DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 3, 14, 4, 15, 5, 16, 6, 17, 8-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEOKTAE KR20220009079A in a view of HERKEL CN 110775755B .
Regarding claim 1, SEOKTAE discloses
A building system (Fig. 1 comprising: a robot-use elevator system having an elevator car (Item 110, EV1 to EV 8) moveable along an elevator shaft (Inherently present to move the car) of a building;
a controller (Item 130) configured to receive requests associated with the robot-use elevator system and configured to control operation of the rocot-use elevator system; and a robot (Item 100) configured in communication with the controller and configured to perform actions within the building, the robot configured to travel within the building in the elevator car, wherein the elevator car is operated using parameters outside limits (Robot-only movement) intended for human use of the elevator car;
SEOKTAE does not explicitly say
“wherein the parameters comprises at least one of elevator travel speed, elevator acceleration rate, elevator deceleration rate, elevator jerk, and elevator leveling at a landing”. However, SEOKTAE discloses the robot moves to the target floor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add either speed or acceleration rate as the parameters in SEOKTAE’s teachings to operate the elevator within safe limit when moved to the target floor.
SEOKTAE does not disclose but HERKEL discloses and wherein the robot is configured to, in response to an anomaly detection of an elevator system of the building, place a hall or car call via an elevator dispatch, and travel to a designated location to at least one of inspect or verify the anomaly using a sensor assembly configured to at least one of detect or monitor systems and components associated with the elevator system of the building (It should be noted that the robot is used to check the elevator system 2).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the robot, in response to an anomaly detection of an elevator system of the building, place a hall or car call via an elevator dispatch, and travel to a designated location to at least one of inspect or verify the anomaly using a sensor assembly configured to at least one of detect or monitor systems and components associated with the elevator system of the building as disclosed by HERKEL in SEOKTAE’s teachings to stop the operation of the elevator car when necessary.
Regarding claim 12, SEOKTAE discloses
A method of controlling a robot-use elevator system comprising: receiving a request for elevator service from a robot at a controller; dispatching an elevator car of the robot-use elevator system to a location associated with the request for elevator service; operating the elevator car using parameters outside limits intended for human use of the elevator car,
wherein the parameters comprises at least one of elevator travel speed, elevator acceleration rate, elevator deceleration rate, elevator jerk, and elevator leveling at a landing. (See claim 1 rejection for detail).
wherein the request for elevator service is associated with a detection of an anomaly of an elevator system of a building, and wherein the request for elevator service comprises a hall call or car call received at the controller from the robot via an elevator dispatch, carrying the robot within the elevator car to a location associated with the detection of the anomaly and at least one of detecting or monitoring of systems and components associated with the elevator system of the building with a sensor assembly of the robot to inspect and/or verify the anomaly (It should be noted that the robot is used to check the elevator system 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect an anomaly of an elevator system of a building, and wherein the request for elevator service comprises a hall call or car call received at the controller from the robot via an elevator dispatch, carrying the robot within the elevator car to a location associated with the detection of the anomaly and at least one of detecting or monitoring of systems and components associated with the elevator system of the building with a sensor assembly of the robot to inspect and/or verify the anomaly as disclosed by HERKEL in SEOKTAE’s teachings to stop the operation of the elevator car when necessary.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, SEOKTAE discloses
, wherein the parameters comprises at least one of climate control within the elevator car and lighting within the elevator car.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, SEOKTAE discloses
, wherein the elevator car is a robot-use elevator car configured to transport robots and not humans.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, SEOKTAE discloses
, wherein the robot-use elevator car is defined by features not intended for human use, and does not include at least one of a car operating panel, an in-car display, an in-car speaker, or an in-car microphone for voice communication (SEOKTAE does not disclose in-car microphone).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, SEOKTAE discloses
, wherein the robot-use elevator car is sized for carrying the robot and not humans [0051].
Regarding claim 8, SEOKTAE discloses
, wherein the controller is configured to verify that a request for use of the elevator car is made by the robot as compared to a human request.
Regarding claim 9, SEOKTAE discloses
, wherein the controller is configured to verify that no humans are present in the elevator car prior to causing movement thereof.
Regarding claim 10, SEOKTAE discloses
, wherein the robot-use elevator system does not include a hall call panel for human-use calling of the elevator car at one or more floors where the elevator can be called by the robot.
Regarding claim 11, SEOKTAE discloses
, wherein the robot is configured to perform a handshake operation (Normal operation) with the controller prior to traveling within the elevator car, and wherein the elevator car is configured to not travel if the handshake operation is not performed.
Regarding claim 18, SEOKTAE discloses
transmitting from the robot a handshake request to the controller prior to operating the elevator car (See claim 11 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 19, SEOKTAE discloses
verifying, with the controller, that a request for use of the elevator car is made by the robot as compared to a human (See claim 8 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 20, SEOKTAE discloses
verifying that no humans are present in the elevator car prior to causing operation thereof (See claim 9 rejection for detail).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEOKTAE in a view of HERKEL and further in a view of Cousins et al. (US 20200398436 A1).
Regarding claim 7, a combination of SEOKTAE and HERKEL does not disclose but Cousins et al. disclose
, wherein the robot (Fig, 1, item 102) is configured to make elevator call requests to the controller through a wireless communication [0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the robot as disclosed by Cousins in SEOKTAE’s teachings to direct an elevator [Cousins’s 0036]
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEOKTAE in a view of HERKEL and further in a view of Noguchi et al. US 20220033216 A1 .
Regarding claim 21, a combination of SEOKTAE and HERKEL does not disclose but Noguchi discloses defining, with the robot, an elevator door open period and including the elevator door open period with the request for elevator service [0039-0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use elevator door open period and including the elevator door open period with the request for elevator service as disclosed by Noguchi in SEOKTAE’s teachings to determine if it is possible to ride in the car [Noguchi’s 0040]
Regarding claim 22, a combination of SEOKTAE and HERKEL does not disclose but Noguchi discloses, wherein the robot is configured to define an elevator door open period and the request includes the elevator door open period [0039-0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define an elevator door open period and the request includes the elevator door open period as disclosed by Noguchi in SEOKTAE’s teachings to determine if it is possible to ride in the car [Noguchi’s 0040]
.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot over new prior art (see updated claim rejections for detail).
Conclusion
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896