DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-13, 15, and 17-24 are presented for examination.
2. Claims 1-2, 4, 12-13, and 15 are amended.
3. Claims 3, 5, 14, and 16 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-14 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed December 09, 2024, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Patel et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220167114), Chiselko et al. (US 20220104119 A1), Jung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20140192653 A1), and Nasielski et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20160066261).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 20220167144 A1) hereinafter Patel, in view of Chiselko et al. (US 20220104119 A1) hereinafter Chiselko, and in further view of Jung et al. (US 20140192653 A1) hereinafter “Jung” .
10. Regarding claim 1, Patel teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a first base station, location information indicating a current position
of a fixed wireless access (FWA) device ([0015] “FWA device 120 may be installed in a designated service location at, or near, the customer premises, such as outside of a structure (e.g., on a roof, attached to an exterior wall, etc.) or inside a structure (e.g., next to a window or another structural feature with lower radio signal attenuation properties). FWA device 120 may be configured to connect to RAN 140 and communicate with elements of core network 145. FWA device 120 may be configured to communicate via a 4G LTE air interface and/or a 5G NR air interface. FWA device 120 may be configured to operate within or proximate to the customer service address that is designated by the service provider.” & [0057] “A network service-related request may be received with an included FWA ID associated with FWA device 120 to eNB 210 or gNB 220 (block 710). For example, at power-up, UE device 134 may generate an attach request message or a registration request message to RAN 140 which may forward the request to node in core network 145, such as MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340). Alternatively or additionally, during a network session, UE device 134 may generate a tracking area update (TAU) request message to RAN 140 which may forward the request to MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340). Alternatively or additionally, the message may be any other type of service request from UE device 134 to MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) during a network session.” The UE shares its location with the base station (gNB in the RAN as further showcased in FIG. 1 #140 ) and further with the core network its current location. It is known in the industry that a TAU is used to register location information of the device.);
determining, by the first base station, that the FWA device is located in a region
that is outside of a designated region configured for the FWA device based
on the current position of the FWA device ( [0059] “The location information for FWA device 120 may be compared to geo-fencing parameters established for FWA device 120 and a determination made as to whether FWA device 120 is operating outside of the geo-fencing (block 550). As an example, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may compare GPS data, SUPL data, LPPa data, cell ID data, eCGI data, and/or TAC data, to geographic parameters for the established geo-fencing defined in the subscriber profile associated with FWA 120. As another example, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may compare eNB 210 or gNB 220 identification information associated with the network-service related request with the whitelisted eNBs/gNBs for the SPID and/or the PCO associated with the network-service related request.” & [0065] “Referring to the example illustrated in FIG. 6, UE device 134 and/or FWA device 120 may relocate to another eNB 150 (or gNB 160) (block 645), and generate a network service-related request (signal 650), for example, an attach or registration request to eNB 150 (or gNB 160). In response to the request, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may determine that eNB 150 (or gNB 160) is not a whitelisted eNB 150 (or gNB 160) for FWA dev ice 120 (block 655). MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may issue instructions controlling access to the network (signal 660). For example, the attach or registration request may be denied, bandwidth may be restricted, a bearer may be torn down, etc., according to policies associated with a service profile for FWA device 120.”); and
based on the determining, selectively providing, a network communication to the FWA device in the region ([0059] “The location information for FWA device 120 may be compared to geo-fencing parameters established for FWA device 120 and a determination made as to whether FWA device 120 is operating outside of the geo-fencing (block 550).” & [0065] “Referring to the example illustrated in FIG. 6, UE device 134 and/or FWA device 120 may relocate to another eNB 150 (or gNB 160) (block 645), and generate a network service-related request (signal 650), for example, an attach or registration request to eNB 150 (or gNB 160). In response to the request, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may determine that eNB 150 (or gNB 160) is not a whitelisted eNB 150 (or gNB 160) for FWA dev ice 120 (block 655). MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may issue instructions controlling access to the network (signal 660). For example, the attach or registration request may be denied, bandwidth may be restricted, a bearer may be torn down, etc., according to policies associated with a service profile for FWA device 120.” If the FWA device is found to be outside of the geo-fence then service will be selectively provided by either connection denial, restricted bandwidth, or other restrictions according to policies that are associated with that particular FWA.).
However, Patel does not disclose the selective service provided are based on the evaluating a network utilization level or a bandwidth associated with the region, wherein the network communication is provided upon the network utilization level in the region being below a threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region satisfies a predefined condition with respect to a bandwidth associated with the designated region.
