DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending:
1-4, 9-16, 18, 47, 62-66, 68
Withdrawn:
NONE
Rejected:
1-4, 9-16, 18, 47, 62-66, 68
Amended:
1, 2, 9, 11, 68
New:
NONE
Independent:
1, 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-16, 62-65 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 2014/0230974, cited on IDS filed 4/26/22).
Concerning independent claims 1 and 2, Lin teaches a process for manufacturing an aluminum alloy sheet from molten aluminum, by casting and simultaneously cooling (see Lin at [0017], [0068-0071]) with a continuous in-line process of: continuous casting a thin strip <0.249 in thick [0033] (<6.3 mm) by feeding a belt caster or roll caster [0017] with molten aluminum, while using a compression force on the aluminum strip of 25-300 lb/in width [0032] (which overlaps the claimed compressive force range in independent claim 1), thereby obtaining a strip in a substantially solid state [0032], which overlaps the claimed process steps, strip thickness, and compression force (cl. 1). Lin teaches substantially complete solidification occurs prior to the nip (N) at [0071], which meets the instant “at least 90wt% of the aluminum-based alloy strip is in a solid state when exiting the belt caster”. Lin teaches two solidification fronts are formed (see Fig. 6w) when belt casting, followed by cooling during the straight sections of the belt caster (Fig. 6u, 6w). Said two solidification fronts form between two curved mold support sections (Fig. 6w), which meets the instant “curved mold support sections” limitation.
Concerning the amendment to claims 1 and 2 of “compression force being applied by belts of the belt caster on the aluminum-based alloy strip, during its solidification”, as detailed above, Lin teaches solidification is substantially complete at the nip (N in Fig. 6b-2), however, pressure by the belts of the belt caster is not exclusively applied in the horizontal plane after solidification/the nip. The belts of Lin begin to interface with the molten alloy at points labeled “2-6” and “4-6” (see Fig. 6b-2) where the melt begins solidification. Further, the melt advances and solidification advances (with continued pressure applied from said belts) to just prior to the nip “N” at mushy/semi-solid zone (labeled “16.6” Fig. 6b-2), where the solidification of the melt is substantially complete. Because Lin teaches the belts apply pressure and interface with the molten aluminum prior to complete solidification, Lin is held to meet the amended instant “compression force being applied by belts of the belt caster on the aluminum-based alloy strip, during its solidification” limitation. Therefore, because Lin teaches a process of belt casting with identical steps and overlapping parameters, it is held that Lin has created a prima facie case of obviousness of the presently claimed invention.
Concerning claims 3, 9, and 10, Lin teaches further steps of extended cooling (used interchangeably by Lin with quenching, see [0013], [0046], etc.) and cold rolling of the aluminum strip [0077], which meets the instant steps of further cooling and rolling. Further concerning claim 10, Lin does not specify a mandatory heat treatment step following casting and cooling and prior to rolling.
Concerning claim 11, Lin teaches simultaneous casting while cooling, followed by further cooling [0046], and therefore meets the instant claim limitations. More particularly, the “cooling” of Lin includes, but is not exclusive to, “quenching”, and therefore Lin teaches the claimed “free from quenching” limitation.
Concerning claim 12, Lin teaches simultaneous casting while cooling, followed by further cooling [0046]; wherein the further cooling of Lin can be done with a fluid or air [0046], and is within the scope of the claimed “quenching” (see 112(b) rejection above).
Concerning claims 4 and 63, Lin’s teaching of a compression force on the aluminum strip of 25-300 lb/in width [0032], overlaps the claimed 10-150 lb/in range in instant claim 4 and 63, and therefore meets said limitation.
Concerning claim 8, as set forth above, Lin teaches simultaneously casting and cooling with a belt caster, which meets the instant limitation.
