DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-20, 24-29 are pending are examined. Claims 2, 11, 21-23 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mogami (US Pub 2013/0099143; previously cited), in view of Wu (WO 2020/147203; previously cited), and further in view of Johnston (US Patent 6,106,732; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Mogami teaches an array substrate, comprising at least one recess ([0091]. According to the above-described configuration, for example, the suspension containing the biological samples is introduced into the accommodating unit 45 from an introducing port 24 provided for the spacer 16, the biological samples are sedimented into the holding holes 9 by means of the gravity, and thereby the biological samples 2 can be immobilized to the respective holding holes 9 as shown in FIG. 2(b).), wherein the array substrate is in a plane, and a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one recess on the plane to an area of an orthographic projection of the array substrate on the plane is between 0.05 and 0.60. Although Mogami does not teach this range, as it is so large, it would appear that any substrate having an array of recesses would satisfy this requirement. In fact, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to create an array of recesses in a substrate within the range of 0.05 to 0.60 in order to provide sufficient support for the recesses and deter breakage of the substrate.
a first substrate; a defining layer on the first substrate and defining the at least one recess; and a shielding layer defining at least one opening, wherein an orthographic projection of the at least one opening on the first substrate at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the at least one recess on the first substrate, and wherein an orthographic projection of the shielding layer on the first substrate at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the defining layer on the first substrate ([0091] According to the above-described configuration, for example, the suspension containing the biological samples is introduced into the accommodating unit 45 from an introducing port 24 provided for the spacer 16, the biological samples are sedimented into the holding holes 9 by means of the gravity, and thereby the biological samples 2 can be immobilized to the respective holding holes 9 as shown in FIG. 2(b). After the necessary operation such as the labeling is performed for the structure 14 in which the biological samples 2 are immobilized to the respective holding holes 9, for example, when the excitation light 6 is radiated from the upper side (accommodating unit side) of FIG. 2(b), and the fluorescence 7 is observed from the upper side as well, then the autofluorescence of the insulator film 18 and the leakage light coming from the adjacent holding hole(s) 9 are shut off by the light shielding film 19. Therefore, it is possible to reduce the light noise such as the background noise and the crosstalk noise. Accordingly, a weak light signal emitted from a labeled substance bound to the biological sample 2 (described later on) can be detected highly sensitively and highly accurately. Even when the fluorescence 7 is observed from the lower side of FIG. 2(b), the leakage light coming from the adjacent holding hole(s) 9 is somewhat shut off by the light shielding film 19.).
wherein the defining layer defines a plurality of recesses, the shielding layer defines a plurality of openings, the plurality of recesses correspond to the plurality of openings one by one, and an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of openings on the first substrate is within an orthographic projection of a recess corresponding to the opening on the first substrate (see recesses in Figs. 2 and 3. Although an orthographic projection is not shown, one of ordinary skill in the art would envision such a projection of the 3 dimensional object onto a surface.
wherein the defining layer defines a plurality of recesses, the shielding layer defines a plurality of openings, the plurality of recesses correspond to the plurality of openings one by one, and an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of openings on the first substrate is within an orthographic projection of a recess corresponding to the opening on the first substrate (recesses, defining layer, shielding layer, and openings and orthographic projections are shown in Figs. 2 and 3).
the defining layer defines a plurality of recesses, the shielding layer defines a plurality of openings, and the plurality of holes, the plurality of recesses, and the plurality of openings correspond one by one with each other; wherein a hole of the plurality of holes is projected on the first substrate to form a first orthographic projection, a recess of the plurality of recesses that corresponds to the hole is projected on the first substrate to form a second orthographic projection, an opening of the plurality of openings that corresponds to the hole is projected on the first substrate to form a third orthographic projection, both the first orthographic projection and the third orthographic projection are within the second orthographic projection, the third orthographic projection is within the first orthographic projection, and the first orthographic projection, the second orthographic projection, and the third orthographic projection form concentric rings (The first, second, and third orthographic projections would be inherent to the structures as taught by Mogami. [0090] Figs. 1 and 2 The holding unit 20 is composed of a stack of an insulator film 18 and a light shielding film 19. The light shielding film 19 is arranged above the insulator film 18. The holding unit 20 has a plurality of holding holes (through-holes) 9 which are formed so as to extend to (arrive at) the substrate 15 via the insulator film 18 and the light shielding film 19. In this configuration, the holding hole 9 is a bottomed cylindrical hole in which the substrate 15 serves as the bottom surface. The concentric ring would be inherent to the recesses, holes and substrate).