Chiselko in the same field of endeavor, teaches selectively provides service by dynamically restricting device access by evaluating signal performance when a first resource usage threshold is met (Fig. 2B & [0038] "RUs 206 in FIG. 2B are capable of controlling beam shape, beam strength, and beam directions to balance traffic load over different bands. For example, assume that beam 216-1 and beam 216-2 cover the same area. DU 204 may set a minimum transmit power level at RU 206-1 for which UE devices in coverage area 218-1 may connect to wireless station 110 through beam 216-1. If SON function 175 instructs CU 202 and thus DU 204 to increase the minimum transmit power level for RU 206-1, the UE devices 102 in coverage area 218-1 may no longer remain connected to wireless station 110 via beam 216-1 (assuming that the signal strengths are the same). In the scenario, the UE devices 102 may then connect to wireless station 110 via beam 218-2 (which may occupy another frequency band), assuming that minimum transmit power level for the corresponding RU 206-2 remains the same. Accordingly, by lowering or raising the minimum transmit power level at DUs 204, SON function 175 may decrease or increase the traffic load at a particular band." discloses that RUs are capable of controlling beam shape, beam strength, and beam directions to balance traffic load over different bands so that UE devices in a coverage area (e.g., coverage area 218-1) may no longer remain connected to wireless station 110 via beam 216-1 (i.e., particular devices are restricted from accessing a particular area based on transmit power level at RU) & FIG. 7 & [0062] depict and disclose that one or more measurable indicators (i.e., resource usage is monitored) to be indicative of particular network conditions where power consumption can be reduced, for example, a utilization percentage, a number of connected users (e.g., a number of radio resource control (RRC) connections,), a physical resource block (PRB) utilization level, a transition time interval (TTI) utilization, a throughput level (e.g., burst user throughput), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) value, Timing Advance (TA) distance, mobility, etc.).
However, Patel and Chiselko do not disclose the wherein the network communication is provided upon the network utilization level in the region being below a threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region satisfies a predefined condition with respect to a bandwidth associated with the designated region.
Jung in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the network communication is provided ([0053] "As a result, the load allocation unit 115 adaptively allocates loads to the target nodes in accordance with the first allocation threshold, and the node power control unit 116 changes the power states of the target nodes in accordance with the load adaptively allocated based on the first allocation threshold. Here, the power states of the target nodes in accordance with the first allocation threshold may be changed to any one of an ON state, a sleep state, a hibernation state and an OFF state." Jung may dynamically restrict wireless device access, i.e. provide communication to a device via a load application unit that adaptively allocates loads to the target devices according to a first allocation threshold that leads to an interference where certain nodes may be restricted from network access)
upon the network utilization level in the region being below a threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region satisfies a predefined condition with respect to a bandwidth associated with the designated region ( [0051] "Assuming that the resource usage increases, the threshold management unit 113 checks whether or not the resource usage exceeds a first allocation threshold among the N allocation thresholds in operation 208. If it is determined that the resource usage exceeds the first allocation threshold, it is checked whether the resource usage belongs to the range between the first allocation threshold and a second allocation threshold or exceeds a second allocation threshold in operation 210." discloses that a threshold management unit (element #113) sets a first threshold, as well as discloses that the unit checks by comparison whether or not a resource usage exceeds a first allocation threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patel to include the evaluation of a network utilization level or a bandwidth associated with the region, wherein the network communication is provided upon the network utilization level in the region being below a threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region satisfies a predefined condition with respect to a bandwidth associated with the designated region. Chiselko’s control of coverage areas of access for such devices combined with Jung’s mechanism for applying thresholds for usage to wireless devices. Just because a FWA device leaves an area doesn’t mean it should be granted access to an adjacent area due to the possibility that this could inefficiently use any remaining resources available in the new area. The motivation to include this step as taught by combining Chiselko and Jung is to more efficiently use bandwidth by basing connectivity decisions on available resources in the area. Comparing network usage or bandwidth thresholds beforehand will streamline decision on whether to allow connectivity to a roaming FWA device.
