Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed October 16th, 2025 (“AMSB”), in which: claims 1 – 3 and 10 are amended; no claims are cancelled; no new claims are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 – 13 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 13 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 20210028262 A1), and further in view of Lo et al. (US 20160178972 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Tanaka teaches a display apparatus, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 4; light transmitting substrate 110) having a first region (Fig. 4; light emitting region 126) and a second region (Fig. 4; light transmitting region 124) outside the first region (Fig. 4);
a first conductive pattern layer (Fig. 4; conductive layer including gate lines 131 is considered to be a first conductive pattern layer) disposed on the first region of the substrate (Fig. 4), and …
a first insulating pattern layer (Fig. 4; first insulating layer 163) disposed on the first conductive pattern layer (Fig. 4) and having a first opening (Fig. 4; first opening 161a), wherein the first insulating pattern layer has a first sidewall (Fig. 4; a side surface 163a of the first insulating layer 163. See [0081]) defining the first opening (Fig. 4);
a second conductive pattern layer (Figs. 4 and 6; the conductive layer including electrode 157 and supply wirings 135 – 137 are considered to be a second conductive pattern layer) disposed on the first insulating pattern layer (Figs. 4 and 6), located in the first region of the substrate (Figs. 4 and 6), and having a plurality of light-shielding conductive patterns (Tanaka teaches in at least [0078] that the supply wirings 135 – 137 reflect external light. Thus, examiner asserts that Tanaka’s supply wiring satisfy a definition of “light shielding”) arranged periodically, wherein the plurality of light-shielding conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer are a plurality of data lines (Tanaka teaches in [0043] that at least supply line 135 is a data line [0043]);
a second insulating pattern layer (Fig. 4; second insulating layer 164) disposed on the second conductive pattern layer and having a second opening (Fig. 4; opening of second insulating layer 164 defined by the side surface 164a), wherein the second opening is overlapped with the first opening (Fig. 4), and the second insulating pattern layer has a second sidewall defining the second opening (Fig. 4; opening of second insulating layer 164 defined by the side surface 164a);
a plurality of pixel structures (Figs. 2 and 4; light emitting elements shown, e.g., light emitting element E1) disposed on the second insulating pattern layer (Fig. 4); and
a light-absorbing pattern layer (Fig. 4; defining layer 165 and first light blocking wall 167 are considered to be a light-absorbing pattern layer. See [0051] – [0052] wherein the defining layer 165 is disclosed to function a light blocking layer) disposed on the first region of the substrate (Fig. 4), wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer at least covers the first sidewall (Fig. 4; wherein a first light blocking wall 167 covers the first sidewall) and the second sidewall (Fig. 4; wherein a first light blocking wall 167 covers the second sidewall) and separates the light-shielding conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer (Examiner understands Tanaka to teach this claim as the defining layer 165, including first light blocking wall 167, to enclose and isolate the light emitting elements E1. See Figs. 2 and 4), the light-absorbing pattern layer has a light-transmitting opening (Figs. 2 and 4; Tanaka’s second region is taught to be the light transmitting region 124, i.e., the light-absorbing pattern layer has a light-transmitting opening) overlapped with the first opening (Figs. 2 and 4) and the second opening (Figs. 2 and 4), and the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer is located in the second region of the substrate (Figs. 2 and 4);
wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer directly covers the first sidewall defining the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer (Fig. 4) and the second sidewall defining the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer (Fig. 4);
wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer comprises a first sub-sidewall portion (Fig. 2; portion of defining layer 165 extending along the X direction in-between the first region and the second region of the substrate), the first sub-sidewall portion is parallel to arranged along an extending direction of the plurality of gate lines ([0056] teaches the gate line to be extending in the X direction), and the first sub-sidewall portion directly covers the first sidewall of the first insulating pattern layer (Figs. 4 and 5) and the second sidewall of the second insulating pattern layer (Figs. 4 and 5);
wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer comprises a second sub-sidewall portion (Fig. 2; portion of defining layer 165 extending along the Y direction in-between adjacent light emitting elements E1), the second sub-sidewall portion is parallel to arranged along an extending direction of the plurality of data lines ([0056] teaches the data lines to be extending in the Y direction), and the second sub-sidewall portion directly covers the first sidewall of the first insulating pattern layer (Figs. 4 and 5) and the second sidewall of the second insulating pattern layer (Figs. 4 and 5).
