DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “system m accordance” should be replaced with -system in accordance-. Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner Comment for Clarity of Record
While claims 24-29 have been newly added in the claim set filed 2/4/26, claim 24 was previously added in the claim set filed 8/18/25. Since claim 24 does not appear in the entered claim set filed 1/6/26, it appears as though original claim 24 (from 8/18/25) should be seen as cancelled. For the sake of examination, the claims will be referred to in this Action by their current claim numbers (from 2/4/26). However, moving forward, Applicant is encouraged to cancel claim 24, and renumber claims 24-29 (from 2/4/26) as claims 25-30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-11, and 15-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viswanathan, U.S. 2019/0231421 (hereinafter Viswanathan) in view of Steinke, U.S. 2005/0096647 (hereinafter Steinke) and Harlev, U.S. 10,105,179 (hereinafter Harlev).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 11, 15, and 20-22, Viswanathan discloses (note figs. 39A-D; paragraphs 272-275) an electroporation system comprising: a generator (note paragraph 68); and a catheter coupled to the generator, the catheter comprising: a handle (note paragraph 272); a shaft (3910) extending distally from the handle; a plurality of splines (3930) forming a basket ‘coupled to’ the shaft, each spline extending between a proximal end and a distal end; wherein each spline of the plurality of splines comprises at least one energizable electrode (3932/3934), wherein each spline comprises a body having the at least one energizable electrode thereon, and wherein, for each spline, portions of the spline ‘towards the distal end’ are electrically conductive (see ‘electrodes’) while portions of the spline ‘towards the proximal end’ are necessarily electrically insulative (see portions of spline without electrodes); and a balloon (3950) positioned within the basket formed by the plurality of splines. However, Viswanathan fails to explicitly disclose that each spline comprises a body fabricated from an elastic conductive material, along with an insulating material covering portions of the body, wherein at least one exposed portion of the body functions as the at least one energizable electrode. Steinke teaches a similar expandable catheter, wherein each spline comprises a body fabricated from an elastic conductive material along with an insulating material covering portions of the body, wherein at least one exposed portion of the body functions as an energizable electrode (note paragraph 16). It is well known in the art that these different ‘spline-electrode’ configurations (i.e., separate mounted electrodes vs integral exposed electrodes) are widely considered to be interchangeable (as can be seen in the different embodiments of Steinke). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the apparatus of Viswanathan to comprise the claimed ‘exposed electrode’ configuration (as taught by Steinke). This is because this modification would have merely comprised a simple substitution of interchangeable ‘spline-electrode’ configurations in order to produce a similar result (see MPEP 2143). This combination of references still fails to expressly teach a tapered member corresponding to this at least one electrode, said tapered member comprising a first end and a second end with a tapered portion therebetween, said tapered portion comprising a first tapered portion, a second portion, and a constant-width middle portion having an arcuate shape. However, Harlev teaches (note fig. 6) a similar expandable catheter comprising splines with tapered energy delivery regions (144b) thereon. It is well known in the art that these different ‘energy delivery’ configurations (i.e., shapes) are widely considered to be interchangeable (as can be seen in the different embodiments of Harlev). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have further modified the apparatus of Viswanathan to comprise the claimed ‘tapered electrode’ configuration (as taught by Harlev). This is because this modification would have merely comprised a simple substitution of interchangeable ‘energy delivery’ configurations in order to produce a predictable result (see MPEP 2143). It should be noted that the method of claim 20 would necessarily be met through the routine assembly of this device (see above).
Regarding claims 6, 7, 9, 16, 17, and 19, Viswanathan discloses (see above) an electroporation system wherein the shaft comprises: an outer shaft element (3910); and an inner shaft element (3921) extending through the outer shaft element, wherein the distal end of each spline is operatively connected to a distal end of the inner shaft element (note paragraph 273), wherein the proximal end of each spline is connected to a distal end of the outer shaft element (note paragraph 273), and wherein the inner shaft element is slidable relative to the outer shaft element to adjust an effective diameter of the basket formed by the plurality of splines (note paragraph 274); wherein sliding the inner shaft element distally relative to the shaft element necessarily decreases the effective diameter, and wherein sliding the inner shaft element proximally relative to the shaft element necessarily increases the effective diameter; and wherein a channel (disposed within ‘3920’) is defined between the inner shaft element and the outer shaft element, the channel in fluid communication with an interior of the balloon to facilitate selectively inflating the balloon using a fluid (note paragraph 286).