11. Regarding claim 2, the combination of Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teach the method of claim 1 (discussed above). Patel further teaches the denial, restriction, or disabling of a service request if the device is found to be beyond the applicable geo-fence ( [0060] "Alternatively, when it is determined that FWA device 120 is operating beyond the applicable geo-fencing (block 550-YES), MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may deny the request and/or disable the requested network service(s) or throttle data service to UE device 134 and/or FWA device 120 (block 570) and may issue instructions to control network access to UE device 134 and/or FWA device 120 (block 580)").
However, Patel does not disclose that the network utilization level in the region being equal to or above the threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region fails to satisfy the predefined condition.
Chiselko in the same field of endeavor teaches, the network utilization level in the region being equal to or above the threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region fails to satisfy the predefined condition (Fig. 2B & [0038] "RUs 206 in FIG. 2B are capable of controlling beam shape, beam strength, and beam directions to balance traffic load over different bands. For example, assume that beam 216-1 and beam 216-2 cover the same area. DU 204 may set a minimum transmit power level at RU 206-1 for which UE devices in coverage area 218-1 may connect to wireless station 110 through beam 216-1. If SON function 175 instructs CU 202 and thus DU 204 to increase the minimum transmit power level for RU 206-1, the UE devices 102 in coverage area 218-1 may no longer remain connected to wireless station 110 via beam 216-1 (assuming that the signal strengths are the same). In the scenario, the UE devices 102 may then connect to wireless station 110 via beam 218-2 (which may occupy another frequency band), assuming that minimum transmit power level for the corresponding RU 206-2 remains the same. Accordingly, by lowering or raising the minimum transmit power level at DUs 204, SON function 175 may decrease or increase the traffic load at a particular band." discloses that RUs are capable of controlling beam shape, beam strength, and beam directions to balance traffic load over different bands so that UE devices in a coverage area (e.g., coverage area 218-1) may no longer remain connected to wireless station 110 via beam 216-1 (i.e., particular devices are restricted from accessing a particular area based on transmit power level at RU) & FIG. 7 & [0062] depict and disclose that one or more measurable indicators (i.e., resource usage is monitored) to be indicative of particular network conditions where power consumption can be reduced, for example, a utilization percentage, a number of connected users (e.g., a number of radio resource control (RRC) connections,), a physical resource block (PRB) utilization level, a transition time interval (TTI) utilization, a throughput level (e.g., burst user throughput), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) value, Timing Advance (TA) distance, mobility, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patel to base the rejection of network communication to the device in the region upon the network utilization level in the region being equal to or above the threshold associated with the region and fails to satisfy the predefined condition as taught by Chiselko. The motivation to include this step of checking utilization level of a cell and rejection based on those thresholds would be to keep a standard of efficiency and reduce latency in a region that adding a new device may add. Allowing a new connection from a device in an area with already high utilization may further reduce efficiency in that region.
12. Regarding claim 6, Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above). Patel further teaches wherein the designated region of the FWA device is within a coverage area of the first base station ( [0023] “As described herein, RAN 140 may include a 4G base station 150 (e.g., an evolved Node B (eNB)) and a 5G base station 160 (e.g., a next generation Node B (gNB)). 4G base station 150 and 5G base station 160 may each include one or multiple cells that include devices and/or components configured to enable radio communication with FWA devices 120.” & [0031] “FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating exemplary components of core network 145 in the context of environment 100 according to an implementation described herein. As shown in FIG. 2, core network 145 may include eNB 210,” The examiner interprets #150 eNB and #160 gNB from FIG.1 as potential first base stations covering a designated area for the FWA device. ).
13. Regarding claim 7, Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teach the method of claim 1 (discussed above). Patel further teaches wherein the designated region of the FWA device is within a coverage area of a second base station different from the first base station ( [0023] “As described herein, RAN 140 may include a 4G base station 150 (e.g., an evolved Node B (eNB)) and a 5G base station 160 (e.g., a next generation Node B (gNB)). 4G base station 150 and 5G base station 160 may each include one or multiple cells that include devices and/or components configured to enable radio communication with FWA devices 120.” & [0039] “FIG. 3 illustrates another exemplary implementation of components of core network 145. As shown in FIG. 3, environment 100 may include FWA device 120, gNB 220,” The examiner interprets the two regions covered by the eNB and separate gNB are part of the same RAN #140 that cover designated regions for the FWA device.).
14. Regarding claim 8, Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above). Patel further teaches wherein the location information comprises Global Positioning System (GPS) information provided by the FWA device ( [0011] “In other implementations, geo-fencing may be provisioned for the FWA services to control the customer's access to network services based on the designated service location. In some implementations, the geo-fencing may correspond to a geographic location of varying granularity corresponding to, for example, GPS data obtained for the UE device and/or FWA device,”).