However, Tanaka remains silent regarding the display apparatus wherein the first conductive pattern layer includes:
… having a plurality of light-shielding conductive patterns arranged periodically, wherein the plurality of light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer are a plurality of gate lines; …
Examiner does note that Tanaka acknowledges a teaching of “the reflection of external light by metal wirings” ([0003]); wherein Tanaka further teaches that the gate lines 131 are formed from a metal material in [0071]. As asserted above, examiner understands the teaching of metal structures, e.g., metals lines/wires/conductive patterns/etc., to be reflective to satisfy a definition of “light shielding”. However, as of the examiner’s current understanding, Tanaka fails to explicitly teach the gate lines 131, formed of metal material ([0071]), as reflecting incident external light.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lo teaches a similar display apparatus wherein they discuss in at least [0016] that their disclosed opaque region T2 includes “light-impassable” features such as scan lines, i.e., scan lines 122. Further, light-impassable is understood refer to opaque, which satisfies a definition of “light shielding”. Thus, examiner is interpreting scan lines 122 to be a light-shielding conductive pattern. Examiner asserts that, within the field of endeavor, scan lines are often associated/equated to gate lines.
Examiner notes that Tanaka explicitly teaches in [0045] that the gate line 131 functions as a scan line. Thus, examiner asserts that it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tanaka, further in view of Lo, to yield gate lines that have a light-shielding feature; such that Tanaka’s first conductive pattern layer may have a plurality of light-shielding conductive patterns arranged periodically, wherein the plurality of light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer are a plurality of gate lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Tanaka’s gate lines to include a light-shielding property, as disclosed by Lo’s scan lines 122, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Lo’s scan lines 122 is comparable to Tanaka’s gate lines 131 because Tanaka explicitly teaches in [0045] that the gate line 131 functions as a scan line. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanaka’s gate lines to include a light-shielding property, as disclosed by Lo’s scan lines 122 with the predictable result of forming a light shielding layer from the gate lines of the device.
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Tanaka, further in view of Lo, teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
in a top view of the display apparatus, the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer and the light-shielding conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer are alternately arranged (Tanaka: Fig. 5 shows the data lines 135 and the gate lines 131 alternately arranged, as best understood from applicant’s instant Fig. 1, i.e., the data lines 135 and the gate lines 131 overlap and cross each other as they extend in orthogonal directions); and the light-absorbing pattern layer further separates the light- shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Figs 4 – 6).
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Tanaka, further in view of Lo, teach the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer comprises:
a sidewall portion covering the first sidewall of the first insulating pattern layer and the second sidewall of the second insulating pattern layer (Tanaka: Figs. 4 and 6), separating the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Figs. 4 – 6) and separating the light-shielding conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Figs. 4 – 6), wherein the sidewall portion comprises:
the[[a]] first sub-sidewall portion, wherein, in the top view of the display apparatus, an edge of the first sub-sidewall portion is located outside a corresponding light-shielding conductive pattern of the first conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Figs. 2 – 6); and
the[[a]] second sub-sidewall portion, wherein, in the top view of the display apparatus, an edge of the second sub-sidewall portion is located outside a corresponding light-shielding conductive pattern of the second conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Figs. 2 – 6).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Tanaka, further in view of Lo, teach the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer further comprises:
a first top portion (Tanaka: Fig. 4; defining layer 165 connected to the first sub-sidewall portion) disposed on a top surface of the second insulating pattern layer facing away from the substrate (Tanaka: Fig. 4), connected to the first sub-sidewall portion (Tanaka: Fig. 4), and overlapped with the corresponding light-shielding conductive pattern of the first conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Fig. 4); and
a second top portion (Tanaka: Fig. 4; defining layer 165 connected to the second sub-sidewall portion) disposed on the top surface of the second insulating pattern layer facing away from the substrate (Tanaka: Fig. 4), connected to the second sub-sidewall portion (Tanaka: Fig. 4), and overlapped with the corresponding light-shielding conductive pattern of the second conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Figs. 2 – 6).
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Tanaka, further in view of Lo, teach the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein:
each of the pixel structures comprises an electrode (Tanaka: Fig. 4 and [0052] teach anode electrode 145) and a light-emitting element (Tanaka: Fig. 4 and [0052] teach light emitting layer 146) electrically connected to the electrode (Tanaka: Fig. 4 and [0052]), the electrode belongs to a third conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: the conductive pattern layer formed on the second insulating layer 164 is considered by the examiner to be a third conductive pattern layer), the third conductive pattern layer is disposed on the second insulating pattern layer (Tanaka: Fig. 4), the plurality of electrodes of the pixel structures are periodically arranged (Tanaka: Fig. 2), and the sidewall portion further comprises:
a third sub-sidewall portion (Tanaka: Figs. 2 and 4 show a second opening 165a being defined by defining layer 165, wherein one of the sides of the defining layer 165 defining the second opening 165a is considered to be a third sub-sidewall portion), wherein, in the top view of the display apparatus, an edge of the third sub-sidewall portion is located outside a corresponding electrode of the third conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Fig. 2).
