DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
The finality of the office action dated 18th December 2025 is withdrawn and replaced with the current office action, and the period of reply is reset to 3 months.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20170195534 A1, hereinafter “Jeong”), modified in view of Wang et al. (US 9291507 B1, hereinafter “Wang”), in view of Yang et al. (US 20240094443 A1, hereinafter “Yang”), in view of Cossu (US 20190004283 A1, hereinafter “Cossu”).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches a focal plane assembly (FPA) comprising:
an array of detectors (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0040], an image sensor 300);
a micro-lens array (MLA) comprising (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0040], a micro lens array 200 including micro lenses 220):
an input surface (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0040] a microlens array 200 including micro lenses 220 has input surface (top)), and an output surface (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0040] a microlens array 200 including micro lenses 220 has output surface (bottom)); and
a mask disposed in a direction perpendicular to the focal plane of the MLA, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise withing the MLA (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0042], blocking regions 130 formed of a black photoresist to absorb the light and formed alternately with the transmission channels).
wherein the MLA comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0062], the metal mask may be formed on a surface of the glass substrate 110, and apertures (to block the light from neighboring channels and image sensor [0058]) may be formed on the other surface of the glass substrate using a metal or a black polymer; Fig. 9F, [0078], an aperture array may be further formed at a lower side of the second substrate 210; The aperture is optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors shown in Fig. 2).
Jeong does not teach,
an input surface configured to receive light; and
an output surface arranged along a focal plane of the MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; and
a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface.
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Wang teaches,
an input surface configured to receive light (Wang; Fig. 5, Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5, top surface of the microlens array 43 (fabrication process is disclosed in column 5 paragraph 1 using laser micro machining or DRIE method directed fabricated on the cap. Hence the top surface of the microlens array will refer to the top surface of cap 42) is receiving the light signal 47 as shown in the figure); and
an output surface arranged along a focal plane of the MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors (Wang; Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5, microlens array 43 is made at the bottom surface of the cap 42 (equivalent to output surface). In this way the sensitivity can be further improved due to more focused IR energy onto the detector elements by increasing the fill factor greatly); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the FPA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to improve the sensitivity due to more focused IR energy onto the detector elements by increasing the fill fact greatly (Wang; Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5).
However, Jeong, as modified in view of Wang, still does not teach,
a mask disposed overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface.
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Yang further teaches,
a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface (Yang; Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0028], the effective imaging area 153 can be reduced by the light absorbing layer 170 which can prevent light from passing through some portions of the microlens 142 and/or microlens surface area 155 (equivalent to absorb stray light and reduce noise within MLA); [0035], the light absorbing layer 170 can be disposed on at least portions of the structured first major surface 144 and can further be disposed at least partially covering regions of the structure first major surface 144 between microlens 142 (equivalent to disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and output surface)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the FPA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that considering a light absorbing layer 170 disposed on portions of a surface to reduce an effective imaging of microlens and further prevent light from passing through some portions of the microlens and/or microlens surface area (Yang; Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0028]).
However, Jeong, as modified in view of Wang, in view of Yang, still does not teach,
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Cossu teaches, wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture (Cossu; Fig. 1, [0002], the cameras includes an objective 1, a matrix array 2 of micro-lenses 20 and a matrix-array detector 3. The objective 1 includes an output pupil 4 (equivalent to mask); clearly seen that the pupil 4 has opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture).
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures (Cossu; Fig. 1, [0002], the cameras includes an objective 1, a matrix array 2 of micro-lenses 20 and a matrix-array detector 3. The objective 1 includes an output pupil 4 (equivalent to mask); clearly seen that pupil 4 overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the FPA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the pupil (equivalent to mask) to block the light outside of the pupil area predictably to reduce noise and constrain the signal to desired microlens array and detector array.
Regarding claim 3, Jeong as modified above teaches the FPA recited in claim 1, wherein the mask limits vignetting of the light focused on the array of detectors (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0062], the metal mask may be formed on a surface of the glass substrate 110 on which a prism is patterned and apertures may be formed on the other surface of the glass substrate using a metal or a black polymer (same as black photoresist). The metal mask has opening align with the central apertures of the microlens and focused on the array of detectors (shown in Fig. 2)).