Regarding claims 6, 8, 16, and 18, Viswanathan discloses (see above) an electroporation system wherein the shaft comprises: an outer shaft element (3910); and an inner shaft element (3920) extending through the outer shaft element, wherein the distal end of each spline is ‘operatively connected’ to a distal end of the inner shaft element (note paragraphs 273 and 286), wherein the proximal end of each spline is connected to a distal end of the outer shaft element (note paragraph 273), and wherein the inner shaft element is slidable relative to the outer shaft element to adjust an effective diameter of the basket formed by the plurality of splines (note paragraph 286); and wherein the inner shaft element defines a central lumen (note paragraph 286), the central lumen capable of receiving at least one of contrast agent, a mapping catheter, a guidewire, and a shape sensing fiber.
Regarding claim 10, Viswanathan discloses (see above) an electroporation catheter wherein alternating splines have electrodes with alternating polarities (note paragraph 293).
Regarding claim 23, Viswanathan in view of Steinke and Harlev teaches (see above) an electroporation catheter having splines with exposed tapered electrodes therealong. However, this combination of references fails to expressly teach that these tapered electrodes are closer to the distal ends of their respective splines. A different embodiment of Viswanathan teaches (note fig. 28) splines having electrodes thereon that are closer to the distal ends of their respective splines. It is well known in the art that these different ‘spline-electrode’ configurations (i.e., different positions of electrodes along the splines) are widely considered to be interchangeable (as can be seen in the different embodiments of Viswanathan). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have further modified the apparatus of Viswanathan to comprise electrodes that are disposed anywhere along their respective splines (including closer to the distal ends of their respective splines). This is because this modification would have merely comprised a simple substitution of interchangeable ‘spline-electrode’ configurations in order to produce a predictable result (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claims 24, 26, and 28, Viswanathan in view of Steinke and Harlev necessarily teaches (see above) an electroporation catheter wherein for each spline, an ‘inflection point’ is defined along the spline (e.g., between the proximal and distal groupings of electrodes in Viswanathan), and (some) portions of the spline distal of the inflection point (see ‘electrodes’) are exposed while (some) portions proximal of the inflection point (see portions of spline without exposed electrodes) are covered by the insulating material. It should be noted that the method of claim 28 would necessarily be met through the routine assembly of this device (see above).
Regarding claims 25, 27, and 29, Viswanathan in view of Steinke and Harlev necessarily teaches (see above) an electroporation catheter wherein the tapered portion forms a portion of the at least one exposed portion such that circumferential gaps between the plurality of splines are reduced. It should be noted that the method of claim 29 would necessarily be met through the routine assembly of this device (see above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning Viswanathan and Steinke, Examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically, Examiner maintains that the claims have been met by Viswanathan in view of Steinke and Harlev as they are currently written, due to the breadth of limitations such as “portions,” “towards the proximal/distal end,” and “inflection point” (see above rejections for updated interpretation). While Applicant has argued that Steinke does not teach the new claim limitations, Examiner asserts that Steinke is merely being relied upon for its teaching of spline bodies fabricated from an elastic conductive material along with an insulating material covering portions of the bodies, wherein exposed portions of the bodies function as electrodes (i.e., Steinke is not being used for its teaching of electrode locations). In other words, Viswanathan is being utilized for its teaching of the majority of the claim limitations (including the electrode locations), and Steinke is only being used as a teaching reference to modify Viswanathan so that it comprises ‘exposed electrodes’ (i.e., a conductive and partially-insulated spline). The same can be said for Harlev, which is merely being relied upon for its teaching of electrode shape. Therefore, Examiner asserts that the claims are still met by the combination of references, as they are currently written.
Conclusion
/THOMAS A GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794