Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 05/18/2026 (“A...”), in which: claims 1 and 5 – 7 are amended; no claims are cancelled; new claim 14 is added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 – 14 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 14 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1 – 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210202628 A1), and further in view of Shin et al. (US 20220320474 A1) and Koezuka et al. (US 20170104090 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Kim (US 20210202628 A1) teaches a display apparatus, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 7; first substrate 111) having a first region (Fig. 7; non-transmissive area NTA) and a second region (Fig. 7; transmissive area TA) outside the first region (Figs. 3 – 4 and 5 – 7);
a first conductive pattern layer (Fig. 7; conductive layer including lines that may be considered as power line PL, e.g., the gate lines GL, VSS(VSSL), or VDD(VDDL. See [0100] and [0120] in relationship to Fig. 3) disposed on the first region of the substrate (Fig. 7), and having a plurality of ... conductive patterns (Fig. 7; lines that may be considered as power line PL, e.g., the gate lines GL, VSS(VSSL), or VDD(VDDL. See [0100] and [0120] in relationship to Figs. 3 and 4) arranged periodically (Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of ... conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer are a plurality of gate lines (Figs. 3 and 7; gate lines GL and power lines PL);
a first insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7; second planarization layer PLN2) disposed on the first conductive pattern layer (Fig. 7) and having a first opening (Fig. 7; opening around the border of the transmissive area TA), wherein the first insulating pattern layer has a first sidewall (Fig. 7; sidewall near border to transmissive area TA) defining the first opening (Fig. 7);
a second conductive pattern layer (Fig. 7; conductive layer including data lines DL) disposed on the first insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7), located in the first region of the substrate (Fig. 7), and having a plurality of ... conductive patterns (Fig. 7; conductive pattern including data lines DL) arranged periodically, wherein the plurality of ... conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer are a plurality of data lines (Fig. 7; data lines DL);
a second insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7; first planarization layer PLN1) disposed on the second conductive pattern layer (Fig. 7) and having a second opening (Fig. 7; opening overlapping with first opening), wherein the second opening is overlapped with the first opening (Fig. 7), and the second insulating pattern layer has a second sidewall defining the second opening (Fig. 7; sidewall near border to transmissive area TA);
...
a plurality of pixel structures (LED structure shown in Fig. 7) disposed on the second insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7), wherein each of the pixel structures comprises an electrode (Fig. 7; anode electrode 120) and a light-emitting element (Fig. 7; organic light emitting layer 130) electrically connected to the electrode (Fig. 7); and
a light-absorbing pattern layer (Fig. 7; bank 125. See [0130]) disposed on the first region of the substrate (Fig. 7), wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer covers the first sidewall (Fig. 7), the second sidewall (Fig. 7) ... and separates the light-shielding conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), the light-absorbing pattern layer has a light-transmitting opening (Fig. 7; opening overlapped with the first opening) overlapped with the first opening (Fig. 7), the second opening(Fig. 7) ... and the light- transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer is located in the second region of the substrate (Fig. 7);
wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer directly covers the first sidewall defining the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7), the second sidewall defining the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer(Fig. 7) and ...
wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer comprises a first sub-sidewall portion (Fig. 7; portion of the bank 125 covering the first planarization film PLN1), the first sub-sidewall portion is parallel to arranged along an extending direction of the plurality of gate lines (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), and the first sub-sidewall portion directly covers the first sidewall of the first insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7) and the second sidewall of the second insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7);
wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer comprises a second sub-sidewall portion (Fig. 7; portion of the bank 125 covering the second planarization film PLN2), the second sub-sidewall portion is parallel to arranged along an extending direction of the plurality of data lines (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), and the second sub-sidewall portion directly covers the first sidewall of the first insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7) and the second sidewall of the second insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7),
wherein the first sidewall of the first insulating pattern layer, the second sidewall of the second insulating pattern layer, and ... are substantially aligned, ... wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer has a plurality of auxiliary openings (Fig. 7; opening including the LED) exposing the light-emitting elements of the pixel structures (Fig. 7), and the light-absorbing pattern layer does not overlap the light-emitting elements of the pixel structures (Fig. 7).