Jeong does not teach, and the mask overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Cossu teach, and the mask overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures (Cossu; Fig. 1, [0002], the cameras includes an objective 1, a matrix array 2 of micro-lenses 20 and a matrix-array detector 3. The objective 1 includes an output pupil 4 (equivalent to mask); clearly seen that pupil 4 overlaps on the top side at least an half of the outer micro-lens and overlaps on the bottom side at least one and a half of the micro-lens. Though the mask is not overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures, MEPE § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the FPA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures; and the mask overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the pupil (equivalent to mask) to block the light outside of the pupil area predictably to reduce noise and constrain the signal to desired microlens array and detector array. Though the mask is not overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures, MEPE § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts)).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong as modified above teaches the FPA recited in claim 1, wherein the mask is formed of an opaque material and disposed over the outer apertures of the output surface (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0062], the metal mask may be formed on a surface of the glass substrate 110 on which a prism is patterned and apertures may be formed on the other surface of the glass substrate using a metal or a black polymer (same as black photoresist); Fig. 9F, Fig. 9G, [0078], an aperture array may be further formed at a lower side of the second substrate (equivalent to disposed over the outer apertures of the output surface)).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong as modified above teaches the FPA recited in claim 1.
Jeong does not teach,
further comprising a coating disposed over the central apertures and the outer apertures of the output surface.
Wang teaches,
further comprising a coating disposed over the central apertures and the outer apertures of the output surface (Wang; Fig. 6, column 6, paragraph 3, an anti-reflection coating may be deposited on the front and back sides of the cap 42 (includes microlens array) to minimized IR signal lose due to reflection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the FPA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; further comprising a coating disposed over the central apertures and the outer apertures of the output surface taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to deposit an anti-reflection coating on the front and back sides of the cap 42 (includes microlens array) to minimized IR signal lose due to reflection (Wang; Fig. 6, column 6, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 6, Jeong as modified above teaches the FPA recited in claim 1, wherein the mask is formed of an opaque material and disposed over the outer portion of the input surface (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0062], the metal mask may be formed on a surface of the glass substrate 110 on which a prism is patterned and apertures may be formed on the other surface of the glass substrate (equivalent to the input surface of the MLA) using a metal or a black polymer (same as black photoresist); the mask is disposed on top of the input surface of the microlens which equivalent to disposed over the outer portion of the input surface).
Regarding claim 8, Jeong as modified above teaches the FPA recited in claim 1, wherein the MLA is formed with a plano-convex profile with a planar surface formed at one of the input surface and the output surface, and an array of convex optics formed at the other of the input surface and the output surface (Jeong; Fig. 2, micro lens array 200 has one plano surface which face to 2nd substrate 200 and an array of convex optics face the 1st substrate. The microlens from Fig. 2 shows that it is a plano-convex MLA).
Regarding claim 11, Jeong teaches a micro-lens array (MLA) comprising:
an input surface; and an output surface, an array of detectors (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0040] a microlens array 200 including micro lenses 220 has input surface (top), an output surface (bottom), image sensor 300); and
a mask disposed in a direction perpendicular to the focal plane of the MLA, the mask being configured to absorb stray light (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0042], blocking regions 130 formed of a black photoresist to absorb the light and formed alternately with the transmission channels).
central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0062], the metal mask may be formed on a surface of the glass substrate 110, and apertures (to block the light from neighboring channels and image sensor [0058]) may be formed on the other surface of the glass substrate using a metal or a black polymer; Fig. 9F, [0078], an aperture array may be further formed at a lower side of the second substrate 210; The aperture is optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors shown in Fig. 2),
Jeong does not teach,
an input surface configured to receive light; and
an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on an array of detectors; and
a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface.
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Wang teaches,
an input surface configured to receive light (Wang; Fig. 5, Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5, top surface of the microlens array 43 (fabrication process is disclosed in column 5 paragraph 1 using laser micro machining or DRIE method directed fabricated onto the cap. Hence the top surface of the microlens array will refer to the top surface of cap 42) is receiving the light signal 47 as shown in the figure); and
an output surface arranged along a focal plane and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors (Wang; Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5, microlens array 43 is made at the bottom surface of the cap 42 (equivalent to output surface). In this way the sensitivity can be further improved due to more focused IR energy onto the detector elements by increasing the fill factor greatly); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the MLA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to improve the sensitivity due to more focused IR energy onto the detector elements by increasing the fill fact greatly (Wang; Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5).
