version 3.0, December 10, 2018, Wi-Fi Alliance (hereinafter “NAN Specification) in view of Dowlatkhah et al. (US 20107/0242431) and further in view of Gariepy et al. (US 2010/0084513).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Jung teaches the system according to claim 20, wherein: the UAV monitoring message further includes a current position of the UAV; (see Gordaychik at [0133] which discloses that the UE might add in additional information, e.g. location information from WiFi access points, other cellular signals, or even GPS information to determine, based on a look up table for example, a full base station identifier; see Gordaychik at [0228] which discloses that: Fig. 7 illustrates an exemplary UAV or UE or even vehicle which follows a route from a distribution center to a drop off point. In one embodiment, a UAV may maintain a listing of base station identifiers between its origination point and destination point. By maintaining this list, the UAV may be able to save on measurement reporting. In one embodiment, a listing of base stations may be developed via previous flights from origination to destination or from origination to a point beyond the destination. If the UAV is also a radio access node on-board UAV (UxNB), the UAV may participate in negotiating and scheduling transmission blanking intervals, no transmission intervals/periods and reference signals based on location and position signals received from the base stations flown over and that the UxNB may transmit reference signals to indicate location to base stations. Examiner notes that base station identifiers and location and position signals that indicate location to base stations based on the UAV’s route corresponds to including a current position of the UAV.)
The modified Jung does not expressly disclose and the user terminal is further configured to display a map on the interface of the user terminal; and display an icon of the UAV on the map corresponding to the current position of the UAV which in a related art Dowlatkhah teaches (see Dowlatkhah at [0035], for example, which discloses that in some examples, to implement such discovery broadcast mechanisms, the drones 105A-D include their respective discovery information as payload data in discovery messages conforming to a discovery protocol and that the use of a discovery protocol in which the discovery information included by a given one of the drones 105A-D in such a message may include, but is not limited to, one or more of (1) a drone identifier to identify the drone, (2) drone classification information and/or other information describing the drone's capabilities, features, etc., (3) a current location of the drone, (4) origination and destination locations programmed into the drone; see Jung at [0126] in conjunction with Fig. 7A which discloses that according to various embodiments of the disclosure, by identifying the device 701 in the provider mode, the device 703 in the seeker mode may display a designated icon on the screen; see Jung at [0126] which discloses that according to various embodiments, if the device 701 in the provider mode is a known device, additional information (e.g., user name) corresponding to the device 701 in the provider mode, along with the designated icon, may be displayed on the screen; also see Jung at [02312] which discloses that according to various embodiments of the disclosure, the service discovery result display area 1320 may display at least one NAN device searched as service discovery is performed and that for example, the at least one NAN device may be a peripheral device searched by exchanging NAN SDFs and may be displayed in order of distance from the electronic device 500.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include wherein: the UAV monitoring message includes the current position of the UAV; and the user terminal is further configured to display a map on the interface of the user terminal; and display an icon of the UAV on the map corresponding to the current position of the UAV, as taught by Dowlatkhah.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to monitor the current locations of drones along their respective flight paths, as suggested by Dowlatkhah at [0034].
The modified Jung does not expressly disclose and the method further comprises: displaying a map on the interface of the user terminal, which in a related art, Gariepy teaches (see Gariepy at [0067] which discloses that the user interface processor 350 may receive the UAV state 420 from the network interface 340 and based on the UAV state 420, display a UAV position 440 as the UAV icon 110 at the corresponding location on the map 60 (FIG. 2), which is shown on the first GUI of the touch-screen interface 360.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include displaying a map on the interface of the user terminal, as taught by Gariepy.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to determine the location and orientation of the UAV icon on the map, as suggested by Gariepy at [0074].
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2022/0182453) in view of Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843) in view of Neighbor Awareness Networking Specification Version 3.0, December 10, 2018, Wi-Fi Alliance (hereinafter “NAN Specification) in view of Khoryaev et al. (2022/0039080) and further in view of Berckefeldt et al. (US 2016/0035225).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the UAV monitoring message includes a static message and a dynamic message (see Jung at Table 8 which discloses an Attribute ID which identifies the type of NAN attribute; Examiner maps the NAN attribute to a static message; see Jung at Table 6 which discloses a ranging attribute, cluster discovery attribute, capability attribute, etc.; Examiner mapped one of the ranging attribute, cluster discovery attribute, and capability attribute to the dynamic message; see Jung at [0070] which discloses NAN devices in a NAN cluster 200 performing time synchronization for performing a low-power discovery technology in the Wi-Fi standard and that time synchronization is a technology that allows beacons or service discovery frames (SDFs) to be exchanged therebetween in the same discovery window (DW) period.)
