DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-2, 4-16, 18-22 over Hoshino in view of Murakami and Kawai, as the primary combination of references, are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed on February 24, 2026.
New Objections
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: the 4th last line of each of said claims, should be rewritten as:
- - an alignment degree of the dichroic substance within the entire light absorption anisotropic layer is - - .
Appropriate correction is required.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino, WO-2018/199096-A1 (US 20200033663 is used here) in view of Jamada (Clarivate Analytics English translation of RU-2412821-C2), as evidenced by Murakami (JP-H11219259-A, original document), and further, as evidenced by, or in view of Kawai (Clarivate Analytics English translation of CN-1759335-A).
Regarding claim 1, Hoshino teaches a laminate ([0203]) comprising at least:
a resin substrate (base [0203] polymer film [0209]) which includes an optical resin (optically isotropic polymer film [0208]); and a light absorption anisotropic layer (light absorption anisotropic film [0203]) including a liquid crystalline compound and a dichroic substance (formed using the above-described liquid crystal composition [0179, 0027]), wherein an alignment degree of the dichroic substance ([0019]) within the entire light absorption layer (liquid crystal composition contain … dichroic substance [0027], alignment degree of the light absorption anisotropic film is improved … alignment degree of dichroic substance is improved [0030]) is 0.96 to 0.99 (Examples 1-6, Table 3 [0339]) which is within the claimed range of 0.95 or more.
In addition, Hoshino teaches that the resin substrate includes an optical resin including a polycarbonate ([0209]), but is silent regarding inclusion of polyethylene terephthalate in the optical resin, and fails to teach a tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature of the resin substrate.
However, Hoshino teaches that the resin substrate is desirably optically isotropic (optically isotropic polymer film [0208]).
Jamada teaches that polyethylene terephthalate can be used in place of polycarbonate to form an optically isotropic resin substrate (film, 1st para of page 9), where a polyethylene terephthalate resin substrate has a lower tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature of 69[Symbol font/0xB0]C which is also within the claimed range of 170[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, as evidenced by Murakami.
Murakami teaches that polyethylene terephthalate resin has a glass transition temperature of 69[Symbol font/0xB0]C (PET, Table 2 [0027] of original document) which is a tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature, as evidenced by Kawai.
Kawai teaches that a glass transition temperature is a tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature (tan [Symbol font/0x64] is maximum when the temperature is the glass transition temperature (Tg), last para of page 16 to first para of page 17).
A resin having a lower tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature allows for lower temperature processing, and hence greater ease of thermal processing to form an optically isotropic resin substrate.
Accordingly, Jamada, as evidenced by Murakami and Kawai, teaches that instead of polycarbonate which has a higher tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature, polyethylene terephthalate can be used to form the optically isotropic resin substrate, because polyethylene terephthalate has a lower tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature of 69[Symbol font/0xB0]C which is also within the claimed range of 170[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, which allows for greater ease of thermal processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have included polyethylene terephthalate in place of the polycarbonate in the optical resin of the resin substrate of the laminate of Hoshino, and further, so as to provide the resin substrate with a lower tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature that is also within the claimed range of 170[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, in order to obtain greater ease of thermal processing in addition to the desired optical isotropy, as taught by Jamal, as evidenced by Murakami and Kawai.
Regarding claim 2, Jamal, as evidenced by Murakami and Kawai, teaches that the resin substrate has a tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature of 69[Symbol font/0xB0]C which is within the claimed range of 130[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, for the purpose of providing greater ease of thermal processing in addition to the desired optical isotropy, as described above.
Regarding claim 4, Hoshino fails to teach an arrangement in which the resin substrate, an adhesive layer and the light absorption anisotropic layer are arranged in this order.
However, Hoshino teaches that an adhesive layer is placed in contact with the light absorption anisotropy layer, for the purpose of securing adhesiveness between the light absorption anisotropic layer and another layer ([0215]) which can also be the resin base.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided an adhesive layer between the resin substrate and the light absorption anisotropic layer in the laminate of Hoshino, such that the resin substrate, an adhesive layer and the light absorption anisotropic layer are arranged in this order, in order to secure adhesiveness between the layers, as taught by Hoshino.
Regarding claims 5-6, Hoshino is silent regarding a material of the adhesive layer, and fails to teach that the adhesive layer is an ultraviolet curable adhesive layer.
