Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, 8-10, 14, 17, 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Oh (US-20210367270-A1) is still applied as a secondary reference for claims 8 and 19 because the arguments are not specifically directed towards the electrolyte.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (CN-112993201-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches an electrochemical cell (see e.g., Zhu; [0026] regarding negative electrode used in lithium metal batteries and solid-state batteries) comprising: a solid-state electrolyte (see e.g., Zhu; [0026] regarding negative electrode used in solid-state batteries); lithium metal anode (see e.g., Zhu; [0009], [0047] regarding anode comprising of lithium metal and a lithium polyanionic oxide such as lithium magnesium phosphate powder); and a lithium polyanionic oxide comprising LiMgPO4 (see e.g., Zhu; [0009], [0047] regarding anode comprising of lithium metal and a lithium polyanionic oxide such as lithium magnesium phosphate powder which is LiMgPO4); wherein the lithium polyanionic oxide is at least partially deposited on a surface of the anode (see e.g., Zhu; [0046]-[0047] regarding the lithium magnesium phosphate powder dispersed on the surface of the lithium sheet and rolled using a roller to make the powder adhere to the surface of the lithium metal).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu teaches a solid-state battery (see e.g., Zhu; [0026] regarding negative electrode used in lithium metal batteries and solid-state batteries) comprising: a cathode (see e.g., Zhu; [0065]; In addition to describing that the negative electrode is used in lithium metal and solid-state batteries, Zhu provides an example with the invention of the negative electrode in a button-type symmetrical battery; by definition a battery must include a cathode; symmetrical batteries, which are typically used as a research tool, mean that the cathode is the same material as the anode); a solid-state electrolyte (see e.g., Zhu; [0026] regarding negative electrode used in solid-state batteries); lithium metal foil anode (see e.g., Zhu; [0009], [0047] regarding anode comprising of lithium metal and a lithium polyanionic oxide such as lithium magnesium phosphate powder) comprising an anode current collector (see e.g., Zhu; [0065] Zhu provides an example with the invention of the negative electrode in a button-type symmetrical battery; by definition a battery must include a negative electrode current collector, so even though Zhu does not explicitly disclose what the current collector is, it has to be present in the battery to perform the described charge and discharge tests); and a lithium polyanionic oxide comprising LiMgPO4 (see e.g., Zhu; [0009], [0047] regarding anode comprising of lithium metal and a lithium polyanionic oxide such as lithium magnesium phosphate powder which is LiMgPO4); wherein the lithium polyanionic oxide forms an interfacial layer between the anode current collector and the solid state electrolyte (see e.g., Zhu; [0046]-[0047] regarding the lithium magnesium phosphate powder dispersed on the surface of the lithium sheet and rolled using a roller to make the powder adhere to the surface of the lithium metal, [0065] regarding the material used in the negative electrode which must be between the current collector and the solid-state battery in order to perform the described charge and discharge tests of a button-type battery).