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Tanaka, further in view of Lo, teach the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the light-absorbing pattern layer further comprises:
a third top portion (Tanaka: Fig. 4; defining layer 165 connected to the third sub-sidewall portion) disposed on the top surface of the second insulating pattern layer facing away from the substrate (Tanaka: Fig. 4), connected to the third sub-sidewall portion (Tanaka: Fig. 4), and partially overlapped with the corresponding electrode of the third conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Fig. 4).
Regarding dependent Claim 7, Tanaka, further in view of Lo, teach the display apparatus of claim 2, further comprising:
a light-shielding pattern layer (Tanaka: Fig. 4; first light blocking layer 161) disposed in the first region of the substrate (Tanaka: Fig. 4), located between the first conductive pattern layer and the substrate (Tanaka: Fig. 4), and shielding the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: [0054] and [0058]) and the light-shielding conductive patterns of the second conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: [0054] and [0058]); and
a third insulating pattern layer (Tanaka: light transmitting insulating layer 162) disposed on the light-shielding pattern layer (Tanaka: Fig. 4) and located between the first conductive pattern layer and the light-shielding pattern layer (Tanaka: Fig. 4) wherein the third insulating pattern layer has a third opening (Tanaka: Fig. 4) overlapped with the first opening (Tanaka: Fig. 4) and a third sidewall defining the third opening (Tanaka: Fig. 4), and the light-absorbing pattern layer further covers the third sidewall (Tanaka: Fig. 4).
Claims 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 20210028262 A1), and further in view of Lo et al. (US 20160178972 A1) and Kim et al. (US 20180108685 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Tanaka, further in view of Lo, teach the display apparatus of claim 1; however, Tanaka remains silent regarding a display apparatus further comprising:
an encapsulation layer covering the pixel structures and overlapped with the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer, the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer, and the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer.
However, Kim teaches, “Although not shown, at least one protection layer or functional layer may be positioned on the common electrode 270” ([0070]). Examiner understands Kim’s at least one protection layer to be an encapsulation layer, which would cover the pixel structure, specifically being in direct contact with the common electrode 270 of the pixel structure. This teaches an encapsulation layer covering the pixel structures and overlapped with the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer, the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer, and the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Tanaka, further in view of Lo, to include Kim’s encapsulation layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display apparatus of Tanaka, further in view of Lo, as modified by Kim’s encapsulation layer can yield a predictable result of providing a protective barrier to sensitive display apparatus elements since encapsulation layers provide protection to sensitive display apparatus elements. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 9, Tanaka, further in view of Lo, teach the display apparatus of claim 1; however, Tanaka remains silent regarding a display device further comprising:
an encapsulation layer covering the pixel structures and filled in the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer, the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer, and the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer.
However, Kim teaches, “Although not shown, at least one protection layer or functional layer may be positioned on the common electrode 270” ([0070]). Examiner understands Kim’s at least one protection layer to be an encapsulation layer, which would cover the pixel structure, specifically the common electrode 270 of the pixel structure. This teaches an encapsulation layer covering the pixel structures and overlapped with the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer, the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer, and the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Tanaka, further in view of Lo, to include Kim’s encapsulation layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display apparatus of Tanaka, further in view of Lo, as modified by Kim’s encapsulation layer can yield a predictable result of providing a protective barrier to sensitive display apparatus elements since encapsulation layers provide protection to sensitive display apparatus elements. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Claim 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 20210028262 A1), and further in view of Lo et al. (US 20160178972 A1) and Bok et al. (US 20210191552 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 10, Tanaka, further in view of Lo, teach the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first insulating pattern layer comprises:
a first main portion (Tanaka: Fig. 4; portion of the first insulating pattern layer formed around and over gate line 131) overlapped with the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Fig. 4); and …
However, Tanaka remains silent regarding:
… a first auxiliary portion located between the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer and in the second region of the substrate;
wherein the first sidewall defining the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer comprises a sidewall of the first main portion and a sidewall of the first auxiliary portion opposite to and spaced apart from each other, and the light-absorbing pattern layer covers the sidewall of the first main portion of the first insulating pattern layer and the sidewall of the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bok teaches a display apparatus, wherein the substrate includes a main display area MDA, i.e., a first region, and a component area CA, i.e., a second region (Fig. 99). Further, the component area CA includes a transmission area TA, i.e., a first opening, that is defined by the side portions of the layers including an inorganic insulating layer IIL, i.e., a first insulating pattern layer, and a planarization layer 117, i.e., a second insulating pattern layer. Further, Bok teaches the dam unit 160 including a first layer 161 and a second layer 163; wherein the first layer 161 includes the same material as the inorganic insulating layer IIL, and the second layer 163 includes the same material as planarization layer 117 (see [0911]. Also see [0383] for discussion of the high light transmittance of the inorganic insulating layer’s IIL material). Thus, examiner understands Bok’s first layer 161 to be a first auxiliary portion located between the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer and in the second region of the substrate. Examiner asserts that Bok’s dam unit 160, including the first auxiliary portion, may be used to modify Tanaka’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer, such that a dam unit, similar to Bok’s, may be formed from Tanaka’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer to yield a first insulating pattern layer being in the second region of the substrate.