However, Jeong as modified in view of Wang, still does not teach,
a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface.
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Yang further teaches,
a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface (Yang; Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0028], the effective imaging area 153 can be reduced by the light absorbing layer 170 which can prevent light from passing through some portions of the microlens 142 and/or microlens surface area 155 (equivalent to absorb stray light); [0035], the light absorbing layer 170 can be disposed on at least portions of the structured first major surface 144 and can further be disposed at least partially covering regions of the structure first major surface 144 between microlens 142 (equivalent to disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and output surface)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the MLA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that considering a light absorbing layer 170 disposed on portions of a surface to reduce an effective imaging of microlens and further prevent light from passing through some portions of the microlens and/or microlens surface area (Yang; Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0028]).
However, Jeong, as modified in view of Wang, in view of Yang, still does not teach,
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Cossu teaches, wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture (Cossu; Fig. 1, [0002], the cameras includes an objective 1, a matrix array 2 of micro-lenses 20 and a matrix-array detector 3. The objective 1 includes an output pupil 4 (equivalent to mask); clearly seen that the pupil 4 has opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture).
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures (Cossu; Fig. 1, [0002], the cameras includes an objective 1, a matrix array 2 of micro-lenses 20 and a matrix-array detector 3. The objective 1 includes an output pupil 4 (equivalent to mask); clearly seen that pupil 4 overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to the MLA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the pupil (equivalent to mask) to block the light outside of the pupil area predictably to reduce noise and constrain the signal to desired microlens array and detector array.
Regarding claim 13, Jeong as modified above teaches the MLA recited in claim 11, wherein the mask limits vignetting of the light focused on the array of detectors (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0062], the metal mask may be formed on a surface of the glass substrate 110 on which a prism is patterned and apertures may be formed on the other surface of the glass substrate using a metal or a black polymer (same as black photoresist). The metal mask has opening align with the central apertures of the microlens and focused on the array of detectors (shown in Fig. 2)).
Jeong does not teach, and the mask overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Cossu teach, and the mask overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures (Cossu; Fig. 1, [0002], the cameras includes an objective 1, a matrix array 2 of micro-lenses 20 and a matrix-array detector 3. The objective 1 includes an output pupil 4 (equivalent to mask); clearly seen that pupil 4 overlaps on the top side at least an half of the outer micro-lens and overlaps on the bottom side at least one and a half of the micro-lens. Though the mask is not overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures, MEPE § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the MLA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures; and the mask overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the pupil (equivalent to mask) to block the light outside of the pupil area predictably to reduce noise and constrain the signal to desired microlens array and detector array. Though the mask is not overlaps an entirety of each of a plurality of the outer apertures, MEPE § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts)).
Regarding claim 14, Jeong as modified above teaches the MLA recited in claim 11, wherein the mask is formed of an opaque material and disposed over the outer apertures of the output surface (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0062], the metal mask may be formed on a surface of the glass substrate 110 on which a prism is patterned and apertures may be formed on the other surface of the glass substrate using a metal or a black polymer (same as black photoresist); Fig. 9F, Fig. 9G, [0078], an aperture array may be further formed at a lower side of the second substrate (equivalent to disposed over the outer apertures of the output surface)).
Regarding claim 15, Jeong as modified above teaches the MLA recited in claim 11.
Jeong does not teach,
further comprising a coating disposed over the central apertures and the outer apertures of the output surface.