Mogami is silent to comprising a hydrophilic layer and a first hydrophobic layer, wherein the hydrophilic layer covers at least a sidewall of the at least one recess; and wherein the first hydrophobic layer is on a side of the defining layer away from the first substrate and farther away from the first substrate than the hydrophilic layer, and the first hydrophobic layer defines a plurality of holes.
Wu teaches in the related art of a detection chip. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the detection chip 100 further includes a second substrate 20 and a hydrophobic layer 13. The second substrate 20 is arranged opposite to the first substrate 10 and plays a role of protection, support, isolation, and the like. The hydrophobic layer 13 has hydrophobic and lipophilic characteristics, and is located on the side of the second substrate 20 facing the first substrate 10. The microcavity defining layer 11 is located on the side of the first substrate 10 facing the second substrate 20, and the surface of the microcavity defining layer 11 away from the first substrate 10 faces the second substrate 20. By providing the hydrophobic layer 13, the reaction system solution can more easily enter each micro-reaction chamber 110. In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the hydrophilic layer 14 and the hydrophobic layer 13 can jointly adjust the surface contact angle of the droplets of the reaction system solution, so that the detection chip 100 can realize self-absorption liquid sampling and oil sealing. For example, in the detection chip 100, the hydrophobic layer 13 improves the hydrophobic performance outside the micro reaction chamber 110, so that the outside of the micro reaction chamber 110 (for example, the surface of the second substrate 20 facing the micro reaction chamber 110) is hydrophobic, and the micro reaction chamber The internal surface of 110 has good hydrophilicity, so that the reaction system solution infiltrates from the outside of the micro reaction chamber 110 to the inside of the micro reaction chamber 110. Therefore, under the combined action of the hydrophilic layer 14 and the hydrophobic layer 13, the reaction system solution is easier to enter Each micro reaction chamber 110.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a hydrophilic layer and a first hydrophobic layer, wherein the hydrophilic layer covers at least a sidewall of the at least one recess; and wherein the first hydrophobic layer is on a side of the defining layer away from the first substrate and farther away from the first substrate than the hydrophilic layer, as taught by Wu, to the device of Mogami, to allow for the reaction system solution is easier to enter each micro reaction chamber, as taught by Wu. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the first hydrophobic layer which defines a plurality of holes, as taught by Wu, to the device of Mogami, to allow for the reaction system solution is easier to enter each micro reaction chamber, as taught by Wu.
Modified Mogami is silent to the first hydrophobic layer continuously extends from at least an upper surface of the hydrophilic layer to a junction of the upper surface of the hydrophilic layer and the sidewall of the recess.
Johnston teaches in the related art of collection of a sample. See Column 7, lines 8-24. The two hydrophobic layers attached to base supports each extend well beyond the edges of the two hydrophilic layers at every blood receiving station. Means must be provided at each station to hold those portions of these hydrophobic layers that extend beyond the bounds of the hydrophilic layers firmly in contact with one another so that they will (1) keep the two hydrophilic layers in firm, uniform, surface-to-surface contact during blood sample application, separation and the wicking of the plasma into the lower hydrophilic layer and also (2) allow subsequent, facile mechanical separation of the two solidly supported hydrophobic layers so that there is isolation of the plasma in the plasma retention layer. A wide variety of such means are known for this purpose and any of them that will perform the necessary functions is acceptable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the hydrophobic layer of Mogami to continuously extend from at least an upper surface of the hydrophilic layer to a junction of the upper surface of the hydrophilic layer and the sidewall of the recess, as taught by Johnston, to allow for contacting a sample.
Regarding Claim 3, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein the at least one recess penetrates the defining layer (Figs. 1 and 2, the recess goes through the insulating film).
Regarding Claim 4, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein the shielding layer is between the first substrate and the defining layer ([0090] As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the structure 14 is composed of a flat plate substrate 15, a holding unit 20 which is arranged on the substrate 15, and a spacer 16 for forming, above the holding unit 20, a space (referred to as "accommodating unit" as well) 45 for introducing there into a suspension containing the biological sample. The holding unit 20 is composed of a stack of an insulator film 18 and a light shielding film 19.).
Regarding Claim 5, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein the shielding layer is on a side of the first substrate away from the defining layer ([0090] As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the structure 14 is composed of a flat plate substrate 15, a holding unit 20 which is arranged on the substrate 15, and a spacer 16 for forming, above the holding unit 20, a space (referred to as "accommodating unit" as well) 45 for introducing there into a suspension containing the biological sample. The holding unit 20 is composed of a stack of an insulator film 18 and a light shielding film 19.).