15. Regarding claim 12, Patel teaches a device for wireless communication, comprising a processor (FIG.4 #420) that is configured to: receive location information indicating a current position of a fixed wireless access (FWA) device; ([0015] “FWA device 120 may be installed in a designated service location at, or near, the customer premises, such as outside of a structure (e.g., on a roof, attached to an exterior wall, etc.) or inside a structure (e.g., next to a window or another structural feature with lower radio signal attenuation properties). FWA device 120 may be configured to connect to RAN 140 and communicate with elements of core network 145. FWA device 120 may be configured to communicate via a 4G LTE air interface and/or a 5G NR air interface. FWA device 120 may be configured to operate within or proximate to the customer service address that is designated by the service provider.” & [0057] “A network service-related request may be received with an included FWA ID associated with FWA device 120 to eNB 210 or gNB 220 (block 710). For example, at power-up, UE device 134 may generate an attach request message or a registration request message to RAN 140 which may forward the request to node in core network 145, such as MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340). Alternatively or additionally, during a network session, UE device 134 may generate a tracking area update (TAU) request message to RAN 140 which may forward the request to MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340). Alternatively or additionally, the message may be any other type of service request from UE device 134 to MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) during a network session.” The UE shares its location with the base station (gNB in the RAN as further showcased in FIG. 1 #140 ) and further with the core network its current location. It is known in the industry that a TAU is used to register location information of the device.);
determine, based on the current position of the FWA device, that the FWA device is located in a region that is outside of a designated region configured for the FWA device ( [0059] “The location information for FWA device 120 may be compared to geo-fencing parameters established for FWA device 120 and a determination made as to whether FWA device 120 is operating outside of the geo-fencing (block 550). As an example, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may compare GPS data, SUPL data, LPPa data, cell ID data, eCGI data, and/or TAC data, to geographic parameters for the established geo-fencing defined in the subscriber profile associated with FWA 120. As another example, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may compare eNB 210 or gNB 220 identification information associated with the network-service related request with the whitelisted eNBs/gNBs for the SPID and/or the PCO associated with the network-service related request.” & [0059] “The location information for FWA device 120 may be compared to geo-fencing parameters established for FWA device 120 and a determination made as to whether FWA device 120 is operating outside of the geo-fencing (block 550).” & [0065] “Referring to the example illustrated in FIG. 6, UE device 134 and/or FWA device 120 may relocate to another eNB 150 (or gNB 160) (block 645), and generate a network service-related request (signal 650), for example, an attach or registration request to eNB 150 (or gNB 160). In response to the request, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may determine that eNB 150 (or gNB 160) is not a whitelisted eNB 150 (or gNB 160) for FWA dev ice 120 (block 655). MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may issue instructions controlling access to the network (signal 660). For example, the attach or registration request may be denied, bandwidth may be restricted, a bearer may be torn down, etc., according to policies associated with a service profile for FWA device 120.”); and
selectively providing, a network communication to the FWA device in the region ([0059] “The location information for FWA device 120 may be compared to geo-fencing parameters established for FWA device 120 and a determination made as to whether FWA device 120 is operating outside of the geo-fencing (block 550).” & [0065] “Referring to the example illustrated in FIG. 6, UE device 134 and/or FWA device 120 may relocate to another eNB 150 (or gNB 160) (block 645), and generate a network service-related request (signal 650), for example, an attach or registration request to eNB 150 (or gNB 160). In response to the request, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may determine that eNB 150 (or gNB 160) is not a whitelisted eNB 150 (or gNB 160) for FWA dev ice 120 (block 655). MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may issue instructions controlling access to the network (signal 660). For example, the attach or registration request may be denied, bandwidth may be restricted, a bearer may be torn down, etc., according to policies associated with a service profile for FWA device 120.” If the FWA device is found to be outside of the geo-fence then service will be selectively provided by either connection denial, restricted bandwidth, or other restrictions according to policies that are associated with that particular FWA.).
However, Patel does not disclose the selective service provided are based on the evaluating a network utilization level or a bandwidth associated with the region, wherein the network communication is provided upon the network utilization level in the region being below a threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region satisfies a predefined condition with respect to a bandwidth associated with the designated region.