Wang teaches,
further comprising a coating disposed over the central apertures and the outer apertures of the output surface (Wang; Fig. 6, column 6, paragraph 3, an anti-reflection coating may be deposited on the front and back sides of the cap 42 (includes microlens array) to minimized IR signal lose due to reflection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the MLA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; further comprising a coating disposed over the central apertures and the outer apertures of the output surface taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to deposit an anti-reflection coating on the front and back sides of the cap 42 (includes microlens array) to minimized IR signal lose due to reflection (Wang; Fig. 6, column 6, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 16, Jeong as modified above teaches the MLA recited in claim 11, wherein the mask is formed of an opaque material and disposed over the outer portion of the input surface (Jeong; Fig. 2, [0062], the metal mask may be formed on a surface of the glass substrate 110 on which a prism is patterned and apertures may be formed on the other surface of the glass substrate (equivalent to the input surface of the MLA) using a metal or a black polymer (same as black photoresist); the mask is disposed on top of the input surface of the microlens which equivalent to disposed over the outer portion of the input surface).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong, modified in view of Wang, in view of Yang, in view of Cossu, in view of O'Connell et al. (US 20080314436 A1, hereinafter “O'Connell”).
Regarding claim 7, Jeong as modified above teaches the FPA recited in claim 1.
Jeong does not teach,
further comprising a coating disposed over the input surface, wherein the coating is formed of a partially transmitting material.
O'Connell teaches,
further comprising a coating disposed over the input surface, wherein the coating is formed of a partially transmitting material (O'Connell; [0112], teaches lens 1610 may be coated with a band pass coating or in this case a partial coating that transmits visible light but reflects infrared light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the FPA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu, include further comprising a coating disposed over the input surface, wherein the coating is formed of a partially transmitting material taught by O'Connell with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to coat with a partial coating that transmits visible light but reflects infrared light (O'Connell; [0112]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong, modified in view of Wang, in view of Yang, in view of Cossu, in view of Takayama (US 20090140125 A1, “Takayama”).
Regarding claim 9, Jeong as modified above teaches the FPA as recited in claim 1.
Jeong does not teach,
A receiver module comprising:
a housing with an opening configured to receive light and an outlet opposite the opening and aligned along an optical axis;
at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light; and
an FPA according to claim 1 (recited to claim 1 mapping), wherein the input surface of the MLA is aligned with the at least one lens to receive the light.
Takayama teaches,
A receiver module comprising:
a housing with an opening configured to receive light and an outlet opposite the opening and aligned along an optical axis (Takayama; Fig. 1, [0079], an imaging device 1 is provided with a housing 2 and in a vicinity of a center section of one side surface of the housing 2);
at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light (Takayama; Fig. 1, a lens 3 (supported by housing is shown in figure) to condense image light of an object at a prescribed focal point is provided in a way that a light axis of the lens 3 is orthogonal to the light receiving surface of the image element 5); and
an FPA according to claim 1 (recited to claim 1 mapping), wherein the input surface of the MLA is aligned with the at least one lens to receive the light (Takayama; Fig. 1, [0081], an image area has a micro lens array 7 to improve condensability to the pixels of the imaging elements are provided, the micro lens array 7 is align with lens 3 as shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the FPA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu, include a receiver module comprising: a housing with an opening configured to receive light and an outlet opposite the opening and aligned along an optical axis; at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light; and an FPA according to claim 1, wherein the input surface of the MLA is aligned with the at least one lens to receive the light taught by Takayama with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to enclosed FLA inside a housing with a lens to align all the optical element and image element together and further include a temperature sensor to accurately detected to perform precise temperature compensation and the image device can be minimized as a whole (Takayama, [0015], [0079]-[0081]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong, modified in view of Wang, in view of Yang, in view of Cossu, in view of Takayama, in view of Steinberg et al. (US 20220163633 A1, hereinafter “Steinberg”).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong as modified above teaches the receiver module recited in claim 9.
Jeong does not teach,
A lidar unit comprising:
a transmitter module with at least one emitter configured to emit light pulses away from a vehicle;
a receiver module according to claim 9 (recited to claim 9 mapping), wherein the housing is configured to receive the light reflected off of an object external to the vehicle as reflected light pulses; and
wherein the array of detectors generates a light signal indicative of the reflected light pulses with a high signal-to-noise ratio based on the reduced optical noise present at the array of detectors (recited in claim 1 mapping; Jeong; Fig. 2, [0042]; Yang; Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0028], [0035]).
