DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “the optical fiber including a fiber core, a cladding, and a coating” as now cited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (2018/0108454) in view of Pacini et al. (2018/0274954).
Shen et al. discloses an optical/electrical hybrid cable, comprising: a linear conductor (11, steel wire); an optical fiber (3); and an outer sheath (4), wherein the outer sheath wraps an exterior of the linear conductor and an exterior of the optical fiber, wherein the linear conductor and the optical fiber are arranged side by side, wherein the outer sheath is in touch with the linear conductor (11), wherein the optical fiber includes a fiber core, a cladding (32), and a buffer (33) (re-claim 1). Shen et al. also discloses the cross section of the outer sheath being a round-angle rectangle (re-claim 4).
Shen et al. does not disclose the optical fiber including a coating (re-claim 1). Pacini et al. discloses an optical fiber including a fiber core (14), a cladding (16), a coating (18), and a buffer (20). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the optical fiber taught by Pacini et al. for the optical fiber of Shen et al. since such optical fiber has improved mechanical and transmission properties ([0009]). It is noted that in the modified cable of Shen et al., the outer sheath (4) of Shen et al. is in touch with the buffer (20 of Pacini).
It is noted that since the outer sheath of Shen et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, it serves as an insulation cladding on the exterior of the linear conductor and as a jacket of the optical fiber; the linear conductor and the outer sheath form a power cable; the optical fiber and the outer sheath form an optical fiber cable; the power cable and the optical fiber cable are separable by stripping the outer sheath (at groove 41) (re-claim 1).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. in view of Ishikawa (JP 2012-190570) and Pacini et al.
Shen et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, see the rejection above.
Shen et al. does not disclose the outer being in touch with the linear conductor (21) and serving as an insulation cladding on the exterior of the linear conductor (21); and the optical fiber including a fiber core, a cladding, a coating, and a buffer.
Ishikawa discloses a cable comprising a linear conductor (4) and an outer sheath (5) which is in touch with the linear conductor and serves as an insulation cladding on the exterior of the linear conductor. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the linear conductor (21) of Shen et al. such that the outer sheath (4) is in touch with the linear conductor (i.e., omitting or not having insulation 22) and serves as insulation cladding on the exterior of the linear conductor as taught by Ishikawa to reduce manufacture cost.
Pacini et al. discloses an optical fiber including a fiber core (14), a cladding (16), a coating (18), and a buffer (20). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the optical fiber taught by Pacini et al. for the optical fiber of Shen et al. since such optical fiber has improved mechanical and transmission properties ([0009]). It is noted that in the modified cable of Shen et al., the outer sheath (4) of Shen et al. is in touch with the buffer (20 of Pacini).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. in view of Pacini et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clark et al. (2008/0073105).
Shen et al. and Pacini et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed including the outer sheath being made of low smoke zero halogen ([0028]). Shen et al. does not disclose the outer sheath having a volume resistivity greater than or equal to 1x1012 Ω.m, a dielectric strength greater than or equal to 20 MV/m, and a temperature resistance range of 70°C to 200°C.
Clark et al. discloses an electrical cable comprising an outer sheath (22) material which has a volume resistivity greater than or equal to 1x1012 Ω.m, a dielectric strength greater than or equal to 20 MV/m, and a temperature resistance range of 70°C to 200°C. (Table 1, 1017 Ω.cm; 35-40 kV/mm = 35-40 MV/m; and the melting point ranges of 280-290°, not melted until reaching 280°C. Therefore, temperature resistance should be 70°C to 200°C).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the material as taught by Clark et al. for the outer sheath of Shen et al. since such material provides excellent fire characteristics; physical and processing properties ([0025]).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. in view of Ishikawa and Pacini et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clark et al.
Shen et al., as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed including the outer sheath being made of low smoke zero halogen ([0028]). Shen et al. does not disclose the outer sheath having a volume resistivity greater than or equal to 1x1012 Ω.m, a dielectric strength greater than or equal to 20 MV/m, and a temperature resistance range of 70°C to 200°C.
