Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on March 26, 2026 have been entered into the file.
Claims 2-4, 9, 11, and 14 are canceled.
Claims 1, 5, and 24 are amended.
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 12-13, and 15-26 are pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested that “bridging the two rows” be amended to “bridging the two rows of bus bars”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 12-13, and 15-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “the cross bus bar element bridging the two rows”. The instant disclosure does not appear to provide support for the cross bus bar element “bridging” the two rows of bus bars. It is noted that the words “bridge”, “bridged”, and “bridging” are not present in the instant disclosure.
Claims 5-8, 10, 12-13, and 15-26 are dependent on claim 1 and therefore, for the reasons outlined with respect to claim 1, these claims also contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C 112, the inventor(s) at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 12-13, and 15-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what is structurally required by the cross bus bar element “bridging” the two rows of bus bars. For example, it is unclear if the cross bus bar element is required to be in physical contact with the two rows of bus bars or in the proximity of the two rows of bus bars, as show in Fig. 2.
Merriam-Webster dictionary defines bridge as “a time, place, or means of connection or transition”. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “bridging” is interpretated as requiring any form of connection or transition between the two rows of bus bars, pending further clarification from applicant.
Claims 5-8, 10, 12-13, and 15-26 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base and fail to cure the deficiencies of said claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 12-13, and 15-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa US 2016/0380318 A1 (US 10,249,917 B2 used for citations) in view of Ikeya (US 2014/0335386 A1) and Lim (EP 3641012 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ichikawa teaches a battery pack (battery assembly, abstract) comprising: a plurality of battery cells arranged in a first direction (a plurality of battery cells, abstract, Fig. 1 “X” direction), each battery cell including a terminal surface on which at least one terminal is formed (Fig. 1 Elements 41, 42); at least one bus bar disposed on the terminal surfaces and electrically connecting different ones of the battery cells (plurality of bus bars which link and connect electrodes, abstract), the at least one bus bar including a first surface facing the terminal surfaces (Fig. 1, surface of the bus bar (element 1) facing the terminal surface in the “Z” direction) and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Fig. 1, surface of the bus bar (element 1) facing element 63 in the “Z” direction), wherein the at least one bus bar comprises a first row of bus bars and a second row of bus bars, the first row of bus bars and the second row of bus bars being adjacent to each other, each of the first row of busbars and the second row of bus bars extending from one end of the plurality of battery cells to an opposite end of the plurality of battery cells (Ichikawa Fig. 1); and a resin cover (elements 61 and 63) formed on the first surface of the at least one bus bar such that the at least one bus bar is embedded in the resin cover (bus bar storing portions, Col. 5 Line 12-13; Fig. 1 Element 61). Ichikawa teaches a cover on the second surface of the at least one bus bar (cover member that covers the busbars, Col. 5 Lines 55-56; Fig. 1 Element 63); however, it is not explicitly stated what the cover member 63 is made of. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the same material for the cover member as was used for the busbar storing portions in order to provide electrical insulation.
Ichikawa further teaches a connection wire electrically connected to the at least one bus bar and arranged on a first plane with the at least one bus bar (control board, Col. 4 lines 47-58, Fig. 1 element 2).
Ichikawa further teaches the resin cover including a first cover resin layer on the first surface of the at least one bus bar on the first plane, the first surface facing the plurality of battery cells (bus bar storing portions, Col. 5 Line 12-13; Fig. 1 Element 61), and a second cover resin layer on the second surface of the at least one bus bar on the first plane, the second surface facing the opposite to the plurality of battery cells (cover member that covers the busbars, Col. 5 Lines 55-56; Fig. 1 Element 63). However, Ichikawa does not explicitly teach that the second cover resin layer (cover member 63) is made of resin. As stated above, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the same material for the cover member as was used for the busbar storing portions in order to provide electrical insulation.
Ichikawa does not teach an insulating sheet between the second cover resin layer and the connection wire.
However, Ikeya teaches a bus bar module to be used with a battery assembly, as in Ichikawa (Ikeya, Paragraph [0006]), and a resin member (Ikeya, element 26) “made of a resin material having an insulative property and flexibility” (Ikeya, Paragraph [0064]) with a portion (Ikeya, element 26a) that covers the connecting wire (Ikeya, circuit side member, element 24) with the purpose of providing insulation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an insulating layer between the second cover resin layer and connection wire (Ichikawa, control board, Fig. 1 element 2) of Ichikawa in order to provide insulation for the connection wire.