Chiselko in the same field of endeavor, teaches selectively provides service by dynamically restricting device access by evaluating signal performance when a first resource usage threshold is met (Fig. 2B & [0038] "RUs 206 in FIG. 2B are capable of controlling beam shape, beam strength, and beam directions to balance traffic load over different bands. For example, assume that beam 216-1 and beam 216-2 cover the same area. DU 204 may set a minimum transmit power level at RU 206-1 for which UE devices in coverage area 218-1 may connect to wireless station 110 through beam 216-1. If SON function 175 instructs CU 202 and thus DU 204 to increase the minimum transmit power level for RU 206-1, the UE devices 102 in coverage area 218-1 may no longer remain connected to wireless station 110 via beam 216-1 (assuming that the signal strengths are the same). In the scenario, the UE devices 102 may then connect to wireless station 110 via beam 218-2 (which may occupy another frequency band), assuming that minimum transmit power level for the corresponding RU 206-2 remains the same. Accordingly, by lowering or raising the minimum transmit power level at DUs 204, SON function 175 may decrease or increase the traffic load at a particular band." discloses that RUs are capable of controlling beam shape, beam strength, and beam directions to balance traffic load over different bands so that UE devices in a coverage area (e.g., coverage area 218-1) may no longer remain connected to wireless station 110 via beam 216-1 (i.e., particular devices are restricted from accessing a particular area based on transmit power level at RU) & FIG. 7 & [0062] depict and disclose that one or more measurable indicators (i.e., resource usage is monitored) to be indicative of particular network conditions where power consumption can be reduced, for example, a utilization percentage, a number of connected users (e.g., a number of radio resource control (RRC) connections,), a physical resource block (PRB) utilization level, a transition time interval (TTI) utilization, a throughput level (e.g., burst user throughput), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) value, Timing Advance (TA) distance, mobility, etc.).
However, Patel and Chiselko do not disclose the wherein the network communication is provided upon the network utilization level in the region being below a threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region satisfies a predefined condition with respect to a bandwidth associated with the designated region.
Jung in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the network communication is provided ([0053] "As a result, the load allocation unit 115 adaptively allocates loads to the target nodes in accordance with the first allocation threshold, and the node power control unit 116 changes the power states of the target nodes in accordance with the load adaptively allocated based on the first allocation threshold. Here, the power states of the target nodes in accordance with the first allocation threshold may be changed to any one of an ON state, a sleep state, a hibernation state and an OFF state." Jung may dynamically restrict wireless device access, i.e. provide communication to a device via a load application unit that adaptively allocates loads to the target devices according to a first allocation threshold that leads to an interference where certain nodes may be restricted from network access)
upon the network utilization level in the region being below a threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region satisfies a predefined condition with respect to a bandwidth associated with the designated region ( [0051] "Assuming that the resource usage increases, the threshold management unit 113 checks whether or not the resource usage exceeds a first allocation threshold among the N allocation thresholds in operation 208. If it is determined that the resource usage exceeds the first allocation threshold, it is checked whether the resource usage belongs to the range between the first allocation threshold and a second allocation threshold or exceeds a second allocation threshold in operation 210." discloses that a threshold management unit (element #113) sets a first threshold, as well as discloses that the unit checks by comparison whether or not a resource usage exceeds a first allocation threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patel to include the evaluation of a network utilization level or a bandwidth associated with the region, wherein the network communication is provided upon the network utilization level in the region being below a threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region satisfies a predefined condition with respect to a bandwidth associated with the designated region. Chiselko’s control of coverage areas of access for such devices combined with Jung’s mechanism for applying thresholds for usage to wireless devices. Just because a FWA device leaves an area doesn’t mean it should be granted access to an adjacent area due to the possibility that this could inefficiently use any remaining resources available in the new area. The motivation to include this step as taught by combining Chiselko and Jung is to more efficiently use bandwidth by basing connectivity decisions on available resources in the area. Comparing network usage or bandwidth thresholds beforehand will streamline decision on whether to allow connectivity to a roaming FWA device.
16. Regarding claim 13, the combination of Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teach the method of claim 12 (discussed above). Patel further teaches the denial, restriction, or disabling of a service request if the device is found to be beyond the applicable region ( [0060] "Alternatively, when it is determined that FWA device 120 is operating beyond the applicable geo-fencing (block 550-YES), MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may deny the request and/or disable the requested network service(s) or throttle data service to UE device 134 and/or FWA device 120 (block 570) and may issue instructions to control network access to UE device 134 and/or FWA device 120 (block 580)").