Steinberg teaches,
A lidar unit comprising:
a transmitter module with at least one emitter configured to emit light pulses away from a vehicle (Steinberg; Fig. 1A, Fig. 2A, [0053], Lidar system 100 including a projecting unit 102 which is associated with a single light source 112 that includes one or more laser diode 202A configured to emit light (204) away from vehicle 110);
a receiver module according to claim 9 (recited to claim 9 mapping), wherein the housing is configured to receive the light reflected off of an object external to the vehicle as reflected light pulses (Steinberg; Fig. 1, Figs. 4A-4E, [0085], at least one sensor 116 (from sensing unit 106) includes detector array 400 to detect object in the field of view; [0048], sensing unit 106 may receive reflections from the surroundings of vehicle 110, and transfer reflections signals indicative of light reflected from objects in field of view 120 to processing unit 108); and
wherein the array of detectors generates a light signal indicative of the reflected light pulses (Steinberg; Fig. 1, Figs. 4A-4E, [0085], at least one sensor 116 (from sensing unit 106, includes microlenses 442 [0097]) includes detector array 400 to detect object in the field of view; [0048], sensing unit 106 may receive reflections from the surroundings of vehicle 110, and transfer reflections signals indicative of light reflected from objects in field of view 120 to processing unit 108) with a high signal-to-noise ratio based on the reduced optical noise present at the array of detectors (recited in claim 1 mapping; Jeong; Fig. 2, [0042]; Yang; Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0028], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the FPA taught by Jeong to include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane of MLA and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors taught by Wang, include a mask disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu, include a receiver module comprising: a housing with an opening configured to receive light and an outlet opposite the opening and aligned along an optical axis; at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light; and an FPA according to claim 1, wherein the input surface of the MLA is aligned with the at least one lens to receive the light taught by Takayama, include A lidar unit with transmitting unit and receiving module to claim 9 and a high signal-to-noise ratio based on the reduced optical noise present at the array of detectors (recited to claim 1) taught by Steinberg with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to include the transmitting module, receiving module with micro lens array (recited in claim 9) includes a high signal-to-noise ratio based on the reduced optical noise present at the array of detectors (recited in claim 1) as a Lidar unit on a vehicle (Steinberg; Fig. 1, Lidar system 100).
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinberg modified in view of Takayama, in view of Wang, in view of Yang, in view of Cossu.
Regarding claim 17, Steinberg teaches a lidar unit comprising:
at least one emitter configured to emit light pulses away from a vehicle (Steinberg; Fig. 1, Fig. 2A, [0053], Lidar system 100 including a projecting unit 102 which is associated with a single light source 112 that includes one or more laser diode 202A configured to emit light (204) away from vehicle 110);
an array of detectors (Steinberg; Fig. 1, Figs. 4A-4E, [0085], at least one sensor 116 (from sensing unit 106) includes detector array 400 to detect object in the field of view);
Steinberg does not teach,
a housing with an opening configured to receive light, and an outlet opposite the opening and aligned along an optical axis;
at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light;
a lens array comprising:
an input surface aligned with the at least one lens and configured to receive the light; and
an array of optics forming an output surface configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; and
a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface in a direction perpendicular to a focal plane of the lens array, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise within the lens array.
wherein the lens array comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors, and
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Takayama teaches,
a housing with an opening configured to receive light, and an outlet opposite the opening and aligned along an optical axis (Takayama; Fig. 1, [0079], an imaging device 1 is provided with a housing 2 and in a vicinity of a center section of one side surface of the housing 2);
at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light (Takayama; Fig. 1, a lens 3 (supported by housing in shown in figure) to condense image light of an object at a prescribed focal point is provided in a way that a light axis of the lens 3 is orthogonal to the light receiving surface of the image element 5);
a lens array (Takayama; Fig. 1, [0081], an image area has a micro lens array 7) comprising:
an input surface aligned with the at least one lens (Takayama; Fig. 1, [0081], an image area has a micro lens array 7 to improve condensability to the pixels of the imaging elements are provided, the micro lens array 7 is align with lens 3 is shown in Fig. 1); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar unit taught by Steinberg to include a housing with an opening configured to receive light and at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light, a lens array comprising an input surface aligned with the at least one lens and configured to receive the light taught by Takayama with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to have a lidar system with a housing structure including microlens array and other lens align in the same optical axis to further minimize the image device as a whole (Takayama, [0015], [0079]-[0081]).