However, Kim remains silent regarding the display apparatus features wherein:
the first and second conductive pattern layers include a plurality of light-shielding conductive patterns; and ...
a light-shielding pattern layer disposed in the first region of the substrate, located between the first conductive pattern layer and the substrate;
a third insulating pattern layer covering the light-shielding pattern layer and disposed between the first conductive pattern layer and the light-shielding pattern layer, wherein the third insulating pattern layer has a third opening overlapped with the first opening and a third sidewall defining the third opening; ...
features of the device including various openings aligning with the third sidewall including wherein the third sidewall defining the third opening of the third insulating pattern layer ...
wherein the light-shielding pattern layer is structurally separated from the light-absorbing pattern layer, ...
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shin (US 20220320474 A1) teaches a display apparatus (Figs. 7 and 9) including a light-shielding pattern layer (Figs. 7 and 9; bottom metal layer 5201/970 (BML) shield from light) disposed in the first region of the substrate (Fig. 7), located between the first conductive pattern layer and the substrate (Figs. 7 and 9; TFT layer/ plurality of insulating films 920); a third insulating pattern layer (Fig. 9; bottom insulation layer over bottom metal layer (BML) 970) covering the light-shielding pattern layer (Figs. 7 and 9) and disposed between the first conductive pattern layer and the light-shielding pattern layer (Fig. 9), wherein the third insulating pattern layer has a third opening overlapped with the first opening (Fig. 7) and a third sidewall defining the third opening (Fig. 7; opening overlapping with the first opening). Examiner asserts that the BML of Shin may be combined with the device of Kim, as Kim’s transistor circuitry would benefit from light-shielding. The combination of Kim, further in view of Shin, would further yield the display apparatus wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer covers the first sidewall (Fig. 7), the second sidewall (Fig. 7) and the third sidewall; and the light-absorbing pattern layer has a light-transmitting opening (Fig. 7; opening overlapped with the first opening) overlapped with the first opening (Fig. 7), the second opening (Fig. 7) and the third opening; wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer directly covers the third sidewall defining the third opening of the third insulating pattern layer; and wherein the light-shielding pattern layer is structurally separated from the light-absorbing pattern layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kim to include Shin’s structure including a light-shielding pattern layer disposed in the first region of the substrate, located between the first conductive pattern layer and the substrate and a third insulating pattern layer covering the light-shielding pattern layer and disposed between the first conductive pattern layer and the light-shielding pattern layer, wherein the third insulating pattern layer has a third opening overlapped with the first opening and a third sidewall defining the third opening, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display apparatus of Kim as modified by Shin’s structure can yield a predictable result of shielding the device circuitry since Shin’s structure is taught to overlap device circuitry. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Koezuka (US 20170104090 A1) teaches a display device wherein conductive lines, e.g., gate electrodes, are made of a light-shielding metal film (e.g., [0238] and [0246] teaches that the light-shielding metal film may be used to form conductors such as 106 and 108). Consistent with the art of record, Koezuka teaches that using a light-shielding metal film for conductive lines allows for protection of transistor circuitry (at least [0238]). Examiner asserts it would be obvious to employ Koezuka’s light-shielding metal film material to modify the plurality of conductive patterns to form a plurality of light-shielding conductive patterns.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kim to include conductive lines formed from a light-shielding metal film, as disclosed by Koezuka, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Koezuka’s conductive lines are comparable to Kim’s because they may carry signals to drive/power device circuitry. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Kim to include conductive lines formed from a light-shielding metal film, as disclosed by Koezuka, with the predictable result of providing more shielding coverage for the device circuitry, such as the active layer of the transistor structures.
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
in a top view of the display apparatus, the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer and the light-shielding conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer are alternately arranged (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7); and the light-absorbing pattern layer further separates the light- shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7).