However, Patel does not disclose that the network utilization level in the region being equal to or above the threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region fails to satisfy the predefined condition.
Chiselko in the same field of endeavor teaches, the network utilization level in the region being equal to or above the threshold or the bandwidth associated with the region fails to satisfy the predefined condition (Fig. 2B & [0038] "RUs 206 in FIG. 2B are capable of controlling beam shape, beam strength, and beam directions to balance traffic load over different bands. For example, assume that beam 216-1 and beam 216-2 cover the same area. DU 204 may set a minimum transmit power level at RU 206-1 for which UE devices in coverage area 218-1 may connect to wireless station 110 through beam 216-1. If SON function 175 instructs CU 202 and thus DU 204 to increase the minimum transmit power level for RU 206-1, the UE devices 102 in coverage area 218-1 may no longer remain connected to wireless station 110 via beam 216-1 (assuming that the signal strengths are the same). In the scenario, the UE devices 102 may then connect to wireless station 110 via beam 218-2 (which may occupy another frequency band), assuming that minimum transmit power level for the corresponding RU 206-2 remains the same. Accordingly, by lowering or raising the minimum transmit power level at DUs 204, SON function 175 may decrease or increase the traffic load at a particular band." discloses that RUs are capable of controlling beam shape, beam strength, and beam directions to balance traffic load over different bands so that UE devices in a coverage area (e.g., coverage area 218-1) may no longer remain connected to wireless station 110 via beam 216-1 (i.e., particular devices are restricted from accessing a particular area based on transmit power level at RU) & FIG. 7 & [0062] depict and disclose that one or more measurable indicators (i.e., resource usage is monitored) to be indicative of particular network conditions where power consumption can be reduced, for example, a utilization percentage, a number of connected users (e.g., a number of radio resource control (RRC) connections,), a physical resource block (PRB) utilization level, a transition time interval (TTI) utilization, a throughput level (e.g., burst user throughput), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) value, Timing Advance (TA) distance, mobility, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patel to base the rejection of network communication to the device in the region upon the network utilization level in the region being equal to or above the threshold associated with the region and fails to satisfy the predefined condition as taught by Chiselko. The motivation to include this step of checking utilization level of a cell and rejection based on those thresholds would be to keep a standard of efficiency and reduce latency in a region that adding a new device may add. Allowing a new connection from a device in an area with already high utilization may further reduce efficiency in that region.
17. Regarding claim 17, Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teach the method of claim 12 (discussed above). Patel further teaches wherein the designated region of the FWA device is within a coverage area of the device ( [0023] “As described herein, RAN 140 may include a 4G base station 150 (e.g., an evolved Node B (eNB)) and a 5G base station 160 (e.g., a next generation Node B (gNB)). 4G base station 150 and 5G base station 160 may each include one or multiple cells that include devices and/or components configured to enable radio communication with FWA devices 120.” & [0031] “FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating exemplary components of core network 145 in the context of environment 100 according to an implementation described herein. As shown in FIG. 2, core network 145 may include eNB 210,” The examiner interprets #150 eNB and #160 gNB from FIG.1 as potential first base stations covering a designated area for the FWA device, and the FWA device (FIG. 1 #120) is within the coverage area. ).
18. Regarding claim 18, Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teach the method of claim 12 (discussed above). Patel further teaches wherein the designated region of the FWA device is within a coverage area of a second base station ( [0023] “As described herein, RAN 140 may include a 4G base station 150 (e.g., an evolved Node B (eNB)) and a 5G base station 160 (e.g., a next generation Node B (gNB)). 4G base station 150 and 5G base station 160 may each include one or multiple cells that include devices and/or components configured to enable radio communication with FWA devices 120.” & [0039] “FIG. 3 illustrates another exemplary implementation of components of core network 145. As shown in FIG. 3, environment 100 may include FWA device 120, gNB 220,” The examiner interprets the two regions covered by the eNB and separate gNB are part of the same RAN #140 that cover designated regions for the FWA device. )
19. Regarding claim 20, Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teaches the method of claim 12 (discussed above). Patel further teaches wherein the location information comprises Global Positioning System (GPS) information provided by the FWA device ( [0011] “In other implementations, geo-fencing may be provisioned for the FWA services to control the customer's access to network services based on the designated service location. In some implementations, the geo-fencing may correspond to a geographic location of varying granularity corresponding to, for example, GPS data obtained for the UE device and/or FWA device,”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claims 9, and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220167114) hereinafter Patel, in view of Nasielski et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20160066261 ) hereinafter Nasielski.