However, Kawai teaches that an adhesive layer including an acrylate compound (acrylic resin-based adhesive, para 6 of page 12) which is ultraviolet curable (2nd para of page 14), that is used to laminate optical layers together (2nd para of page 11), was already a well-known feature at the time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have included an acrylate compound in the adhesive layer of the laminate of Hoshino, where the adhesive layer is an ultraviolet curable adhesive layer, in order to secure adhesiveness between the layers, as taught by Kawai.
Regarding claim 7, Hoshino teaches that the laminate further comprises an alignment layer ([0217]).
Regarding claim 8, Hoshino teaches that the alignment layer is formed from a composition containing a crosslinkable polymerizable compound (photocrosslinkable …. esters [0223]) which can be a radically polymerizable compound.
Regarding claim 9, Hoshino fails to teach an arrangement in which the resin substrate, an adhesive layer and the light absorption anisotropic layer are arranged in this order.
However, Hoshino teaches that an adhesive layer is placed in contact with the light absorption anisotropy layer, for the purpose of securing adhesiveness between the light absorption anisotropic layer and another layer ([0215]) which can also be the resin base.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided an adhesive layer between the resin substrate and the light absorption anisotropic layer in the laminate of Hoshino, such that the resin substrate, an adhesive layer and the light absorption anisotropic layer are arranged in this order, in order to secure adhesiveness between the layers, as taught by Hoshino.
In addition, Hoshino teaches that the alignment layer may be arranged between the resin substrate and the light absorption anisotropic layer ([0205]). Accordingly, Hoshino fails to teach an arrangement in which the resin substrate, the adhesive layer, the light absorption anisotropic layer and an alignment layer are arranged in this order.
However, Hoshino does not require the alignment layer to be arranged between the resin substrate and the light absorption anisotropic layer (“may be” [0205]). Since Hoshino teaches that the alignment layer is used for the purpose of aligning the light absorption anisotropic layer ([0218]), and that the alignment layer is preferably aligned by light, for the purpose of providing the desired alignment uniformity ([0219]), such that the alignment layer is beneficially located at a surface, for the purpose of allowing uniform exposure to the light source used for light irradiation ([0226])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have arranged the alignment layer at a surface of the laminate, such that it is in an alternate arrangement in which the resin substrate, the adhesive layer, the light absorption anisotropic layer, and the alignment layer are arranged in this order, in the laminate of Hoshino, in order to obtain the desired uniform exposure of the alignment layer to the light source used for light irradiation, as taught by Hoshino.
Regarding claims 10-11, Hoshino is silent regarding a material of the adhesive layer, and fails to teach that the adhesive layer is an ultraviolet curable adhesive layer.
However, Kawai teaches that an adhesive layer including an acrylate compound (acrylic resin-based adhesive, para 6 of page 12) which is ultraviolet curable (2nd para of page 14), that is used to laminate optical layers together (2nd para of page 11), was already a well-known feature at the time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have included an acrylate compound in the adhesive layer of the laminate of Hoshino, where the adhesive layer is an ultraviolet curable adhesive layer, in order to secure adhesiveness between the layers, as taught by Kawai.
Regarding claim 12, Hoshino teaches that the light absorption layer is formed from a composition having a high molecular-weight liquid crystalline compound (weight average molecular weight of the polymer liquid crystalline compound is preferably 2,000 to 300,000 [0072]).
Regarding claim 13, Hoshino teaches that the dichroic substance preferably has a (meth)acryloyl group ([0159]) which is a radically polymerizable group, to provide the desired crosslinking to improve pressing resistance ([0158]). Hoshino teaches that the dichroic substance has a content of 3 to 80 mass% with respect to a solid weight of the composition formed the light absorption anisotropic layer (liquid crystal composition [0161]) such that the radically polymerizable group has a content of 3 to 80 mass% with respect to a solid weight of the composition formed the light absorption anisotropic layer, which corresponds to a molar content that overlaps the claimed range of 0.6 mmol/g or more, for the purpose of providing the desired crosslinking to improve pressing resistance ([0158]).
Regarding claims 14-15, Hoshino fails to teach an optical device having a curved surface wherein the laminate is arranged along the curved surface such that the laminate has a curved surface.
However, Hoshino teaches that the laminate is used in a light emitting diode ([0006]) which can have a curved surface, for the purpose of conforming to a geometric utility such as a circular light source.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided an optical device having a curved surface, wherein the laminate of Hoshino is arranged along the curved surface, such that the laminate has a curved surface, in order to conform to a geometric utility such as a circular light source.
