DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 64, 65, 67, 68, & 70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka (US20190386343) in view of Di Palma (US20060174938) further in view of Cotton (US20180131041).
Regarding Claim 64, Otsuka discloses an electrochemical device (nonaqueous secondary battery, [002]) comprising:
An anode; a cathode; and an electrolyte composition disposed between the anode and the cathode ([0015]).
The examiner notes that the instant specifications list cellulose as an example of a biodegradable polymer that is radiatively curable prior to being crosslinked.
Otsuka discloses wherein the electrolyte is a porous layer ([0015]), that contains an organic filler ([0036]) that can be composed of cellulose ([0036]). Otsuka further discloses wherein the organic filler is preferably crosslinked ([0036]). However, Otsuka does not directly disclose wherein the electrolyte composition comprises a crosslinked, biodegradable polymeric material that is radiatively curable prior to being crosslinked.
Cotton discloses a polymer electrolyte that includes cellulose ([001]). Cotton further discloses wherein the cellulose can be grafted with cyclic alkyl, or aryl or ether ([0026]). Cotton teaches that this structure provides improved ion conductivity ([0035]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Otsuka with the teachings of Cotton to have wherein the electrolyte composition comprises a crosslinked, biodegradable polymeric material that is radiatively curable prior to being crosslinked. This modification would yield the expected result of improved ion conducvity.
Otsuka does not directly disclose wherein the electrolyte composition comprises a hydrogel, wherein the hydrogel comprises water and the crosslinked, biodegradable polymeric material.
However, Otsuka further discloses wherein the biodegradable polymer can be cellulose ([0036]). Otsuka further discloses wherein cellulose can be used as a water-soluble polymer ([0036]). Otsuka further discloses wherein the water-soluble polymer is mixed with water ([0041]). Otsuka further discloses wherein the electrolyte utilizes an electrolyte solution ([0045]).
Di Palma discloses a water-based gel electrolyte ([0027]). Di Palma further discloses wherein the water-based electrolyte gel is formed by mixing a hydrophilic polymer and an electrolyte solution ([0038]).
Thus, it is the examiner’s opinion that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a “electrolyte composition comprises a hydrogel” can be any gel structure formed by mixing a hydrophilic polymer and an electrolyte solution.
Therefore, since Otsuka discloses the mixing of cellulose, a hydrophilic polymer, and an electrolyte solvent, it is the examiner’s position that Otsuka discloses a hydrogel comprising water and the crosslinked, biodegradable polymeric material.
Regarding Claim 65, Otsuka in view of Di Palma discloses the limitations as set forth above. Otsuka further discloses wherein the wherein the biodegradable polymeric material prior to being crosslinked comprises a radiatively curable functional group comprising one or more of an acrylate, a vinyl ether, an allyl ether, an alkene, a thiol or combinations thereof (organic filler can be cellulose either, [0049], cellulose fiber can be CMC, HEC, ethyl cellulose, [0050]).
Regarding Claim 67, Otsuka in view of Di Palma discloses the limitations as set forth above. Otsuka further discloses one or more biodegradable substrates (cellulose can be used as biodegradable substrate, [0036]).
Regarding Claim 68, Otsuka in view of Di Palma discloses the limitations as set forth above. Otsuka further discloses wherein the biodegradable substrate is cellulose ([0036]).
Regarding Claim 70, Otsuka in view of Di Palma discloses the limitations as set forth above. Otsuka further discloses wherein the anode comprises Lithium, carbon, or Mg alloys ([0121]); and the cathode comprises Fe MnO2 ([0112]).
Claim(s) 66 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka (US20190386343) in view of Di Palma (US20060174938) further in view of Mikhaylik (US20120052397).
Regarding Claim 66, Otsuka in view of Di Palma discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Otsuka does not directly disclose the use of a photoinitiator.
Mikhaylik discloses a polymer electrolyte that can be formed of organic fillers including cellulose ([0177]). Mikhaylik further discloses the use of a photoinitiator ([0227]). Mikhaylik teaches that the photoinitator improved the cross-linking reaction ([0227]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Otsuka with the teachings of Mikhaylik to have a photoinitiator. This modification would yield the expected result of improved cross-linking reactions.
Claim(s) 71 - 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka (US20190386343) in view of Di Palma (US20060174938) further in view of Miyazaki (US20130089781).
Regarding Claim 71 & 73, Otsuka in view of Di Palma discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Otsuka does not directly disclose wherein the anode comprises a first biodegradable binder and the cathode comprises a second biodegradable binder, wherein the first or second biodegradable binder comprises one or more of chitosan, PLGA, CAB, PHB, or combinations thereof.
Miyazaki discloses a positive electrode active material and negative electrode active material that can contain an organic binder ([0029]). Miyazaki further discloses wherein the organic binder can be chitosan ([0029]). Miyazaki teaches that this structure prevents short-circuits ([0019]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Otsuka with the teachings of Miyazaki to have wherein the anode comprises a first biodegradable binder and the cathode comprises a second biodegradable binder, wherein the first or second biodegradable binder comprises one or more of chitosan, PLGA, CAB, PHB, or combinations thereof. This modified structure would yield the expected result of reducing short-circuits.
Regarding Claim 72, Otsuka in view of Di Palma discloses the limitations as set forth above. Otsuka further discloses wherein the cathode and the anode are disposed in a stacked geometry (electrodes are laminated in order, [0015])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments in view of their arguments, see Claims, filed November 25th, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 66 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Otsuka in view of Di Palma further in view of Cotton under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728