21. Regarding claim 9, Patel teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a network node in a core network ( [0039] “FIG. 3 illustrates another exemplary implementation of components of core network 145. As shown in FIG. 3, environment 100 may include FWA device 120, gNB 220, core network 145, and PDN 170. Core network 145 may include an Access and Mobility Function (AMF) 320, a User Plane Function (UPF) 330, a Session Management Function (SMF) 340, and a Unified Data Management (UDM) 350. While FIG. 3 depicts a single AMF 320, UPF 330, SMF 340, and UDM 350, for illustration purposes, in practice, core network 145 may include multiple AMFs 320, UPFs 330, SMFs 340, and UDMs 350. gNB 220 may be part of RAN 140 and may include base station 160.” The base station, gNB, may forward communications between the FWA devices and the core network, AMF, UYPF, SMF, etc.), a query from a base station requesting information associated with a mobility event of a fixed wireless access (FWA) device, wherein the mobility event occurs upon the FWA device moving from a designated region configured for the FWA device to
a different region outside of the designated region ( [0057] “A network service-related request may be received with an included FWA ID associated with FWA device 120 to eNB 210 or gNB 220 (block 710). For example, at power-up, UE device 134 may generate an attach request message or a registration request message to RAN 140 which may forward the request to node in core network 145, such as MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340). Alternatively or additionally, during a network session, UE device 134 may generate a tracking area update (TAU) request message to RAN 140 which may forward the request to MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340). Alternatively or additionally, the message may be any other type of service request from UE device 134 to MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) during a network session.” The device may perform a TAU in the session request. The request is a response to a device checking if it may connect in the cell after a move. );
and transmitting, by the network node to the base station, information to enable the FWA device to perform wireless communication in the different region ([0064] “Assuming that MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) determines that eNB 150 (or gNB 160) is located within geo-fencing established for FWA device 120, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may enable network access to UE device 134 (signal 640). For example, the attach or registration procedures may be completed for connecting UE device 134 to RAN 140, or the TAU procedures completed. In some implementations, MME 250 (or AMF 320/SMF 340) may add PCO values to an accept message or the like in response to the network service-related request.” The MME determines whether the device in questions is within the geo-fence allowed for the device and then transmits an accept message with other values such as PCO values in response to the query.).
However, Patel does not disclose the information transmitted to the base station includes a pricing level or a network quality level associated with the mobility event to the different region.
Nasielski in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the information transmitted to the base station includes a pricing level or a network quality level associated with the mobility event to the different region ( [0008] “According to one aspect, the method also includes invoking a mobility event, the cost information being received in conjunction with the invoking of the mobility event. According to another aspect, the mobility event includes establishing connectivity with at least one network or modifying connectivity with the at least one network, the at least one network including the network.” & [0009] “According to one aspect, receiving the cost information includes receiving the cost information via broadcast signaling. According to another aspect, the cost information includes at least two or more of: a first cost information for an access technology; a second cost information for a wireless spectrum; a third cost information for a subscription; a fourth cost information for a high-level application; a fifth cost information for a service class; a sixth cost information for a location where service charging may occur; a seventh cost information for particular traffic; an eighth cost information for a time of day; a ninth cost information for a first load of a particular cell; a tenth cost information for a second load of a base station; or an eleventh cost information for a dynamic entity. According to yet another aspect, the wireless spectrum includes a licensed spectrum, an unlicensed spectrum, or a shared access spectrum; the subscription includes a home subscription or a roaming subscription; the location where service charging may occur is associated with a geographic location, a network identifier, a public land mobile network (PLMN), a tracking area, a cell identifier, or a service set identifier (SSID); the time of day includes a daytime, an afternoon, or an evening; the particular cell includes a serving cell or a non-serving cell; the base station includes a serving base station or a non-serving base station; and the dynamic entity includes an entity that changes frequently so that the cost information must be calculated for it dynamically.” Paragraphs 8 and 9 disclose that pricing information, as well as other corresponding information, is sent in response to a mobility event of the device. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patel where the information included in the response message transmitted by the core network node includes some pricing information relating to the cost of the communication within the region as taught by Nasielski. The motivation to include this step as taught by Nasielski is to allow the device or intended user to make a more informed decision as to whether or not they would like to move forward and connect their device after changing designated regions. The cost information may deter users from attempting to connect to certain regions.