Further, in modifying Tanaka’s embodiment shown in Fig. 4, examiner asserts that Tanaka, further in view of Bok, yield a display apparatus wherein the first sidewall defining the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer comprises a sidewall of the first main portion and a sidewall of the first auxiliary portion opposite to and spaced apart from each other, and the light-absorbing pattern layer covers the sidewall of the first main portion of the first insulating pattern layer and the sidewall of the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer.
The above feature of the light-absorbing pattern layer contacting the sidewalls of the first main portion and the first auxiliary portion is yielded through the separation of the dam unit from Tanaka’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer. Examiner asserts that Tanaka’s light-absorbing pattern layer would intervene between the first main portion’s sidewall formed from both Tanaka’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer and the first auxiliary portions sidewall formed from the added dam unit, similar to Bok’s Fig. 99. Thus, the display apparatus feature wherein the first sidewall defining the first opening of the first insulating pattern layer comprises a sidewall of the first main portion and a sidewall of the first auxiliary portion opposite to and spaced apart from each other, and the light-absorbing pattern layer covers the sidewall of the first main portion of the first insulating pattern layer and the sidewall of the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer is naturally yielded from the addition of Bok’s dam unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Tanaka’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer to include a separated portion in the form of a structure disclosed by Bok’s dam unit, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Tanaka’s first insulating pattern layer and second insulating pattern layer as modified by Bok’s damn unit can yield a predictable result of preventing defects during manufacturing of the display apparatus since Bok’s dam unit is taught to prevent overflow during formation of an encapsulation layer (Bok: [910]). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 11, Tanaka, further in view of Lo and Bok, teach the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein:
the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer is located in the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer (Bok: Fig. 99).
Regarding dependent Claim 12, Tanaka, further in view of Lo and Bok, teach the display apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second insulating pattern layer comprises:
a second main portion (Tanaka: Figs. 4 and 6; portion of the second insulating pattern layer formed around and over the data line 135) overlapped with the light-shielding conductive patterns of the first conductive pattern layer (Tanaka: Figs. 4 and 6) and disposed on the first main portion of the first insulating pattern layer (Tanaka: Figs. 4 and 6); and
a second auxiliary portion (Bok: Fig. 99; second layer 163 of dam unit 160) disposed on the first auxiliary portion of the first insulating pattern layer (yielded through the combination of Tanaka, Lo, and Bok);
wherein the second sidewall defining the second opening of the second insulating pattern layer comprises a sidewall of the second main portion and a sidewall of the second auxiliary portion opposite to and spaced apart from each other (yielded through the combination of Tanaka, Lo, and Bok), and the light-absorbing pattern layer further covers the sidewall of the second main portion of the second insulating pattern layer and the sidewall of the second auxiliary portion of the second insulating pattern layer (yielded through the combination of Tanaka, Lo, and Bok).
Regarding dependent Claim 13, Tanaka, further in view of Lo and Bok, teach the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein:
the second auxiliary portion of the second insulating pattern layer is located in the light-transmitting opening of the light-absorbing pattern layer (Bok: Fig. 99).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210028244 A1 previously relied upon
US 12108653 B2 discloses how a shielding/blocking layer/pattern may be formed over sidewalls formed at slanted angles in a display apparatus (Fig. 5).
US 20220005900 A1 discloses relevant structural features to the instant display apparatus.
US 20190074266 A1 discloses relevant structural features to the instant display apparatus.
US 20200251049 A1 teaches similar patterning of structural features for a display apparatus. See Fig. 9A – 9D.
US 20200357954 A1 teaches similar patterning of structural features for a display apparatus. See Fig. 10.
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897