Regarding Claim 6, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein the shielding layer comprises a first portion, the first portion is on a side of the defining layer away from the first substrate, and the first portion is attached to side surfaces of the defining layer and a surface of the defining layer away from the first substrate; and wherein the first portion defines the at least one opening ([0090] As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the structure 14 is composed of a flat plate substrate 15, a holding unit 20 which is arranged on the substrate 15, and a spacer 16 for forming, above the holding unit 20, a space (referred to as "accommodating unit" as well) 45 for introducing there into a suspension containing the biological sample. The holding unit 20 is composed of a stack of an insulator film 18 and a light shielding film 19.).
Regarding Claim 7, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 6, wherein the shielding layer further comprises a second portion, the second portion is attached to a surface of the defining layer close to the first substrate to surround the defining layer together with the first portion; and wherein the second portion defines the at least one opening (the examiner notes that the second portion is any section of the shielding layer.).
Regarding Claim 8, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 7, wherein an orthographic projection of the at least one opening defined by the first portion of the shielding layer on the first substrate and an orthographic projection of the at least one opening defined by the second portion of the shielding layer on the first substrate completely overlap (the orthographic projections would overlap).
Regarding Claim 9, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the defining layer close to the first substrate and/or a surface of the defining layer away from the first substrate constitute the shielding layer (a light shielding film 19 which reduces light noise is provided for the substrate 15 or the holding unit 20. See abstract.)
Regarding Claim 10, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein a tangent to any point on a sidewall of the at least one recess is at an angle to the plane where the array substrate is located, and the angle is not equal to 90o (the tangent would be at a non-right angle as shown in Figs. 2 or 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein both a shape of an orthographic projection of each of the at least one recess and a shape of an orthographic projection of each of the at least one opening on the first substrate comprise a circle or a regular polygon (the shape of both of the orthographic projections of the recess and opening would be capable of being a circle or a regular polygon).
Regarding Claim 13, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 12, wherein both a shape of an orthographic projection of each opening and a shape of an orthographic projection of a recess corresponding to the opening on the first substrate are circular, a diameter of each opening is in a range of 20-80 µm, and a diameter of the recess corresponding to the opening is in a range of 25-90 µm; or a shape of an orthographic projection of each opening on the first substrate is a first regular polygon, and a shape of an orthographic projection of the recess corresponding to the opening on the first substrate is a second regular polygon, a diameter of an inscribed circle of the first regular polygon is in a range of 20-80 µm, and a diameter of an inscribed circle of the second regular polygon is in a range of 25-90 µm (recesses, defining layer, shielding layer, and openings and orthographic projections are shown in Figs. 2 and 3, the size of various dimensions in the device are µm including the film thickness and cells so the diameter of an inscribed circular would be approximately of the first regular polygon is in a range of 20-80 µm, and a diameter of an inscribed circle of the second regular polygon is in a range of 25-90 µm).
Regarding Claim 14, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein a material of the defining layer comprises photoresist ([0136] As the material for the insulator film 18, it is possible to utilize materials having the insulation performance, for example, silicone rubber, resist, cross-linkable polymers such as resins, ceramics, glass, water-repellent paper, and so forth. [180] Subsequently, a resist 46 is applied so that the film thickness is 1 µm from the resist film surface of the lower layer by using a spin coater onto the formed Cr film 38.).
Regarding Claim 15, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein a material of the shielding layer comprises an opaque material, and the opaque material comprises chromium, chromium oxide, and black resin ([0134] As the material for the light shielding film 19, it is appropriate to use a material having sufficient light shielding performance with respect to the light having a wavelength emitted from the labeled substance (for example, light having a wavelength of 380 nm to 780 nm in the case of the visible light). It is possible to utilize metallic materials, carbon-based materials, ceramics, resins, and so forth. In particular, it is preferable to use metallic materials such as metals such as chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), and gold (Au), and metal oxides. In particular, it is preferable to use chromium (Cr), which has the high light shielding performance and which has the high tight contact performance with respect to the substrate 15 and the insulator film 18.).
Regarding Claim 16, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the shielding layer in a direction perpendicular to the first substrate is in a range of 0.6-2.4 µm ([0134] The thickness of the light shielding film can be appropriately set depending on the material. In the case of the metallic film such as chromium (Cr), the film thickness thereof is preferably within a range of 50 nm to 10 µm, or especially preferably not less than 100 nm, wherein the sufficient light shielding performance is obtained.).
Regarding Claims 17 and 19, modified Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1.
Mogami is silent to a heating electrode between the first substrate and the defining layer, wherein the heating electrode is configured to heat the at least one recess, the heating electrode comprises a plurality of sub-parts separated from each other.