22. Regarding claim 11, Patel and Nasielski teach the method of claim 9 (discussed above). Patel further teaches wherein the network node comprises at least one of an Access and Management Mobility Function (AMF) or a Policy Control Function (PCF) ( [0039] “FIG. 3 illustrates another exemplary implementation of components of core network 145. As shown in FIG. 3, environment 100 may include FWA device 120, gNB 220, core network 145, and PDN 170. Core network 145 may include an Access and Mobility Function (AMF) 320,)” ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
23. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel, Chiselko, and Jung, in further view of Harvey et al. (U.S Patent No. US 7853250 B2), hereinafter Harvey.
24. Regarding claim 19, Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teach the device of claim 12 (discussed above). Patel, Chiselko, and Jung however fail to teach wherein the processor is configured to determine the region in which the FWA device is located by triangulation.
Harvey in the same field of endeavor teaches that the processor executes instruction in
determining the locations of wireless access devices using triangulation ( [Pg. 28, Col. 29, Line 10]
" A wireless intrusion detection system comprising: a memory to store instructions; and a processor
to execute the instructions to: determine locations of a plurality of wireless access devices." &
FIG.11 #1110 depicts the method in which the approximate location of a wireless access device is
determined using triangulation.).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the use of GPS to determine the location of FWA devices in Patel, Chiselko, and Jung and substitute or add the use of triangulation from Harvey. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this change as the substituted components and their functions can better calculate a more accurate location using triangulation techniques.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
25. Claims 4 and 15, and 21-24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel, Chiselko, and Jung, and in further view of Nasielski.
26. Regarding claim 4, Patel, Chiselko, and Jung teach the method of claim 1 (discussed above). However, Patel, Chiselko, and Jung do not disclose that the query to a core network may be requesting policy information associated with the FWA device, and wherein the network communication is provided to the FWA device at a different pricing level or a different network quality level as compared to an original pricing level or an original quality level for operations of the FWA device in the designated region.
Nasielski teaches that a device may query a core network requesting policy information associated with the FWA device, and wherein the network communication is provided to the FWA device at a different pricing level or a different network quality level as compared to an original pricing level or an original quality level for operations of the FWA device in the designated region ( [0078] “As illustrated in the system 200 of FIG. 2, a user device such as a user equipment (UE) 202 can select one or more access networks 204, 206, 208 to use for a given access operation. A first access network 204 is cast and controlled by a first radio tower 210, a second access network 206 is cast and controlled by a second radio tower 212 and a third access network 208 is cast and controlled by a third radio tower 214. The radio towers 210, 212, 214 control the scope, range and reach of where their respective access networks are effective. As can be seen in FIG. 2, the UE 202 lies within the intersection of all three access networks 204, 206 and 208. The UE 202 is also positioned somewhere in the middle between all three radio towers 210, 212 and 214.” & [0079] “In accordance with the teachings herein, the selection of a given access network from the access networks 204, 206 and 208 can be based on the relative cost of accessing the different access networks 204, 206, 208, as well as other factors as discussed herein. This is where the cost information of a given access network may play a role in the selection of that given access network, because users tend to choose access networks that are cheaper, more efficient and more convenient for usage.” & [0080] “In view of the above, the disclosure relates in some aspects to delivering cost information to a device. The cost information can be sent on a per-user basis (at connectivity establishment, connectivity modification, mobility events, or at other times) to enable network differentiation based on network subscriptions, network conditions (e.g., traffic), the application being invoked, home vs. roaming scenarios, other factors, and/or any combination thereof. Thus, application-specific charging over a plurality of access networks, with or without user intervention, can be achieved.” & [0088] “Cost signals, such as the cost signal 404, can be presented to the mobile device 408 (e.g., connection manager 410) in a standard format. For example, in some implementations, the cost signals can provide a level of granularity indicating whether connectivity is free, the rate applicable to when the user is in a home network, or the rate applicable to when the user is roaming. In some implementations, at a minimum, a cost signal is an offer to provide services at a certain cost for a given period of time. In a non-limiting example where internet access is the basic service, variables that could be included in the cost signal include at least one of: data rate, a range of data rates at different prices, latency guarantee or tiered latencies for different prices, application data and associated