Clark et al. discloses an electrical cable comprising an outer sheath (22) material which has a volume resistivity greater than or equal to 1x1012 Ω.m, a dielectric strength greater than or equal to 20 MV/m, and a temperature resistance range of 70°C to 200°C. (Table 1, 1017 Ω.cm; 35-40 kV/mm = 35-40 MV/m; and the melting point ranges of 280-290°, not melted until reaching 280°C. Therefore, temperature resistance should be 70°C to 200°C).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the material as taught by Clark et al. for the outer sheath of Shen et al. since such material provides excellent fire characteristics; physical and processing properties ([0025]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. in view of Ishikawa, Pacini et al., and Sasaki et al. (2019/0033544).
Shen et al., as modified, discloses a hybrid cable as claimed in claim 19, see rejection above with respect to claim 1.
Shen et al. does not disclose the hybrid cable being connected between an optical/electrical transmit device and an optical/electrical receive device.
Sasaki et al. (Fig. 1, [0059], [0060]) discloses an optical communications system, comprising: an optical/electrical transmit device (STB) configured to output an electrical signal and an optical signal; and an optical/electrical receive device (40) configured to receive the electrical signal and the optical signal, wherein the optical/electrical transmit device and the optical/electrical receive device are connected by an optical/electrical hybrid cable (1). Sasaki et al. also discloses that the optical/electrical transmit device is configured to output electric energy (via lines 2a, 2b), and the optical/electrical receive device is configured to consume the electric energy ([0060]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to connect the modified hybrid cable of Shen et al. between the optical/electrical transmit device and the optical/electrical receive device to provide an optical/electrical communications system as taught by Sasaki et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Regarding the drawing objection, applicant states that features of “the optical fiber including a fiber core, a cladding, and a coating” are shown in Fig. 4. Examiner would disagree, Fig. 4 only shows optical fiber 321 and duffer 322. There are no cladding and coating shown in Fig. 4.
Applicant argues that outer sheath 4 of Shen does not form a part of the power transmission components and does not form a part of the optical fiber transmission components, as claimed. Examiner would disagree. With respect to the combination of Shen and Pacini, outer sheath (4) of Shen wraps and is in touch with the linear conductor (11), as claimed. Therefore, outer sheath (4) and linear conductor (11) of Shen form the power transmission components. Likewise, outer sheath (4) of Shen wraps an exterior of the optical fiber (3), as claimed. Therefore, outer sheath (4) and optical fiber (3) of Shen form the optical fiber transmission components.
Applicant argues that none of the references on record teaches or suggests that the power cable and the optical cable are separable by stripping the outer sheath. Examiner would disagree. The fact that Shen discloses groove (41) located between power cable (2) and optical cable (3); these two cables are separable by stripping the outer sheath at groove (4).
Applicant request for some clarifications from the 06/16/2025 Office Action (OA):
First, applicant specifically has question regarding claim 5 with respect to the Shen reference. As noted in the history of prosecution, the restriction requirement and the election are done before first non-final office is issued.
In the second request (see page 11 of the Remarks), applicant states that “first rejection over Shen in view of Pacini is incomplete because the rejection never addressed the deficiencies of Shen conceded by the office in the second rejection.” Examiner cannot understand the argument due to the confusion between first and second rejections. Nonetheless, when rejecting claims 1 and 4 using the combination of Shen and Pacini, the OA does state that Shen does not disclose the optical fiber including a coating, and such deficiency is taught by Pacini. Claims 1 and 4 are rejected again using the combination of Shen, Ishikawa, and Pacini. The OA does state that “Shen does not disclose the outer sheath being in touch with the linear conductor (21) and serving as an insulation cladding on the exterior of the linear conductor (21); and the optical fiber including a core, a cladding, a coating, and a buffer.” These deficiencies are taught by Ishikawa and Pacini. Accordingly, the first and second rejections with respect to claims 1 and 4 are completed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841