Wu teaches in the related art of an array and microfluidic device. [0070] Referring now to FIGS. 1A, 1B and 10, a droplet microfluidic device (designated 100) with heating electrodes is illustrated as a preferred embodiment for effecting heat exchanging reaction of a droplet D. In this embodiment, as shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B and 10, droplet D is sandwiched between a lower plate, designated 101, and an upper plate, designated 111. The terms “upper” and “lower” are used in the present context only to distinguish these two planes 101 and 111, and not as a limitation on the orientation of the planes 101 and 111 with respect to the horizontal. Conventionally, the upper plate is also called cover plate, as the droplet control electrodes, designated 103, are disposed on the lower plate. [0071] The material for making the lower plate or the upper/cover plate is not important as long as the surface where the electrodes or the heating electrodes are disposed is (or is made) electrically non-conductive. The material should also be rigid enough so that the lower plate and/or the cover plate can substantially keep their original shape once made. The lower plate and/or the cover plate can be made of (not limited to) glass, ceramic, quartz, or polymers such as polycarbonate (PC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or cyclic olefin copolymer (COC). [0072] The number of heating electrodes, designed 113, range from 1 to 1000, but preferably from 2 to 500, and more preferably from 2 to 100. The width of a heating electrode can range from approximately 0.005 mm to approximately 200 mm, but preferably from approximately 0.02 mm to approximately 100 mm, and more preferably from approximately 0.05 mm to approximately 50 mm. The length of a heating electrode can range from approximately 1 mm to approximately 1000 mm, but preferably from approximately 5 mm to approximately 200 mm, and more preferably from approximately 10 mm to approximately 100 mm. The shape of a heating electrode can be, but not limited to, rectangular, square, saw-tooth, serpentine, and spiral, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a heating electrode between the first substrate and the defining layer, wherein the heating electrode is configured to heat the at least one recess, the heating electrode comprises a plurality of sub-parts separated from each other, as taught by Wu, in the device of Mogami, to allow for heating a sample, as taught by Wu in [0070].
Regarding Claim 18, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 17, wherein a material of the heating electrode comprises indium tin oxide ([0128] The material of the electrode provided on the substrate surface is not particularly limited as long as the material has the conductivity and the material is chemically stable. It is possible to use, for example, metal such as platinum, gold, and copper, alloy such as stainless steel, and transparent conductive material such as ITO (Indium Tin Oxide), and the like.).
Regarding Claim 20, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 17, further comprising a conductive layer, wherein the conductive layer is between the first substrate and the heating electrode and is electrically connected to the heating electrode; and wherein an orthographic projection of at least a portion of the conductive layer on the first substrate falls on a periphery of an orthographic projection of the heating electrode on the first substrate, and the conductive layer at least partially surrounds the heating electrode ([0095] Figs. 6 and 7 Alternatively, a plate composed of conductive material(s) can be used as the upper electrode substrate 35. In this embodiment, the upper electrode substrate 35 also serves as the upper lid for covering the accommodating unit 45. In this configuration, when the interior of the accommodating unit 45 is filled with the suspension containing the biological sample, and the AC voltage is applied between the upper electrode substrate 35 and the lower electrode substrate 36 from the power source 4, then thereby the dielectrophoretic force can be allowed to act on the biological sample, and the biological sample can be introduced into and immobilized to the holding hole 9 in which the electric flux lines are concentrated.).
Regarding Claim 22, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1.
Mogami is silent to the hydrophilic layer further covers a surface of the defining layer away from the first substrate and a bottom of the at least one recess.
Wu teaches in the related art of a detection chip. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the detection chip 100 further includes a second substrate 20 and a hydrophobic layer 13. The second substrate 20 is arranged opposite to the first substrate 10 and plays a role of protection, support, isolation, and the like. The hydrophobic layer 13 has hydrophobic and lipophilic characteristics, and is located on the side of the second substrate 20 facing the first substrate 10. The microcavity defining layer 11 is located on the side of the first substrate 10 facing the second substrate 20, and the surface of the microcavity defining layer 11 away from the first substrate 10 faces the second substrate 20. By providing the hydrophobic layer 13, the reaction system solution can more easily enter each micro-reaction chamber 110. In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the hydrophilic layer 14 and the hydrophobic layer 13 can jointly adjust the surface contact angle of the droplets of the reaction system solution, so that the detection chip 100 can realize self-absorption liquid sampling and oil sealing. For example, in the detection chip 100, the hydrophobic layer 13 improves the hydrophobic performance outside the micro reaction chamber 110, so that the outside of the micro reaction chamber 110 (for example, the surface of the second substrate 20 facing the micro reaction chamber 110) is hydrophobic, and the micro reaction chamber The internal surface of 110 has good hydrophilicity, so that the reaction system solution infiltrates from the outside of the micro reaction chamber 110 to the inside of the micro reaction chamber 110. Therefore, under the combined action of the hydrophilic layer 14 and the hydrophobic layer 13, the reaction system solution is easier to enter Each micro reaction chamber 110.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the hydrophilic layer to cover a surface of the defining layer away from the first substrate and a bottom of the at least one recess, as taught by Wu, to the device of Mogami, to allow for the reaction system solution is easier to enter each micro reaction chamber, as taught by Wu.