Regarding claim 16, Hoshino teaches that the laminate is used in a display device ([004-006]), but fails to teach that the display device comprises a plurality of members having a curved surface, wherein the laminate is arranged along a further visible side of a curved surface of a member present on the most visible side among the members having the curved surface.
However, Hoshino teaches that when the display device is an OLED display comprising a plurality of organic light emitting diodes ([0006]) which can each have a curved surface, where the laminate is used to prevent external light from being reflected ([0006]) which requires the laminate to be arranged along a further visible side of a curved surface of a light emitting diode member present on the most visible side among the light emitting diode members having the curved surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided a display device comprising a plurality of members having a curved surface, wherein the laminate of Hoshino is arranged along a further visible side of a curved surface of a member present on the most visible side among the members having the curved surface, in order to prevent external light from being reflected.
Regarding claim 18, Hoshino fails to teach an arrangement in which the resin substrate, an adhesive layer and the light absorption anisotropic layer are arranged in this order.
However, Hoshino teaches that an adhesive layer is placed in contact with the light absorption anisotropy layer, for the purpose of securing adhesiveness between the light absorption anisotropic layer and another layer ([0215]) which can also be the resin base.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided an adhesive layer between the resin substrate and the light absorption anisotropic layer in the laminate of Hoshino, such that the resin substrate, an adhesive layer and the light absorption anisotropic layer are arranged in this order, in order to secure adhesiveness between the layers, as taught by Hoshino.
Regarding claims 19-20, Hoshino is silent regarding a material of the adhesive layer, and fails to teach that the adhesive layer is an ultraviolet curable adhesive layer.
However, Kawai teaches that an adhesive layer including an acrylate compound (acrylic resin-based adhesive, para 6 of page 12) which is ultraviolet curable (2nd para of page 14), that is used to laminate optical layers together (2nd para of page 11), was already a well-known feature at the time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have included an acrylate compound in the adhesive layer of the laminate of Hoshino, where the adhesive layer is an ultraviolet curable adhesive layer, in order to secure adhesiveness between the layers, as taught by Kawai.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten as indicated above.
The prior art of record cited above, fail to fairly teach or suggest, even in view of each other, a laminate having the specific combination of a light absorption anisotropic layer which includes a liquid crystalline compound, and a dichroic substance which has an alignment degree within the entire light absorption anisotropic layer of 0.95 or more; and a resin substrate which includes an optical resin including one of a polyolefin or a norbornene-based polymer; a cyclic olefin-based resin, a polyvinyl alcohol; a polyethylene terephthalate: a polymethacrylic acid ester; a polyacrylic acid ester; a polyethylene naphthalate; a polycarbonate; a polysulfone; a polyether sulfone; a polyether ketone; a polyphenylene sulfide; a polyphenylene oxide; or a combination thereof; has a tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature that is within a range of 170[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, or 130[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower; and has a storage elastic modulus that is within a range of 100 kPa or less.
None of the prior art cited above, teach a resin substrate having the combination of a tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature that is within a range of 170[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, or 130[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, and a storage elastic modulus that is within a range of 100 kPa or less.
Applicant has demonstrated using comparative data in the specification, that a resin substrate having a tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature that is within a range of 170[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, or 130[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, does not necessarily have a storage elastic modulus that is within a range of 100 kPa or less (creation examples 8-9 have storage elastic moduli of 1710 kPa and 2170 kPa, respectively, Table 1 [0217]), such that providing a resin substrate with the combination of a tan [Symbol font/0x64] peak temperature that is within a range of 170[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, or 130[Symbol font/0xB0]C or lower, and a storage elastic modulus that is within a range of 100 kPa or less, would have required more than routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time.
Furthermore, Applicant has demonstrated unexpectedly superior results using comparative data in the specification, for the laminate having the specific combination of the above-described resin substrate, and the light absorption anisotropic layer in which the dichroic substance has an alignment degree of 0.95 or more within the entire layer, in terms of a minimal change rate of a degree of polarization after biaxial stretching (rating of at least “B”, Table 1 [0217], measured [0215]), when also factoring in the greater ease of thermal processing (creation examples 8 and 9 having storage elastic moduli of 1710 kPa and 2170 kPa, respectively [0217], were not easily stretched [218]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new reference in the new grounds of rejection.
/Sophie Hon/
Sow-Fun Hon
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782