Concerning claim 12, 16, 62, 64, following simultaneous casting and cooling, Lin teaches (cold) rolling at temperatures <400°F (<204°C), which overlaps the temperature range in instant claims 16 and 64. Concerning claim 12, Lin does not specify quenching following rolling at temperatures <204°C. However, Lin does not teach heat is applied to the rolling equipment during this “cold rolling” step [0076], and therefore Lin implies cooling takes place (wherein cooling is expected from elevated temperature of <400°F to room temperature). Lin does not specify the cooling rate of said cooling (see 112(b) rejection above). However, it would have been within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art, given the disclosure of Lin, to have cooled the rolled strip of Lin after rolling at temperatures <204C by media of air, spray, or liquid (which qualify as “quenching”, see Lin at [0013]) because Lin teaches cooling with various media is suitable to provide a sheet with excellent properties (examples, [0013]).
Concerning claims 13 and 14, following cooling (which qualifies as quenching), Lin teaches thermally treating by aging [0141], Fig. 2(a).
Concerning claims 15, 65, Lin teaches casting and simultaneously cooling, wherein said cooling occurs at a rate 1000C/s [0035], which falls within the claimed cooling rate range and therefore meets the instant limitation.
Concerning claim 68, Lin teaches two solidification fronts are formed (see Fig. 6w) when belt casting, followed by cooling during the straight sections of the belt caster (Fig. 6u, 6w), which meets the instant limitation.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of “ASM Handbook Vol. 2A” pp 255-278 (cited herein).
Lin is discussed in paragraphs above. Lin does not specify coiling after belt casting and prior to further cold rolling. However, Lin does mention post casting processing can be completed in a batch or continuous mode [0012]. “ASM Handbook Vol. 2A” p 265 teaches aluminum sheet is available in coil form (intended for further processing). Further, “ASM Handbook Vol. 2A” p 269 teaches that aluminum strips after casting by continuous casting (such as twin belt casting) are uncoiled, cold rolled, and recoiled (p 269, 3rd column, p 270 Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have coiled the twin belt strip of Lin, and further uncoiled prior to rolling, in order to facilitate logistics and operate in a batch type manner (taught by Lin) by coiling after casting and uncoiling prior to further working (taught by “ASM Handbook Vol. 2A”).
Claims 47, 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Handa (US 2016/0265095, cited herein).
Lin is discussed in paragraphs above. Lin does not specify “pulse heating” at “about 400°C to about 570°C”. However, Handa teaches a heat treatment of final annealing at 450-560°C for 10-60 sec is effective to increase formability and bendability of aluminum sheets [0075-0076], which overlaps the claimed heat treatment temperature and time duration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have annealed the aluminum strip of Lin at temperatures of 450-560°C for 10-60 sec, as taught by Handa, because Handa teaches said heat treatment provides the predictable result of improving formability and bendability [0075-0076].
Response to Amendment
In the amendment filed 10/28/25 applicant amended claims 1, 2, 9, 11, and 68. No new matter has been added. The instant amendment has overcome the previously applied 112 rejections.
Applicant’s argument that the instant invention is allowable because Lin teaches solidification prior to compression force applied by the belts of the belt caster has not been found persuasive. As detailed above, though Lin teaches solidification is substantially complete at the nip (N in Fig. 6b-2), the belts of Lin begin to interface with the molten alloy at points labeled “2-6” and “4-6” (see Fig. 6b-2) where the melt begins solidification. Further, the melt advances and solidification advances (with continued pressure applied from said belts) to just prior to the nip “N” at mushy/semi-solid zone (labeled “16.6” Fig. 6b-2), where the solidification of the melt is substantially complete. Because Lin teaches the belts apply pressure and interface with the molten aluminum prior to complete solidification, Lin is held to meet the amended instant “compression force being applied by belts of the belt caster on the aluminum-based alloy strip, during its solidification” limitation. Therefore, because Lin teaches a process of belt casting with identical steps and overlapping parameters, it is held that Lin has created a prima facie case of obviousness of the presently claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/J.C.M/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
2/23/26