Ichikawa further teaches the connection wire (control board, Fig. 1 element 2) arranged at a position not overlapping the at least one bus bar (bus bar, Fig. 1 element 1), the plurality of battery cells arranged in a first direction (Fig.1 “X” direction), and the connection wire (control board, Fig. 1 element 2) extending in the first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction) from a front end (Fig. 1 leftmost battery cell in the “X” direction) to the rear end of the battery pack (Fig. 1 position to the left of where the smoking exhausting duct (Fig.1 element 3) starts).
Modified Ichikawa does not expressly teach a cross bus bar element arranged at the rear end of the battery pack while simultaneously bridging the two rows and connecting two adjacent battery cells together and extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
However, Lim teaches a cross bus bar element located at a rear end of a battery pack that bridges two rows of bus bars and connects adjacent battery cells together (element 178, Lim Fig. 4) in order to prevent or reduce the risk of a short circuit due to high voltage (Lim [0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a cross bus bar element, as taught by Lim, to the battery pack of modified Ichikawa, thus resulting in the cross bus bar element extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and the connection wire not overlapping the cross bus bar element, in order to prevent or reduce the risk short circuits.
Regarding claim 5, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the connection wire (control board, Fig. 1 element 2) between the first row of bus bars and the second row of bus bars (Ichikawa Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1 and 5, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the first and second bus bar elements (Fig. 1 element 1) of the first and the second rows (shown above in Fig. 1 annotated-A, first row and second row) respectively arranged to correspond to a first terminal position and a second terminal position (Fig. 1 elements 41 ,42). As shown in Fig. 1, when the battery pack of Ichikawa is assembled, the bus bar elements are located on top of terminal positions (Fig.1 41, 42).
Regarding claim 7, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1 and 5-6, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1 element 4) arranged in a first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction), and the first and second bus bar elements of the first row are spaces apart from the first and second bus bar elements of the second row in a second direction (Fig. 1 “Y” direction), the second direction crossing the first direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1 and 5-6, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches each battery cell including a vent portion (Fig. 1 element 43), which is arranged between the first and second terminal positions (Fig. 1 elements 41, 42) in the second direction (Fig. 1 “Y” direction). Ichikawa also teaches the connection wire (Fig. 1 element 2) arranged corresponding to the vent portions (Fig. 1 element 43), according to the interpretation described above for the limitation “arranged corresponding to the vent portions”.
Regarding claim 10, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the plurality of battery cells arranged in a first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction), the connection wire (control board, Fig. 1 element 2) arranged at a central position on the place in the second direction (Fig. 1 “Y” direction), the second direction (Fig. 1 “Y” direction) crossing the first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction), and the at least one bus bar (Fig. 1 element 1) arranged at an edge position on the plan in the second direction (Fig. 1 “Y” direction).
Regarding claim 12, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches a third opening formed in the second cover resin layer (Fig. 1 annotated-E). Ichikawa does not teach the insulating sheet between the third opening and the connection wire, and a width of the insulating sheet being greater than a width of the connection wire and greater than a width of the third opening.
However, Ikeya teaches a bus bar module to be used with a battery assembly, as in Ichikawa (Ikeya, Paragraph [0006]), and a resin member (Ikeya, element 26) “made of a resin material having an insulative property and flexibility” (Ikeya, Paragraph [0064]) with a portion (Ikeya, element 26a) that covers the connecting wire (Ikeya, circuit side member, element 24) with the purpose of providing insulation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an insulating layer, with a width greater than the width of the third opening and width of the connection wire, between the second cover resin layer and connection wire (Ichikawa, control board, Fig. 1 element 2) of Ichikawa in order to provide insulation for the connection wire. It would have been obvious to provide the insulative layer such that it has a width greater than the electrical component it is trying to insulate and wider than any openings in the top of the battery pack/module structure in order to provide full insulative coverage in the pack.
Regarding claim 13, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the first cover resin layer (Fig. 1 element 61) including a pair of first openings (Fig. 1 annotated-B), which are respectively formed at a first terminal position (Fig. 1 elements 41,42) and a second terminal position (Fig. 1 elements 41, 42) of each of the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1 element 4).
Regarding claim 15, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1 and 13, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the pair of first openings respectively formed at edge positions in the second direction (Fig. 1 “Y” direction) and corresponding to the first and second terminal positions (Fig. 1 elements 41, 42).
Regarding claim 16, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1, 13, and 15, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the pair of first openings intermittently formed in the first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction) and corresponding to the first and second terminal positions (Fig. 1 elements 41, 42).
Regarding claim 17, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1 and 13, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the first cover resin layer further including a second opening (Fig. 1 annotated-C) formed at a central position between the pair of first openings that are formed at respective edge positions in the second direction (Fig. 1 “Y” direction).