Regarding Claim 24, Mogami teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of an area of the first hydrophobic layer to an area of the hydrophilic layer is between 0.01 and 2.00 ([0173] the ratio of an area of the light shielding film 19 and the insulator film is 1.00. The area appears the same in Fig. 2b).
Regarding Claim 25, Mogami teaches a microfluidic device comprising the array substrate according to claim 1.
Mogami is silent to a counter substrate for assembling with the array substrate, and a space between the array substrate and the counter substrate, wherein the counter substrate comprises: a second substrate; and a second hydrophobic layer on a side of the second substrate close to the first substrate, wherein the counter substrate comprises at least one through hole penetrating the second substrate and the second hydrophobic layer.
Regarding the second substrate, second hydrophobic layer, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the parts of the array substrate in the device of Mogami to allow for a flow through microfluidic device with collection or detection of the sample on both sides of the array.
Regarding Claim 26, Mogami teaches the microfluidic device according to claim 25, wherein a material of the first substrate and the second substrate comprises glass (Mogami teaches [0127] As the material for the substrate 15, acrylic resin, epoxy resin, synthetic silica (synthetic quarts) (SiO.sub.2) containing a main component of silicon oxide, ceramics, and metallic materials, and so forth, can be utilized. In particular, Pyrex glass (registered trademark), which contains main components of silicon oxide and boron oxide and has both of satisfactory processing performance and low coefficient of thermal expansion can be exemplified as a preferred member.).
Regarding Claim 27, Mogami teaches the microfluidic device according to claim 25, wherein the second hydrophobic layer comprises a light-absorbing material, and the light-absorbing material comprises at least one of TiO2 and TiON ([0134] In particular, it is preferable to use metallic materials such as metals such as chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), and gold (Au), and metal oxides. [0136] Examples of the polymer film having relatively high hydrophilicity can include polyethylene glycol-based polymers, glass, and titanium oxide.).
Regarding Claim 28, Mogami teaches a microfluidic system comprising a control device and the microfluidic device according to claim 25, wherein the control device is electrically connected to the microfluidic device, and is configured to control the temperature of the microfluidic device ([0172] In the PCR reaction, the temperature is raised to about 90oC.).
Regarding Claim 29, Mogami teaches t fluorescence detection method, comprising: containing a reagent to be tested in at least one recess of the microfluidic device according to claim 25; making a light of a first wavelength emitted by a light source irradiate the at least one recess through at least one opening defined by the shielding layer; and detecting a light of a second wavelength emitted by the reagent to be tested ([0134] As the material for the light shielding film 19, it is appropriate to use a material having sufficient light shielding performance with respect to the light having a wavelength emitted from the labeled substance (for example, light having a wavelength of 380 nm to 780 nm in the case of the visible light). It is possible to utilize metallic materials, carbon-based materials, ceramics, resins, and so forth. This range would be in the fluorescence range).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 12/24/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues on page 9 that the prior art of Mogami does not disclose the hydrophobic layer and a plurality of holes of the hydrophobic layer.
In response, the examiner notes the prior art of Mogami teaches [0136] as the insulator film having the affinity for the test particle, a hydrophilic insulator film is preferred when the test particle is hydrophilic, while a hydrophobic insulator film is preferred when the test particle is hydrophobic. The criterion for the affinity is generally represented by the contact angle between the surface of the insulator film and the liquid droplet formed when a liquid having the affinity approximate to that of the test particle is dripped onto the surface of the insulator film (the smaller the contact angle is, the higher the affinity between the liquid and the surface of the insulator film is, while the larger the contact angle is, the lower the affinity between the liquid and the surface of the insulator film is). Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Second, Applicant argues on page 10 the prior art of Wu does not disclose a shielding layer. Applicant further argues that Wu cannot disclose the spatial position among the first orthographic projection of the hole of the first hydrophobic layer, the second orthographic projection of the recess of the defining layer, and the third orthographic projection of the opening of the shielding layer.
In response, the examiner notes that the prior art of Mogami teaches the shielding film 19 in Figs. 1 and 2. Mogami teaches the spatial position among the recesses, holes, and substrate. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JB/
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798