the static message includes the pilot information (see Gordaychik at [0018], for example, which discloses that the capability ID may also indicate non cellular specific information such as a high level device type, for example, a vehicle or drone and in this way, vehicle specific information may be included, i.e. car, motorcycle, vessel or the like; see Gordaychik at [0131] which discloses that vehicles may indicate capabilities to a network including engine capabilities, communication capabilities, operator information and that vehicles which are grouped closely together and share the same characteristics may receive group messaging indications or data … based on sensor readings or information provided. Examiner maps drone to UAV. Examiner maps operator information to pilot information.)
The modified Jung does not expressly disclose and the dynamic message includes a current flight velocity of the UAV which in a related art Khoryaev teaches (see Khoryaev at [0040], for example, which discloses that as referred to herein, ranging can include signaling to receive or determine geographical location (geo-location/positioning) information such as determining coordinates, a position, or a geographical location / movement / velocity / acceleration or other coordinate data associated with a receiver of another vehicle, node or target device (e.g., another vehicle or V2X node including any one of a UE, drone, vehicle, Internet of Things (IoT) device, or other component / device that can include multiple location technologies, such as radar, lidar, GNSS camera, or sensors that can be used in order to achieve accurate vehicle location and enable autonomous driving applications within LTE or NR networks to assist in accurate vehicle positioning.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include that the dynamic message includes a current flight velocity of the UAV, as taught by Khoryaev.
One would have been motivated to determine velocity or other coordinate data associated with another vehicle, as suggested by Khoryaev at [0040].
The modified Jung does not expressly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein: broadcasting the SDF carrying the UAV monitoring message includes: broadcasting a first SDF carrying the static message at a first repetition frequency; and broadcasting a second SDF carrying the dynamic message at a second repetition frequency higher than the first repetition frequency which in a related art, Berckefeldt teaches (see Berckefeldt at [0023] which discloses that aircraft 100 may use the same data link system for communicating with compositing system 120 that aircraft 100 may also use for other systems such as a Future Air Navigation System (FANS) system (e.g., FANS 1/A, FANS 2/B) or as an automatic dependent surveillance-contract (ADS-C) system, for example; Examiner notes that ADS is an acronym for automatic dependent surveillance broadcast. Also, see Berckefedlt at [0024] which discloses that air traffic surveillance data is based on ADS-B data and that the air traffic surveillance data compositing system 120 may thus receive the ADS-B based air traffic surveillance data from representative aircraft 100; see Berckefeldt at [0024] which discloses that aircraft 100 may transmit ADS-B-based air traffic surveillance data to compositing system 120 at a rate of once every five seconds or every one second, or another value in a comparable range, or other rates in other examples, compared to ADS-C transmissions at a lower rate, such as once every 18 to 20 minutes; see Berckefeldt at [0068] which discloses that an “aircraft” as described and claimed herein may be or include any fixed-wing or rotary-wing aircraft, airship (e.g., dirigible or blimp buoyed by helium or other lighter-than-air gas), suborbital spaceplane or reusable launch vehicle stage, spacecraft, or other type of flying device, and may be crewed or uncrewed (e.g., uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) or flying robot). Examiner maps the transmission of contract related messages over the ADS-C system to broadcasting a first SDF carrying the static message at a first repetition frequency. Examiner maps the transmission of air traffic surveillance data related messages over the ADS-B system to broadcasting a second SDF carrying the dynamic message at a second repetition frequency. Examiner notes that Berckefeldt teaches that the air traffic surveillance data related messages transmitted over the ADS-B system are transmitted at a higher frequency that that of the contract related messages transmitted over the ADS-C system. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language in light of the specification.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include broadcasting the SDF carrying the UAV monitoring message includes: broadcasting a first SDF carrying the static message at a first repetition frequency; and broadcasting a second SDF carrying the dynamic message at a second repetition frequency higher than the first repetition frequency, as taught by Berckefeldt.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to transmit data at different rates, or another value in a comparable range, or other rates in other examples, as suggested by Berckefeldt at [0024]).
Conclusion
/ROY RHEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664