Regarding claim 21, Zhu teaches the electrochemical cell of claim 1, wherein the lithium polyanionic oxide is LiMgPO4 (see e.g., Zhu; [0009], [0047] regarding anode comprising of lithium metal and a lithium polyanionic oxide such as lithium magnesium phosphate powder which is LiMgPO4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9, 13, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN-112993201-A) (see translation) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Gaben (US-20210367224-A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu teaches the electrochemical cell of claim 1. Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the lithium polyanionic oxide is Li3Sc2(PO4)3. However, Gaben teaches a lithium polyanionic oxide comprising Li3Sc2(PO4)3 (see e.g., Gaben; [0027]-[0028], regarding a second layer included in the protective coating layer that may comprise of phosphates such as Li3(Sc2-x Mx)(PO4)3 wherein 0≤x≤1; with x=0, the resulting formula is Li3Sc2(PO4)3). Zhu is analogous art because Zhu also teaches the lithium polyanionic oxide is at least partially deposited on a surface of the anode (see e.g., Gaben; [0027]-[0028], regarding the second layer including the phosphate is deposited on top of the first layer, [0026], regarding the protective coating comprising of the first layer and second layer is in contact with the anode material); the electrolyte may be a solid-state electrolyte (see e.g., Gaben; [0041], regarding multiple types of electrolytes may be used, including all-solid-state electrolyte); the coating may be applied to any type of anode used with lithium-ion batteries (see e.g., Gaben; [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium polyanionic oxide disclosed by Zhu to Li3Sc2(PO4)3 disclosed by Gaben because the protective coating protects the anode from the atmosphere of the environment, and in particular from oxygen, carbon dioxide and humidity (see e.g., Gaben; [0016]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu teaches the electrochemical cell of claim 1. Zhu does not explicitly disclose a cathode including an electroactive material comprising a lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNMC), a lithium iron phosphate (LFP), or a lithium cobalt oxide (LCO). However, Gaben discloses that a cathode for lithium ion batteries (see e.g., Gaben; [0017]) wherein the cathode may comprise of LiMM’PO4 wherein M and M’ may be selected from elements including iron (Fe) (see e.g., Gaben; [0155]) which is a lithium iron phosphate (LFP), and therefore overlaps with the claimed cathode including a material comprising of LiNMC, LFP, or LCO. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Zhu by making the cathode a LFP cathode disclosed by Gaben because this cathode material may have the benefits of making a dense electrode that supplements the battery (see e.g., Gaben; [0056]-[0057]) and is also porous such that it can be electrophoretically deposited from a suspension comprising aggregates of primary nanoparticles (see e.g., Gaben; [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhu teaches the solid-state battery of claim 10. Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the anode current collector comprises a copper current collector. However, Gaben teaches the anode current collector may comprise of copper (see e.g., Gaben; [0022] regarding conductor substrate anode current collector, [0071] wherein the substrate may be copper). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a copper current collector disclosed by Gaben in the battery disclosed by Zhu because it makes it possible to protect the cut edges of the electrodes of batteries from corrosion phenomena (see e.g., Gaben; [0073]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu teaches the electrochemical cell of claim 10. Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the lithium polyanionic oxide is Li3Sc2(PO4)3. However, Gaben teaches a lithium polyanionic oxide comprising Li3Sc2(PO4)3 (see e.g., Gaben; [0027]-[0028], regarding a second layer included in the protective coating layer that may comprise of phosphates such as Li3(Sc2-x Mx)(PO4)3 wherein 0≤x≤1; with x=0, the resulting formula is Li3Sc2(PO4)3). Zhu is analogous art because Zhu also teaches the lithium polyanionic oxide is at least partially deposited on a surface of the anode (see e.g., Gaben; [0027]-[0028], regarding the second layer including the phosphate is deposited on top of the first layer, [0026], regarding the protective coating comprising of the first layer and second layer is in contact with the anode material); the electrolyte may be a solid-state electrolyte (see e.g., Gaben; [0041], regarding multiple types of electrolytes may be used, including all-solid-state electrolyte); the coating may be applied to any type of anode used with lithium-ion batteries (see e.g., Gaben; [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium polyanionic oxide disclosed by Zhu to Li3Sc2(PO4)3 disclosed by Gaben because the protective coating protects the anode from the atmosphere of the environment, and in particular from oxygen, carbon dioxide and humidity (see e.g., Gaben; [0016]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhu teaches the electrochemical cell of claim 10. Zhu does not explicitly disclose a cathode including an electroactive material comprising a lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNMC), a lithium iron phosphate (LFP), or a lithium cobalt oxide (LCO). However, Gaben discloses that the cathode may comprise of LiMM’PO4 wherein M and M’ may be selected from elements including iron (Fe) (see e.g., Gaben; [0155]) which is a lithium iron phosphate (LFP), and therefore overlaps with the claimed cathode including a material comprising of LiNMC, LFP, or LCO. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Zhu by making the cathode a LFP cathode disclosed by Gaben because this cathode material may have the benefits of making a dense electrode that supplements the battery (see e.g., Gaben; [0056]-[0057]) and is also porous such that it can be electrophoretically deposited from a suspension comprising aggregates of primary nanoparticles (see e.g., Gaben; [0059]).
