DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 09/23/2025, claims 1-5, 8, 9, 14, and 16-20 are pending, claims 16-20 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, and 14 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Meisiek (US 20020168184 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Meisiek discloses
An aircraft heated floor panel (aircraft floor heating panel, see abstract and fig.2), comprising:
a first face sheet (2, see fig.2);
a second face sheet (12, see fig.2) opposite the first face sheet (2, see fig.2); and
Annotated fig.2 of Meisiek
a core (combo 3-10, see fig.2) including a conductive core portion (foil heater 4, see fig.2), a first insulating core portion (3, see fig.2 and para.0040: “The adhesive layer 3 functions simultaneously as an electric insulator …”), and a second insulating core portion (10, see fig. 2 and para.0041: “The GFC-layer(s) …10 are also electrical insulators”), wherein the conductive core portion (4, see fig.2) supports the first face sheet (2) and the second face sheet (12, see fig.2), wherein the first insulating core portion (3) is disposed between the conductive core portion (4) and the first face sheet (2, see fig.2),
wherein the first insulating core portion (3) is adhesively coupled directly to the first face sheet (2, see fig.2 and para.0040: “A bonding layer 3, for example an acrylic bonding layer 3 adhesively secures a flat heater such as a foil heater 4 to the metal plate 2”), wherein the second insulating core portion (10, see fig.2) is disposed between the conductive core portion (4, see fig.2) and the second face sheet (12, see fig.2), wherein the second insulating core portion (10, see fig.2) is adhesively coupled directly to the second face sheet (12, see fig.2), and wherein the conductive core portion (4) is electrically insulated from the external an environment external to the aircraft heated floor panel by the first insulating core portion (3, see fig.2 and para.0040: “The adhesive layer 3 functions simultaneously as an electric insulator …”) and the second insulating core portion (10, see fig. 2 and para.0041: “The GFC-layer(s) …10 are also electrical insulators”), such that current applied to the conductive core portion (4, see fig.2) may generate heat which the core (combo 3-10) communicates to at least the first face sheet (See para.0040: “The plate 2 made of aluminum is capable of a rapid heat transfer and a homogeneous heat radiation from the panel”.)
Regarding claim 2, Meisiek further discloses
wherein the core (combo 3-10, see fig.2) includes a honeycomb body (honeycomb core 6, see fig.2) extending between the first face sheet (2, see fig.2) and the second face sheet (12, see fig.2).
Regarding claim 3, Meisiek further discloses
the conductive core portion (4, see fig.2 and 6) includes an electrically conductive coating (conductors 39, see fig.6) conformally over an exterior of the conductive core portion (4, see fig.6 and para.0054: “Conductors 39, for example in the form of printed circuit conductors on the surface of the heater 4”).
Regarding claim 5, Meisiek further discloses
the core (combo 3-10, see fig.2) defines a longitudinal axis (see longitudinal axis in annotated fig.1 below) extending between the first face sheet (2, see fig.2) and the second face sheet (12, see fig.2).
Annotated fig.2 of Meisiek
Regarding claim 8, Meisiek further discloses
the longitudinal axis (see longitudinal axis in annotated fig.2 above) extends through the conductive core portion (4, See fig.2).
Regarding claim 9, Meisiek further discloses
the conductive core portion (4, see fig.2) laterally spans the core (comb 3-10) between the first face sheet (2) and the second sheet (12, see fig.2).
Regarding claim 14, Meisiek further discloses
a lead (30, see fig.7 and 10) electrically connected to the conductive core portion (4, see fig.6) and extending to the environment (plug-in connector P, see fig.10) external to the aircraft heated floor panel (1, see fig.10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meisiek in view of Petrenko (US 20040149734 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Meisiek discloses all the claimed limitations as set forth in claim 1, except the conductive core portion includes an electrically conductive dopant disposed within an interior of the core.
Petrenko discloses ice modification removal and prevention for aircrafts (see para.0019), comprising:
the conductive core portion (8233, see claim 220) includes an electrically conductive dopant disposed within an interior of the core ( 8233, 8235, 8452, 8454, see claim 220: “…a plurality of electrodes 8233, 8235, 8452, 8454 and dopants to impart electrical conductivity in the electrodes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the conductive core portion of Meisiek to include an electrically conductive dopant disposed within an interior of the core as taught by Petrenko. Doing so allows to increase electrical conductivity in the conductive core portion to obtain more efficient, reliable, and safer heated floor panel, ultimately contributing to improved aircraft performance and reduced operational costs (see para.0349: “The solid object may contain dopants to increase electrical conductivity in the solid object”).
Response to Arguments
Objections to the Claims: the amendments have overcome the previous objection.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b): the amendments have overcome the previous rejections.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102:
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because:
Meisiek discloses the amended limitations: “a core including a conductive core portion, a first insulating core portion, and a second insulating core portion…
wherein the first insulating core portion is disposed between the conductive core portion and the first face sheet, wherein the first insulating core portion is adhesively coupled directly to the first face sheet, wherein the second insulating core portion is disposed between the conductive core portion and the second face sheet, wherein the second insulating core portion is adhesively coupled directly to the second face sheet, and wherein the conductive core portion is electrically insulated from the external an environment external to the aircraft heated floor panel by the first insulating core portion and the second insulating core portion such that current applied to the conductive core portion may generate heat which the core communicates to at least the first face sheet” as recited in claim 1.
In Meisiek, the combo layers 3-10 is equivalent to the claimed “core”. The combo layers 3-10 includes a foil heater 4 (“ conductive core portion”), a“first insulating core portion” 3 and a “second insulating core portion” 10 (see para.0040-0041 of Meisiek). See annotated fig.2 of Meisiek, below:
the first insulating core portion 3 is disposed between the conductive core portion 4 and the first face sheet 2, wherein the first insulating core portion 3 is adhesively coupled directly to the first face sheet 2 (See para.0040). Also, the second insulating core portion 10 is disposed between the conductive core portion 3 and the second face sheet 12, wherein the second insulating core portion 10 is adhesively coupled directly to the second face sheet 12, and wherein the conductive core portion 4 is electrically insulated from the external an environment external to the aircraft heated floor panel by the first insulating core portion 3 and the second insulating core portion 10 such that current applied to the conductive core portion may generate heat which the core communicates to at least the first face sheet 2 (See para.0040-0041).
For the above reasons, Meisiek teaches all limitations of the independent claim 1. Therefore, the 102 rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Claims 2,3, 4, 8, 8, 9 and 14 are rejected by their dependency from claim 1.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Meisiek teaches all limitations of the independent claim 1 as discussed above. As such, the rejection to claim 4 under 103 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 6834159 B1 discloses n aircraft floor panel including a plurality of layers cured to form a lower support level, an upper heater level, and a top metal sheet for protecting the underlying layers from floor-traffic related damage.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761