However, Steinberg as modified in view of Takayama, still not teach,
a lens array comprising:
configured to receive the light; and
an array of optics forming an output surface configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; and
a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface in a direction perpendicular to a focal plane of the lens array, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise within the lens array.
wherein the lens array comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors, and
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Wang teaches,
a lens array comprising:
configured to receive the light (Wang; Fig. 5, Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5, top surface of the microlens array 43 (fabrication process is disclosed in column 5 paragraph 1 using laser micro machining or DRIE method directed fabricated onto the cap. Hence the top surface of the microlens array will refer to the top surface of cap 42) is receiving the light signal 47 as shown in the figure); and
an array of optics forming an output surface configured to focus the light on the array of detectors (Wang; Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5, microlens array 43 is made at the bottom surface of the cap 42 (equivalent to output surface). In this way the sensitivity can be further improved due to more focused IR energy onto the detector elements by increasing the fill factor greatly); and
wherein the lens array comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors (Wang; Fig. 5, column 5, paragraph 5, top surface of the microlens array 43 is receiving the light signal 47 as shown in the figure. Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5, microlens array 43 is made at the bottom surface of the cap 42 (equivalent to output surface). In this way the sensitivity can be further improved due to more focused IR energy onto the detector elements by increasing the fill factor greatly; clearly seen from both Fig. 5 and Fig. 6, the micro-lens with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors (2D array 40 of sensors)), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar unit taught by Steinberg to include a housing with an opening configured to receive light and at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light, a lens array comprising an input surface aligned with the at least one lens and configured to receive the light taught by Takayama, include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; wherein the lens array comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors taught by Wang with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to improve the sensitivity due to more focused IR energy onto the related detector elements by increasing the fill fact greatly (Wang; Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5).
Nevertheless, Steinberg as modified in view of Takayama, Wang, still not teach,
a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface in a direction perpendicular to a focal plane of the lens array, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise within the lens array.
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Yang further teaches,
a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface in a direction perpendicular to a focal plane of the lens array, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise within the lens array (Yang; Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0028], the effective imaging area 153 can be reduced by the light absorbing layer 170 which can prevent light from passing through some portions of the microlens 142 and/or microlens surface area 155 (equivalent to absorb stray light and reduce noise within MLA); [0035], the light absorbing layer 170 can be disposed on at least portions of the structured first major surface 144 and can further be disposed at least partially covering regions of the structure first major surface 144 between microlens 142 (equivalent to disposed over an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and output surface)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar unit taught by Steinberg to include a housing with an opening configured to receive light and at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light, a lens array comprising an input surface aligned with the at least one lens and configured to receive the light taught by Takayama, include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; wherein the lens array comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors taught by Wang include a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface in a direction perpendicular to a focal plane of the lens array, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise within the lens array taught by Yang with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that considering a light absorbing layer 170 disposed on portions of a surface to reduce an effective imaging of microlens and further prevent light from passing through some portions of the microlens and/or microlens surface area (Yang; Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0028]).
Still, Steinberg as modified in view of Takayama, Wang, Yang, does not teach,
wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture, and
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures.
Cossu teaches, wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture (Cossu; Fig. 1, [0002], the cameras includes an objective 1, a matrix array 2 of micro-lenses 20 and a matrix-array detector 3. The objective 1 includes an output pupil 4 (equivalent to mask); clearly seen that the pupil 4 has opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture).
wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures (Cossu; Fig. 1, [0002], the cameras includes an objective 1, a matrix array 2 of micro-lenses 20 and a matrix-array detector 3. The objective 1 includes an output pupil 4 (equivalent to mask); clearly seen that pupil 4 overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar unit taught by Steinberg to include a housing with an opening configured to receive light and at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light, a lens array comprising an input surface aligned with the at least one lens and configured to receive the light taught by Takayama, include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; wherein the lens array comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors taught by Wang include a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface in a direction perpendicular to a focal plane of the lens array, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise within the lens array taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the pupil (equivalent to mask) to block the light outside of the pupil area predictably to reduce noise and constrain the signal to desired microlens array and detector array.