Regarding claim 18, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1, 13, and 17, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the plurality of battery cells arranged in the first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction), and the first cover resin layer comprising first, second, third, and fourth application lines (Fig. 1 annotated-D), which are continuously formed in the first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction) with the pair of first openings and the second opening therebetween (Fig. 1 annotated-D).
Claim 18 is a product-by-process claim (first cover resin layer formed by curing). Although Ichikawa does not teach the first cover resin layer formed by curing, it is noted that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process”. Further, “the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, See MPEP 2113.
The structure resulting from the first resin layer being formed by curing first through fourth application lines, as claimed, is a cover made from a resin. Ichikawa (Fig.1) teaches a resin cover which reads on the structural limitations of the claim. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Ichikawa discloses a resin cover (Fig. 1 element 61) that comprises four application lines (Fig. 1 annotated-D).
Regarding claim 19, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1, 13, and 17, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the second opening (Fig. 1 annotated-D) formed at a position corresponding to vent portions (Fig. 1 annotated-D, element 43) of the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1 annotated-D, element 4).
Regarding claim 20, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1, 13, and 17, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the second cover resin layer (Fig. 1 annotated-E, element 63) including a third opening (Fig. 1 annotated-E) formed at a position corresponding to the second opening (Fig. 1 annotated-E).
Regarding claim 21, Ichikawa in view Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1, 13, 17, and 20, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the plurality of battery cells arranged in the first direction (Fig. 1 “X’ direction), and the second and third openings continuously formed in the first direction (Fig. 1 annotated-E).
Regarding claim 22, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1, 13, 17, and 20, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the plurality of battery cells arranged in the first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction), and the second cover resin layer (Fig. 1 element 63) comprising fifth and sixth application lines (Fig. 1 annotated-F) that are continuously formed in the first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction) with the third opening therebetween (Fig. 1 annotated-F).
Regarding claim 23, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claims 1, 13, 17, 20, and 22, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the fifth application line (Fig. 1 annotated-F) formed on a first application line and a second application line (Fig. 1 annotated-D), which are formed with one of the pair of first openings therebetween, and the sixth application line (Fig. 1 annotated-F) formed on a third application line and a fourth application line (Fig. 1 annotated-D), which are formed with another of the pair of first openings therebetween.
Regarding claim 24, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the at least one bus bar (Fig. 1 element 1) embedded in the resin cover between a first surface of the first cover resin layer (Fig. 1 element 61) and a second surface of the second cover resin layer (Fig. 1 element 63), and the first row of bus bars and the second row of bus bars are coupled to a first terminal and a second terminal (Fig. 1 elements 41, 42), which are disposed on the terminal surfaces (Fig. 1 annotated-G) of the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1 element 4), through a coupling portion (Fig. 1 annotated-G) that is exposed through a first opening of the first cover resin layer (Fig. 1 element 61).
Regarding claim 25, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the first (Fig. 1 element 61) and second (Fig. 1 element 63) cover resin layers continuously connected to each other through at least one space between the plurality of bus bar elements (Fig. 1 annotated-H).
Regarding claim 26, Ichikawa in view of Ikeya and Lim teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Ichikawa further teaches the plurality of bus bar elements including a first bus bar element and a second bus bar element (Fig. 1 annotated-A), which are arranged in different orientations in a second direction (Fig. 1 “Y” direction) and are adjacent to each other in the first direction (Fig. 1 “X” direction), and the first and second cover resin layers continuously connected to each other through at least one space between the first and second bus bar elements (Fig. 1 annotated-H).
Response to Arguments
Response – 112b Rejections
The rejections of claims 1, 5-8, 10, 12-13, and 15-26 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention presented in the Final Rejection dated January 27, 2026 are overcome by applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 5 in the response received March 26, 2026. These rejections are withdrawn.
It is noted that applicant’s amendments to claim 1 necessitate new 112(b) rejections, as described above.
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed March 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 12 of the response, applicant appears to allege that the annotated Fig. 1 presented in the previous office action "appears to show a groove not a cross bus bar element" and does not teach a cross bus bar element that is at a rear end of the battery pack. The annotated Fig. 1 shown on page 6 of the office action depicts an arrow demonstrating the direction of the width of a bus bar and does not "show a groove" as alleged by applicant. On page 13 of the response, applicant appears to allege that Ichikawa does not teach the cross bus bar element bridging the rows.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ichikawa-2020 (US 2020/0020918 A1): appears to disclose a bus bar module for use in a battery assembly comprising a plurality of cells, wherein the bus bar module comprises bus bars that connect battery cell electrodes, a holder to hold the bus bars, and a cover for protection (claim 1, Figs. 3, 18A).
/J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789