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer comprises:
a sidewall portion covering the first sidewall of the first insulating pattern layer and the second sidewall of the second insulating pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), separating the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7) and separating the light-shielding conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), wherein the sidewall portion comprises:
the first sub-sidewall portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), wherein, in the top view of the display apparatus, an edge of the first sub-sidewall portion is located outside a corresponding light-shielding conductive pattern of the first conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3); and
the second sub-sidewall portion, wherein, in the top view of the display apparatus, an edge of the second sub-sidewall portion is located outside a corresponding light-shielding conductive pattern of the second conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer further comprises:
a first top portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; a top portion of bank 125) disposed on a top surface of the second insulating pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; top surface of first planarization layer PLN1) facing away from the substrate (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), connected to the first sub-sidewall portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), and overlapped with the corresponding light-shielding conductive pattern of the first conductive pattern layer (e.g., [0123]); and
a second top portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; another top portion of bank 125) disposed on the top surface of the second insulating pattern layer facing away from the substrate (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; top surface of first planarization layer PLN1), connected to the second sub-sidewall portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), and overlapped with the corresponding light-shielding conductive pattern of the second conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7).
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein:
the electrode belongs to a third conductive pattern layer (the conductive pattern layer formed on second planarization layer PLN2 is considered by the examiner to be a third conductive pattern layer), the third conductive pattern layer is disposed on the second insulating pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), the plurality of electrodes of the pixel structures are periodically arranged (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), and the sidewall portion further comprises:
a third sub-sidewall portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; wherein one of the sides of the bank 125 is considered to be a third sub-sidewall portion), wherein, in the top view of the display apparatus, an edge of the third sub-sidewall portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; edge of the bank 125 is considered to be the third sub-sidewall portion) is located outside a corresponding electrode of the third conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7).
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer further comprises:
a third top portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; a top portion of bank 125) disposed on a top surface of the second insulating pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; top surface of first planarization layer PLN1) facing away from the substrate (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), connected to the third sub-sidewall portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7), and partially overlapped with the corresponding electrode of the third conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7).
Regarding dependent Claim 7, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein
the light-shielding pattern shields the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Yielded from the combination of Kim, Shin, and Koezuka) and the light-shielding conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer (Yielded from the combination of Kim, Shin, and Koezuka), and
the light-absorbing pattern layer further covers the third sidewall (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7).
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
an encapsulation layer (Fig. 7; encapsulation layer 150) covering the pixel structures (Fig. 7) and overlapped with the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7), the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7), and the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer (Fig. 7).
Regarding dependent Claim 9, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
an encapsulation layer (Fig. 7; encapsulation layer 150) covering the pixel structures (Fig. 7) and filled in the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7), the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer (Fig. 7), and the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer (Fig. 7).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach display apparatus of claim 1; however, Kim remains silent wherein
the light-absorbing pattern layer does not overlap the electrodes of the pixel structures.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches banks in Fig. 7 (see excerpt below), considered analogous to Kim’s banks 125, i.e., the light-absorbing pattern layer; wherein their banks do not overlap the pixels 662, wherein the pixels 662 are understood to include an anode electrode e.g., ([0177]). Examiner asserts that such a bank configuration is used within the art of display panels including micro-LEDs, OLEDs, LCD, and more.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, to include Shin’s display apparatus structure shown in Fig. 7 wherein a bank structure does not overlap the pixel electrode, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Shin’s bank is comparable to Kim’s bank because they both form a pixel definition layer (often called PDL). Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify [the display apparatus of Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, to include Shin’s display apparatus structure shown in Fig. 7 wherein a bank structure does not overlap the pixel electrode with the predictable result of making assembly of a display apparatus easier, such as when LED structures are added in a stamp/lift-off method.
Claim 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210202628 A1), and further in view of Shin et al. (US 20220320474 A1), Koezuka et al. (US 20170104090 A1), and Bok et al. (US 20210191552 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 10, Kim, further in view of Shin and Koezuka, teach the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first insulating pattern layer comprises:
a first main portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; a portion of the first insulating pattern layer within the emission areas EA, formed around power lines PL/gate lines GL) overlapped with the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7); and ...