Regarding claim 20, Steinberg as modified above teaches the lidar unite as recited in claim 17.
Steinberg does not teach,
wherein the lens array is formed with a planar input surface, and wherein each optic of the array of optics is formed with a convex profile.
Wang teaches,
wherein the lens array is formed with a planar input surface (Wang; Fig. 5, Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5, top surface (equivalent to a planar input surface) of the microlens array 43 (fabrication process is disclosed in column 5 paragraph 1 using laser micro machining or DRIE method directed fabricated onto the cap. Hence the top surface of the microlens array will refer to the top surface of cap 42) is receiving the light signal 47 as shown in the figure), and wherein each optic of the array of optics is formed with a convex profile (Wang; Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5, microlens array 43 (convex structure as shown in Fig. 6) is made at the bottom surface of the cap 42 (equivalent to output surface). In this way the sensitivity can be further improved due to more focused IR energy onto the detector elements by increasing the fill factor greatly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar unit taught by Steinberg to include a housing with an opening configured to receive light and at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light, a lens array comprising an input surface aligned with the at least one lens and configured to receive the light taught by Takayama, include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; wherein the lens array comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors; wherein the lens array is formed with a planar input surface, and wherein each optic of the array of optics is formed with a convex profile taught by Wang include a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface in a direction perpendicular to a focal plane of the lens array, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise within the lens array taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to improve the sensitivity due to more focused IR energy onto the detector elements by increasing the fill fact greatly (Wang; Fig. 6, column 5, paragraph 5).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinberg modified in view of Takayama, in view of Wang, in view of Yang, in view of Cossu, in view of O'Connell.
Regarding claim 18, Steinberg as modified above teaches the lidar unite as recited in claim 17.
Steinberg does not teach,
further comprising a coating disposed over the input surface, wherein the coating is formed of a partially transmitting material.
O'Connell teaches,
further comprising a coating disposed over the input surface, wherein the coating is formed of a partially transmitting material (O'Connell; [0112], teaches lens 1610 may be coated with a band pass coating or in this case a partial coting that transmits visible light but reflects infrared light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar unit taught by Steinberg to include a housing with an opening configured to receive light and at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light, a lens array comprising an input surface aligned with the at least one lens and configured to receive the light taught by Takayama, include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; wherein the lens array comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors taught by Wang include a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface in a direction perpendicular to a focal plane of the lens array, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise within the lens array taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu, include further comprising a coating disposed over the input surface, wherein the coating is formed of a partially transmitting material taught by O'Connell with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to coat with a partial coating that transmits visible light but reflects infrared light (O'Connell; [0112]).
Regarding claim 19, Steinberg as modified above teaches the lidar unite as recited in claim 17.
Steinberg does not teach,
further comprising a coating disposed over the output surface, wherein the coating is formed of a partially transmitting material.
O'Connell teaches,
further comprising a coating disposed over the output surface, wherein the coating is formed of a partially transmitting material (O'Connell; [0112], teaches lens 1610 may be coated with a band pass coating or in this case a partial coting that transmits visible light but reflects infrared light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar unit taught by Steinberg to include a housing with an opening configured to receive light and at least one lens supported by the housing and aligned along the optical axis to focus the light, a lens array comprising an input surface aligned with the at least one lens and configured to receive the light taught by Takayama, include an input surface configured to receive light; and an output surface arranged along a focal plane and configured to focus the light on the array of detectors; wherein the lens array comprises central apertures and outer apertures extending between the input surface and the output surface with each central aperture optically aligned with one detector of the array of detectors taught by Wang include a mask disposed to overlap an outer portion of at least one of the input surface and the output surface in a direction perpendicular to a focal plane of the lens array, the mask being configured to absorb stray light and reduce optical noise within the lens array taught by Yang, include wherein the mask comprises an opening aligned with the central apertures and extending at least across from a center of one central aperture to a center of a neighboring central aperture; wherein the mask overlaps at least a center of each of a plurality of the outer apertures taught by Cossu, include further comprising a coating disposed over the output surface, wherein the coating is formed of a partially transmitting material taught by O'Connell with reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to coat with a partial coating that transmits visible light but reflects infrared light (O'Connell; [0112]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645