Claim(s) 8, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN-112993201-A) (see translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh (US-20210367270-A1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu teaches the electrochemical cell of claim 1. Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the solid-state electrolyte comprises Li3PS4, Li7P3S11, or Li2SP2S5, or Li6PS5Cl.
However, Oh teaches that a solid- state electrolyte comprising of Li2SP2S5 (see e.g., Oh; [0030] regarding Li2S-P2S5 as an option for the sulfide amorphous solid electrolytes as the material to be provided in the solid electrolyte sheet 113a). Oh is analogous art because Oh similarly discloses a lithium polyanionic oxide, Li2PO4 (see e.g., [0030] regarding the Li2PO4 composites as the sulfide amorphous solid electrolyte); wherein the lithium polyanionic oxide is at least partially deposited on a surface of the anode (see e.g., [0029]-[0030], fig. 2 regarding electrolyte sheet 113c positioned between the negative electrode sheet 112 and the solid electrolyte sheets 113a such that it is contacting the surface of the negative electrode, [0031] regarding the electrolyte sheet 113c comprising 25 to 60 wt% of solid electrolyte, [0030] wherein the solid electrolyte may be one of the Li2PO4 composites). Moreover, because Zhu discloses that the negative electrode may be specifically applied in solid-state batteries (see e.g., Zhu; [0026]), Oh is applicable because Oh also teaches solid-state batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Zhu by using a Li2SP2S5 electrolyte disclosed by Oh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a battery that is high in capacity and may also be easily installed on a printed circuit board (see e.g., Oh; [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhu teaches the electrochemical cell of claim 10. Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the solid-state electrolyte comprises Li3PS4, Li7P3S11, or Li2SP2S5, or Li6PS5Cl.
However, Oh teaches that a solid- state electrolyte comprising of Li2SP2S5 (see e.g., Oh; [0030] regarding Li2S-P2S5 as an option for the sulfide amorphous solid electrolytes as the material to be provided in the solid electrolyte sheet 113a). Oh is analogous art because Oh similarly discloses a lithium polyanionic oxide, Li2PO4 (see e.g., [0030] regarding the Li2PO4 composites as the sulfide amorphous solid electrolyte); wherein the lithium polyanionic oxide is at least partially deposited on a surface of the anode (see e.g., [0029]-[0030], fig. 2 regarding electrolyte sheet 113c positioned between the negative electrode sheet 112 and the solid electrolyte sheets 113a such that it is contacting the surface of the negative electrode, [0031] regarding the electrolyte sheet 113c comprising 25 to 60 wt% of solid electrolyte, [0030] wherein the solid electrolyte may be one of the Li2PO4 composites). Moreover, because Zhu discloses that the negative electrode may be specifically applied in solid-state batteries (see e.g., Zhu; [0026]), Oh is applicable because Oh also teaches solid-state batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Zhu by using a Li2SP2S5 electrolyte disclosed by Oh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a battery that is high in capacity and may also be easily installed on a printed circuit board (see e.g., Oh; [0038]-[0039]).
Claim(s) 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN-112993201-A) (see translation) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Wang (US-20220123287-A1).
Regarding claim 22, Zhu teaches the solid-state battery of claim 10. Zhu does not explicitly disclose the cathode comprises a current collector, a conductive carbon, and a binder. However, Wang teaches a cathode may comprise of a current collector (see e.g., Wang; [0095]), a conductive carbon (see e.g., Wang; [0103] regarding conductive agent), and a binder (see e.g., Wang; [0102]). Wang is analogous art because Wang also teaches solid electrolyte batteries (see e.g., Wang; [0104]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a cathode with a current collector, a conductive carbon, and a binder disclosed by Wang in the battery disclosed by Zhu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a battery with good power performance (quick charging performance), long cycle life and high energy density (see e.g., Wang; [0006]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Zhu teaches the solid-state battery of claim 22.