However, Kim remains silent regarding:
... a first auxiliary portion located between the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer and in the second region of the substrate;
wherein the first sidewall defining the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer comprises a sidewall of the first main portion and a sidewall of the first auxiliary portion opposite to and spaced apart from each other, and the light-absorbing pattern layer covers the sidewall of the first main portion of the first insulating pattern layer and the sidewall of the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bok teaches a display apparatus, wherein the substrate includes a main display area MDA, i.e., a first region, and a component area CA, i.e., a second region (Fig. 99). Further, the component area CA includes a transmission area TA, i.e., a first opening, that is defined by the side portions of the layers including an inorganic insulating layer IIL, i.e., a first insulating pattern layer, and a planarization layer 117, i.e., a second insulating pattern layer. Further, Bok teaches the dam unit 160 including a first layer 161 and a second layer 163; wherein the first layer 161 includes the same material as the inorganic insulating layer IIL, and the second layer 163 includes the same material as planarization layer 117 (see [0911]. Also see [0383] for discussion of the high light transmittance of the inorganic insulating layer’s IIL material). Thus, examiner understands Bok’s first layer 161 to be a first auxiliary portion located between the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer and in the second region of the substrate. Examiner asserts that Bok’s dam unit 160, including the first auxiliary portion, may be used to modify Kim’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer, such that a dam unit, similar to Bok’s, may be formed from Kim’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer to yield a first insulating pattern layer being in the second region of the substrate.
Further, examiner asserts that Kim, further in view of Shin, Koezuka, and Bok, yield a display apparatus wherein the first sidewall defining the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer comprises a sidewall of the first main portion and a sidewall of the first auxiliary portion opposite to and spaced apart from each other, and the light-absorbing pattern layer covers the sidewall of the first main portion of the first insulating pattern layer and the sidewall of the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer.
The above feature of the light-absorbing pattern layer contacting the sidewalls of the first main portion and the first auxiliary portion is yielded through the separation features taught by Kim’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer. Examiner asserts that Kim’s light-absorbing pattern layer would intervene between the first main portion’s sidewall formed from both Kim’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer and the first auxiliary portions sidewall formed. Thus, the display apparatus feature wherein the first sidewall defining the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer comprises a sidewall of the first main portion and a sidewall of the first auxiliary portion opposite to and spaced apart from each other, and the light-absorbing pattern layer covers the sidewall of the first main portion of the first insulating pattern layer and the sidewall of the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer is naturally yielded from the addition of Bok’s dam unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kim’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer to include a separated portion in the form of a structure disclosed by Bok’s dam unit, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer as modified by Bok’s damn unit can yield a predictable result of preventing defects during manufacturing of the display apparatus since Bok’s dam unit is taught to prevent overflow during formation of an encapsulation layer (Bok: [910]). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 11, Kim, further in view of Shin, Koezuka, and Bok, teach the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein:
the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer is located in the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer (Bok: Fig. 99).
Regarding dependent Claim 12, Kim, further in view of Shin, Koezuka, and Bok, teach the display apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second insulating pattern layer comprises:
a second main portion (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7; portion of the second insulating pattern layer within the emission areas EA, overlapped with power lines PL/gate lines GL) overlapped with the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7) and disposed on the first main portion of the first insulating pattern layer (Figs. 3 – 4 and 7); and
a second auxiliary portion (Bok: Fig. 99; second layer 163 of dam unit 160) disposed on the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer (Yielded from the combination of Kim, Shin, Koezuka, and Bok);
wherein the second sidewall defining the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer comprises a sidewall of the second main portion and a sidewall of the second auxiliary portion opposite to and spaced apart from each other (Yielded from the combination of Kim, Shin, Koezuka, and Bok), and the light-absorbing pattern layer further covers the sidewall of the second main portion of the second insulating pattern layer and the sidewall of the second auxiliary portion of the second insulating pattern layer (Yielded from the combination of Kim, Shin, Koezuka, and Bok).
Regarding dependent Claim 13, Kim, further in view of Shin, Koezuka, and Bok, teach the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein:
the second auxiliary portion of the second insulating pattern layer is located in the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer (Bok: Fig. 99).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20180108685 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20210028262 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20160178972 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20210028244 A1 previously relied upon.
US 12108653 B2 discloses how a shielding/blocking layer/pattern may be formed over sidewalls formed at slanted angles in a display apparatus (Fig. 5).
US 20220005900 A1 discloses relevant structural features to the instant display apparatus.
US 20190074266 A1 discloses relevant structural features to the instant display apparatus.
US 20200251049 A1 teaches similar patterning of structural features for a display apparatus. See Fig. 9A – 9D.
US 20200357954 A1 teaches similar patterning of structural features for a display apparatus. See Fig. 10.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897