An anode current collector is disclosed in claim 10 and a cathode current collector is disclosed in claim 22. Therefore, it is unclear which current collector is being referred to in claim 23. For examination, “the current collector” comprising of a copper foil will be interpreted as the anode current collector because copper is commonly used in the art of batteries as the anode current collector and not commonly used as a cathode current collector.
Zhu does not explicitly disclose an anode current collector comprising a copper foil. However, Wang teaches the negative electrode current collector can be a copper foil (see e.g., Wang; [0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Zhu by providing a copper foil as the anode current collector disclosed by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a battery with good power performance (quick charging performance), long cycle life and high energy density (see e.g., Wang; [0006]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Zhu teaches the solid-state battery of claim 22. Zhu does not explicitly disclose the conductive carbon comprising graphite, carbon black, single-walled carbon nanotubes, multi-walled carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofiber, or graphene. However, Wang discloses the conductive agent may include one or more of carbon black, carbon nanotube, graphene, and carbon nanofiber (see e.g., Wang; [0103]) among other materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Zhu by providing a conductive agent including one or more of carbon black, carbon nanotube, graphene, and carbon nanofiber disclosed by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a battery with good power performance (quick charging performance), long cycle life and high energy density (see e.g., Wang; [0006]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Zhu teaches the solid-state battery of claim 22. Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the binder comprises polyvinylidene fluoride, polyvinylpyrrolidone, styrene-butadiene, styrene-butadiene rubber, polytetrafluoroethylene, or carboxymethylcellulose. However, Wang discloses the cathode binder may include one or more of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (see e.g., Wang; [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Zhu by providing a cathode binder that may include one or more of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) as disclosed by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a battery with good power performance (quick charging performance), long cycle life and high energy density (see e.g., Wang; [0006]).
Regarding claim 26, Zhu teaches a solid-state battery (see e.g., Zhu; [0026] regarding negative electrode used in lithium metal batteries and solid-state batteries) comprising: a cathode (see e.g., Zhu; [0065]; In addition to describing that the negative electrode is used in lithium metal and solid-state batteries, Zhu provides an example with the invention of the negative electrode in a button-type symmetrical battery; by definition a battery must include a cathode; symmetrical batteries, which are typically used as a research tool, mean that the cathode is the same material as the anode); a solid-state electrolyte (see e.g., Zhu; [0026] regarding negative electrode used in solid-state batteries); lithium metal foil anode (see e.g., Zhu; [0009], [0047] regarding anode comprising of lithium metal and a lithium polyanionic oxide such as lithium magnesium phosphate powder) comprising an anode current collector (see e.g., Zhu; [0065] Zhu provides an example with the invention of the negative electrode in a button-type symmetrical battery; by definition a battery must include a negative electrode current collector, so even though Zhu does not explicitly disclose what the current collector is, it has to be present in the battery to perform the described charge and discharge tests); and a lithium polyanionic oxide comprising LiMgPO4 (see e.g., Zhu; [0009], [0047] regarding anode comprising of lithium metal and a lithium polyanionic oxide such as lithium magnesium phosphate powder which is LiMgPO4); wherein the lithium polyanionic oxide forms an interfacial layer between the anode current collector and the solid state electrolyte (see e.g., Zhu; [0046]-[0047] regarding the lithium magnesium phosphate powder dispersed on the surface of the lithium sheet and rolled using a roller to make the powder adhere to the surface of the lithium metal, [0065] regarding the material used in the negative electrode which must be between the current collector and the solid-state battery in order to perform the described charge and discharge tests of a button-type battery).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose a battery comprising at least two of the solid-state batteries and a housing. However, Wang discloses that batteries may comprise of multiple batteries (see e.g., Wang; [0117]) and a housing (see e.g., Wang; [0118]). Furthermore, Wang discloses solid state electrolyte batteries (see e.g., Wang; [0104]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used multiple of the batteries disclosed by Zhu to provide a battery module with multiple solid-state batteries and a housing disclosed by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to apply the battery to larger applications such combining into a battery pack for the application of vehicles (see e.g., Wang; [0131]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728